2010 Toyota Prius Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Toyota Prius Electrical System problems and reviews: 12.

Are you driving a 2010 Toyota PRIUS, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Sammamish, WA
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed 35

My 2010 prius Has Had An Ongoing Problem With The Main Headlamps Blowing, Becoming Inoperative And Effectively Leaving Me With Diminished Visibility. This Has Happened Approximately Every 3 Months Since March 2014. Either One Or Both Headlamps Will Blow. This Is Due To A Known Problem With This Model And Is Covered Under A toyota/nhtsa Service Bulletin (tsp-0204-12). In My Case, I Purchased The Car Used, From A toyota Dealer With The toyota Certified Car Warranty, But This Failure Of The Wiring Harness Is Apparently Not Covered. Judging By The Percentage Of Complaints In The Safercar.gov Database For This Model, This Is A Common Problem And My Experience Has Been Typical. In The Most Recent Incident, It Was Raining Heavily And I Ended Up Driving 150 Miles With A Blown Headlamp, Unsafe For Me And Unsafe For Those Whom I Shared The Road With.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 40000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU8A5. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in SAMMAMISH, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Mar 25, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed 0

One Of The Headlights (low Beam) Stopped Working Sometimes In 2013, Then It Came Back. Over The Course Of 2013-2014, The Front Right Light Went Out And I Had The Light Bulb Replaced. Then It Died Again. I Replaced Both Bulbs Based On The Aftermarket Recommendation But The Lights Are Not Bright Enough. The Front Left Parking Light Also Died Twice. Something Is Screwy With The electrical For The Lights

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU3A0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 02, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Overland Park, KS
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed

After Returning To Vehicle, Low Beam Headlights Failed To Properly Illuminate. I Replaced Both Bulbs With New Ones, And They Still Fail To Cast Enough Light. The Bulbs Appear To Be On, But Are Too Dim To Be Effective.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 114000 miles. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in OVERLAND PARK, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 17, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Perryville, MD
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed 65

I Purchased A Certified Used 2010 toyota prius From The East Coast⿿s Number One Certified Used toyota Dealer. I Was Presented With Papers Showing All The Checks Performed With A Certified Used toyota And That The Vehicle I Was Purchasing Had Pass All The Inspections. I Test Drove The Vehicle During The Day And Did Not Use The Headlights. Once I Was Home (over 3 Hours Away) I Used The Headlights For The First Time In The Next Few Days. The Driver⿿s Side Lights Were Very Dim. I Took The Low Beam Bulb Out And Notice A Lot Of Corrosion On The Bulb And Moisture In The Headlamp Assembly. I Let It Dry Out And Replaced Both The Drivers And Passenger Side Low Beam Light Bulbs. Over The Summer I Noticed A Few Time Moisture Would Build Up But Would Be Gone Within A Few Days. Now During The Winter The Moisture Has Frozen Inside The Driver Side Headlamp Assembly And Impedes On The Effectiveness Of The Headlamp. My Visibility Is Reduced And Has Now Become A Safety Issue. I Have Not Owned The Vehicle For A Full Year Yet And Even Purchased The Top Of The Line Extended toyota Warranty. My Local Dealer Stated It Was Not Covered Under Any Warranty And That Would Cost Around $500 To Be Replaced. toyota Has A Technical Service Bulletin On This Issue And Should Repair At No Cost To Owners Due To A Safety Hazard.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 33350 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU9A1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in PERRYVILLE, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Feb 26, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Quitman, AR
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The Dash Display Mph And Mileage Totally Went Black. Looked It Up On The Internet And Seems Like It Is A Common Problem For The 2010 toyota prius. Sounds Like toyota Use To Cover This Before This Year Model, But Not Now, Even Though It Is Still Happening. They May Have Done Their Dash Alittle Different, But It Is Still Having The Same Problem.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 59000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU6A0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in QUITMAN, AR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Jan 11, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed

Most prius 2008-2009-2010-2011 They All Have A Big Problem On The Multi-information Display Do Not Show Not Thing When The Car Is Cold After 10 Or 15 Minutes The Display Show. It’s Danger Because The Driver Can Not See How Fast He Is Driving Of If And Thing Wrong With The Car You Can Not See The Display. Most Of My Friend Have This Problem. I Called The Dealer And They Say Ther Is No Recall. I Try To Send A Photo With My Message And The Photo Can Not Add On To My Message. This Might Be Some Thing That You Might Not Know ! If You Try To Call My Cell Phone And If I Do Not Pick Up My Call ! Please Leave A Message And I Will Call You ! Because I Am Driving On The Road Every Day. Thank You For Helping Me With This Information Above ! This Problem Been Going On For 5 Months.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 187000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU0A0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in BROOKLYN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 03, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Victoria, MN
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed

I Recently Replaced One Of The Low Beam Headlights, Only To Discover A Few Weeks Later That Both Of The Low Beams Had Burned Out. I’ve Never Had Two Headlights Burn Out At The Same Time! Tonight I Discovered That Another Of The Low Beams Has Burned Out. That Means That This Bulb Burned Out In Less Than Two Months And Only About 1000 Miles. I Am Afraid To Use My Headlights During The Daytime For Fear That They Will Burn Out And Not Be Available When I Need Them To See Again At Night. This Must Be A Wiring/configuration Defect! Please Do Something About This!

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 60000 miles. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in VICTORIA, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 04, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Kenosha, WI
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed

When Flashing The Low Beams/high Beams On/off I Routinely Blow The Low Beam Bulbs. Not Both At The Same Time But Eventually Both Will Blow. I Understand From Reading Forums That This Is A Known Problem However toyota Will Not Address It Unless You Are Under The 36k Warranty. This Should Be A Mandatory Recall.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 55000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU3A1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in KENOSHA, WI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 12, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Wake Forest, NC
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed 55

I Was Driving Home From Havenlock, Nc On Us 70, Us 258, Us 58 And Us 264. I Noticed That My Low Beam Headlights Were Very Dim Making It Very Hard To See Road Marking Or Signs. There Is A Stretch Of Us 58 Where They Are Repaving And They Are No Road Marking At All And I Could Not See Where My Lane (2 Way Traffic). I Considered This A Very Serious Problem That The Headlight Are Dim And Could Have Led To A Very Serious Accident. I Have Noticed That Others Have Complained About The Same Problem With The prius 2010. Not Able To See More Than 30 Feet Ahead On A Very Dark Night Is Very Scary And Had Me Shaking.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 125000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU3A5. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in WAKE FOREST, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

July 19, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed

As Many Previous Owners Described, I Am Also Having Problems With The Brakes At Low Speed Since The Beginning Of Owning This Vehicle (october 2009). Dealer Couldn’t Replicate The Problem. Although The Car Went Through The Recall For The Break System Is Still Having The Same Issue Ever Since. The Other Issue With The Brakes Happens After Rain. It Makes A Screeching Noise Without Performance Being Effected. It Goes Away Usually Within A Half An Hour. This Has Been An Ongoing Thing Too For Few Years By Now. The Other Issue I Had As Well As Others Is Dimming Of Lights That Has Been Occurring Since Last Year. We Needed To Switch The Lightbulbs More Frequently Than Seems Normal. Didn’t Even Think It Was Out Of The Ordinary Until I Read The Comments Here About It. The Other Problem I Started To Have Is With A Stereo Display System And The Voice Activation For The Bluetooth. The Display Had Some Weird Lines On It After A Very Cold Or A Very Hot Day (radio Was Working Fine Just The Display Was Not Working Properly). Eventually Goes Back To Normal But This Started Happening The Last Year Or So. The Same Time Also Had A Problem With The Voice Activation Unit Which Turned On Unexpectedly And Turned Back On In 10 Seconds After Each Time I Turned It Off. This Was Happening For A Good 30 Min At That Time. This Only Occurred Twice But Both Times Was After A Hot Day Last Summer. This Year So Far Haven’t Happened Yet.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU8A0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in BROOKLYN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 05, 2009

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Nebo, NC
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed 55

The Contact Owns A 2010 toyota prius. The Contact Stated That While Driving At Night Approximately 55 Mph, The Headlights Were Very Deem And Visibility Was Diminished. After Inspecting The Vehicle, The Contact Noticed That The Passenger Side Low Beam Headlight Was Out And Two Days Later The Driver Side Low Beam Failed. The Light Bulbs Were Replaced. The Contact Mentioned That The Low Beam Headlight Bulbs Were Replaced A Total Of Four Times. The Vehicle Was Never Taken To The Dealer Or An Independent Mechanic To Get A Diagnosis. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 99,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 99000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU9A0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in NEBO, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Aug 01, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2010
Toyota
Location
Hightstown, NJ
Model Prius
System Electrical System
Speed 45

The Vehicle Runs Ok And A Few Minutes Later The Yellow Triangle Turns On, As Well As The Check Engine Light And The Vehicle Starts To Lose Power. After A Few More Minutes The Red Steering Wheel Light Comes On Along With The “check Hybrid System” Message And The Rest Of The Lights And The Vehicles Loses All Power And Stops. It Will Normally Turn Back On But There Was One Occasion Where It Didn’t And My Husband Had To Push The Car To A Parking Lot. I Took The Car In On The Recall Which Should Cover This But All They Did Was Update The Software And Blame The Issue On A Car Accident. I Don’t Know If This Is True As Just Purchased The Vehicle But It Sounds To Me That They Could Have Fixed The Issue Under The Recall.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 262000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU3A0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2010 problem was reported in HIGHTSTOWN, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Aug 19, 2015

2010 Toyota Prius problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Prius, driving a 2010 Toyota Prius, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask