2011 Toyota Tundra Fuel, Propulsion System problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tundra Fuel, Propulsion System problems and reviews: 10.

Are you driving a 2011 Toyota TUNDRA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Fuel, Propulsion System problems and defects.

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Chapel Hill, NC
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 55

On Sun. 10/11/14, I Drove Our tundra On The Highway When It Lost Power. The Engine Raced And Rpms Increased, But The Speed Fell And No Acceleration Was Possible. On A Hill, Speed Fell To About 15 Mph. I Was On My Way To Pick Up My Horse And Trailer; If I Had Been Towing Them, It Would Have Been Catastrophic Especially Given The Highway Speed Traffic. It Was Still Dangerous Even Without The Trailer. I Turned On My Hazard Lights And Limped Off. “check Engine” Lit Up. Took To Dealership The Next Day, Who Said Check Engine Code Was “p2445″ For “secondary Air Injection System Water Intrusion” Requiring Replacement Of The Air Pump Assembly, Air Pump Inlet, Emission Valve Set, Etc. For $2600 Because Water Invaded The System. The Service Tech Said That This Was Not A Known Issue, But My Internet Search Showed That toyota Issued A 12-page 2011 Technical Service Bulletin, Stating That “the Air Pump Assembly Inlet Has Been Updated To Prevent Water Intrusion.” toyota Has Neither Recalled The Defective Inlets Nor Notified Owners. The Tsb Says Only Trucks Under The 36,000/ 3 Year Warranty Are Covered. tundras Are Tow Vehicles And It Is Foreseeable How Unsafe This Is. Because My Truck Was Sold Just Over 3 Years Ago, The Local Dealership At First Could Not Cover It. I Contacted toyota Headquarters, Who Referred Me Back To The Local Service Manager, Who Then Reached Southeast Regional toyota Office, Which Finally Agreed To Cover The Repair. When This Air Pump Inlet Fails, It Allows Water To Enter The Air Injection System And The System To Then Fail In The Dangerous Way That Occurred In My Case, Resulting In A Sudden Loss Of Power. I Am Concerned About This Happening To Others And That The Dealers Seem Unaware Of This Tsb And This “known Issue.” Tsb Link Is Here: Http://www.autosafety.org/sites/default/files/imce_staff_uploads/t-sb-0160-11.pdf. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 29500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUW5F1XBX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in CHAPEL HILL, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 8 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 drive type:4WD. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Oct 19, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Hope, KS
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 50

After Fueling Vehicle, Vehicle Spits And Sputters Under Moderate Acceleration. Took To Dealership And Alcohol Density Was 41%, So It Is Not Re-calculating Fad, Its A 2011 So toyota Doesn’t Honor The Problem Because Its Not A 2012 Or 2013 Although It Has The Exact Same Problem.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 65000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFDW5F1XBX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in HOPE, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Feb 10, 2015

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Dansville, MI
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 35

Vehicle Would Not Accelerate Past 40mph. This Occurred Suddenly While Driving. Dealership Determined It Was Air Injection Pump Failure. After Discussion With Master Mechanic And A Service Manager I Found That This Problem Was Diagnosed It Earlier Models Up To And Including 2010 tundra Where toyota Took Care Of The Repair . But They Continued To Use This Part Until Late 2011. My Truck Was Delivered In Fall Of 2010 And Had The Older Style Part. They Changed The Part Design And Now It Prevents Moisture To Enter The Pump And Prevents Corrosion Which Caused Pump Failure. The Original Part Had Flared Head Tubing And No Seal The New Design Has A Sealed Tube End. toyota New This Would Fail Yet They Did Not Make The Recall I Have Requested A Reimbursement But The Have So Far Failed To Do So This Cost Me Over $2400 This Expense Should Be Entirely On toyota

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 75561 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFCW5F18BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in DANSVILLE, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

July 16, 2014

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Conyers, GA
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 55

I Purchased My 2011 tundra Quarter End 2010. It Has Less Than 100k Miles And Is Well Maintained By The Dealer. Late August 2016 The Check Engine Light Came On And I Took The Vehicle To The Dealer To Have This Checked. I Learned That I Had An Issue With The Secondary Air Injection System. The Estimated Cost Of The Repair Was Quoted At $3,360.00. As A Long Time Owner Or Driver Of toyota Vehicles Of 35 Years, I Was Shocked In That I Had Never Experienced Such Issues. I Purchase toyota Because I Trust The Quality, Reliability And Design. I Understand That toyota Has Recalled And Is Covering The Cost Of The Replacement For Vehicles 2007-2010. There Appears To Be An Issue With The 2011 Models And This Should Be Investigated And The Coverage Expanded To Include This Year As Well. The New Technology Was Not In Place When My Car Was Manufactured. This Defect Creates Unsafe Conditions For The Driver To Navigate Busy Highways Or Country Roads. I Have This Truck For Hauling On Occasion And I Am So Thankful That I Did Not Have Livestock In Tow. The Dealer Reached Out To toyota For Assistance In The Replacement. toyota Covered 45% Of The Cost To Replace The Air Injection System Which I Appreciate; However, I Believe That The Total Cost Should Be Covered In That It Is A Known Defect/issue That Still Was Not Corrected When My Car Was Manufactured. Most Owners May Not Take The Time To Register A Complaint. I Wonder How Many Owners Have Had The Same Experience. I Have Not Provided Technical Information Here In That This Is A Known Defect And I Experienced All The Effects Of The Defect While Driving.

Mileage was 20 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F17BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in CONYERS, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Aug 30, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Wichita, KS
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 10

Fuel Tank Fuel Sending Unit Bad. I Was Pulling Out It Traffic When The Vehicle Suddenly Died. Some People Stopped To Help Me Push It Over To The Curb. Had It Towed To The Repair Shop. They Reported Back The Vehicle Was Out Of Gas And That The Fuel Tank Fuel Level Sending Unit Was Bad. The Repair Is $600+. The Vehicle Has Just Over 65,000 Miles On It. An Internet Search Shows This Is A Somewhat Common Problem And Has Been Since 2002 Model Year. I Called toyota And As Expected They Are Not Willing To Do Anything Relative To Covering The Problem. (case Number 1611010676). The Fuel Gauge Was Reading Just Under 1/4 Of A Tank And The Low Fuel Light Was Not On When The Issue Occurred.

Mileage was 65125 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFEM5F1XBX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in WICHITA, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Oct 31, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 70

While Driving The Check Engine Light Came On And I Lost Propulsion Power Resulting In Vehicle Slowing Down And Almost Creating An Accident From Behind. I Had The Vehicle Checked Via A Obd2 Code Checker Which Resulted In Code P2442. After Verifying Code, It Looks As If It Is A Faulty Air Intake. Looking Through Several Sources On The Internet, It Seems To Be A Very Common Problem That toyota Is Refusing To Acknowledge Or Repair. Please Take This Issue Into Consideration And Help The Consumer.

Mileage was 110000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F11BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in JACKSONVILLE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Nov 12, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 65

Fuel Propulsion System I Purchased My 2011 tundra Quarter End 2013. It Has Less Than 100k Miles And Is Well Maintained By The Dealer. Late August 2016 The Check Engine Light Came On And I Took The Vehicle To The Dealer To Have This Checked. I Learned That I Had An Issue With The Secondary Air Injection System. The Estimated Cost Of The Repair Was Quoted At $3,360.00. As A Long Time Owner Or Driver Of toyota Vehicles Of 35 Years, I Was Shocked In That I Had Never Experienced Such Issues. I Purchase toyota Because I Trust The Quality, Reliability And Design. I Understand That toyota Has Recalled And Is Covering The Cost Of The Replacement For Vehicles 2007-2010. There Appears To Be An Issue With The 2011 Models And This Should Be Investigated And The Coverage Expanded To Include This Year As Well. The New Technology Was Not In Place When My Car Was Manufactured. This Defect Creates Unsafe Conditions For The Driver To Navigate Busy Highways Or Country Roads. I Have This Truck For Hauling On Occasion And I Am So Thankful That I Did Not Have Livestock In Tow. The Dealer Reached Out To toyota For Assistance In The Replacement. I Believe That The Total Cost Should Be Covered In That It Is A Known Defect/issue That Still Was Not Corrected When My Car Was Manufactured. Most Owners May Not Take The Time To Register A Complaint. I Wonder How Many Owners Have Had The Same Experience. I Have Not Provided Technical Information Here In That This Is A Known Defect And I Experienced All The Effects Of The Defect While Driving.

Mileage was 91000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F14BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Feb 10, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Pensacola, FL
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 45

The Check Engine Light And The Acs Light Came On While Driving. The Truck Went Into A “limp” Mode And Would Not Accelerate Properly. I Took The Vehicle To Bob Tyler toyota In Pensacola Florida. They Determined That It Was The Air Injection Pump In The Emission’s System. They Stated That The Pump Had Water In It. My Extended Warranty Would Not Cover The Repairs Stating It Was A Known toyota Problem For My Vehicle. The Warranty Company Sent Me A toyota Service Bulletin (t-sb-0160-11). The Bulletin Clearly States That In Some 2007 – 2011 Model Year tundra Vehicles That Water Intrusion Into The Air Injection Pump Assembly Occurs. The Current Recall Notice Is For 2007-2010 tundras. That Recall Should Be Extended To Cover 2011 tundras Since It Is A Known Problem. Attached Is The toyota Service Bulletin And Bob Tyler’s Service / Repair Order.

Mileage was 68215 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F18BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in PENSACOLA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Jan 16, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
San Antonio, TX
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 35

While Driving The Check Engine Light Came On And I Lost Propulsion Power Resulting In Vehicle Slowing Down And Almost Creating An Accident From Behind. I Had The Vehicle Checked Via A Obd2 Code Checker Which Resulted In Code P2442. After Verifying Code, It Looks As If It Is A Faulty Air Intake. Looking Through Several Sources On The Internet, It Seems To Be A Very Common Problem That toyota Is Refusing To Acknowledge Or Repair. Please Take This Issue Into Consideration And Help The Consumer. Fuel Propulsion System I Purchased My 2011 tundra Quarter End 2011. It Has Less Than 100k Miles And Is Well Maintained By The Dealer. Late May 2017 E Light Came On And I Took The Vehicle To The Dealer To Have This Checked. I Learned That I Had An Issue With The Secondary Air Injection System. The Estimated Cost Of The Repair Was Quoted At $3,000

Mileage was 87000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F10BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in SAN ANTONIO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

May 17, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2011
Toyota
Location
Aliso Viejo, CA
Model Tundra
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 20

I Was Driving On The Freeway And My tundra Would Not Go Past 20 Mph. I Almost Got Into An Accident On The Freeway And Had To Pull Off/exit. I Brought It To A toyota Dealer For An Authorize Diagnostic And Repair. My Secondary Injection Valve Was Defective Back In January 2016 And The Quote Price Was $2860 From My Local toyota Dealer. toyota Did Not Cover The Faulty Injection Until A Warranty Enhancement Letter Came Out In August 2017 For Owner’s To Submit Paperwork. This May Affect Other toyota tundra And Sequoia Model As Well.

Mileage was 100000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFEM5F12BX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2011 problem was reported in ALISO VIEJO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Jan 30, 2016

2011 Toyota Tundra problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tundra, driving a 2011 Toyota Tundra, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Fuel, Propulsion System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask