2012 Toyota Highlander Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Electrical System problems and reviews: 15.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Yonkers, NY
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 35

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While Driving Approximately 35 Mph And Steering To The Right, The Engine Suddenly Emitted An Abnormal Noise. The Contact Also Stated That The Headlights Would Not Shut Off Intermittently When Powering Off The Vehicle. In Addition, The Defroster For The Rear Window Would Not Function Properly, Causing The Windows To Remain Foggy For A Long Period Of Time. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer For Diagnostic Testing Where The Technician Advised That There Were No Failures. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure And Advised The Contact That The Vehicle Was Not Included In Any Recalls. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 1,000 And The Current Mileage Was 3,300. Updated 1/29/13 *cn

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH3CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in YONKERS, NY. Vehicle was purchased on 20120803. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 drive type:AWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph. DEALER’S NAME: TOYOTA OF MANHATTAN . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 212-399-3600 . DEALER’S CITY: NEW YORK . DEALER’S STATE CODE: NY. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 10036 .

Aug 03, 2012

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Massapequa Park, NY
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

While Parked At A Curbside, With Engine Idling, I Spontaneously Decided To Adjust My Tilt Steering Column (up/down) To See If There Was A More Comfortable Position To Drive. When I Moved The Column Down For The First Time (i Had Never Tried To Adjust The Position Previously, Since I Bought The Car One Year Earlier), The Car’s Engine Immediately Shut Off. I Could Not Re-start The Engine And All I Kept Thinking Was Thank-goodness I Was Not Driving, As I Had Lost Engine, Steering And Braking Power. The Recent Headlines About Gm’s Ignition Switch Problems And Drivers Suddenly Losing Control While Driving Made Me Realize That I Could Have Easily Been In A Similar Catastrophic Loss Of Control Situation, Because Of The Tilt-steering Problem I Encountered. I Thank The Stars That I Was Not Driving Or On A Highway When This Occurred. My Car Had To Be Towed To The Dealer For Repair. Apparently, An Ignition Switch Wire Somehow Became Detached Or Broken Due To My Single Tilt Action. Scary Indeed. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9900 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH4CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in MASSAPEQUA PARK, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Jan 23, 2013

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Fontana, CA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Right Front Door Does Not Lock Or Unlock Using The Keyless Remote Have To Manually Lock And Unlock The Door. Took It To The Dealer And Had To Have The Actuator Replaced On March 17th, 2014. Now On April 8th, 2014 Driver Side Door Does Not Lock Or Unlock Using Keyless Remote Again Having To Manually Lock And Unlock The Door. Taken To The Dealer Again And Has To Have The Actuator Replaced. Two Actuators Needing To Be Replaced In Less Than 1 Month. Suv Needs To Be Recalled. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 48151 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH1CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in FONTANA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

Mar 14, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

At Approximately 30,000 Miles The Driver’s Side Rear Door Lock Actuator Had To Be Replaced, Which Was Covered Under Warranty. Since That Time, The Driver’s Side Front Door Failed At Approximately 40,000 Miles And Was Replaced Outside Of Warranty And Now The Passenger Side Rear Door Has Also Failed. Three Of The Four Door Lock Actuators Have Failed Between 30,000 And 42,000 Miles And Only One Was Covered Under Warranty. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EHXCS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in SIOUX FALLS, SD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Jan 15, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Chesapeake, VA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

2012 toyota highlander Limited Door Lock Actuators Began To Fail At About 40k Miles. The Initial Failure Began With Rt Front Passenger Door, But All Four Doors Began To Fail To Lock Or Unlock Intermittently By Smart Key Remote Or By Driver Side Door Controls (sometimes All The Doors Would Fail To Unlock). Emergency Access To Any Of The Passengers Would Be A Concern. At 47k Miles, Two Of The Doors’ Actuators (rt Front Passenger & Lt Rear Passenger) Had Totally Failed, And Are Being Replaced By Dealership At Owner’s Expense Of $900 Plus $125 Diagnostic Fee. Web Research Of Multiple toyota And Automotive Forums Have Revealed That Similar Door Actuator Failures Have Occurred With Other toyota Models And Years, Many Reporting Failures That Occur Immediately Following Expiration Of Warranty At 3yrs/36k Miles. Based On Other toyota Owners’ Reports On This Issue, We Are Concerned That The Other Two Door Actuators Are Likely To Fail In The Near Future. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 40000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EHXCS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in CHESAPEAKE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 01, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The Door Locks On My 2012 toyota highlander Stopped Working. With Only 17500 On The Car, All 4 Doors Wont Close With The Key Fob, Or On The Door. They Open But Dont Close, I Have To Manually Close Each Door Lock Every Time I Want The Doors Locked. I Am The Only Owner, I Bought The Car Brand New, And As Soon As It Came Out Of Warranty The Door Locks Stopped Working.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH5CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in BROOKLYN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 22, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Concord, NC
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The Rear Passenger Door Lock No Longer Works. It Has To Be Manually Locked And Unlocked. I See That Many Other People Have Complained About The Same Type Failure In Their Vehicles At Approximately The Same Mileage-right Around The Time The Warranty Has Expired Or Soon After. It Seems That This Is A Common Enough Problem That It Should Be Fixed At toyota‘s Expense.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 48896 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH4CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in CONCORD, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 07, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The Door Locks On My 2012 toyota highlander Stopped Working. With Only 17300 On The Car, All 4 Doors Wont Close With The Key Fob, Or On The Door. They Open But Dont Close, I Have To Manually Close Each Door Lock Every Time I Want The Doors Locked. Am I The Only Owner?i Bought The Car Brand New, And As Soon As It Came Out Of Warranty The Door Locks Stopped Working. I Disconnected The Auto Close When I Put The Car In Drive, Now The Doors Close Once In A While From The Key Fob.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17300 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in BROOKLYN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 13, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Winter Garden, FL
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Rear Tailgate No Longer Works.started Not Closing Off And On In Jan. 2015. Finally Stopped Working All Together In August 2015.took To My Local Dealership To See Why It Was Not Working They Diagnosed It As A Broken Motor.i Would Be Responsible For The Cost To Fix It.since It Is Now Out Of Warranty. Contacted The toyota Corporation They Went Over My Complaint And Said They Would Not Cover It Under Warranty Even Though There Is A toyota Service Bulletin On It In 2012 And Many Class Action Law Suits Filed On It.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EHXCS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in WINTER GARDEN, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 08, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Columbia City, IN
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Rear Tailgate No Longer Works.started Not Closing Off And On In Jun. 2016. Finally Stopped Working All Together In Aug 2016. Took To My Local Dealership To See Why It Was Not Working They Diagnosed It As A Broken Motor.i Would Be Responsible For The Cost To Fix It.since It Is Now Out Of Warranty. They Would Not Cover It Under Warranty Even Though There Is A toyota Service Bulletin On It In 2012 And Many Class Action Law Suits Filed On It.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 39000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH7CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in COLUMBIA CITY, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 01, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Trenton, NJ
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Door Lock/unlock Stopped Working About 1 Year Ago. I Was Told By The Dealer That I Had To Cover The Diagnostic Test. I Got It Done Today And Was Told That The 3 Defective Doors Have An Issue And Some Part Must Be Changed At A Tune Of $1700! If The Car Has An electrical Issue, The Manufacturer Should Cover It, Especially Because It Involves 3 Out Of 4 Doors. There Was Nothing I Did Or Could Have Done To Mess Up The 3 Doors.

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in TRENTON, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 08, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Lancing, TN
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

The Door Locks On My 2012 toyota highlander Stopped Working. With Only 51k On The Car, All 4 Doors Wont Close With The Key Fob, Or On The Door. They Open But Dont Close, I Have To Manually Close Each Door Lock Every Time I Want The Doors Locked. I’ve Seen Many Posts About This! I Think Its Time toyota Fixes The Problem With A Recall! I Was Told By toyota Dealer That It Is Malfunction Of The Actuator And That They See This All The Time With This Module… It Would Cost Me $500-$600 To Let Them Fix It!!why Should The Consumer Have To Pay For The Manufacturers Problems!! Can I Hear Recall! Recall! Recall!!

Mileage was 51000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in LANCING, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 02, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Austin, TX
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 50

While Driving At Highway Speeds And Exiting A Highway, Approximately 50 Mph, The Steering Wheel Locked Up, Dashboard Flickered, And Engine Died. The Red Steering Wheel Warning Light Came On Briefly, But The Wheel Could Not Be Turned For Several Seconds. This Happened 3 Times In The Period Of A Few Minutes. Battery & Alternator Were Tested – No Malfunction.

Mileage was 71579 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH1CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in AUSTIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Mar 10, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Windsor Mill, MD
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 65

When Locking The Doors, Even Though The Batteries Have Been Changed The Doors Have To Be Locked Manuel. The Trunk Opens On It Own. I Can Be In The House And When I Go Outside The Trunk Is Open.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH8CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in WINDSOR MILL, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 16, 2018

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bowie, MD
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Purchased Used 2012 highlander Ltd From College Park Hyundai/honda, College Park Md 20720 In Feb 2017. The Front Passenger Automatic Door Actuator Failed To Unlock The Vehicle. The Failure Recurred On Three Of The Four Doors. The Door Lock Actuators Were Replaced By The Dealer.. Vehicle Had 48,000 Miles.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH1CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in BOWIE, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 02, 2017

2012 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2012 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask