2012 Toyota Camry Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Camry Electrical System problems and reviews: 41.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota CAMRY, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Marlborough, MA
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed

I Want To Bring To Your Attention A Concern That Is Primarily One Of Safety But Which Also Involves Poor And Misleading Information By toyota Related To The Blu-logic Cell-phone Connection System Included As A Feature On My New 2012 camry Hybrid. My Concern Stems From The Fact That The Blu-logic System, Obviously Coined To Sound Like Bluetooth, And Even Listed On Some Dealer Websites As A Bluetooth Connection, Is Misleadingly Described As Handsfree Communication And A Handsfree Solution In The Separate Brochure Provided By toyota. In Actuality, The System As Such Is At Best Only 50% ?handsfree. Only Incoming Calls May Be Engaged In Without Cell Phone In Hand. Outgoing Calls May Be Initiated Handsfree Only If Ones Cell Phone Itself Is Equipped With Voice-activated Dialing, A 4g-type Feature I Would Estimate Only A Fairly Small Minority Currently Possess. So The De-facto Reality Of The Blu-logic System Is That It Forces Most Drivers Into The Unsafe Practice Of Manually Initiating Outgoing Calls By Manually Dialing With Cell Phones In Hand. But In A Deceptive Omission, The toyota Guides Do Not Even Mention The Possibility Of Making Calls In This Manner. Indeed, The Phone-bank Rep I Spoke To Told Me, Presumably With A Straight Face, That It Was Not Possible To Do So, Even Though I Have Accomplished It On Several Occasions. It Is Hard Not To See This Omission Of Both Service And Information As A Cynical Evasion By toyota, Part Of A Cost-cutting Effort To Appear To Offer Handsfree In-car Cell-phone Service, A La Bluetooth, While Actually Providing An Unsafe System Which Forces A Driver To Use Hands To Make Calls. And Part Of This Evasion Appears To Include A Cover-up When A Customer Raises The Issue. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 25 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BD1FK5CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MARLBOROUGH, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC.

May 21, 2012

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Modesto, CA
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed 10

The toyota camry Has Been Rear Ended By A Ford Explorer 2002 Between 40-50mph, Damaging The Trunk, Bumper Tail Lights, Right Rear Side, Left Side Body And Spare Tire Compartment. At The Moment Of The Accident, Were The Driver And Three More Adult Passengers Inside Of The Vehicle On Their Respective Seats Wearing Properly The Seat Belts At The Time Of The Accident, The Driver From The Ford Explorer Was Distracted Looking For A Radio Remote Control Without Notice The Traffic Almost Stop When The Driver Of The Ford Explorer Back His Attention To The Traffic Was Too Late Even As He Manifest He Has No Time To Press The Brake Pedal. After We Inspect The Damages I Notice The Airbag And Seat Belt Light On The Dashboard Are On Even When The Car Is In Motion But No Air Bag Has Been Deploy There Is A Pictures And Video Available For Any Future Investigation Upon Request. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 31777 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK7CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MODESTO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Mar 01, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Leavenworth, KS
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed 60

Car Surging While Driving And Radio Would Cut Out And The toyota Emblem And Word toyota Appears On Screen. 1st Visit Dealer Stated A Computer Chip Needed Update. This Fixed The Surging While Driving But Did Not Fix The Radio From Cutting Out. Dealer Could Not Duplicate Radio Shut Down. Second Visit Back To Dealer, Had The Car 10 Days And Was Able To Duplicate Radio Shutting Off. Dealer Replaced The Extension Module. Car Returned And Still Radio Was Cutting Out. 3rd Time Dealer Replaced The Entire Radio Unit, Within 30 Minutes Of Driving The Radio Was Doing It Again.fourth Visit Back To Dealer. Dealer Disconnected Extension Module, Radio Still Cut Out, Replaced Radio And Amplifier From New Car Sitting On The Lot, Radio Still Cut Out. Service Manager Drove Car Home For Several Days And Radio Was Still Cutting Out. Traveling Service Rep Was Called In On 2 Occasions To Diagnose. Traveling Service Rep Is Driving A toyota Tacoma That Does The Same Thing But Is Unable To Identify The Problem. The Dealer Returned The Car And Said It Was Not Their Issue And It Is A Hd Radio Signal Being Sent Out By 98.9, A Entercom Broadcasting Company And That Their Equipment Was Working Is Not An Issue With The Installed Equipment. Talking With toyota Customer Service They Stated The Problem Was A Known Issue. I Contacted 5 toyota Dealership Service Departments And None Of Them Have Heard Of This Issue Or Had A Customer Bring Their Car In For The Same Issue. Talking With toyota Customer Service They Stated They Were Only Dealing With My Car And Not Concerned With Other Cars Having This Issue. I Am Having Trouble Understanding How This Is Not A Serious Safety Issue. I Cannot See A Hd Radio Signal Shutting The Entire Radio Down And Then Restarting. When The Incident Occurs It Causes The Lights On The Side Display Buttons Of The Radio To Also Go Out And Come Back On. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 13817 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BK1FKXCU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in LEAVENWORTH, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Jan 26, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
North Palm Beach, FL
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry Xle. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Was Driven And Parked. The Contact Later Discovered That The Vehicle Remained Powered On For Six Hours. The Contact Stated That The Keyless Vehicle Should Be Equipped With A Function That Would Shut The Vehicle Off After Being Powered Off For A Certain Amount Of Time Without An Occupant. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer, Who Was Unable To Determine The Cause Of The Failure. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure And Stated That The On And Off Button Feature For Ignition Was Working As Designed. The Failure And Current Mileage Was 16,000. Updated 07/10/13*lj Updated 07/11/2013*js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 16000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in NORTH PALM BEACH, FL. Original Owner. Vehicle was purchased on 20110927. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 TRANSMISSION TYPE: AUTO. DEALER’S NAME: EARL STEWART TOYOTA . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 561-844-3461 . DEALER’S CITY: LAKE PARK . DEALER’S STATE CODE: FL. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 33403 .

Apr 04, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Harvest, AL
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. The Contact Stated That Whenever He Exited The Vehicle, He Experienced A Shock Of Static Electricity. The Contact Was Concerned Of The Potential Danger Involved Because Both He And His Wife Used Pacemakers. A Dealer Was Notified Of The Failure And The Contact Was Advised To Wipe The Seats Down With Dryer Sheets. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Failure And Current Mileage Was 7,005. Updated 6/14/13 *cn

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 7005 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK3CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in HARVEST, AL. Original Owner. Vehicle was purchased on 20120803. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 TRANSMISSION TYPE: AUTO. DEALER’S NAME: SAND MT TOYOTA . DEALER’S CITY: ALBERTVILLE . DEALER’S STATE CODE: AL. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 35950 .

Feb 10, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Sylacauga, AL
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Was Parked And Became Engulfed In Flames. The Vehicle Was Destroyed. The Contact Was Informed By The Fire Marshall That The Wiring Under The Instrument Panel Had Caused The Fire. The Vin Was Unavailable. The Failure And Current Mileage Was 28,000.

Vehicle was on fire. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 28000 miles. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in SYLACAUGA, AL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 16, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Duluth, MN
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed 55

I Was Traveling Between Two Major Intersections On The Outskirts Of Decora, Ia On A Four Lane Road With My Lights On Dim. I Was Alone In My Lane There Was No Traffic In Front Nor Behind Though There Was Maybe One Or Two Cars In The Lanes Coming Toward Me. Suddenly I Saw White On The Road In Front Of Me. I Slammed On The Brakes And Turned Slightly To The Left. At This Point I Realized The White Were Deer Feet, The Deer Ran Off The Road To My Right. I Only Saw The Feet Move, I Never Saw The Deer In Full. My Complaint Is That The camry Headlights Do Not Allow Enough Light To Shine Above The Pavement To Be Able To See A Threat That Is Not Right On The Road. If You Bring The camry Against A Wall You Will See There Is A Line In The Headlight Shine, Above Which There Is Very Little Light, It Is Black. The Only Light That Seems To Shine Above Is That Which Bounces Up From The Pavement. The Headlights Do A Good Job Of Putting Light On The Pavement But Do Not Put Enough Light Above The Pavement To See Anything That Is Not Flat On The Pavement. The Brakes And Tires Worked Well, They Saved Me From Hitting The Deer. This Was A Very Close Call. These Headlights Are A Safety Hazard. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 215346 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BD1FK6CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in DULUTH, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: HYBRID ELECTRIC. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Nov 15, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Miramar, FL
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed

I Received A Recall Notice For The Hvac Assembly. I Called My Dealer And Verified My Vin And Scheduled An Appointment To Have The Assembly Replaced On 1/2/2014. When I Arrived At The Dealership I Was Told That They Did Not Have The Part And The Asst Svc Mgr [xxx] Told Me He Would Get The Part And Call Me. I Have Not Heard From Him And When I Call He Is On Vacation. I Called The Service Mgr And Left My Info And Have Not Received A Call Back. I Need To Have This Replaced As It Is An Extreme Safety Issue And I Need This Car For School. The Dealership Is toyota Of Hollywood, 1841 N State Rd 7, Hollywood, Fl 33021. Phone 954-893-4667. Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK2CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MIRAMAR, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. DEALER’S NAME: TOYOTA OF HOLLYWOOD . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 954-893-4667 . DEALER’S CITY: HOLLYWOOD . DEALER’S STATE CODE: FL. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 33021 .

Jan 02, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Acton, MA
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Recently I Experienced Two Events Which Started Me Thinking About One Safety Feature Of The New Automobile Ignition Systems. I Have A 2012 toyota camry Which Has An Ignition Key (?) Which Does Not Have To Be Inserted Into An Ignition Keyhole For Starting The Engine. One Has To Push The Start/stop Button While Depressing The Brake Pedal To Start The Engine, And Just Have To Push The Start/stop Button To Turn Off The Engine. (this Is Now Standard For Most New Vehicles.). On Two Recent Occasions I Parked My Car And Walked Away Without Pushing The Start/stop Button. I Did Not Realize What I Did For Two Reasons: (1) The Engine Runs Extremely Quietly, (2) More Importantly, I Was Not Required To Turn Off The Engine By Turning The Ignition Key Which Is Something That I Have Been Doing Almost Subconsciously. On Both Occasions I Did Not Come Back Until About Half An Hour Later To Discover That The Engine Was Not Turned Off. The Safety Issue Arises From The Following Scenario. Suppose I Came Back Home At Night, Parked The Car In The Garage Under The House, Gone Inside The House And Retired For The Night. The Presence Of The Key In My Pocket Does Not Guarantee That The Car Is Not Idling. This Is The Big Change Brought On By The New Ignition Keys. The Engine Running In The Garage Can Create An Extremely Dangerous Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Situation For The Inhabitants Of The House. A Simple Solution To This Possible Carbon Monoxide Build-up Problem Would Be To Install An Automatic Engine Shut-off Feature In The Car After A Certain Amount Of Time (~20-30 Minutes) That The Engine Has Been Idling. When I Contacted toyota They Said That Such A Feature Does Not Exist In My Model Of The Car. I Hope You Will Study This Possible Safety Problem And Come Up With A Feasible Solution. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 18000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK5CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in ACTON, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 02, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Hollywood, FL
Model Camry
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns 2012 toyota camry. The Contact Stated That The Service Engine Warning Light Started Flashing On The Instrument Panel. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where The Sensor Was Reset But The Failure Recurred Until The Warning Light Remained Illuminated. The Contact Parked The Vehicle And Later Discovered That The Vehicle Was On Fire. The Contact Noticed That The Fire Originated From Under The Hood On The Front Passenger

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask