2010 Toyota Highlander Steering problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Steering problems and reviews: 15.

Are you driving a 2010 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Steering problems and defects.

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Gaithersburg, MD
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 25

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. While Driving 25 Mph When The Steering Wheel Drifted To The Left And Then To The Right And He Lost Control Of The Vehicle. He Also Applied The Brakes And They Did Not Engage; However, After 5 Seconds The Vehicle Began Driving Normal. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Who Stated That This Was Not A Safety Concern And To Continue Driving The Vehicle. They Were Also Unable To Duplicate The Failure And No Repairs Were Made To The Vehicle. The Failure Mileage Was 1,280 And The Current Mileage Was 1,295.

Mileage was 1280 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in GAITHERSBURG, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 10, 2010

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
San Tan Valley, AZ
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 50

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That When Driving In Excess Of 50 Mph, The Vehicle Would Uncontrollably Drift From Side To Side. The Vehicle Was Taken To An Authorized Dealer Where The Contact Was Told That The Failure Was Due To The Electronic Power Steering. The Contact Was Also Told There Was No Option To Have The Vehicle Repaired. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Failure Mileage Was 1,000 And The Current Mileage Was 5,000.

Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEBK3EH7A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Nov 01, 2010

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
San Francisco, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 7

I’d Stopped On The Residential Street To Let A Car Pass. After The Car Passed, I Attempted To Pull Up Along The Curb To Park, But The Car Accelerated And Crashed Into A Tree. The Brakes Did Not Respond And The Steering Did Not Seem To Respond. The Space Between Acceleration And Impact Was 10-15 Feet. It’s Like The Car Had A Mind Of Its Own, And I Had No Control. No Warning Lights Came On And The Airbags Did Not Deploy. The Passenger Side Headlight Was Smashed, The Hood Was Smashed, Front Bumper And Passenger Side Fender Were Also Smashed. The Only Thing That Stopped The Car Was The Tree. Once It Stopped, I Simply Turned The Ignition Off. I Immediately Called My Insurance Company And They Told Me To Tow It To San Francisco toyota For Mechanical Inspection. I Called San Francisco toyota And Said That I Was Towing My Car Down And Was Told They’d Be Waiting For It. Later That Day I Received A Call From Don’s Autobody Telling Me They Had My Car. I Confirmed With Sf toyota And They Said They Sent The Car There And The Auto Body Work Had To Be Done Prior To A Mechanical Inspection. On 4/15/13, I Was Informed The Car Had Been Repaired And Was Sent To Sf toyota. I Repeatedly Called Sf toyota To See If They Had Found Any Mechanical Defects. On 4/16/13, I Was Contacted By Don’s Autobody And Told That toyota Refused To Inspect The Car. Since We Don’t Know If The Car Is Safe To Drive, The Person From The Autobody Shop Suggested We Call toyota Usa. toyota Usa Opened A Case And Has Enlisted Bill From Engineering Analytics To Inspect The Car. Bill Plans To Inspect The Car On 4/30/13. He Will Collect Data And Send It To toyota. toyota Said They’ll Review The Data And Will Mail Us The Results Within 30 Business Days. When We Expressed Concern That toyota Waited 6 Weeks To Look At Our Car (which The Autobody Said They’ve Driven), toyota Had No Comment. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 52000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH9AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SAN FRANCISCO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 7 mph.

Mar 20, 2013

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Honolulu, HI
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

Three Times Reported Feeling A Rattle In The Steering On Right Turn Ln Rough Road To toyota Service Dept. Three Times They Deny Saying 3 People (including The Service Manager) Drove It And Didn’t Feel Anything. I Told Them That When There’s More Weight On The Front End, Like Braking Downhill And Turning Right Can Feel It More. But The Tested On Flat Ground In The Area Of Motor Imports Downtown Honolulu. I Even Reported In Earlier Servicing That The Car Drifts From Side To Side On The Freeway. As If The Steering Is Loose. And They Test Drove And Said It Was Fine. This Is The Last Day Of My Warranty And I Googled The Problem To Find Others With The Same Problem And Even A Diagram Of The Fix On: Http://www.underhoodservice.com/article/110175/tech_tips_toyota_tacoma_makes_rattling_noises_on_rough_roads.aspx . This Shows That In 2012 They Fixed It On Some toyota‘s: A Newly Designed Steering Intermediate Shaft (p/n 45220-04020) Has Been Made Available To ­address This Condition, But That’s 2012. My Car Is A 2010 Before The Fix. The Solution Is To Install A Steering Wheel Holder. Other Reports At Http://www.edmunds.com/toyota/venza/2009/consumer-reviews/2009-venza-steering-column-rattle.html?style=101109188&sub=&reviewid=4641729. Show That The Problem Is About $1500 To Fix And Somebody Even Had A Steering Column Failure. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 20415 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEZK3EH9A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in HONOLULU, HI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 09, 2013

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Granada Hills, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

When Steering Either Left Or Right During Forward Or Reverse Movement Of The Vehicle, There’s A Loud Clunk Noise. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKK3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in GRANADA HILLS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Apr 10, 2014

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Davie, FL
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

When Turning To The Left Loud Clunk Noise, Dealer Claims It Is A Intermediate Shaft Cost To Repair Over 800.00 This Is Not The First Complain That I See On This Vehicle, And A Change Was Made By The Mfg, Guess They Still Have Problem With The Design On Fixing This Issue. toyota Do A Recall You Know You Are Doing Wrong, Stand By Your Product And Fix The Cars You Manufacture… Or I Will Kindly Do A Survey Not To Purchase Again. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 22000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEZK3EH2A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in DAVIE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 drive type:FWD.

Mar 10, 2012

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Renton, WA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 5

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. While Driving At Approximately 5 Mph And Making A Right Turn, There Was An Abnormal Noise Coming From The Steering Wheel. The Failure Recurred Numerous Times. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer For Diagnostic Testing. The Mechanic Stated That The Intermediate Shaft And Tsb Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 48,800.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 48800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEBK3EH2A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in RENTON, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Jan 02, 2015

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Tulsa, OK
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 5

From A Stop With A Turn In Either Direction On Any Service In Any Weather, An Audible Noise And Jolting Vibration Telegraphs Through The Steering Wheel. Feels Like A Loose Part That May Separate In The Steering Assembly And Render The Vehicle Uncontrollable. First Raised With Momentum/ Fowler toyota Of Tulsa 6/14/14 With Refusal To Repair As A Warranty Claim @ 41430 Miles (dealer Would Not Note In Service Check-in But Promised To Inspect). Raised Again With Jim Norton toyota That Would Not Inspect Without The Payment Of A $100 Inspection Fee @ 60459 Miles. Not Sure Of Safety Implications But Concerned That Failure Of The Steering Shaft Could Occur. No Repair Made To Date Since Warranty And/or Safety Issues Could Not Be Resolved. Noted Similar Complaints In Other Nhtsa Complaints For 2010 highlanders.

Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in TULSA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

June 12, 2014

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Norwalk, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 20

Vehicle Makes A Popping Noise When You Make A Turn. Noise Can Be Heard When Turning Left Or Right At Any Speed.

Mileage was 100000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH3AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in NORWALK, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 15, 2015

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Stratham, NH
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 15

Steering Wheel Would Exhibit A Loud Clunking Noise When Turning Wheel Left Or Right. Did Not Feel Safe To Drive. toyota Mechanic Diagnosed The Problem As The Intermediate Steering Shaft Which He Recommended Replacing. toyota Knows Of This Problem Since They Issued A Technical Service Bulletin (tsb) T-tt-0223-13 For This Repair. There Is Also An Nhtsa # 10062035 On This Situation. toyota Should Pay For This Costly Repair Since I Feel It Is A Safety Defect And Should Be Recalled

Mileage was 92000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH0AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in STRATHAM, NH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Apr 26, 2017

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Augusta, MI
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 5

Clunk In Steering When Turning At Low Speed From Stop Found To Be Intermediate Steering Shaft-replaced At Dealer.google Search Show Very Common In Several Different toyota Vehicles.

Mileage was 113890 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in AUGUSTA, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

May 09, 2017

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Montgomery, AL
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

I Bought My highlander Used In March 2016. The Car Has Had The Clunking Noise Since I Bought It But I Didn’t Know It Was A Known Issue With toyota. I Bought An Extended Warranty But Of Course It Doesn’t Cover The Defect. I Am Very Upset Because I Have Paid For A Warranty That Doesn’t Fix What Is Wrong With The Car. I Also Feel Like It Falls On The Dealership And They Should Have Fixed It Before Selling. Even Though It Is Not Considered A Safety Issue I Don’t Want It To Become A Safety Issue In The Future. I Don’t Feel Like I Should Have To Come Out Of Pocket $650 To Fix An Issue That Is Known With The Manufacturer.

Mileage was 135000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH3AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in MONTGOMERY, AL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 06, 2016

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 35

When Turning Steering Wheel A Clicking Noise Is Heard. There Is A Tsb Out On This Problem While Vehicle Is In Motion A Noise Was Heard, And A Loud Humming Noise Is Coming From The Rear. Vehicle Was Inspected To Find Problem And Differential Assembly Need To Be Replaced. There Is A Tsb Out On This Problem

Mileage was 100100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in CHESAPEAKE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Oct 19, 2017

Steering Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Lexington Park, MD
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 5

Steering Has Popping And Clicking When Turning From A Stopped Position. The Steering Has Always Sounded Like It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask