2010 Toyota Highlander Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Power Train problems and reviews: 6.

Are you driving a 2010 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Dunfries, VA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 58

We Have A Brand New toyota highlander (2010) With Only 2200 Miles On It, We Have Recently Noticed That At Highway Speeds Between 58 – 64 Mph, It Consistently Makes A Very Noticeable, Resonating Vibration Sound. Car Is Under Warranty And We Took It To A toyota Dealer To Have It Checked On 7/15/10. They Confirmed The Problem But Could Not Identify Why It Is Occurring. They Drove Another Brand New highlander From Their Lot For Comparison Purposes And Told Us That The Other highlander Had The Exact Same Issue. We Were Told That toyota Might Issue A Technical Safety Bulletin (tsb) About The Problem And A Proposed Solution, We Were Then Advised That We Should Ask About A Tsb Every Time We Bring The Car In For Routine Service. Bottom Line – The Issue Still Exists And Noone Seems To Know Why. We Were Told To Drive The Car Because There Was Nothing To Be Concerned About That Was Obvious. So, We Are Now Driving The Car – And Still Listening To It Vibrate Between 58 – 64 Mph. I Have Been A Lifelong toyota Owner And Bought This New highlander Even Though toyota Was Receiving So Much Bad Press. We Have Had A Number Of Annoying Quality Control Issues With It – But This One Is Perplexing And Disconcerting. I Am Hoping That Nhtsa Might Get toyota‘s Attention On This Matter As It Is Highly Unusual And Unexplainable By toyota‘s Own Technicians. Thanks For Any Assistance You Can Offer. I Would Be Happy To Cooperate With Any Follow-up Action Nhtsa Might Choose To Take. *tr

Mileage was 2250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH3AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in DUNFRIES, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 58 mph.

July 15, 2010

Power Train Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Granada Hills, CA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

When Steering Either Left Or Right During Forward Or Reverse Movement Of The Vehicle, There’s A Loud Clunk Noise. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKK3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in GRANADA HILLS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Apr 10, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Denton, TX
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 4

Twice In September 2014, As I Was Approaching A Stop Light, I Pressed The Brakes And Slowed To Nearly A Stop. The Engine Suddenly Accelerated Very High, And If I Had Not Already Had A Foot On The Brakes, I Would Have Gone Into An Intersection. The Engine Was Running So High That It Was Difficult To Keep It From Moving. I Shifted Into Neutral, Came To A Complete Stop, And While The Transmission Was In Neutral, Took My Foot Off The Brake Pedal. The Engine Immediately Returned To Normal Idle. This Same Sequence Happened Both Times. This Has Happened Twice This Month, But These Are The First Occurrences Since I Purchased The Vehicle New. I Called The toyota Dealer, And The Service Person Said That If The Vehicle Isn’t Demonstrating That Behavior When I Bring It In, They Would Not Be Able To Find What Caused It. They Indicated That The Vehicle Data Recorder Would Not Record Such An Event. They Said They Would Add A Note About This To The Record They Have On This Vehicle (they Have Done All The Service Since I Purchased It From Them). I Have Already Decided That Should It Happen Again, I Will Trade The Vehicle. I Don’t Like Having To Keep My Hand On The Gearshift, Ready To Shift Into Neutral. I Saw A Report In Usatoday That Sudden Acceleration In toyotas Is Being Investigated Again. I Wanted To Add My Experience To The Mix. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH5AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in DENTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 4 mph.

Sept 01, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Fallston, MD
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 25

The Transmission Exhibits Transmission Flare And Extremely Rough Shifting. As The Problem Progressed I Was Told I Needed A New Transmission.

Mileage was 66000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH9AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in FALLSTON, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

June 27, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 35

When Turning Steering Wheel A Clicking Noise Is Heard. There Is A Tsb Out On This Problem While Vehicle Is In Motion A Noise Was Heard, And A Loud Humming Noise Is Coming From The Rear. Vehicle Was Inspected To Find Problem And Differential Assembly Need To Be Replaced. There Is A Tsb Out On This Problem

Mileage was 100100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in CHESAPEAKE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Oct 19, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

Failure Of Torque Converter Clutch Solenoid. Solution Torque Converter Replacement. ~80,000 Miles On toyota U760e 6-speed Transmission. Same Transmission Used In toyota Camry (u760e) Was Covered By Warranty Enhancement Program – Ze5. Manufacturer Will Not Cover Any Cost Of This Transmission Failure.

Mileage was 83000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEZA3EH6A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in INDIANAPOLIS, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 30, 2018

2010 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2010 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Power Train problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask