2012 Toyota Camry Vehicle Speed Control problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Camry Vehicle Speed Control problems and reviews: 22.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota CAMRY, or planning to buy one? Review reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kalamazoo, MI
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 25

On 9/24/14, While Traveling Home From A Neighborhood Park, I Was Hit By A Truck On The Driver Side. I Was Going Down A Slight Hill And Was Going To Turn Right At The Intersection. I’m Not Sure Exactly What Happened Prior To Impact But My Turn Signal Was On, I Was Going To Turn Right And I Was Breaking. Suddenly, I Heard This Loud Crash, When I Looked To My Left, I Saw My Driver’s Side Mirror Being Pushed Into My Door, Then I Saw The Truck. My Car Did Not Stop. I Was Going Apprx 15 To 25 Miles Per Hour Maybe, And Again I Was Traveling Slightly Downhill And Would Have Been Making A Turn. I Think My Car Was Continuing To Move Forward In The Seconds Before Impact. Once I Was Hit, My Car Continued To Move, Seemingly Faster. At That Point I Was Very Much Aware That My Car Was Not Stopping And The Breaks Were Not Working. Amazingly, I Was Able To Navigate The Corner (without Being Hit By Anyone Coming From The Opposite Direction) And Turn The Car Into A Parking Lot (with No Control Of The Breaks). In Front Of Me In The Parking Lot, Which Is Not A Big Lot, My Car Continued Heading In The Direction Of A Building There. I Could Not Stop The Car And Was Forced To Put It Into Park, Hoping That Would Stop The Car. It Did. However, The Airbags Did Not Deploy. The Police Were Called, A Ticket Was Issued To Me Stating That I Drove Without Due Care And Caution. My Insurance And toyota Hotline Have Been Contacted. The Process Is Just Beginning And I Will Not Know The Full Extent Of The Damages Until The “black Box” Is Inspected. This Has Been Very Upsetting And Could Have Resulted In A Much More Serious Outcome. I Thought toyota‘s Acceleration Problems Had Been Dealt With. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17408 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK2CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in KALAMAZOO, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Sept 24, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
New York, NY
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. The Contact Stated While Driving At Various Mileages, The Engine Began Losing Power. The Engine Restarted After Power Loss But The Failure Continued To Occur On Numerous Occasions. The vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer. The Technician Diagnosed That The Throttle Control Needed To Be Replaced. The Failure Recurred. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Issue. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 45,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK4CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in NEW YORK, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 23, 2012

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Cranston, RI
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

2012 toyota camry. Daughter Wrote In On Behalf Of Mother. Consumer Was Unable To Stop The vehicle, By Pressing On The Brake. *ss The Driver Of The vehicle Was Unable To Stop, As She Approached A Stop Sign. The Driver Eventually Crashed Into A Fence. *jb

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK8CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in CRANSTON, RI. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. DEALER’S NAME: BALISE TOYOTA . DEALER’S CITY: WARICK . DEALER’S STATE CODE: RI.

Aug 22, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Hope Hull, AL
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. When Parking The vehicle, It Accelerated Unintentionally Without Warning. As A Result, The Contact Crashed The vehicle Into A Building And The Air Bags Failed To Deploy. The Contact Sustained Neck, Back And Knee Injuries That Required Medical Attention. A Police Report Was Filed. The vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 43,000. The Vin Was Not Available. ….updated 01/12/15*bf Updated 01/15/15*jb

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 43000 miles. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in HOPE HULL, AL. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Nov 19, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Johnson City, TN
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 45

Bought This Car Used Just Over A Month Ago. Made A 1 Hour Trip Yesterday With Our 2 Children. Sudden Unexpected Acceleration Caused Me To Almost Wreck Twice As I Was Entering The City We Were Visiting. One Would’ve Been Serious Due To Location. Both Times Occurred When I Was Decelerating To Go Around Sharp Turns By Letting Off The Gas, But Not Using Break. Prior To Entering Town, The Cruise Had Been Set, But Was Turned Off Before Issue Occurred. I’ve Been A Loyal toyota Owner For Nearly 2 Decades. We’ve Owned 6 Diff toyotas (tundra, Tacoma, Prius, 2 camrys, And A Lexus Ls 400) And Have Never Experienced Anything But Great Quality. Unfortunately, The Issue I Experienced Yesterday, With The Negligent Manner In Which It Seems toyota Has Handled These Complaints From Other Owners, Is Serious Enough To Cause Me To Reconsider Ever Owning Another toyota. If It Can’t Be Resolved (which It Seems It Can’t), I’d Really Like To Get My Money Back And Get A Different Car Now, Since I’ve Only Owned This Car About 6 Weeks. Very Disappointed In My Long Time Favorite Auto Manufacturer. Very Disappointed! I Would Welcome Discussion On This Matter. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 29450 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BK1FK5SU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in JOHNSON CITY, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Jan 17, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Delroy Beach, FL
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. The Contact Stated That The vehicle Experienced Unintended Acceleration. The Contact Mentioned That The Failure Previously Occurred. The vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Failure Mileage Was 22,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 22000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FKXCU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in DELROY BEACH, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 03, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Manvel, TX
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

3/31/2015 7:05 Am After I Pressed The Gas Pedal To Turn In My Driveway, The Car Just Took Off. I Braked And It Would Not Stop. I Ran Into The Right Front Corner Of My Garage, Through My Neighbors Front Yard On The Right Of My House. As I Sped Through My Neighbors Yard I Mowed Down A Small Tree. I Then Crossed The Street And Went Over The Sidewalk And Stopped Short Of The Subdivision Lake. The Air Bag Did Not Deploy. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 60000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MANVEL, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD.

Mar 31, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Memphis, IN
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 40

I Was Driving On Xpressway Just Pulling Onto It,push Down On Gas To Get Speed And Pedal Was Pushed All The Way To The Floor And My camry Would Not Go Any Faster Then 40 I Let Up And Tried Again And Still 40, Then All At Once It Started Going Faster And Faster

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17000 miles. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MEMPHIS, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 18, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Lexington, SC
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

vehicle Now At Dealership For Irregular Acceleration Patterns, And Random Hesitation. Can Start Off At Light And vehicle Does Not Respond Normally, And Then Takes Off. This Is Scary While In An Intersection. Dealership Says They Can’t Find Anything And Blaming Me. I’ve Read Many Instances On Line With Same Problem. How Do I Handle This Before There’s An Accident? This Is Dangerous. I’ve Since Been Advised Of Problems Also With This Dealership.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK7CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in LEXINGTON, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

May 29, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Glide, OR
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 32

The Contact Owned A 2012 toyota camry. While Driving 32 Mph, The Brakes Were Applied And The vehicle Accelerated Rapidly Without Warning. The Contact Stated That She Could Not Stop The vehicle And Crashed Into A Trailer. The vehicle Was Destroyed. The Air Bags Did Not Deploy. The Contact Sustained A Fractured Sternum And Her Husband Had Contusions In His Rib Cage. Medical Attention Was Required. A Police Report Was Filed. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 37,000. Updated 1/15/16 *cn

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 2 person(s) were injured. Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK2CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in GLIDE, OR. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 32 mph.

Sept 16, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bolingbrook, IL
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 25

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. While Driving At Approximately 25 Mph, The Accelerator Pedal Was Lightly Depressed And The vehicle Suddenly Accelerated And Caused The Contact To Crash Into The Rear Of Another vehicle. The Contact Applied Force To The Brake Pedal And The vehicle Continued To Surge Forward. A Police Report Was Filed And No Injuries Were Reported. The vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer On Two Separate Occasions Where The Failure Was Unable To Be Determined, But Stated That The vehicle Was Unsafe To Drive. The Dealer Updated The Software For The Computer And Provided A Usb With Technical Diagnosis Information. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was Not Available.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK6CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in BOLINGBROOK, IL. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Aug 04, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Glenside, PA
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 20

I’ve Been Having Issues For A Few Months Now With My 2012 camry Not Accelerating When I Press On The Gas Pedal. This Usually Happens When I Turn A Corner & Most Recently Has Happened Many Times While Driving On A Straight Road Down A City Street. I Could Be Going About 25-35 Mph, Press The Brake To Slow Down But Then When I Press On The Gas Pedal To Pick Up Speed Again, The Car Will Stall Meaning It Doesn’t Accelerate At All & Just Coasts. I’ve Had Other People Drive My Car & The Same Thing Has Happened To Them While Driving. I Have Had Cars Almost Run Into The Back Of My Car Because Of This & I Have Children With One Of Them Being Only 2 Years Old & They Have Been In The Car With Me At Times When This Happens. I Have Notified toyota Of The Problem Many Times But They Just Keep Telling Me That It’s Normal & That They Can’t Find Anything Wrong. They Also Mentioned That The Computer Software Is Experiencing Some Type Of Delay Or Something To That Effect & That Could Be The Problem. I Purchased My camry Brand New In 2012 & I Have Always Kept The Service Current On My Car. Of Course toyota Has Proof Of That In Their System. I Need For Them To Acknowledge This Issue & Correct It Before Myself, My Children Or Someone Else Gets Severely Hurt Or Lose Our Lives Or Cause Someone Else To Lose Their Life. This Is A Very Scary Situation To Be In Especially While In High Speed Traffic. I Will Continue To Make toyota Aware Of The Problem Until Something Is Done.

Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FKXCU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in GLENSIDE, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Oct 26, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Portage, MI
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 10

When Left Foot Is Momentarily Left On Brake While Depressing Accelerator With Right Foot Acceleration Begins Then Stops For Several Seconds Causing A Real Safety Issue. toyota Admitted They Have A Program Built Into The camry To Offset “sudden Acceleration” Issue. So, They Admitted They Eliminated A Major Issue While Creating Another Issue. toyota‘s Logic Is Ridiculous. They Are Idiots!!!

Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK9CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in PORTAGE, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Nov 03, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Olney, MD
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. While Driving At Approximately 5 Mph And Attempting To Park, The Accelerator Pedal Was Lightly Depressed And The vehicle Suddenly Accelerated And Caused The Contact To Hit A Traffic Pole. The Contact Applied Force To The Brake Pedal And The vehicle Continued To Surge Forward. A Police Report Was Not Filed And No Injuries Were Reported. The vehicle Was Towed To Dealer But Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 45,000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK3CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in OLNEY, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

May 05, 2016

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Audubon, NJ
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 15

The Car Hesitates For Three To Five Seconds After Decelerating, Or When Turning A Corner, Taking My Foot Off The Pedal And Then Trying To Accelerate Again. Brought To Dealer And They Updated The Software And Told Me There Isn’t Any Problems With The Care. They Lie. Over 200 People Have Reported This Problem With toyotas On One Site Alone.

Mileage was 26000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK1CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in AUDUBON, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

May 19, 2016

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Maysville, KY
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

Tirs Go Down Backed Seat Belt Don’t Work Speed Don’t Work Well

TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MAYSVILLE, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 15, 2016

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

When Accelerating Car Hesitate For A Couple Of Seconds Then Take Off While Taking My Kids To School And Also Driving To Work On The Highway I Feel Very Unsafe With My Kids In Car. *tr

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK6CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in JACKSONVILLE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Sept 06, 2016

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Cherry Hill, NJ
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota camry. While Attempting To Park In Reverse With The Brake Pedal Depressed, The vehicle Accelerated On Its Own And The Steering Wheel Locked. The vehicle Crashed Into A Wall, Fence, And Bushes. The vehicle Landed With The Rear End On The Ground And The Front End In The Air. The Air Bags Had Not Deployed. A Police Report Was Filed And There Were No Injuries. The vehicle Was Towed To A Repair Shop For Diagnostic Testing. The vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 59,000. …updated 05/17/17 *bf Updated 08/30/2017*js

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 40000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK0CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in CHERRY HILL, NJ. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. DEALER’S NAME: TOYOTA OF TURNERSVILLE . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 856-516-6430 . DEALER’S CITY: TURNERSVILLE . DEALER’S STATE CODE: NJ. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 08012 .

Jan 21, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
District Heights, MD
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 20

When Accelerating From A Stop (traffic Light Or Stop Sign), The vehicle Will Move About 20 Feet Or 20 Mph And Then Hesitate For About 1 To 2 Seconds. It Will Then Accelerate Normally. . This Happened At Those Interval. The Intermittent Hesitation Is Very Dangerous When Trying To Cross A Busy Intersection When The Cross Traffic Is Uncontrolled.

Mileage was 84974 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK1CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in DISTRICT HEIGHTS, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Mar 04, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Mililani, HI
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 65

Traveling On A Highway, The Accelerator Pedal Stopped Working 3 Times In Succession. Accelerator Pedal Was Fully Released Then Depressed Again To Regain Function Each Time.

Mileage was 61250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MILILANI, HI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

May 10, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Mililani, HI
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 20

Accelerating Up A Parking Structure, Accelerator Pedal Stopped Working. Accelerator Pedal Had To Be Fully Released Then Depressed Again To Regain Function.

Mileage was 61300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4CU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in MILILANI, HI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

May 12, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Model Camry
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 20

I Was In An Accident Driving On A City Street Due To The vehicle Accelerating, I Slowed Down Then Put My Foot On The Pedal. The Car Took Off I Slammed On My Brakes But Still Hit The vehicle In Front Of Me. I Have Told The Dealer More Than Once About The vehicle Stalling And Accelerating. I Had Front End Damage To My Bumper And Hood. The vehicle I Crashed Into Back Bumper Was Also Dented.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 3 person(s) were injured. Mileage was 51000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK4CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2012 problem was reported in PHILADELPHIA, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

June 20, 2017

2012 Toyota Camry problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Camry, driving a 2012 Toyota Camry, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask