2011 Toyota Highlander Steering problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Steering problems and reviews: 12.

Are you driving a 2011 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Steering problems and defects.

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Sevierville, TN
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

Purchased My 2011 highlander In March, & It Had 7000 Miles On It At The Time Of The Incident. I Started The Vehicle In My Driveway, Put It In Drive, And Started Down My Driveway. Pressed The Brake Pedal, And There Were No Brakes And Seemed Not To Have Power Steering. The Lights In The Dash Came On, And The Screen Said Brake Malfunction Contact Dealer Immediately. There Were No Brakes, I Finally Came To A Stop At The Bottom Of The Hill, Put The Car In Park, And Turned The Ignition Off. When I Turned The Key, The Car Started, The Dash Lights Were Still Lit Up, And I Guess The Computer Seemed To “reset”. I Pulled Back Into My Driveway & Had The Car Towed To The Dealer The Next Day. The Dealer Has Had It For Over Two Weeks, And The Incident Has Not Happened Again, And They Said That They Cannot Find A Single Thing Wrong With It. They Can, However, See That There Was An “incident” With The Brakes On That Date By The Computer Reading. I Have Been Told That I Am Going To Be Getting This Car Back, And That It Is Fine. Everyone Say A Prayer For Myself And My 3 Kids That Are In It, & Hope That It Doesn’t Happen Again In These Mountains That I Live! *tr

Mileage was 7000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH6BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in SEVIERVILLE, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Oct 27, 2011

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Elmhurst, NY
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

I Only Have 7k Miles In My Car I Own The Car For Only 1 Year. I Notice That The Steering Wheel Is Not Balance At All. At Least 5-10 Degree To The Right. I Have My Car Service Every 6 Months With toyota It Should Be Balanced And Done The Tire Rotation??? Also The Transmission Occasionally Stall About 1-2 Second When I Accelerate To 30-40 Mph. I Am Afraid That The Transmission Will Have Problem Within This 2-3 Years. Like Honda Transmission Failure On Odyssey. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in ELMHURST, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 18, 2012

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Henrico, VA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 404

At Approximately 40-42 Mph On A Slight Curve To The Right, The Steering Would Get Very Tight And The Steering Wheel Was Extremely Difficult To Turn In The Direction Of The Road.( It Is As If The Car Was Turning To The Left On Its Own) This Has Happened Several Times And The Dealer And toyota Inspected The Car. The Car Was Under Case Management With toyota Three Times For The Same Problem. Case #’s [xxx], [xxx], And Case [xxx]. Each Time toyota Would State There Is No Problem And The Car Was “functioning As Designed. ” toyota‘s Excessive Use Of Electronics In Areas Such As Steering Have Created Unsafe Vehicles. Even Worse, My Opinion Is toyota Knows They Have Another Safety Issue And Once Again Is Denying And Covering It Up. toyota Can No Longer Be Trusted! Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15191 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH5BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in HENRICO, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 404 mph.

Feb 22, 2011

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Palmdale, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 0

Started The Car. Power Steering Was Gone!! It Had Just Gone Out!!! Thank God I Was In Town. I Had Just Gone Over Mountain Road Where I Could Have Gone Over A Cliff And Been Killed. I Was Able To Take The Car With Horrible Difficulty To A Mechanic Across The Street And They Called The toyota Dealer And They Told Them To Disconnect The Battery. That Didn’t Work. I Had The Car Towed To The toyota Dealer When They Took The Tow It Seemed To Be Working. They Checked It And Was Given An “all System Ok” On The Powertrain, Chassis, Electrical And Network Systems. They Said It Was A “glitch” A Glitch???? This Is A Car I Paid $34,000 For And I Have Kept Up With All The Scheduled Maintenance. Now I’m Afraid To Drive It. It Was Terrifying. I Have To Drive Home From San Luis Obispo To Lancaster Ca And I’m Scared To Death. A Glitch???? *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 48000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH7BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in PALMDALE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 22, 2014

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Bakersfield, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 0

When Making A Right Hand Turn The Steering System Has A Significant “bump” Of “thump”. This Appears To Be A Problem With A Part Of The Steering Sector Shaft That toyota Is Well Aware Of But Will Not Acknowledge There Is A Problem With Design. toyota Will Only Correct Problem If Customer Is Willing To Pay Cost Of Approximately $1200. Not Sure What Will Happen If Correction Is Not Made, But I Believe It Could Lead To Failure Of The Steering System To Function Appropriately.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 52500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH3BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in BAKERSFIELD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 29, 2014

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Walworth, WI
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

I Had A Clunking Noise Whenever I Turned The Steering Wheel Left Or Right At Slow Speeds. I Checked On Line And Found This Site Which Noted Fault To Be The Intermediate Steering Shaft, As The Issue. I Took My Vehicle Into A toyota Dealership For Repair. They Confirmed That This Was The Issue And Because It Is Not Considered A Safety Issue, No Recall Has Been Issued. toyota Would Not Cover Any Of The Cost Which Was $684. It Started When I Had 80,000 Miles On The Vehicle And I Took It In For Repair At 94,000 Miles When Noice Became Louder.. Disappointed toyota Did Not Help With The Repair Cost.

Mileage was 94000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EHXBS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in WALWORTH, WI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 22, 2018

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Cerritos, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 25

Every Time I Turn My Wheel I Have A Thumping Sound (worse When I Am Turning Right)

Mileage was 62000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH0BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in CERRITOS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Oct 12, 2017

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Salt Lake City, UT
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 35

Driving On A Highway With Gentle Turns At 35mph, Power Steering Failed. I Was Able To Drive Straight Until There Were No Cars Directly Behind Me And I Could Brake To A Safe Speed To Attempt Turning. I Was Eventually Able To Manually Steer The Car To Turn Into A Driveway Using A Three Point Turn.

Mileage was 108000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH4BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in SALT LAKE CITY, UT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Sept 08, 2018

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Milledgeville, GA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2011 toyota highlander. While Driving Unknown Speeds, There Was An Abnormal Knocking And Popping Noise When Turning The Steering Wheel Left And Right. There Were No Warning Indicators Illuminated. The Contact Called The Local Dealer (five Star toyota Of Milledgeville, 2816 N Columbia St, Milledgeville, Ga 31061, (478) 387-2112) And Was Informed To Schedule A Service Appointment. The Contact Stated That The Failure Was Similar To Nhtsa Action Number: Pe18005 (steering). The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Contacted. The Failure Mileage Was 156,000.

Mileage was 156000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH5BS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2011 problem was reported in MILLEDGEVILLE, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 01, 2018

Steering Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Barceloneta, PR
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 25

Ruidos O Golpes En La Ca

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask