2012 Toyota Highlander Structure Body problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Structure Body problems and reviews: 9.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Structure Body problems and defects.

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
West Chester, OH
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

This Event Happened When My toyota highlander 2012 (se V6 4wd) Was Parked And Turned Off. I Pressed The Remote Control Button To Automatically Open The Car Hatch Door. The Door Was Open And Stay Up. However, When I Was Putting Some Grocery Bags Inside The Car, The Door Came Down Without Any Announcement And Hitting My Head. I Had Head Ache For A Couple Of Days. After This Happened, The Back Door Does Not Stay Up. I Brought The Car To The Dealer Two Days After The Incident Happened. I Am Still Waiting For A Decision From toyota Customer Experience Center And Without My Car (3 Weeks And Counting). I Am Claiming A Car Replacement From toyota. This Is The Fifth Incident With This Car (five Car Repairs By The Dealership Under toyota Guaranty) During Its First Year Of Ownership (a Brand New Car). Really Disappointed From toyota Car Quality. I Am Afraid That Next Time Would Be A Fatality Or Another Serious Injury With Irreversible Consequences. *tr

1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 16800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH5CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in WEST CHESTER, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 26, 2013

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Rochester, NY
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

Over The Course Of A Few Weeks We Noticed A Significant Smell In Our Car. We Have Rubber Floormats, So Did Not Notice That There Was A Drainage Problem In Our A/c Condenser. The Blockage Caused Drainage To Back Up Into The Body Of Our Vehicle And Mold Started To Grow All Over The Inside Of The Vehicle On The Carpet Underneath The Rubber Floormats. We Later Learned That The Blockage Was Caused By A Spider Web In The A/c Condenser Drainage Tube. I Took The Car To The Dealer And They Called toyota And Learned It Would Not Be Covered Under My Extended toyota Care Warranty And Any Costs Would Have To Be Paid Out Of Pocket. I Just Learned That Similar Model Year toyota Vehicles, Including The Avalon And Camry, Are Under Recall Due To Problems That Result From Spider Webs Blocking The A/c Condenser Drainage Tube. This Is Clearly A Design Defect That Covers More Than Just The Avalon And Camry Models, But The Recall Did Not Cover My highlander. We Have An Infant Son And The Growth Of Mold Could Have Severely Impacted His Health And Breathing. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH4CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in ROCHESTER, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 05, 2013

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Senatobia, MS
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

I Opened The Power Rear Door By Depressing The Switch Next To The Steering Wheel And The Door Began To Open, Made A Clunking Noise, And Closed Itself. I Exited The Vehicle And Manually Opened The Rear Door At Which Time I Noticed The Liftgate Arm (with The Screw And Washer Still Attached To The Exposed End) Had Become Detached From The Door. Despite Having 55k+ Miles, My highlander Is Just Over 2 Years Old And There Has Not Been Excessive Usage Of The Power Door. I’ll Be Taking It To The Nearest Dealer For Assessment. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 55760 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH9CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in SENATOBIA, MS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 12, 2014

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Winter Garden, FL
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed

Rear Tailgate No Longer Works.started Not Closing Off And On In Jan. 2015. Finally Stopped Working All Together In August 2015.took To My Local Dealership To See Why It Was Not Working They Diagnosed It As A Broken Motor.i Would Be Responsible For The Cost To Fix It.since It Is Now Out Of Warranty. Contacted The toyota Corporation They Went Over My Complaint And Said They Would Not Cover It Under Warranty Even Though There Is A toyota Service Bulletin On It In 2012 And Many Class Action Law Suits Filed On It.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EHXCS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in WINTER GARDEN, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 08, 2015

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Simpsonville, SC
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed

Rear Liftgate Arm Detached From Door. The Bolt That Attaches The Liftgate Arm To The Door Stripped. The Pieces Shot Off From The Vehicle Wile The Arm Was Attempting To Close The Gate.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH0CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in SIMPSONVILLE, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 26, 2015

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Lebanon, TN
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

Power Liftgate On 2012 toyota highlander Fails To Full Close And Latch. 4 Years Old Now, Problem Began 2 Years Ago At 12,000 Miles, And Now 1 Year Past 3/36 Warranty And 47,000 Miles. Liftgate Has Been Completely Manual For Last 1-1/2 Years. Using Buttons To Close Power Liftgate Results In Left Side Where Motor Is To Be Close To Closed, While Right Side Has An Inch Gap To D-pillar. No Other Reason For Me To Go To Dealership, So I Haven’t Scheduled An Appointment. Finally Took It In June 6, 2016. Over Past 2 Years Dealer Service Described Solution As Simple Adjustment. Have Asked At Least Twice “are There Any Recalls Or Service Bulletins For My highlander?” Answer Is Always No, Including Day I Took It For “simple Adjustment”. However Recent Research Finds Two Recalls And Multiple Service Bulletins For 2008-2012 highlanders. If They Have Had Issues With Power Liftgates Since 2008, Why Is There No Recall On This? Potential Cause Is Powerful Motor Pulls Too Hard And Bends Hinges. New Design Uses Pair Of Power Struts To Pull Evenly. Estimate Approaches $600 For New Hinges And Other Parts ($253+tax), Paint, And Labor. Already Paid $100+tax To Diagnose This Issue, Which Took All Of 15 Minutes, Leading Me To Believe They Already Knew About This Issue, And Lied About Recalls And Bulletins. My Wife’s 2014 Rav4 Had 1 Of 2 Struts Replaced, And Other Issues Reported On Newer highlanders. Would Like toyota To Fix This Known Issue Without Further Cost.

Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH5CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in LEBANON, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 06, 2016

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Young Harris, GA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 30

Rear Lift Gate Opened As I Was Driving Down The Highway. Dangerous. Now The Door Does Not Work As It Is Supposed To. I Was Told Directly By Another Owner That The Door Does Not Always Lock When Closed. What About Grandchildren And Pets. I Cannot Use My Car As Intended. It Is A Safety Concern As I Have No Idea If Or When It Will Repeat.

Mileage was 66000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH8CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in YOUNG HARRIS, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Sept 01, 2017

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Charlotte, NC
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed

Liftgate Operates Erratically, Not Staying Open When Button Is Pushed. Sometimes It Opens All The Way, Only To Close Immediately. Most Times It Starts To Open Partially Then Closes. Twice It Opened While Driving. Most Troubling Is Once It Started To Close Down On Me While I Was Getting Things Out Of The Trunk Area. I Would Think, For Safety Reasons, There Should Be Some Type Of Sensor. Is That Not The Case With My highlander? This Has Been Happening Periodically For About Six Months.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH0CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in CHARLOTTE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 17, 2018

Structure Body Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Johns Creek, GA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed

Sunroof Leaking Undercarriage Rust

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH7CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in JOHNS CREEK, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 01, 2018

2012 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2012 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Structure Body problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask