2012 Toyota Camry Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Camry Engine problems and reviews: 12.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota CAMRY, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
New York, NY
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. The Contact Stated While Driving At Various Mileages, The Engine Began Losing Power. The Engine Restarted After Power Loss But The Failure Continued To Occur On Numerous Occasions. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer. The Technician Diagnosed That The Throttle Control Needed To Be Replaced. The Failure Recurred. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Issue. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 45,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK4CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in NEW YORK, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 23, 2012

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Waldorf, MD
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed

Rodents Have Discovered The Soy Compound Used To Insulate The Wires. My Daughter Has Had To Replace Wiring Twice In The Last Month. The Damage To The Wiring Results In Engine And Transmission Issues Including Stalling. This Is As Dangerous As The Issues Affecting Gm Cobalts. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 54000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in WALDORF, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 01, 2014

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Tulsa, OK
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 35

Driver Ran Into Rear End Of Truck With Heavy Duty Trailer Hitch. The Frontend Of The camry Sustained $5700 Damage. The Airbags Did Not Deploy. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 27000 miles. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in TULSA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Dec 03, 2014

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 0

When A Light Turns Green And I Try And Go Forward My toyota camry Will Not Accelerate For 2 To 7 Seconds. There Was A Recall For Software That Was Supposed To Fix The Issue, How Ever It Is Still Happening. The Issue Is Intermittent Occurring About Every 1000 Miles. In The Last 4 Months Another Issue Has Happened Where I Will Be Going Along At About 30 Miles Per Hour And Suddenly The Car Will Stall Out For About 5 Seconds, This Has Happened 6 Times Now. I Have Taken It To Two toyota Dealerships The First One Refused To Look At It Without Me Paying A Diagnostic Fee, The Other toyota Kept The Car For A Week And Said They Could Not Duplicate The Problem So There Was Nothing They Would Do. I Called toyota National Service Center At 1 888 2709371 And Was Told There Is Nothing They Will Do Because The Dealership Cannot Replicate The Problem. My Issue Is They Know There Is An Issue, They Sent Me A Letter Stating That There Might Be Problems And They Voluntarily Extended My Warranty On The Specific Parts They Know Can Cause Issues. I Am Concerned For My Safety, And Have Tried To Get The Issue Resolved. What Are The Next Steps I Can Take To Get The Issue Fixed. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 20000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK1CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in COLORADO SPRINGS, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 13, 2013

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Fridley, MN
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 15

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. While Driving 15 Mph, The Vehicle Stalled Without Warning. The Vehicle Completely Lost Power. In Addition, The Contact Stated That The Failure Occurred At Least Eight Times. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer To Be Repaired, But The Dealer Could Not Duplicate The Failure. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Issue. The Failure Mileage Was 48,000.

Mileage was 48000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FKXCU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in FRIDLEY, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Dec 03, 2015

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Arlington, TX
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 30

I Rear Ended A Jeep Wrangler Going About 30 Miles An Hour On The Interstate. The Jeep Was Stationary And My Car Was In Motion My Airbags Did Not Deploy And I Hit My Forehead On The Steering Wheel Which Caused A Large Knot And Cut On My Forehead.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. Mileage was 67000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BK1FK8CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TX. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Mar 20, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Hughesville, MD
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 50

I Am Getting A Flutter When I Press On The Gas Pedal As I Am Driving On The Road. I Thought It Was In The Wheel, But It Is Actually The Torque Converter. When I Contacted toyota The Second Time About This Problem, A Mechanic Rode With Me To Hear What Was Going On. He Stated It Was The Torque Converter And That They Had Replaced A Few Of Them. He Said They Would Do A Software Update And Then Replace The Torque Converter Later That Week. I Received A Call Back Later That Day Stating My Vin Number Wasn’t Included With The Recall Of The Torque Converters And He Would Contact toyota To See If They Would Still Cover It, Because They Had Covered Other Vehicles. I Received A Call Back Over A Week Later To State toyota Said They Would Only Cover Half Of The Cost. This Defect Is Something toyota Is Fully Aware Of And Should Be Taking Care Of The Costs For The Customer. I Have Googled About This Problem And A Lot Of 2012 camry‘s Are Having The Same Problem. The Customer Should Not Have To Cover The Costs Of A Malfunction That toyota Caused. If They Are Taking Care Of Some Of The Customers, They Most Definitely Should Be Taking Care Of This Problem With All Their Customers. My Car Was Only Three Years Old When This Problem Started And I Have To Replace A Transmission. This Is Ridiculous. toyota Needs To Stand Behind Their Product. toyota Didn’t Sell Defective Engines Before, But Now They Do. Something Needs To Be Done About This. Regardless If My Vin Number Didn’t Fall In Line With The Recall List, I Am Having The Exact Same Problem So Someone Needs To Include It And Have toyota Fix My Car. I’m In The Last Year Of Paying For My Car And I Have To Put Out Almost $5,700.00 Out For An Engine? This Is Not Happening. Something Needs To Be Done. toyota Needs To Step Up And Cover Their Defective Torque Converter And Transmission.

Mileage was 100000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BK1FK6CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in HUGHESVILLE, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

June 18, 2015

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Audubon, NJ
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 15

The Car Hesitates For Three To Five Seconds After Decelerating, Or When Turning A Corner, Taking My Foot Off The Pedal And Then Trying To Accelerate Again. Brought To Dealer And They Updated The Software And Told Me There Isn’t Any Problems With The Care. They Lie. Over 200 People Have Reported This Problem With toyotas On One Site Alone.

Mileage was 26000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK1CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in AUDUBON, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

May 19, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Edgard, LA
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 60

Ac Would Take Its Time Coming On, Felt Like It Was Struggling To Blow. Now Its Completely Broken. Foul Smelling Order When Ac Turned On.

Mileage was 104610 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK6CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in EDGARD, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Sept 28, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 0

Very Bsd Hesitation On Acceleration Very Dangerous

Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK5CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in LAS VEGAS, NV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 28, 2014

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Odenton, MH
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 30

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. While Driving Between 30-50 Mph, The Accelerator Pedal Was Depressed And The Vehicle Would Shutter And Lose Power Without Warning. The Contact Mentioned That Failure Had Been Present For Several Months, But Seemed To Be Getting Worse. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure And Informed The Contact That There Was An Extended Warranty Program; However, The Vin Was Not Included. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 55,000.

Mileage was 55000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BK1FK5CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in ODENTON, MH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Apr 20, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Willow Grove, PA
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed

Car Had No Problems Til I Reached The 120000 Mile Mark Now The Car Shuts Off Without Notice,burning Oil And Check Engine Light Goes Off And On

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK2CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in WILLOW GROVE, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 01, 2017

2012 Toyota Camry problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Camry, driving a 2012 Toyota Camry, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Engine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask