2011 Toyota Prius Service Brakes problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Toyota Prius Service Brakes problems and reviews: 7.

Are you driving a 2011 Toyota PRIUS, or planning to buy one? Review reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Denver, CO
Model Prius
System Service Brakes
Speed 20

We Have Been Experiencing Braking Abnormalities For 1-2 Months, And When Our Brake Malfunction Light Came On We Had It Checked Out. Initially, About 1 Month Ago, The toyota Dealer’s service Dept. Could Not Detect An Issue, So Simply Reset The Computer. But, Again, The Malfunction Light Returned And Again, We Returned The Car To The service Dept. On This Occasion, They Told Us That Nitrogen Gas Has Leaked From The Accumulator Into The Braking System. Research Indicates That This Is A Similar Problem Experienced By 2010 prius Owners. We Would Love For toyota To Fix This Issue Rather Than Us Cover The $5000 For Brake System Replacement.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 41000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU3B1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2011 problem was reported in DENVER, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

May 27, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Madison, WI
Model Prius
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

This Has Happened Multiple Times Since I Purchased This Vehicle. The First Time This Happened Was At 2,500 Miles. While Applying Brakes On A Rough Road Or When Crossing A Pot Hole, Cracked Road, Or Bridge Joint The Brakes Fail Momentarily Allowing The Car To Lurch Forward. It His Happens Regardless Of The Speed. I Could Be Traveling At 15 Or 50 Mph And The Brakes Will Fail And Lurch Forward. I Purchased The prius New In 2011 And Have Told The service Folks At toyota About The Problem And They Look At The Vehicle And Are Not Able To Find A Reason For This Brake Failure. This Is Dangerous. I Have To Make Sure I Start Braking A Good Distance From A Car In Front Of Me As I Am Afraid This Defect Will Cause An Accident. If I Have To Brake Suddenly And Am Driving Over Any Road That Is Not Smooth My Brakes Fail And Lurch Forward. How Many People Need To Get Injured Or Die Before toyota Fixes This Defect?

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2500 miles. TOYOTA PRIUS 2011 problem was reported in MADISON, WI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Apr 09, 2012

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Arlington, WA
Model Prius
System Service Brakes
Speed 25

My Wife Was Driving Our 2011 prius During Stop And Go Traffic. She Said The Car Just Took Off On Her On It’s Own She Tried To Brake But It Wouldn’t Stop. It Crashed Into The Motorhome That I Was Driving. The Air Bags Never Deployed. The Car Was Totaled Due To The Extensive Damage.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 105234 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DL781. TOYOTA PRIUS 2011 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

June 28, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Temple City, CA
Model Prius
System Service Brakes
Speed 1

The Vehicle Was Parked In A Typical Supermarket Parking Lot During A Normal Sunny Day. The Vehicle Starts Normally As The Brakes Are Depressed. After Putting The Car In Reverse, The Brake Pedal Pushed Back As The Vehicle Starts To Back Up. The Brake Felt Very Stiff And Would Not Depress Until The Foot Is Lifted And Re-stepped On It. It Has Happened About A Dozen Times In The Last 3.5 Years, No Specific Place Or Time. Was Not Able To Be Duplicated At The Dealerships. The Dealer Said It’s Safety Feature When You Step On The Brakes Too Hard, It Locks Up As In A Hand Brake. However, The Lockup I Experienced Is Different And Only Happens Occasionally During Reverse Where The Brakes Is Not Stopping The Car From Moving. Seems To Occur More Often On Sloped Surfaces Than Flat, But Cannot Duplicate As It Happens Randomly, Usually With Multiple Passengers In The Car. This Can Be A Real Safety Hazard If Some One Is Behind The Vehicle.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. TOYOTA PRIUS 2011 problem was reported in TEMPLE CITY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 1 mph.

Aug 10, 2012

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Santa Fe, NM
Model Prius
System Service Brakes
Speed 75

Traction Control And Abs Warning Lights Came On. Cruise Control Stopped Working. Took It To toyota Who Said Codes Indicated Failure Of Master Cylinder. Cost Of Repair $3,400. I Think They Have A Defective Part Problem.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 42000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU7B5. TOYOTA PRIUS 2011 problem was reported in SANTA FE, NM. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 75 mph.

Aug 07, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
River Ridge, LA
Model Prius
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

Just Want To Add To The List Of Complaints About This Car Lunging Forward When The Brakes Are Applied, Primarily When The Car Is Driving Over Rough Terrain But Not Always. It Is Always Unexpected. I’ve Had To Change The Way I Drive, But I’m Not Always Sure I Could Stop It In Every Circumstance. I’ve Taken The Car In To A toyota service Center Twice To Look At It. They Either Can’t Get It To Happen While They Have The Car Or They Say It’s Normal. It’s Not Normal For Any Car I’ve Ever Had In Twenty Plus Years Of Driving. It Has Only Gotten Worse And More Frequent Over The Course Of The Three Years That I’ve Had The Car.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU5B1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2011 problem was reported in RIVER RIDGE, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Jan 16, 2012

Service Brakes Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
West Hollywood, CA
Model Prius
System Service Brakes
Speed 15

There Are 3 Issues I Am Having With This prius. The Brakes Are The First Problem. As Others Have Stated, I Too Have The Same Lurching Forward When Braking Over Bumby Or Rough Roads. This Has Been Ongoing Over The Last Few Years. Second, The Suspension Is Creaking And Crunching When Making Turns At Low Speeds Under 20mph. This Happens When The Wheels Are Turned All The Way Right And All The Way Left. This Crunching Noise Happens When Backing Out Of The Driveway, Making U-turns, Coming To A Stop On An Incline, And Braking Over Speed Bumps. I’ve Had The Dealer Look At This For The Last Year When I Come In For service And One Tech Says They Can’t Figure It Out, Another Tech Says He Hears It But Can’t Find The Root Of The Problem, The service Mgr. Also Went On A Drive With Me And Reproduces The Noise Concern But The Techs Couldn’t Find It. Most Were Suggesting New Front Suspension Components-struts, Towers, Links, Etc. I Replaced The Two Front Struts And All Of The Extra Components-the Noise Concern Is Still There. I Am Very Upset About This. Third Issue Is The Ice-motor. When Stopped At A Red Light And The Engine Shuts Off, The Car Lurches Forward And Makes A Creaking Sound. It’s Appears That Something Is Not Right. The Engine Seems Like It Is Loose. The Engine Also Makes Rattling Sound When Cruising Lightly At 15-25 Mph With The Accelerator Pressed Slightly. The Sound Is Coming From The Passenger Side, Under The Dashboard-glove Compartment Area. This Is A Rattle Sound Coming From The Engine. I’ve Had This Looked At As Well And The Dealer States They Cannot Duplicate It. I Have Recorded All Sounds Related To These Concerns And Am Taking It Back To The Dealer This Month.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 63000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU7B1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2011 problem was reported in WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Sept 01, 2015

2011 Toyota Prius problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Prius, driving a 2011 Toyota Prius, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask