2010 Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems and reviews: 8.

Are you driving a 2010 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Dumont, NJ
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

As I Was Driving Traffic Came To A Sudden Stop. I Applied The Brakes Hard, However Was Not Able To Stop Before Hitting The Vehicle In Front Of Me. As Part Of The Necessary Vehicle Repairs After The Accident, To Get The Brakes To Operate Again Properly, The Brake Load Sensor – An Electric Sensor On The Brake Pedal That Feeds Back To The Braking Computer System How Hard Brakes Are Being Applied Was Found To Have Failed, Presumably At The Time As A Result Of The Impact. This Malfunction Trips A Warning In The Brake System, And Affects Operability Of The Brakes. Recently On June 18, 2012 While Driving On A Local Street At 25 Mph, A Vehicle Passed A Stop Sign Crossing In Front Of Me Necessitating I Brake Hard To Avoid An Accident. While An Accident Was Avoided, Immediately Following This A Brake Malfunction Warning Came On, And The Brake System Stopped Operating Normally. The Dealer Found That Due To The Hard Braking, The Brake Pedal Became Misaligned, And The Brake Load Sensor Failed Again. This Pattern Leads Me To Believe That In Instances Of Hard Braking, Damage To The Brake Pedal And/or Load Sensor Can Occur, Causing A Loss Of Brake Power Possibly Resulting In An Accident. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 33000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDEK3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in DUMONT, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Nov 13, 2010

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
San Francisco, CA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 7

I’d Stopped On The Residential Street To Let A Car Pass. After The Car Passed, I Attempted To Pull Up Along The Curb To Park, But The Car Accelerated And Crashed Into A Tree. The Brakes Did Not Respond And The Steering Did Not Seem To Respond. The Space Between Acceleration And Impact Was 10-15 Feet. It’s Like The Car Had A Mind Of Its Own, And I Had No Control. No Warning Lights Came On And The Airbags Did Not Deploy. The Passenger Side Headlight Was Smashed, The Hood Was Smashed, Front Bumper And Passenger Side Fender Were Also Smashed. The Only Thing That Stopped The Car Was The Tree. Once It Stopped, I Simply Turned The Ignition Off. I Immediately Called My Insurance Company And They Told Me To Tow It To San Francisco toyota For Mechanical Inspection. I Called San Francisco toyota And Said That I Was Towing My Car Down And Was Told They’d Be Waiting For It. Later That Day I Received A Call From Don’s Autobody Telling Me They Had My Car. I Confirmed With Sf toyota And They Said They Sent The Car There And The Auto Body Work Had To Be Done Prior To A Mechanical Inspection. On 4/15/13, I Was Informed The Car Had Been Repaired And Was Sent To Sf toyota. I Repeatedly Called Sf toyota To See If They Had Found Any Mechanical Defects. On 4/16/13, I Was Contacted By Don’s Autobody And Told That toyota Refused To Inspect The Car. Since We Don’t Know If The Car Is Safe To Drive, The Person From The Autobody Shop Suggested We Call toyota Usa. toyota Usa Opened A Case And Has Enlisted Bill From Engineering Analytics To Inspect The Car. Bill Plans To Inspect The Car On 4/30/13. He Will Collect Data And Send It To toyota. toyota Said They’ll Review The Data And Will Mail Us The Results Within 30 Business Days. When We Expressed Concern That toyota Waited 6 Weeks To Look At Our Car (which The Autobody Said They’ve Driven), toyota Had No Comment. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 52000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH9AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SAN FRANCISCO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 7 mph.

Mar 20, 2013

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Polson, MT
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While Driving The Brakes Failed And The Brake Pedal Went To The Floor. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer For A Diagnostic Testing, Who Stated This Was Normal For Vehicle With Abs. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Vin Was Not Available. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 43,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 43000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in POLSON, MT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 23, 2014

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Denton, TX
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 4

Twice In September 2014, As I Was Approaching A Stop Light, I Pressed The Brakes And Slowed To Nearly A Stop. The Engine Suddenly Accelerated Very High, And If I Had Not Already Had A Foot On The Brakes, I Would Have Gone Into An Intersection. The Engine Was Running So High That It Was Difficult To Keep It From Moving. I Shifted Into Neutral, Came To A Complete Stop, And While The Transmission Was In Neutral, Took My Foot Off The Brake Pedal. The Engine Immediately Returned To Normal Idle. This Same Sequence Happened Both Times. This Has Happened Twice This Month, But These Are The First Occurrences Since I Purchased The Vehicle New. I Called The toyota Dealer, And The service Person Said That If The Vehicle Isn’t Demonstrating That Behavior When I Bring It In, They Would Not Be Able To Find What Caused It. They Indicated That The Vehicle Data Recorder Would Not Record Such An Event. They Said They Would Add A Note About This To The Record They Have On This Vehicle (they Have Done All The service Since I Purchased It From Them). I Have Already Decided That Should It Happen Again, I Will Trade The Vehicle. I Don’t Like Having To Keep My Hand On The Gearshift, Ready To Shift Into Neutral. I Saw A Report In Usatoday That Sudden Acceleration In toyotas Is Being Investigated Again. I Wanted To Add My Experience To The Mix. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH5AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in DENTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 4 mph.

Sept 01, 2014

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Union, NJ
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 0

On July 16, 2014 I Turned My Car On, Ready To Return Home To New Jersey From Brooklyn, At This Point The Brake Light Signal, Abs, And Warning Icon All Turned On. The Camera Displayed A Text Stating Brake Malfunction And Giving Instructions To Park The Car Immediately. I Called The toyota 800 Number And Followed Their Recommendations, L Had The Car Tow To The Nearest toyota Dealer, Bay Ridge toyota Of Brooklyn. I Picked Up The Car On The 18 Th, I Was Told They Ran All Tests An They Found Everything Properly Installed. They Scan Test Clean All Dtc Performed Initialization And Calibration Of The Linear Solenoid Valve. They Road Tested The Vehicle And Confirmed Repair, No Lights On, At A Cost Of $227 Plus Tax. Today The 28 Of October As I Turned My Car On I Face The Same Problem All The Brake Lights, Abs, Warning, And Display Text Indicating Malfunction, To Stop The Car. I Again Called For Tow Went To toyota Of Hillside In Nj, Explained What Happened. Was Ask Why I Had The Car Tow After Telling The service Representative About The Brakes. How Can Anyone Drive A Vehicle That Is Warning You Not To Do So. I Also Spoke To The service Manager Stating That I Don’t Think I Should Pay For This service Again Since Its Been Only 1500 Miles Or A Little Over 90 Days Since The Same Problem. Am Sure There’s More To This. Thank You *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 25581 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEBW3EH8A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in UNION, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 15, 2014

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 2

I Was Backing Out Of A Parking Space At A Taco Bell When I Noticed A Car Coming So I Decided To Stop And Pull Back Into My Parking Space To Let It Pass. When I Stepped On The Brake My Car Suddenly Accelerated In Reverse And I Stepped On The Brake Again, But My Car Continued To Accelerate. I Turned My Car To Avoid Hitting The Car And Any Other Cars That May Have Been Behind Me. My Car Continued To Accelerate And Jumped A Curb, Crossed Over A Sidewalk And Onto A Lawn Area Behind Taco Bell. I Stepped On The Brake Again Trying To Get My Car To Stop. I Turned My Wheels To Keep From Going Into The Drive Up Lane And Finally Got My Car To Stop. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 59100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in COLORADO SPRINGS, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 2 mph.

Jan 19, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 45

This Morning At 7:45 Am Est My Car Self Broke While In Drive And Traveling At 45mph. I Was Lucky The Driver Behind Me Was Able To Avoid Hitting Me. Is This A Know Problem? I Am Fearful To Drive Me Car Again

Mileage was 181000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEDW21AX60. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Sept 12, 2016

Service Brakes Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed

Hybrid Breaking System. The Hybrid Breaking System (actuator, Accumulator, & Pump) On My 2010 highlander Hybrid Are Faulty And Have Failed. My Family Purchased This Vehicle From toyota Dealer When It Was Approximately 1.5 Years Young, And Have Performed All Necessary service At Camelback toyota Dealership In A Timely Fashion. (23 service History Reports Shown On Carfax.) Our highlander Has Less Than 100k Miles And Is Less Than 10 Years Old (approximately 8 Years Old). The Faulty Hybrid Breaking System Is A Known Issue, That toyota Has Issued

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask