2012 Toyota Sienna Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Sienna Electrical System problems and reviews: 12.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota SIENNA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Erie, PA
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 0

After The Weather Drop To 45 Degrees On October 5, 2014 I Started My 2012 toyota sienna (awd), I Immediately Notice That All Light In The Panel Were On. There Is Warning In Center View Panel Alerting Me That I Need To Take The Vehicle To Dealership For Abs, Vsc And Brake System Problem. The Following Day I Drove The Vehicle To The Dealership And Notice That The Speedometer And Gas Gauge Are Not Working. The Speedometer Hand Is Moving Back And Forth. The Gas Is Always In The Full Mode. I Also Notice That The Brake Is Always In On Mode. Driving Without Working Speedometer, Brake System And Gas Range Are Really Putting My Life In Danger. I Am Hoping That My Dealership Which Superior toyota Can Fix These Problem. I Am Also Hoping That Warranty Will Covert The Defective Part. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3DC6CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in ERIE, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Oct 05, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Upper Marlboro, MD
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 0

2012 sienna Limited electrical Issues I Have A 2012 toyota sienna Limited With Every Option Except Awd. On February 4, 2015, After Driving For About 25 Minutes, When I Stopped And Turned Off The Engine, The Van Completely Died! I Wanted To Start Again, But There Was No Power At All; Nothing Would Function, Door Locks, Radio, Lights, Nothing! I Had To Wait For About 5 Minutes. Finally I Was Able To Start; However The Navigation Dvd Was Reset. This Is The Second Time It Happens This Week. Before These Events; About One Year Ago Something Like That Happened, That Time The Van Was In The Garage, We Were Ready To Go To Church And When I Press The Start Button It Tried To Start But Then It Completely Died, There Was No Power At All. I Am Really Concerned That This Will Happen While Driving And We Will Be In A Very Serious Condition Not Being Able To Control The Vehicle. I Already Called The Dealer, But There Was No Help. I Had The Battery Checked And It?s In Perfect Conditions! *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3DC9CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in UPPER MARLBORO, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 04, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Canton, MI
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 40

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota sienna. While Driving Approximately 40 Mph, The Rear Driver Side Sliding Door Suddenly Opened. While Attempting To Shut The Door, The Door Could Not Be Secured. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Who Diagnosed That The Cause Of The Failure Was Due To A Faulty Door Motor And Faulty Door Latch. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 44,820.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 44820 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKK3DC1CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in CANTON, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Mar 06, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Edmond, OK
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 0

All Underwood Components Are Not Only Vulnerable, But Attractive To Rodents. While Parked Overnight On 4 Consecutive Nights, Rodents Have Chewed Through Wires Despite Attractive Rodent Poison In The Engine Bay, The Poison Is Untouched And The Wires Are Attacked Every Night. To Date Injector Wires, Sensor Sires, Fuel Pump Wires Have Been Compromised, Including Sensors For The Stability Control System, Which Is Disabled. I Repaired Damage By Running New Wires, Clearing Nests And Set Traps And Poison, But Now The The Fuel System Has Been Attacked And The Fuel Pump Does Not Activate. 3 Other Cars Parked In The Same Location For The Past 5 Months Are Untouched. Safety Systems Are Likely To Be Compromised For Any Person Who Must Park These Outdoors.

Mileage was 79000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3DC7CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in EDMOND, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Oct 30, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Roswell, GA
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed

Takata Recall & Door Recall – I Am Trying To Sell My Vehicle Privately Because I Purchased A New Vehicle And Now I Am Unable To Sell It As There Is No Remedy And toyota Has Recommended That No One Should Sit In The Front Passenger Seat — Really?there Needs To Be Pressure On toyota To Fix Immediately

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3DC4CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in ROSWELL, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 23, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Walton, KY
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed

Our 2012 Seinna Has Both Sliding Doors Closed Only By Rachet Ties Due To The Issues With The Doors Opening. This Has Been Happening For So Long That We Are No Longer Able To Keep The Doors Latched Or Locked. The Door Ajar Light And Warning Bells Frequently Sound As We Round Corners Or If There Is A Strong Wind. Our Car Alarm Also Is Sensitive To Wind And Sounds Frequently Due To Doors Unable To Latch And Lock. We Fear This Poses A Great Safety Issue For Our Children And Grandchildren. Certainly The Ties Are Not Safety Features Keeping Doors Closed During An Accident. Anyone Entering The Van Must Do So Via The Front Passenger/driver Doors Or The Rear Hatch Door. Now, The Sunroof Is Sticking Open. All Problems Began With The Power Doors. We Have Had It In For Repair Before The Recall, As We Have Had Issues With Our Doors Since Shortly After Purchase. Many More Times Than They Were Seen For Repair. This Needs Addressed Immediately So We Can Safely Drive Our $30,000 Vehicle That We Purchased And Paid For. This Happens At All Times. The Date Given “when Did This Happen” Is The Date We Could No Longer Close The Second Door. We Took The Vehicle To Two Mechanics Who Did Not Know How To Replace The Motors. We Then Took The Vehicle To toyota In Crittenden Ky. They Gave Us A Costly Quote To Replace The Motors. Due To Our Vacation, They Got Both Doors To Latch…we Did Not Make It 5 Miles To Our Home Before Both Doors Were Opening On The Road. Shortly After, The Doors Were Recalled And We Have Yet To Receive Repairs For Our Vehicle. This Is Very Unsafe.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3DC6BS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in WALTON, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 06, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bloomfield, NY
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed

Power Sliding Doors Won’t Latch And Fly Open While Driving. Hardly Ever Used The Passenger Side. Dealer Lebrun toyota “fixed” By Placing On Manual. Also Got A Recall Letter In January 2017 Stating “no Remedy Yet And Wait For Next Letter”. June 13th They Flew Open Again And Unable To Close. Ultimately Bungeed Doors Closed To Get Home 30 Miles. Then Had Towed (my Expense – toyota Wouldnt Cover) To Lebrun Again. They Now Say Its Not Covered Under Recall And Its Because The Latches Are Faulty And Need Replacing. Over $2100. Called toyota And Was “sorry For The Experience I Was Having – Latches Are Not On Recall – Only The Cables And My Problem Is With Faulty Latches”. Vehicle Doors Dont Open Spontaneously Unless In Motion….when Still – They Stay Closed. I Use This For Work And Was Supposed To Start As An Uber Driver June 29th – I Am And Will Lose Lots Of Money And Am Very Depressed About My Choice Of Buying My First New Vehicle.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJK3DC6CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in BLOOMFIELD, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 25, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Roxbury, CT
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 0

The Vehicle Was Stationary When The Power Door Cable Snapped And The Door Will Now Only Open Approximately Several Inches. This Poses A Safety Hazard As Children In The Back Could Become Trapped In The Vehicle. When I Contacted The Dealer I Was Told This Was An Incredibly Common Problem With The sienna Minivans But toyota Was Not Doing Anything To Remedy The Issue.

Mileage was 133000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3DCXCS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in ROXBURY, CT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 10, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kiamesha Lake, NY
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 25

The Sunroof Gets Stuck In The Open Position; It Will Not Close, Both When The Car Is Moving Or Stationary.

Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3DC8CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in KIAMESHA LAKE, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Mar 07, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Elgin, IL
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 15

Drivers Side Sliding Door Opened While Car Was In Drive And Moving. Passenger Had To Manually Close Door. After Pushing Door Closed, It Will Not Open Or Close Manually Nor Electronically And The Cable Is Frayed And Broken Free From The Front Anchor And Is Hanging From The Vehicle. This Occurred Turning Into A Parking Lot.

Mileage was 98000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKK3DC4C. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in ELGIN, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Aug 16, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Novato, CA
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed

Manufacturer Recall Numberg04 Nhtsa Recall Number16v858 September 2017 Recall Still Incomplete. Called Hotline And Was Told Nothing Can Be Done

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3DC4CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in NOVATO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Sept 01, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Needham, MA
Model Sienna
System Electrical System
Speed 30

2013 toyota sienna Minivan The Power Doors No Longer Close And Open Properly, They Essentially Stick, And We Have To Manually Get Out, And Slam It Shut With Great Force. The Car Door Opened Once While I Was Driving. My Child On That Side Was Wearing A Seatbelt, I Pulled Over, And Had To Get Out To Shut The Door With Great Force. For A Long Period, toyota Didn’t Have A Fix For This Problem. I Have Been Calling The Dealership Regularly To See If The “fix” Had Arrived. Finally, In August I Was Told That It Had, And That The Soonest They Could Fix My Car Was December 27!!! I Have Told Them That I Paid For A Feature, To Have Power Doors Which Both Worked And Didn’t Pose A Safety Liability. I Have Asked For Either A Loaner Car, Or Compensation. Their Response Has Been That They Apologize For The Inconvenience, But That They Are Not Willing To Give Me Another Car, Or Compensate Me. I Have Four Children, One Of Whom Is Special Needs.in Order To Ensure Safety, I Have Had To Disable The Power Feature. I Bought The Car With The Power Feature Because It’s Something That We Rely On. I Feel That I Spent Money On Something That Is Defective, And A Safety Liability, And We Are Being Penalized, As Opposed To The Company Assuring Our Safety And Satisfaction.

Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3DC5CS. TOYOTA SIENNA 2012 problem was reported in NEEDHAM, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Jan 08, 2013

2012 Toyota Sienna problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Sienna, driving a 2012 Toyota Sienna, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask