2010 Toyota Highlander Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Engine problems and reviews: 6.

Are you driving a 2010 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Spring Lake, NC
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 70

While Driving On The Interstate At 70 Mph, A Deer Hit My Car. Airbags Did Not Deploy, Damaged Front End, Minor Damage To The Bumper, Major Damage To Engine Compartment And Windshield Was Cracked Why Did The Airbag Not Deploy Our Major Concern Concern That Will The Airbag Work After Repairs?? *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 70000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH7AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SPRING LAKE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Feb 22, 2014

Engine Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Denton, TX
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 4

Twice In September 2014, As I Was Approaching A Stop Light, I Pressed The Brakes And Slowed To Nearly A Stop. The Engine Suddenly Accelerated Very High, And If I Had Not Already Had A Foot On The Brakes, I Would Have Gone Into An Intersection. The Engine Was Running So High That It Was Difficult To Keep It From Moving. I Shifted Into Neutral, Came To A Complete Stop, And While The Transmission Was In Neutral, Took My Foot Off The Brake Pedal. The Engine Immediately Returned To Normal Idle. This Same Sequence Happened Both Times. This Has Happened Twice This Month, But These Are The First Occurrences Since I Purchased The Vehicle New. I Called The toyota Dealer, And The Service Person Said That If The Vehicle Isn’t Demonstrating That Behavior When I Bring It In, They Would Not Be Able To Find What Caused It. They Indicated That The Vehicle Data Recorder Would Not Record Such An Event. They Said They Would Add A Note About This To The Record They Have On This Vehicle (they Have Done All The Service Since I Purchased It From Them). I Have Already Decided That Should It Happen Again, I Will Trade The Vehicle. I Don’t Like Having To Keep My Hand On The Gearshift, Ready To Shift Into Neutral. I Saw A Report In Usatoday That Sudden Acceleration In toyotas Is Being Investigated Again. I Wanted To Add My Experience To The Mix. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH5AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in DENTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 4 mph.

Sept 01, 2014

Engine Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Manhattan Beach, CA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 30

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. While Driving Approximately 30 Mph, The Vehicle Stalled Without Warning. The Vehicle Was Able To Be Restarted. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Failure Recurred On Several Occasions. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 3,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH0AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in MANHATTAN BEACH, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Nov 15, 2014

Engine Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Clinton, NC
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 60

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. While Driving Approximately 60 Mph, A Rattling Noise Was Heard Underneath The Vehicle. The Failure Occurred Without Warning. The Dealer Replaced The Water Pump, Which Was Rusted And Fractured. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 55,973.

Mileage was 55973 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH0AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in CLINTON, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Mar 07, 2017

Engine Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Saint Augustine, FL
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 0

Stopped At A Traffic Light With The Brake Applied, The Engine Began To Rev Uncontrolled And Began To Move Forward Towards The Car Ahead Of Us, Even With The Brake Fully Applied. To Stop The Problem, The Transmission Was Shifted To Park And Ignition Turned Off.

Mileage was 103000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH7AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 20, 2018

Engine Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Gibsonia, PA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 70

We Were Traveling On The Interstate After About A 7 Hour Drive And The Low Oil Pressure Warning Display Was Flickering On And Off But Never Stayed On Consistently. I Pulled Over And There Was No Oil In The Engine, I Mean It Was Bone Dry. I’m Truly Surprised The Car Was Still Operating. When Oil Was Put In, It Poured, And I Mean Poured, Right Back Out. We Had To Be Towed Because The Car Could Not Be Driven. It Was Determined That The Engine Oil Cooler Line Was Leaking.

Mileage was 136055 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH0AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in GIBSONIA, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Nov 21, 2018

2010 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2010 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Engine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask