2012 Toyota Highlander Unknown Or Other problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Unknown Or Other problems and reviews: 10.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Tallahassee, FL
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 0

The Electronic Door Lock (driver’s Side Door) On My 2012 toyota highlander Recently Began To Have Problems; It Worked Intermittently For A Short Time, Then Ceased Working At All. After A Recent Service Trip, toyota Quoted Me Over $500 To Replace The Door Actuator And Labor. I Realize This Seems Like A Small Issue. But I, And My Family, Have Owned toyotas Previously And Have Had The Same Issue, Even With Different Models. I Can’t Help But Feel That toyota Is Making A Defective Product And I, As A Consumer, Am Footing The Bill For Their Faulty Part. Moreover, A Simple Internet Search Finds That This Problem Is Ubiquitous; There Are Myriad Forums Dedicated To Finding A Solution. I Feel That This May Even Justify A Recall.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 60000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in TALLAHASSEE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 28, 2015

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Corona, CA
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

Lift Gate Handle Literally Fell Off And Broke As We Were Closing The Door Using The Power Button On The Rear Door. Screw Just Fell Out Of Its Attachment. Unable To Use Power Lift Gate Function. Part Of The Rear Door Area Where The Hinge Is Attached Is Warped, Possibly Structural Issues.

Mileage was 80000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EHXCS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in CORONA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 10, 2015

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Sun City Center, FL
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 0

Rear Tailgate Motor With Power To Open/lift And Close The Tailgate No Longer Works. Courtesy toyota Collision Center Provided Estimate Of $1,431.82 On 4-11-2016 To Replace The Motor. Problem Started Circa July 2015 After Warranty Expired Not Closing Off And On Until It Finally Stopped Working. First Checked By toyota Dealer In Tallahassee, Fl While On A Trip To Mississippi Before Thanksgiving In 2015. Advised To Have Checked Upon Return To Tampa Area. The Tailgate Now Rattles When The Vehicle Is In Motion.

Mileage was 56000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH5CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in SUN CITY CENTER, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 11, 2016

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Durango, CO
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

On February 2, 2017,my 2012 highlander Was Placed In Park And Left In High School( Dhs Durango, Co) Round About With Keys In Car. I Parked My Car In Front Of A School Round About, Left The Keys In Ignition Because I Was Returning. The Vehicle Shifted Out Of Park, Accelerated Up A Slight Incline In The Driveway And Hit A Parked Truck. There Was No One In The Vehicle. Video From Safety Officer At High School Shows The Whole Event. The Vehicle Was Placed In Park, Lights Turn Off As I Parked Vehicle. The Vehicle Sits Still In Park For Some Time, Then Proceeds To Move On Its Own And Runs Into Vehicle Ahead Of It. The Truck In Front Had Damage To Back Left Bumper And Body….my Vehicle Has Damage To Front Right Bumper. Most Alarmed By Vehicle Having Changed Gears And Moved On Its Own With No One In Vehicle. Several Witness And Video That I Am Unable To Up Load. Case Has Been Initiated With toyota And Someone Is Coming From Denver To Do A Edr On Tuesday, March 7th, 2017. I’m Afraid All The Stories I’ve Read Over The Weekend On Internet Are Very True…there Is No Other Explanation To What Happened. Concerned That toyota Rep Will Try To Misread And Mis-interpret Findings Or Cause Data To Be Tampered With…my Main Concern Is Safety And Aside From This Incident And A Few Unexplained Pulling On The Gas Pump Like A Drag Or Acceleration, I Thought My Car Was Safe—someone Could Have Been Severely Injured. Since I Was Not Privy To What Happened Until Video Was Provided Fe. 23, I Had No Idea How To Report To Insurance My Vehicle Running Into Someone With No One In It!

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EHXCS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in DURANGO, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 02, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Redwood City, CA
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 10

1. My Car Has Only 30000 Miles And Yesterday Brake Malfunction Showed Up. My Wife Had Hard Time Stopping This Vehicle. 2. Since I Am Reporting Brake Issue. It Is Important To Share Our Speed Gage Is Counting 2 -3 Miles/hour Higher Than Actual Speed. We Had A Kind Of Sense For This. Now I Purchased A Very High Efficacy Gps. Which Confirmed. When Ever We Are Passing By Speed Detector On Any Given Street. My Speed Meter Is 2 -3 Miles Higher As Compared Shows On Speeding Detector On Street . I Do Not Want To Pay To The Dealer But I Wanted To Report For Sure.

Mileage was 30101 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH4CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in REDWOOD CITY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

May 19, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
West Palm Beach, FL
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

Bought The Car Certified Preowned In 2014 And Noticed A Problem With The Rear Door. When Trying To Close Automatically It Would Jerk To A Stop, Vibrate And Go Back Up. The Dealer Agreed To Fix It And Took It In Back For An Hour. After That It Worked On And Off For Two Years. I Started Having Problems Again Last Year And Now It Wont Close At All Or Open With The Button- I Can Only Open And Close It Manually. Took It To Another Dealer Two Weeks Ago And They Seemed Dumbfounded Despite A New Notice From toyota On The Matter. I Have Read This Is Now A Common Problem And There Is A Class Action Against toyota On This Matter. The Dealer Has Ordered A New Motor And I Go Back Next Week – Although I’m Not Sure That This Will Fix The Problem. I Have Read Accounts Of Owners Going Back 6-8 Times And Still Having Problems.

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in WEST PALM BEACH, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Sept 01, 2016

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Whitefish Bay, WI
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

Power Liftgate Motor Arm Detached From The Upper Portion Of The Rear Door. Upon Repeated Use And Tightening It Becomes Stripped. Forums Reports This Is Common For Several Model Years – No Recall. Hole To Screw Becomes Stripped Over Time. No Access To The Back End To Apply Nut. Dealer Recommends Taking It To A Body Shop For Door Replacement At $3200 – $3900 Dollars. Extremely Bad Design Flaw. No Solution Found Other Than Replacing The Rear Liftgate.

Mileage was 63000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in WHITEFISH BAY, WI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 01, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Grand Haven, MI
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

6/21/17 Drivers Door Failed To Lock, 7/24/17 Passenger Door Failed To Lock, 8/4/17 Passenger Rear Door Failed To Lock. Car Was Stationary

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):STDBK3EH2CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in GRAND HAVEN, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 21, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Windsor Mill, MD
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 65

When Locking The Doors, Even Though The Batteries Have Been Changed The Doors Have To Be Locked Manuel. The Trunk Opens On It Own. I Can Be In The House And When I Go Outside The Trunk Is Open.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH8CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in WINDSOR MILL, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 16, 2018

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Oxford, MI
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 0

While Stopped On An Incline With Brake Being Pressed Vehicle Started Rolling Backwards And Skid Light Came On. Put Vehicle In ‘park’ And Vehicle Stopped. Placed Vehicle In ‘drive’, Accelerated And Drove Away Without Further Incident. Took Vehicle To Dealership For Inspection And Was Told No Problem Identified.

Mileage was 45800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH3CS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2012 problem was reported in OXFORD, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 29, 2018

2012 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2012 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask