2012 Toyota Tacoma Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tacoma Electrical System problems and reviews: 12.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota TACOMA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Adams, MA
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 27

Driving My toyota tacoma, I Was Approaching A Steep Decline. I Tapped On The Brakes And Continued Driving At Approximately 27 Mph When I Down Shifted To Accommodate For The Snowy Road. As I Was Down Shifting The Truck Lost Control And Slid Sideways Causing The Front Passenger Side To Hit A Snow Bank. Once The Truck Struck The Snow Bank It Flipped Over On Its Driver Side. The Side Air Bags On Both Sides Came Out But Did Not Inflate. The Driver Side Bags Were Torn. I Found Evidence Of This With Shredded Pieces Of The Air Bag Found In The Vehicle. Additionally The Driver Side Front Air Bags Never Deployed..updated 03-02/15 *bf…..updated 03-11-15 *bf Updated 9/22/2017*cn

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 51000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4ENXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ADAMS, MA. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 27 mph.

Feb 17, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Camillus, NY
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Dealer Has Determined That Rodents Are Thru The Wiring For The Knock Sensor. Cel & Trac Lights Came On. Engine Went Into Limp Mode. Has Been At The Dealer Now For One Week. Probably Be Another Week Before I Get It Back.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 39000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CAMILLUS, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 12, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Fuel System Can Be Heard Hours After The Truck Is Parked, Few Times A Week And Sometimes Daily .and Runs 2 To 15 Minutes. Contacted Dealer And Says It Normal For Fuel Evap To Do A System Check. Ongoing Started Before 3000 Miles

Mileage was 3000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 01, 2012

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Arlington, TX
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 40

The Secondary Air Injection Systems Seems To Fail Quite Frequently On These 2012 tacomas With Little To No Help From toyota To Take Care Of This Issue As A Recall. These Are Known To Fail Right After Your Out Of Warranty And To Charge It’s Loyal Customers Over $1000 For A Part That Should Not Fail Or A Part That Should Be Covered Is Absurd. I Have Been A Loyal toyota Customer My Whole Life But The Issues Of The tacoma Are Making Me Rethink My Decisions As An Automotive Consumer

Mileage was 70650 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN2CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 31, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
El Dorado Hills, CA
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 10

When I Was Leaving Work The Other Night My 2012 tacoma Went Into Limp Mode And Presented The Cel And Trac Off Lights On The Dash. After Reviewing The Many Blogs On The Subject And Taking The Vehicle To The Mechanics, I Have Found Out That The Secondary Air Valve Is Likely Stuck In The Open Position. The Mechanic Has Quoted Me A Price Of $1,142 ($780 For The Part) To Replace The Whole System (valve Not Sold Separately). I Understand That This Is A Common Problem With Tundras/sequoias And 2012 Tacos. However, Only The Tundras Are Under Any Type Of Warranty. I Bought A tacoma Because The Last Two toyota‘s Have Run 300k Miles + With Regular Maintenance. This Type Of Expensive Repair Due To Poor Engineering Is Ludicrous And Should Be A Warranty Issue. I Guess toyota Wants To Be Terrible Like Everyone Else. Great. *tr

Mileage was 122000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN4CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in EL DORADO HILLS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 13, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Georgetown Ky, KY
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed

Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Codes P2440,p2442. Truck Goes Into Limp Mode And You Can Only Go A Max Of 40 Mph.toyota Knows About These Issues And Does Nothing About It

Mileage was 53000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in GEORGETOWN KY, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 14, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Yigo, GU
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 25

Engine/all Power Is Lost When Engine Has Reached A Certain Rpm. Code Reader States “crankshaft Position Sensor “a” Circuit Malfunction”.

Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in YIGO, GU. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Nov 28, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Wadsworth, OH
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 45

Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Open Causing Limp Mode. Happened Near Very Dangerous Intersection And Lost All Power In Truck. As Others Have Stated, Truck Only Has 50k Miles And Required A $500+ Repair (part Only) For A Component Of The Emission System Which Is Only Used On Startup And Includes A Warranty Of Only 2 Years.

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in WADSWORTH, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Nov 28, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Yuma, AZ
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed

Horn Stopped Working A Couple Of Years Ago. My Research Showed It Was Same Problem With 2010 tacoma‘s,and They Were Recalled! Read There Was A Recall To Replace A Defective Spiral Cable In Steering Wheel. Called toyota Was Told To Take To Dealer, But Would Have To Pay,and Maybe Be Reimbursed. Don’t Have The Money Been Unemployed For 4 Years.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN3CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in YUMA, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 12, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed

My 2012 tacoma Has A Spiral Wire Issue That Dealer Refuses To Fix Even Though This Part Is Associated With The Takata Recall In Previous Year Models Wondering Why The Recall Stopped At 2011 And Does Not Cover The Issue With My Truck. Currently Only Affectin The Use Of My Horn But As Seen In Previous Recalls Could Affect More Lthings Later On.

Mileage was 84000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in PHOENIX, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 01, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed 45

Driving At High Way Speed; The Abs Light, Parking Brake Light, Traction Light, Lost Power To Windows, A/c, Radio, Power Steering, Engine Was Running Rough, Then The Check Engine Light Came On. Could Be A Safety Issue Of Control Of Vehicle For Drivers Not Paying Attention. toyota Dealer Said The Root Cause Was A Bad Cell In Battery That Caused The Ign#2 Fuse To Be Blown. These Batteries Have Known Issues To Be Bad From The Factory. Reported Earlier About 30000 Miles The Factory Battery Would Not Start Vehicle And Dealer Said They Replaced Because Of A Bad Cell. I Own A 2008 toyota tacoma Also , Same Model And Make As Being Reported And That Battery Has Been Replaced 2 Times For Same Reason.

Mileage was 85000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

July 10, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Burlington, WA
Model Tacoma
System Electrical System
Speed

Horn Quit Working, Only Works When The Wheel Is Turned To The Left, Fuses Are Good And So Are The Relays.

Mileage was 62000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BURLINGTON, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 28, 2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tacoma, driving a 2012 Toyota Tacoma, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask