2010 Toyota Highlander Vehicle Speed Control problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Vehicle Speed Control problems and reviews: 17.

Are you driving a 2010 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Mason, OH
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

On Jan.26,2010, I Was Stopped Behind Cars At A Traffic Light. My 2010 toyota highlander Started Creeping Forward/i Thought I’d Taken My Foot Off The Brake, And Then The Engine Started Revving To An Outrageous Level. The Harder I Braked The More The Engine Revvedand The Car Tried To Jump Forward. It Was So Loud The Driver Ahead Of Me Turned Around To See What Was Going On Behind Him. I Thought I Was Going To Rear-end Him Until I Remembered To Put The Car In Neutral. Eventually The Engine Returned To Its Normal Rpms, But I Was Really Shaken. I Drove About 1 Mile To My Destination And Called toyota And Had The Car Towed To Their Service Area. They Checked The Car And After 24 Hrs. Told Me They Couldn’t Find Anything And My Car Was Made In Japan So It Wasn’t Under The Recall. I Don’t Feel Safe In This vehicle And I Don’t Feel toyota Really Knows Or Is Revealing All The Problems They Are Having. My Problem Occurred When I Was At A Standstill At A Traffic Light, So I Don’t Believe The Stuck Accelerator Story. What Can I Do To Get Some Satisfaction? At This Point The Problem Has Only Occurred Once, But I’ve Lost All Confidence In My New vehicle…less Than 4000 Miles On It! *tr

Mileage was 3600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEDK3EH3A2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in MASON, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Jan 26, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Parker, CO
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

Gas Pedal Of 2010 toyota highlander Got Stuck On The Weathertech Driver’s Side Floor Liner While Passing Another vehicle. Luckily, My Husband Was Driving And Was Able To Put Car In Neutral And Pull Car Over To Side Of The Road And We Did Not Get Into An Accident. When My Husband Removed The Floor Liner The Gas Pedal Popped Back Up – So It Got Stuck On The Liner. Also, Earlier In The Trip That Day The Weathertech Cargo Liner Prevented The Rear Hatch From Closing Properly And Our Luggage Fell Out Into The Road. Order # 92137633; Order Date: 1/5/2010. We Have Advised Weathertech And Are Returning The Product For A Refund. P/n:441151/00185 Rev 1 (driver’s Side Liner); Part # 40328 (cargo Liner) – Can Not Find Exact Listing Of Model # On Your Form – So Entered Closest To Model # Since Form Will Not Let You Continue Without Choosing A Model #. *tr

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in PARKER, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 29, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Floral Park, NY
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

Uncontrollable Acceleration 2010 toyota highlander. 3 Times On 2-10-10. *tr

Mileage was 1417 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in FLORAL PARK, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Feb 10, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 65

My Automobile Is A 2010 toyota highlander Le. I Was Driving South On I15 Just South Of Barstow, Ca., At Approximately 65mph. My Cruise Control Was On. I Either Pressed Resume Or Did Nothing, It Happened So Fast I Am Not Sure Which. My Car Began Speeding Out Of Control To The Degree That My Head Snapped Back To The Headrest. I Have Never Experienced That Kind Of Acceleration Before. I Braked Soundly, And Fortunately That Kicked It Out Of The Acceleration. I Have Been Driving toyotas And Using Cruise Control For Years. This Was Not Normal Cruise Control Acceleration. Neither Was It A Sticky Pedal, As toyota Is Claiming. The Car Just Took Over. I Am Not Sure I Could Even Duplicate That Rate Of Acceleration If I Tried. It Was Something Internal With The Engine Or The Computer. *tr

Mileage was 2100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH1AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in LAS VEGAS, NV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Feb 11, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Grafton, WI
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 65

I Have A 2010 toyota highlander Base Model. When Cruiser Control Is Activated And When The vehicle Is Moving Slightly Uphill, The vehicle Usually Accelerates To A Speed That Is Much Higher (over 5 Mi/hr Higher) Than The Set Speed. This Situation Happened Several Times And Was Worrisome, Especially When My Wife Was Driving. I Purchased The vehicle On December 28th, 2009. I Guess That The Local Dealer (heiser toyota, Milwaukee) Must Be Aware Of The Problem At The Time Of My Purchase But Pretended To Not Know The Problem, Because The Specific Salesperson (art Stamos) Told Me And My Wife During vehicle Delivery That, In Case Of Uncontrolled Acceleration, We Should Put Gear To Neutral And Firmly Press Brake Pedal. I Suggest That Your Office Request toyota To Not Only Recall But Buy-back All toyota vehicles That Were Sold During The toyota‘s Most Recent Promotion Period (toyotathione) In Which toyota Was Aware Of The Problem But Decided To Do Nothing. *tr

Mileage was 500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH4AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in GRAFTON, WI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Jan 12, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
West Hartford, CT
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated While Sitting Idle In A Parking Space, The vehicle Abnormally Accelerated Without Driver Intent. The vehicle Proceeded To Jump A Nearby Curb, Crashed With Another vehicle And Then A Tree. The Contact Was Able To Bring The vehicle To A Stop By Shifting Into Neutral. The Contact Did Not Report Any Injuries. The Manufacturer Was Contacted But Would Not Provide Any Assistance. The Contacts Insurance Company Was Handling The Investigation. The Current And Failure Mileages Were 3,000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in WEST HARTFORD, CT. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 17, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Chico, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

Bought 2010 highlander, Report Said The Dealer Had Fixed The Accelerator Problem. They Did Not Fix It Right And Put My Gas Pedal Upside Down. Another Dealer Fixed It And Told Me. *tr

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in CHICO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 22, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Cypress, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. While Driving At 5 Mph, The vehicle Suddenly Accelerated. To Stop The vehicle, The Contact Shifted Into Neutral And Turned Off The Ignition. The vehicle Had Not Been Inspected Or Repaired At The Time Of The Complaint. The Current And Failure Mileages Were Approximately 1,700.

Mileage was 1700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH5AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in CYPRESS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

May 11, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
San Francisco, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

toyota Recall On 2010 toyota highlander -accelerator Pedal Reinforcement Bar Installation. I Had Recently Brought My toyota highlander In For The Recall And Servicing The Accelerator Pedal And Found Out That The Installation Was Not Corrected With The Possibility Of The Pedal Coming Apart While Driving And Causing Serious Injury Or Harm The First Time Around. I Now Have To Face The vehicle Having “to Have To Dismantle/lift The Engine And Or Having To Modify The Cross Threaded Studs To Correct The Faulty Accelerator Pedal.” Thereby Altering The vehicle By Installing Modified Or New Studs To The vehicle. I Believe That This Could Be A Safety Hazard As To The New Repairs Being Implemented To The Accelerator Pedals. *tr

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SAN FRANCISCO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 08, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Tacoma, WA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. While Driving 15- 20 Mph, The Contact Applied The Brakes And The vehicle Accelerated Without Warning. He Removed His Foot From The Brake And Checked To Make Sure He Wasn’t Applying The Accelerator, And He Wasn’t, So He Pressed The Brake Pedal Again And The vehicle Accelerated Again. In Order To Stop The vehicle, The Contact Had To Apply The Emergency Brake. The vehicle Was Towed To The Dealer Who Stated That The Failure Could Not Be Determined. There Were No Prior Warnings. The vehicle Was Not Repaired.. The Current And Failure Mileages Were 8,200. The Consumer Stated Once He Stopped, He Put The vehicle In Reverse And Then Used The Brake To Stop. The Brake Pedal Then Worked Effectively. Updated 09/13/10*jb

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 8200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in TACOMA, WA. Vehicle was purchased on 20091030. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 TRANSMISSION TYPE: AUTO. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph. DEALER’S NAME: TITUS WILL TOYOTA . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 253-475-1298 .

June 25, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Wayne, NJ
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

On July 8 2010, My 2010 toyota highlander Had Sudden Acceleration Problem When I Stopped And Braked For The Traffic Light. This highlander Has Only About 6,600 Miles On It And It Never Had The Sudden Acceleration Problem Before. The Dealer Had Installed The Recall Fixes. Updated 07/19/10*bf Updated Ivoq 07/21/10.*jb *tr

Mileage was 6600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH5AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in WAYNE, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph. DEALER’S NAME: CRESTMONT TOYOTA .

July 08, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Swan Point, MD
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

Driver Backed Out Of An End Parking Space (nose In, Curb In Front And On Right). Driver Felt Wheel (right Side) Go Over Curb (turned Too Quickly). Driver Stopped, Shifted To Drive (forward) To Get Off The Curb. When Driver Touched Accelerator, The vehicle Shot Forward (seemed Like 50 Mph). Left Front Of The highlander Creased The Two Side Doors Of The Minivan Parked Adjacent On The Left. The Left Front Of The highlander Sustained Grille Damage, Left Fender, Headlight And Running Light, Driver Door And Left Mirror. Fender Pushed Back Prevented Driver Door From Being Opened. Air Bags Did Not Deploy. The highlander Was Purchased 1/4/2010. The Accelerator Recall Was Performed By The Dealer In March 2010.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH0AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SWAN POINT, MD. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 08, 2010

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
San Francisco, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 7

I’d Stopped On The Residential Street To Let A Car Pass. After The Car Passed, I Attempted To Pull Up Along The Curb To Park, But The Car Accelerated And Crashed Into A Tree. The Brakes Did Not Respond And The Steering Did Not Seem To Respond. The Space Between Acceleration And Impact Was 10-15 Feet. It’s Like The Car Had A Mind Of Its Own, And I Had No Control. No Warning Lights Came On And The Airbags Did Not Deploy. The Passenger Side Headlight Was Smashed, The Hood Was Smashed, Front Bumper And Passenger Side Fender Were Also Smashed. The Only Thing That Stopped The Car Was The Tree. Once It Stopped, I Simply Turned The Ignition Off. I Immediately Called My Insurance Company And They Told Me To Tow It To San Francisco toyota For Mechanical Inspection. I Called San Francisco toyota And Said That I Was Towing My Car Down And Was Told They’d Be Waiting For It. Later That Day I Received A Call From Don’s Autobody Telling Me They Had My Car. I Confirmed With Sf toyota And They Said They Sent The Car There And The Auto Body Work Had To Be Done Prior To A Mechanical Inspection. On 4/15/13, I Was Informed The Car Had Been Repaired And Was Sent To Sf toyota. I Repeatedly Called Sf toyota To See If They Had Found Any Mechanical Defects. On 4/16/13, I Was Contacted By Don’s Autobody And Told That toyota Refused To Inspect The Car. Since We Don’t Know If The Car Is Safe To Drive, The Person From The Autobody Shop Suggested We Call toyota Usa. toyota Usa Opened A Case And Has Enlisted Bill From Engineering Analytics To Inspect The Car. Bill Plans To Inspect The Car On 4/30/13. He Will Collect Data And Send It To toyota. toyota Said They’ll Review The Data And Will Mail Us The Results Within 30 Business Days. When We Expressed Concern That toyota Waited 6 Weeks To Look At Our Car (which The Autobody Said They’ve Driven), toyota Had No Comment. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 52000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH9AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in SAN FRANCISCO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 7 mph.

Mar 20, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Galt, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While In Reverse The vehicle Suddendly Accelerated And The Brakes Failed To Stop The vehicle. The Contact Mentioned That In Order To Stop The vehicle, The Engine Had To Be Turned Off. The vehicle Was Not Taken To The Dealer. The vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 73,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 73000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH2AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in GALT, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 25, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Baker, LA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 40

vehicle Accelerated Of Its Own Accord. On Several Succeeding Occasions This toyota highlander Has Accelerated Of Its Own Accord. vehicle Has Never Crashed And After Pulling Over And Placing vehicle In Park, vehicle Did Not Continue To Accelerate. This toyota Has Been Serviced 3-4 Times For This Problem, Including A Specialist From Another State Who Traveled To Baton Rouge To Make A Thorough Inspection Involving 2-3 Hours. Verdict Was No Visible Or Other Problem Detected. Two Months Ago There Was Another Recall On This vehicle And toyota Made The Repair In The Computer. Last Week On May 20, 2014 I Received Another Recall Regarding This vehicle. This vehicle Involves A Steering Column Assembly Containing A Spiral Cable With Electrical Connections Involving The Air Bag. Should The Driver Air Bag Become Deactivated, It Could Cause It Not To Deploy In The Event Of A Crash Which Could Increase The Risk Of Injury To The Driver In Certain Types Of Crashes. The Remedy Is Currently Unavailable And toyota Will Send A Second Owner Notification Letter When The Remedy Is Available. Despite Numerous Letters And Repeated Telephone Calls To toyota, I Have Not Received Any Assistance To Purchase A New toyota highlander That Does Not Encompass These Types Of Safety Recalls. I Chose Not To Join A Group Lawsuit Because I Knew This Would Be Futile. Nonetheless, I Am Considering Looking Into Hiring An Attorney To Pursue The Replacement Of This vehicle. Thank You For Your Attention. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EHXAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in BAKER, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

June 10, 2011

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 2

I Was Backing Out Of A Parking Space At A Taco Bell When I Noticed A Car Coming So I Decided To Stop And Pull Back Into My Parking Space To Let It Pass. When I Stepped On The Brake My Car Suddenly Accelerated In Reverse And I Stepped On The Brake Again, But My Car Continued To Accelerate. I Turned My Car To Avoid Hitting The Car And Any Other Cars That May Have Been Behind Me. My Car Continued To Accelerate And Jumped A Curb, Crossed Over A Sidewalk And Onto A Lawn Area Behind Taco Bell. I Stepped On The Brake Again Trying To Get My Car To Stop. I Turned My Wheels To Keep From Going Into The Drive Up Lane And Finally Got My Car To Stop. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 59100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3EH6AS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in COLORADO SPRINGS, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 2 mph.

Jan 19, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Ballwin, MO
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

As I Slowly Pulled Into A Parking Space, The highlander Suddenly Accelerated Quickly, Jumped The Concrete Parking Stop And Slammed Into A Retaining Wall. It Happened Very Quickly And Unexpected. I Am Original Owner. The vehicle Has 56000 Miles And Has Been Serviced Only By The Dealer. The vehicle Was Drivable And Was Taken Immediately To The Dealer For 2 Days To Inspect The Systems. Because Of The Amount Of Damage, The Repair Shop Got The vehicle In Immediately And Estimate Repairs At $10,000. I Am Very Frightened Of This vehicle Right Now As Another Incident Like This Could Produce Much Worse Results.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 56090 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH2BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2010 problem was reported in BALLWIN, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Jan 16, 2017

2010 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2010 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask