2010 Toyota Highlander Structure Body problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Structure Body problems and reviews: 8.

Are you driving a 2010 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Structure Body problems and defects.

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Round Lake, IL
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 20

2010 highlander 4wd: System Check Panel Indicating The Rear Door Is Open, When It’s Not. Sometimes The Indicator Only Chimes (& Overhead Light Blinks) When We Take A Left Or Right Turn. Sometimes It Chimes Continuously As Soon As We Get The Car Into Gear. The Back Door Is Most Definitely Closed Each Time; The Back Door Indicator Is Malfunctioning. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in ROUND LAKE, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Apr 01, 2013

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Spring Lake, NC
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 70

While Driving On The Interstate At 70 Mph, A Deer Hit My Car. Airbags Did Not Deploy, Damaged Front End, Minor Damage To The Bumper, Major Damage To Engine Compartment And Windshield Was Cracked Why Did The Airbag Not Deploy Our Major Concern Concern That Will The Airbag Work After Repairs?? *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 70000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH7AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SPRING LAKE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Feb 22, 2014

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Orange, VA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed

The Drivers Sun Visor Has 2 Stop Points. One Is Supposed To Be Fully Upright In The Recess Of The Head Liner. The Stop Point Has Moved So That The Upper Most Point The Visor Will Go Is About 10% Below Level And Right In The Line Of Sight Of The Driver. This Causes An Unsafe Condition In That The Driver Can Not See The Road Or Stop Lights. I Have Run A Red Light Because I Can Not See It. I Have Looked On All The Websites And This Is A Common Problem For toyota. Not Only On The highlander But On Several Other Models. There Needs To Be A Recall For What Ever Is Causing That Stop Point To “droop”. The Visor Can Not Be Taken Apart And toyota Wants $200 To Replace The Thing. It Is A Rip Off As They Know The Part Is Defective. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 60000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5STDJK3EH4A. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in ORANGE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 28, 2014

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Klamath Falls, OR
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

The Tailgate Hatch Was Unable To Open By Electronic Push Bottom Or Manually. Seeing The toyota Dealership The Cause Was A Faulty Engineering Design To The Tailgate Bytoyota. The Hinge Mechanics To Open The Rear Hatch Due To The Weight Of The Door And Use Cause Aligment Issues And Therefore, The Gate Or Window Cannot Open Properly. To Fix Properly A New Door And Hinge System Were Put On With No Guarantees That It Won’t Happen Again. A Very Expensive Fix By The Owner. Looking Into This Problem Many Consumers With This highlander Have Experienced The Same Problem. toyota Has Reengineered Its Newer Models To Correct The Problem. In An Emergency To Get People Out Of The 3rd Row Seat With The Door Stuck Is A Safety Issue. toyota Should Have A Recall To Fix The Problem As Well As Reimburse The Owners Who Have Had To Deal With These Out Of Pocket Expenses. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 77000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEDK3EH9A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in KLAMATH FALLS, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 13, 2014

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 65

Accident Occurred In Southbound Lane Of I-95 At The Dillon, Sc Exit On 6/14/14. Northbound Trailer Lost A Tire/rim Due To Mechanical Failure And It Crossed The Medium And Impacted Our Vehicle Blowing Three (3) Airbags. This Model And Year Did Not Initially Have Takata Airbags Installed During Production. It Is Unknown, To Date, Whether The Replacement Air Bags Installed By Griffin toyota At Rockingham, Nc Where Manufactured By Takata And Pose A Danger To Occupants If Activated. The Takata Airbag Problem Did Not Get Public Attention Until The October & November, 2014, Timeframe. I Contacted Griffin toyota Stating My Concern In January, 2015 And Was Told That There Was A Possibility The Replacement Were Manufactured By Takata And Could Be Defective. I Have Subsequently Contacted toyota Customer Service And Reported Same (given Case Number [xxx]) And Them Referred Me To The Local toyota Dealership (charles Barker toyota In Virginia Beach, Va). This Dealership Continues To “struggle” To Get The Information From The toyota Headquarters In Ca To Determine Whether The Airbags Should Be Replaced (that Is, If Takata Replacements Were Installed After The Wreck) To Ensure The Occupants Safety. Please Investigate To Determine What Potentially Defective Airbags (manufactured By Takata) Were Installed In The June-july 2014 Timeframe. Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 53210 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH1A5. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in VIRGINIA BEACH, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

June 16, 2014

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Sharon, MA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

When The Service Manager From Copeland toyota In Brockton, Ma And I Looked At The Trunk Hinges Together It Was Clear That The Trunk Not Closing Was A Direct Result Of The Way That The highlander Was Manufactured Versus Due To Any Fault Of Our Own. This Issue Has Left My Children And I With A Drained Battery On More Than One Occasion, Which Is Not Only Inconvenient But A Safety Issue Given The Risks Involved With Being Stranded In Unfamiliar Towns. The Malfunction And Inoperability Of Our Trunk Door Leaves My Family At Risk Of Danger. However, I Was Quoted $3,600 To Repair This Issue By A Third Party Body Shop That Copeland toyota Uses. However, The Repair Expenses Should Not Be Paid By My Family But Rather toyota Since The Issue Is A Direct Result Of Faulty Manufacturing. To This Point, I Recognize That I Am Not Alone, There Are Several Videos And Endless Complaints Of Several toyota highlanders With The Same Issue (newer Models As Well). Here Are A Few Videos That You Can See For Yourself Via Youtube: Https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9z7eophqr0s I Would Like To Recommend That Owners Of toyota highlanders Be Contacted To Remedy This Issue.

Mileage was 85000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SHARON, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 01, 2016

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Appling, GA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

In Late 2012, toyota Issued A Tsb Related To The Rear Power Lift Gate. Instructions Were To Replace The Hinges, Motor Unit, Etc… If Evidence Of Failure. Limitations Were 3 Yr 36,000 Mile Warranty. Explanations From The Dealer Were That The Hinges For The Back Hatch Were Under Manufactured For The Weight Of The Door Causing Them To Twist/warp And Pull Away From The Door And/or Frame. This Also Created Undue Stress On The Motor Assembly Unit Often Times Leading To Failure. I Had Service Performed In Early 2013 As Recommended By The Tsb. I Am Currently Experiencing The Identical Issues As Stated Above But Worse. The Door No Longer Operates By Using The Power Lift Feature On The Key Fob. The Door Is Again Warped Causing The Grinding And Clicking Noises When You Open It Manually. The Motor Has Failed And I Am Afraid My Actual Door Is Warped. I Have Spoken To My Dealer And Have Been Told That The Work Was Completed And That There Was Nothing Else They Could Do For Me. This In Spite Of The Fact That The Repairs Have Been Proven To Be Less Than Effective. I Do Not Feel This Is A Car Mileage Issue. It Is Simply A Manufacturing Error That Has Yet To Be Resolved. toyota Failed To Issue A Recall On This Problem. After Researching My Problem I Have Found That There Have Been Very Large Class Action Law Suits Related To This Very Issue. Many Times These Doors Are Not Closing At All Creating A Potentially Very Dangerous Safety Issue.

Mileage was 46000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEYK3EH3A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in APPLING, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Sept 16, 2016

Structure Body Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Springfield, VA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 25

Power Lift Hatchback Door Not Cosed All The Way. Very Dangerous.

Mileage was 25 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH5AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SPRINGFIELD, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Dec 02, 2016

2010 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2010 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Structure Body problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask