2011 Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems and reviews: 8.

Are you driving a 2011 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Oceanside, CA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 40

I Was Driving About 40 Mph And Approaching A Left Turn. I Tried To Brake The Car To Slow Down And The Brake Did Not Work. My Foot Pushed All The Way Down And Since I Had 2 Kids In The Car I Was Really Concerned That I Could Not Stop The Vehicle. I Tried To Bring The Car To A Stop And Hit The Side Walk. This Was Not The First Time Or The Last Time It Happened. Even After The Car Has Been Repaired, The Brakes Continue To Malfunction At Least Twice A Week. I Apply The Brakes And The Vehicle Accelerates And Then Slowly Brakes, Sometimes Does Not Brake At All. I Have Reported This To toyota And They Are Denying There Is Anything Wrong. I Believe There Is Some Programming Issuing With The Car And The Brakes Continue To Malfunction. I Don’t Know Where Else To Turn. I Have 5 Kids And Driving An Unsafe Car. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 41000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH5BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in OCEANSIDE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 16, 2014

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Dickson City, PA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 0

Both Front Inner Brakespads Completely Warned Out Damaging Both Rotors Badly, Some Metal Pieces Found On Floor Broke Loose From Both Front Rotors. Outside Pads Has 60% Thickness Left On It. Ended Up Changing Both Front Rotors And Pads Costing $375. Mechanic Said This May Be A Result Of A Faulty Brake System. Talk To toyota Representative Without Any Solution Or Response. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH0BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in DICKSON CITY, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 15, 2014

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Los Altos, CA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

I Was Driving In The Coastal Hills Of The San Francisco Peninsula When I Noticed That The Car Started Vibrating Severely When Applying The Brakes On Downward Slopes. I Realized That This Was Due To The Brake Discs Overheating. For The Remained Of The Trip I Used The Gearshift To Slow Down The Car When Driving Along Downward Sloping Roads By Selecting 2nd Gear In The Automatic Gearshift. By Avoiding Use Of The Brakes, I Avoided The Vibration And Was Able To Get Home Safely. I Subsequently Brought The Car To The Dealership For Maintenance. The Technical Staff Confirmed That The Brake Discs Showed Signs Of Overheating But Did Not Replace Them Under Warranty. This Same Problem Presented Itself Earlier, Too, At Approximately 15,000 Miles, During A Trip In The Sierra Nevada. On This Previous Incident, When I Brought The Car To The Dealership, The Brake Disks Were Replaced Under Warranty, But The Underlying Problem Was Not Addressed: The Undersized Discs Being Unable To Dissipate The Heat Generated By The Brakes When Driving Downhill. Please, Consider This A Severe Problem, Potentially Requiring A Recall: The Severe Vibrations Caused By The Brakes On A Downward Sloping Mountain Road, Especially With Wet Or Snowy Roads, Could Easily Make The Vehicle To Slip Out Of Control And Cause A Crash. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 19000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH3BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in LOS ALTOS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Oct 04, 2014

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Los Altos, CA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

I Was Driving In The Sierra Nevada When I Noticed That The Car Started Vibrating Severely When Applying The Brakes On Downward Slopes. I Realized That This Was Due To The Brake Discs Overheating. For The Remained Of The Trip I Used The Gearshift To Slow Down The Car When Driving Along Downward Sloping Roads By Selecting 2nd Gear In The Automatic Gearshift. By Avoiding Use Of The Brakes, I Avoided The Vibration And Was Able To Get Home Safely. I Subsequently Brought The Car To The Dealership For Maintenance. The Technical Staff Confirmed That The Brake Discs Showed Signs Of Overheating And Replaced Them Under Warranty. However, This Does Not Solve The Underlying Problem: Undersized Discs, Unable To Dissipate The Heat Generated By The Brakes When Driving Downhill. This Same Problem Has Presented Itself Again At Approximately 19,000 Miles, During Another Trip In The Coastal Hills Of The San Francisco Peninsula. Please, Consider This A Severe Problem, Potentially Requiring A Recall: The Severe Vibrations Caused By The Brakes On A Downward Sloping Mountain Road, Especially With Wet Or Snowy Roads, Could Easily Make The Vehicle To Slip Out Of Control And Cause A Crash. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH3BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in LOS ALTOS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Feb 14, 2014

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Charlottesville, VA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 5

While Going Into A Parking Space, I Attempted To Engage The Brakes, The Brake Pedal Depressed Entirely To The Floor, And The Brakes Did Not Engage. As The Result, My Vehicle Dropped Approximately 15 Feet Over A Retaining Wall To A Lower Parking Lot Landing Nose First Onto The Pavement Of The Parking Area Below. The Airbag Deployed And The Vehicle Ultimately Landed On All Four Tires, Rolling Forward Until I Was Able To Stop The Vehicle By Engaging The Emergency Brake.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 44727 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH1BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

May 29, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Hackettstown, NJ
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 80

At 8:00 Am On 7/7/2016, My Son Was Driving My highlander 2011 To Work At 80 M/h On Road 287 In Nj. The Vin Is [xxx]. The Car In Front Of My Son Was Slowing Down. My Son Was Trying To Brake The Car To Slow Down. But, The All Brakes Stopped Working And The Dashboard Screen Displaying A Warning Message “brake: Brake Malfunction”. My highlander 2011 Crashed Into The Car In Front Of It. My Car Was Just Maintained On 3/15/2106 At Towne toyota, Ledgewood, Nj 07852. All Brakes Were Updated. Please Advise Me Who Should Take The Responsibility For “brake Malfunction”. Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 64300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH2BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in HACKETTSTOWN, NJ. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 80 mph.

July 06, 2016

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Windsor, CT
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2011 toyota highlander. When The Brake Pedal Was Depressed At 20 Mph, The Vehicle Unintentionally Accelerated Without Warning. The Vehicle Eventually Stopped After The Brake Pedal Was Depressed With Extreme Force. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified. The Failure Mileage Was 100,900. The Vin Was Not Available.

Mileage was 100900 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in WINDSOR, CT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Jan 08, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Katy, TX
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed

Abs Brake Actuator Failed On toyota highlander. Spent $1905 On Repairs From toyota. There Was A Relate Recall On toyota Camery Hybrid With The Same Problem. The Abs Function Won

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask