2011 Toyota Tundra Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tundra Engine problems and reviews: 16.

Are you driving a 2011 Toyota TUNDRA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Chapel Hill, NC
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 55

On Sun. 10/11/14, I Drove Our tundra On The Highway When It Lost Power. The Engine Raced And Rpms Increased, But The Speed Fell And No Acceleration Was Possible. On A Hill, Speed Fell To About 15 Mph. I Was On My Way To Pick Up My Horse And Trailer; If I Had Been Towing Them, It Would Have Been Catastrophic Especially Given The Highway Speed Traffic. It Was Still Dangerous Even Without The Trailer. I Turned On My Hazard Lights And Limped Off. “check Engine” Lit Up. Took To Dealership The Next Day, Who Said Check Engine Code Was “p2445″ For “secondary Air Injection System Water Intrusion” Requiring Replacement Of The Air Pump Assembly, Air Pump Inlet, Emission Valve Set, Etc. For $2600 Because Water Invaded The System. The Service Tech Said That This Was Not A Known Issue, But My Internet Search Showed That toyota Issued A 12-page 2011 Technical Service Bulletin, Stating That “the Air Pump Assembly Inlet Has Been Updated To Prevent Water Intrusion.” toyota Has Neither Recalled The Defective Inlets Nor Notified Owners. The Tsb Says Only Trucks Under The 36,000/ 3 Year Warranty Are Covered. tundras Are Tow Vehicles And It Is Foreseeable How Unsafe This Is. Because My Truck Was Sold Just Over 3 Years Ago, The Local Dealership At First Could Not Cover It. I Contacted toyota Headquarters, Who Referred Me Back To The Local Service Manager, Who Then Reached Southeast Regional toyota Office, Which Finally Agreed To Cover The Repair. When This Air Pump Inlet Fails, It Allows Water To Enter The Air Injection System And The System To Then Fail In The Dangerous Way That Occurred In My Case, Resulting In A Sudden Loss Of Power. I Am Concerned About This Happening To Others And That The Dealers Seem Unaware Of This Tsb And This “known Issue.” Tsb Link Is Here: Http://www.autosafety.org/sites/default/files/imce_staff_uploads/t-sb-0160-11.pdf. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 29500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUW5F1XBX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in CHAPEL HILL, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 8 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Oct 19, 2014

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Boones Mill, VA
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 0

?on 12/26/2014, I Started My tundra, Placed It Into Gear After A 30 Second Pause And Proceeded To Literally Stand On My Breaks To Stop The Vehicle From Lurching Forward. The Back Tires Spun Causing Smoke To Emanate From The Screeching Tires. At The Time I Placed The Vehicle In Gear, A Pedestrian Was Walking In Front Of The tundra. I Almost Squashed Them.? *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 69000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFDY5F17BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in BOONES MILL, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 8 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 26, 2014

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Dansville, MI
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 35

Vehicle Would Not Accelerate Past 40mph. This Occurred Suddenly While Driving. Dealership Determined It Was Air Injection Pump Failure. After Discussion With Master Mechanic And A Service Manager I Found That This Problem Was Diagnosed It Earlier Models Up To And Including 2010 tundra Where toyota Took Care Of The Repair . But They Continued To Use This Part Until Late 2011. My Truck Was Delivered In Fall Of 2010 And Had The Older Style Part. They Changed The Part Design And Now It Prevents Moisture To Enter The Pump And Prevents Corrosion Which Caused Pump Failure. The Original Part Had Flared Head Tubing And No Seal The New Design Has A Sealed Tube End. toyota New This Would Fail Yet They Did Not Make The Recall I Have Requested A Reimbursement But The Have So Far Failed To Do So This Cost Me Over $2400 This Expense Should Be Entirely On toyota

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 75561 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFCW5F18BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in DANSVILLE, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

July 16, 2014

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Hernando, MS
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 60

The Contact Owns A 2011 toyota tundra. While Driving At 60 Mph, The Vehicle Decelerated And The Engine And Slip Differential Lights Illuminated. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer, Where It Was Diagnosed That Water Intrusion Codes P2440 And P2441 Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 90,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 90000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFEM5F11BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in HERNANDO, MS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

July 23, 2015

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Mexico, ME
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 50

The Contact Owns A 2011 toyota tundra. While Driving Approximately 50 Mph Up A Hill, The Speed Independently Decreased To 25 Mph Without Warning. The Failure Recurred On Several Occasions While Driving At Various Speeds. The Contact Stated That The Check Engine Warning Indicator Was Constantly Illuminated. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Secondary Air Pump Was Faulty And Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 50,000. Updated 12/03/15*lj

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUM5F17BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in MEXICO, ME. Original Owner. Vehicle was purchased on 20110502. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.Vehicle had 8 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 drive type:4WD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 TRANSMISSION TYPE: AUTO. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph. DEALER’S NAME: BERLIN CITY . DEALER’S CITY: GORAHAM . DEALER’S STATE CODE: NH.

Oct 01, 2013

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Westlake, LA
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 60

My 2011 toyota tundra While It Was Being Driven The Engine Light Came On. It Was Driven To A Nearby O’ Reilly’s For A Code Check. The Code Was P0418 Which Is The Air Induction Pump Which Is An Emission’s Code. The Truck Then Went Into A Limp Mode While Driving Home On A Busy City Street Which Meant It Would Not Accelerate Over 35 Mph. This Is A Very Dangerous Situation Not Having The Ability To Go Any Faster Due To An Emission’s Code Putting The Truck Into A Limp Mode. After Researching This Problem I Found Out That toyota Has Extended The Warranty For This Air Injection Pump For The 2007-2010 tundra Models. toyota Has Refused To Help Cover The Cost For This Repair Even Though It Is A Known Problem On tundras. I Read That The Same Faulty Air Pump Which Allows Moisture To Enter Is Still Being Used In My 2011 tundra Model. This Is A $2,200 Repair Which toyota Should Cover Since It Has Occurred To Their Earlier Models And Mine As Well. Not Only Is This A Costly Repair, But Also A Very Dangerous Situation When Your Vehicle Is Unable To Accelerate On An Emissions Problem.

Mileage was 91260 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRY5F19BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in WESTLAKE, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Apr 29, 2016

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Jonesboro, ME
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 0

Secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Stuck Open Bank 2. Experienced P2442 Code And All Lights Illuminated On Dash. Truck Was Started On A Cold Morning When Problem Arose. Current Mileage On Truck Is 44,253. Warranty For Air Injection Pump System Needs To Be Extended To Newer Model tundras. There Is A Current Warranty On 2007-2010 Model tundras.

Mileage was 44235 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFDY5F13BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in JONESBORO, ME. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 02, 2016

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Bay City, TX
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 0

Secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Stuck Open Bank 2. Experienced P2442 Code And Vsc Illuminated On Dash. Truck Was Started On A Normal Morning When Problem Arose. Current Mileage On Truck Is 64,277. Warranty For Air Injection Pump System Needs To Be Extended To Newer Model tundras. There Is A Current Warranty On 2007-2010 Model tundras

Mileage was 64277 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F10BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in BAY CITY, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 01, 2016

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Chesapeake, VI
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 60

The Contact Owns A 2011 toyota tundra. While Driving Approximately 60 Mph, The Abs, Check Engine, And 4 Wheel Drive Low Sensor Lights Illuminated. The Vehicle’s Speed Suddenly Reduced To Approximately 30 Mph. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Air Pump Assembly Unit Was Faulty. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Vin Was Unknown. The Failure Mileage Was 70,000.

Mileage was 70000 miles. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in CHESAPEAKE, VI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

May 01, 2014

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Chino Hills, CA
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed

Consuming 1 Quart Of Oil Every 1k Miles Is Unacceptable! My Engine At The Time I Discovered This Only Had 50k Miles On It. If I Wait Until My Next Scheduled Oil Change (5k-10k) My Engine Will Fail Due To Low Level Of Oil Left, If Any.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFEY5F1XBX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in CHINO HILLS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 12, 2014

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Clearwater, FL
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 30

The Contact Owns A 2011 toyota tundra. While Driving Various Speeds, The Vehicle Would Suddenly Go Into Limp Mode, The Check Engine Sensor Indicator Illuminated And The Vehicle Reduced Speed And Would Not Accelerate Past 30 Mph. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Secondary Egr Valves Were Faulty Due To Corrosion And Moisture And Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Repaired, But The Failure Recurred Approximately One Year Later. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 40,000. Updated 10/13/16*lj

Mileage was 40000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F14BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in CLEARWATER, FL. Original Owner. Vehicle was purchased on 20120924. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 drive type:RWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 TRANSMISSION TYPE: AUTO. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph. DEALER’S NAME: CLEARWATER TOYOTA . DEALER’S CITY: CLEARWATER . DEALER’S STATE CODE: FL. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 33764 .

May 01, 2016

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Hollywood, FL
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed

My Car Has Only 31914 Mileage And I Need To Replace “air Pumps Kit” . I Went To One Of The Dealers toyota In Southflorida Named; “headquarter toyota” And They Charged Me $3116.63 For This Replacement.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F1XBX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in HOLLYWOOD, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 03, 2016

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Seekonk, MA
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2011 toyota tundra. While Attempting To Accelerate, The Vehicle Hesitated Before Responding And The Check Engine Warning Indicator Illuminated. The Dealer Diagnosed That The Intake Pump Failed And Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure And Offered To Provide A Portion Of The Repair Cost. The Vin Was Unknown. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 102,000. Updated 06/08/17*lj

Mileage was 102000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUM5F16BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in SEEKONK, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 8 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. DEALER’S NAME: MC GEE CHEVROLET . DEALER’S CITY: RAYNHAM . DEALER’S STATE CODE: MA. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 02767 .

Dec 01, 2014

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
San Antonio, TX
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 35

While Driving The Check Engine Light Came On And I Lost Propulsion Power Resulting In Vehicle Slowing Down And Almost Creating An Accident From Behind. I Had The Vehicle Checked Via A Obd2 Code Checker Which Resulted In Code P2442. After Verifying Code, It Looks As If It Is A Faulty Air Intake. Looking Through Several Sources On The Internet, It Seems To Be A Very Common Problem That toyota Is Refusing To Acknowledge Or Repair. Please Take This Issue Into Consideration And Help The Consumer. Fuel Propulsion System I Purchased My 2011 tundra Quarter End 2011. It Has Less Than 100k Miles And Is Well Maintained By The Dealer. Late May 2017 E Light Came On And I Took The Vehicle To The Dealer To Have This Checked. I Learned That I Had An Issue With The Secondary Air Injection System. The Estimated Cost Of The Repair Was Quoted At $3,000

Mileage was 87000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F10BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in SAN ANTONIO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

May 17, 2017

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Portland, ME
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed

Engine Oil Leaked From Valve Cover Area Onto Exhaust Heat Shield Within 17k Miles Of Owner Ship. This Oil Leak Is Known As The tundra Cam Tower Leak And Spanned Model Years 2010 To About 2015. Here’s A Link To A Forum Discussing It: Http://www.tundratalk.net/forums/tundra-problems-maintenance-repair-dealer-warranty-issues/140601-cam-tower-oil-leak.html Also A Google Search Will List Many More Complaints. The Degree Of The Problem Varies, From Seeping To A Leak Where Oil Leaks Onto The Exhaust Heat Shield As Was The Case For Me. The Vehicle Was Repaired And toyota Did Provide Me With An Extended Warranty To Address My Concerns About Vehicle Reliability. Attached Is A Photo, And Photos Of The Repair Receipt With Privacy Information Removed. The Last Three Digits Of The Vin Are Visible On The Receipt So It Can Be Matched To The Vin Of Vehicle.

Mileage was 17090 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUY5F18BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in PORTLAND, ME. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 27, 2012

Engine Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Aliso Viejo, CA
Model Tundra
System Engine
Speed 20

I Was Driving On The Freeway And My tundra Would Not Go Past 20 Mph. I Almost Got Into An Accident On The Freeway And Had To Pull Off/exit. I Brought It To A toyota Dealer For An Authorize Diagnostic And Repair. My Secondary Injection Valve Was Defective Back In January 2016 And The Quote Price Was $2860 From My Local toyota Dealer. toyota Did Not Cover The Faulty Injection Until A Warranty Enhancement Letter Came Out In August 2017 For Owner’s To Submit Paperwork. This May Affect Other toyota tundra And Sequoia Model As Well.

Mileage was 100000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFEM5F12BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in ALISO VIEJO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Jan 30, 2016

2011 Toyota Tundra problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tundra, driving a 2011 Toyota Tundra, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Engine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask