2012 Toyota Tacoma Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tacoma Engine problems and reviews: 82.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota TACOMA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

At Aproximate 40 Mph And At A Constant Speed The Vehicle Starts To Shutter Or Shake, Feels Like It Wants To Down Shift Or Up Shift Maybe Its Confused. Dealer Could Not Duplicate 2 Times

Mileage was 50000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Aug 20, 2015

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Vehicle Lunges When You Come To Complete Stop, Better Hold The Brake With Some Force Any Time Stopped, toyota Service Says It Happens All The Time, Its Normal !!

Mileage was 500 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 01, 2015

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Engine Oil Light Comes On And Flashes A Few Times After Startup, Beyond The Normal Time For All The Other Lights While In The Starting Mode, Dealer Could Not Duplicate

Mileage was 35600 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 06, 2014

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Gibson, GA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 55

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota tacoma. While Driving 55 Mph, The Vehicle Seized And The Speed Decreased To 20 Mph. The Vehicle Stalled In The Middle Of The Highway. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Air Pump Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacurer Was Not Notified Of Th Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 68,000. The Vin Was Not Availiable.

Mileage was 68000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in GIBSON, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Oct 06, 2015

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

Secondary Air Injection Valve Failure At 53k Miles, toyota Would Not Cover Under My Power Train Or Emission Warranty. Truck Was Put Into Limp Mode When The Failure Happenned And Was Undrivable.

TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in VIRGINIA BEACH, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 14, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bellingham, WA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 45

After Starting tacoma, Check Engine Light And “trac Off” Light Came On, Went Into Limp Mode, Could Only Go 30mph. tacoma Just Hit 34,000 Miles. Dealership Stated Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Closed Bank 1 (code P2441). Was Told Pump And Valves Needed To Be Replaced At $2100, Including Labor. Called toyota Corporate, Told It Was Not Covered Under Power Train Or Emissions Warranty. This Issue Actually First Occurred Approximately 4 Months Ago While Driving On A City Street. Warning Light Came On And Went Into Limp Mode. Pulled Into A Firestone And They Said It Was Also Code P2441. They Reset It And It Didn’t Happen Again Until A Few Days Ago. This Time The Code Would Not Reset, Warning Light Won’t Turn Off And Remains In Limp Mode.

Mileage was 34000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN1CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BELLINGHAM, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

May 09, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Fallbrook, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota tacoma. After The Vehicle Was Started, The Check Engine Warning Light Illuminated. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Secondary Air Injection Valve Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 56,000. The Vin Was Not Provided.

Mileage was 56000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in FALLBROOK, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 20, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Santa Fe, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Codes P2440 & P2442 These Are For The Air Injection System On Start Up. The Valves Fail And This Is A Emissions Part. Out Of Warranty And Only Have 65,000 Miles. Tundra Had This Issue And Got A 10 Year Warranty On The Components.

Mileage was 65000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SANTA FE, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 21, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bedford, VA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

Air Pump And Valves On The Emission System Failed. Truck Went Into Limp Mode With Limited Acceleration And Speed. This Is A Safety Hazard. This Is A Common Problem On 2012 tacoma. Tundra And Sequoia Vehicles Have Had The Same Exact Issue And Repairs Covered By toyota. However, toyota Will Not Cover This Same Issue On The tacoma.

Mileage was 74000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN8CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BEDFORD, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

June 13, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Arlington, TN
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

My 2012 toyota tacoma Prerunner 2wd Has 54,640 Miles. I Just Got A Check Engine Light And “trac Off” Light Yesterday. My Truck Would Accelerate To Just 25 Mph When Merging Onto The Interstate And Top Speed Was Around 50 Mph. This Is A Serious Safety Issue And toyota Will Not Cover This Known Problem Under The Standard 3 Year 36,000 Mile Warranty. Autozone Ran The Diagnostic Scan And Came Up With Trouble Codes P2440 And P2442. These Are Tied To The Secondary Air Injection System And Switching Valves. The toyota Dealership Said This Would Cost Me Close To $2000 To Repair. I Paid $30,000 For This Vehicle Brand New Just 4 Years Ago. This Needs To Become A Class Action Lawsuit So That A Safety Recall Is Issued For toyota To Repair This Known Defect For Free.

Mileage was 54640 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN8CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

July 16, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Shueyville, IA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

My 2012 tacoma With 45,000 Miles Got A Check Engine Light And “trac Off” Light When I Started It To Go Home. I Was Merging Onto The Interstate And Unable To Go Above 40 Mph. This Was Obviously Not Safe So I Exited And Took It To A Dealer. They Cited Trouble Codes P2440 And P2442 And Said They Needed To Replace Secondary Air Injection Valve (pn 25710-31022) For A Total Cost Of $940! According To Forums And The Nhtsa.gov Site, This Is A Very Common Complaint With This Year And Model. I Just Bought This Last July And I Never Expected To Have To Replace Parts Anytime Soon.

Mileage was 45100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFMU4FNXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SHUEYVILLE, IA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

July 19, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Deland, FL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 50

I Was Driving On A50mph Highway An Check Engine Light Comes On And Truck Slows To 40mph Wont Go Any Faster.

Mileage was 71000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN4CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in DELAND, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

July 29, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Aurora, MO
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 60

This Is A Problem With The Secondary Air Injection Pump And Solonoid…it Left Me Stranded On The Roadside…24000 Miles On A Truck Is Not Even Broke In..reliability?..i Handled It..only Because Ive Been A Mechanic For 25 Years…what If It Was My Wife And Kids Broke Down In Getto Town…this Is A Huge Problem For Many And Is So Common..ive Cleared The Codes Several Times But They Always Reappear…this Is A Definate Recall…make It So…24000 9n A Truck And I Cant Drive It…my Loyalty Is Fading Fast…try To Imagine Driving Your Truck Down A St.louis 6 Lane Freeway And Your Truck Says…nope You Staying Here..on The Side Of The Road…dont Get Out…youll Get Ran Over…maybe toyota Should Have A Display On The Info Center Concole That Tells You That…and Then Wishes You Good Luck…

Mileage was 23000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in AURORA, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Nov 05, 2015

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Roseburg, OR
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

The Secondary Injection Pump Went Out.

Mileage was 50890 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN3CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ROSEBURG, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Aug 29, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Langley, WA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

The Secondary Air Injection Pump Failed At 62,000 Miles. For Specifics It Showed The Codes P2440 And P2442. This Was Known Problem On The Previous Model Tundras, The Service Mgr At Rodland toyota Said They Had Already Replaced Three Pumps On Trucks Of The Same Year That Week.

Mileage was 62300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN4CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LANGLEY, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 23, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Axton, VA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

57,000 Miles On Truck Went Into Limp Mode, P2440 And P2442 Code Showed Secondary Air Injection Valve Dealer Quoted $2000, Said They Wouldn’t Cover Anything

Mileage was 57000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN7CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in AXTON, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Aug 30, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kansas City, MO
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Failure Stuck In Open Position Causing Limp Mode In The Truck. Truck Is Not Able To Get To Speed Above 40 Mph. This Happened As I Was Pulling Out Of My Neighborhood Onto A State Route With Speed Limit Of 55 Mph And Cars Going Way Faster Than That. This Could Pose A Danger If Situations Where Speed It Required To Get Out Of The Way Of Another Car. Truck Only Has 57k Miles On It. This Is A Supplemental Emissions System And Should Not Cause The Truck To Be Useless If Fail.

Mileage was 57000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN7CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KANSAS CITY, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Sept 06, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Catlettsburg, KY
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 20

tacoma Went In “limp Mode” Engine Light And Trac Off Light Illuminated; Cause The Car To Be Extremely Under Power. Vehicle Extremely Under Power Causing To Be Dangerous In Traffic. Code P2442 Secondary Injection System Failure; Common To Other toyota Vehicles Including Tundra’s. toyota Acted Resumable With Tundra’s With Extending Warranty Repairing But At This Time Refuses To Repair Known Failures In tacoma‘s.

Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN7CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CATLETTSBURG, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 12, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Goldsboro, NC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 55

2012 With 78,000 Miles, Threw Codes P2440, P2442. Same As Every Other tacoma Owner In This Year Range. Bad Valves And Pump On The Secondary Air Injection Unit. Cost To Repair Around 1,000 Dollars Doing The Work Myself. Very Disappointed As This Is My Third tacoma And Had Planned On Keeping This One For A Long Time.

Mileage was 79000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN0CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in GOLDSBORO, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Oct 26, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Conway, SC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 55

Check Engine And Trac Off Lights Came On. Vehicle Acceleration Became Very Sluggish. I Felt The Vehicle Became A Safety Hazard As It Had Almost No Acceleration . Merging Into Traffic Became Dangerous Because Of Lack Of Acceleration. Had Local Shop Check Truck And Error Codes Returned Were P2440 And P2442 Which They Said Indicated Secondary Air Injector Pump Needs To Be Replaced. Est Charge About $2000!

Mileage was 62200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN6CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CONWAY, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Nov 19, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Little Mountain, SC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

My Check Engine Light Came On And My Vehicle Entered “limp Mode,” Which Keeps The Car Under About 35mph And Prevents It From Accelerating Quickly. The Cel Read As A Secondary Air Intake System Problem (p2440 And P2442). Judging By The Multitude Of Similar Complaints I Have Found, This Is A Systemic Problem That toyota Refuses To Rectify For tacomas But Has Already Admitted To For Tundras. This Is A Serious Danger To Drivers If The Vehicle Enters “limp Mode” While They Are Driving Through An Intersection Or In Heavy Traffic. It Iseems Also Ridiculous For toyota To Expect tacoma Owners To Spend Thousands Of Dollars To Fix Their Poorly Designed Part, Especially Considering The Part Is Not Vital To The Performance Of The Engine.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LITTLE MOUNTAIN, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 11, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Terre Haute, IN
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 30

Check Engine Light Came On, Trac Off Light Is On. My Truck Has No Power And Is Unsafe To Drive. The Dtc Is P2442. Secondary Air Injection System Switch Valve Stuck Open Bank 2. toyota Knows They Have A Emissions Issue. My Vehicle Is At The Dealership Now.

Mileage was 73000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in TERRE HAUTE, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Nov 29, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
El Dorado Hills, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 10

When I Was Leaving Work The Other Night My 2012 tacoma Went Into Limp Mode And Presented The Cel And Trac Off Lights On The Dash. After Reviewing The Many Blogs On The Subject And Taking The Vehicle To The Mechanics, I Have Found Out That The Secondary Air Valve Is Likely Stuck In The Open Position. The Mechanic Has Quoted Me A Price Of $1,142 ($780 For The Part) To Replace The Whole System (valve Not Sold Separately). I Understand That This Is A Common Problem With Tundras/sequoias And 2012 Tacos. However, Only The Tundras Are Under Any Type Of Warranty. I Bought A tacoma Because The Last Two toyota‘s Have Run 300k Miles + With Regular Maintenance. This Type Of Expensive Repair Due To Poor Engineering Is Ludicrous And Should Be A Warranty Issue. I Guess toyota Wants To Be Terrible Like Everyone Else. Great. *tr

Mileage was 122000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN4CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in EL DORADO HILLS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 13, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kill Devil Hills, NC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 20

2012 tacoma With 37,00 Miles: While Leaving A Parking Lot And Trying To Accelerate On To A Busy Highway, (60mph Speeds), Truck Would Not Accelerate And “check Engine” And “trac Off” Lights Illuminated. Vehicle Went Into “limp Mode” And Would Not Go Faster Than 35 Mph. I Had To Quickly Pull Off The Road As To Not Cause An Accident. If This Had This Occurred While Traveling At Normal Highway Speed (60 Mph+), Would Definitely Be In A Wreck Due To The Sudden Downshift And Deceleration. I Took Vehicle To Local Auto Parts Store And Received The Code P2442: Secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Stuck Open Bank 2. From Researching, This Is A Known Problem With 2012 tacomas, And Had Previously Been An Issue With Older Tundras, Which toyota Issued A Tsb For. toyota Refuses To Repair This Under Warranty (either Powertrain Or Federal Emissions) Even Though The Failed Part Is Directly Tied To The Emissions System! The System Is Used To Pump Additional Air Into The Exhaust Manifold Upon Startup To Dilute The Over-rich Conditions That Lead To Increased Pollution. (how Is That Not An Emissions Related Part?) The Failure Or Warping Of The One-way Check Valve Causes Hot Exhaust Gases To Backflow Into The Solenoid, And Melting The Gaskets. This Ends Up Blocking The Sealing Plate And Causing It To Remain In The Open Position. The Danger Is That The Hot Exhaust Is Then Fed Into A Plastic Air Pump Causing It To Potentially Melt Or Catch Fire! The Fact That This Forces The Vehicle Into “limp Mode” Is Also A Huge Safety Concern As It Will Not Allow The Vehicle To Travel Above 35 Mph And Could Lead To Serious Accidents If Traveling At High Speed On The Interstate Or Highway Due To The Unexpected, Sudden Deceleration. Failed Assembly Is toyota Part Number : 25710-31020. This Part Number Has Been Superseded By P/n: 25710-31022 And toyota Charges Between $1500-$3200 To Replace. *tr

Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN6CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Dec 21, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Orangeburg, SC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Engine Code P2442 & P2440: Secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Bank 2. Truck Only Has 40,000 Miles On It. Dealer What $1800.00 To Make Repairs. toyota Has A Problem With The Part And They Need To Fix It. Nothing Like Having Numerous Failures And Leaving The Customer To Pay For The Poor Engineered Part. *tr

Mileage was 40000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN8CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ORANGEBURG, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 16, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Fleming Island, FL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 45

My 2012 toyota tacoma Check Engine And Traction Control Light Came On. Truck Went In Limp Mode, Which Was Very Unsafe. Took My Truck To Auto Zone To Have The Codes Read. My Truck Code Was P2442. Air Injection System Switch Valve Stuck Open. This Is A Known Issue To toyota Tundra Trucks But Not For The tacoma.

Mileage was 58000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GNXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in FLEMING ISLAND, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Dec 26, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

Driving On The Street To Work One Morning, The Trac Off And Check Engine Lights Both Suddenly Appeared. I Then Noticed That My Truck Was Not Able To Accelerate Past ~40 Mph. Going Uphill, My Truck Was Limited To Only ~20 Mph. My Truck Went Into This “safe Mode.” I Connected An Obd Device And The Came Up With The Following Two Codes: P2440 And P2442. The Codes Refer To “secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Stuck Open” For Banks 1 And 2, Respectively. I Did Some Further Research On The Codes, And It Turns Out This Is A Common Issue On 2012 tacomas. Apparently, The Valve For The Secondary Air Injection System Is Stuck Open Due To Moisture And/or Carb Build Up. I Believe This Is A Design/engineering Issue. Part Replacement Costs ~$480 For Each Valve Assembly. Labor Can Range Anywhere Between $200-$500. If This Is A Known Issue That Is Common To A Lot Of 2012 tacomas, Then I Believe toyota Should Be Proactive Such As Releasing An Official Recall Or Even Implement Some Type Of Reimbursement. Note That My Truck Has ~80,000 Miles On It. As An Owner, I Shouldn’t Suffer From An Engineering Design Flaw And I Shouldn’t Be Financially Responsible To Repair/fix The Issue. Any Assistance Would Be Helpful. Thank You And Happy Holidays! *tr

Mileage was 80000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4ENXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Dec 20, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Tallahassee, FL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 30

Headed To Work To Find Check Engine Light Illuminated. Truck Has Less Than 41,000 Miles. Went To Autozone, Code Reader Provided P2442 And P2440 Errors Related To The Secondary Air Injection System Valves. Followed Up With Local toyota Dealer. Dealer Ran Diagnostic And Found Secondary Air Injection System Valves Stuck Open In Banks 1 And 2. Dealer Wants To Replace Parts 17600-0p040: Pump Assembly; 25710-31022: Valve Assembly; And The 4 Related Gaskets, Part 17377-31010. Quote Was For Almost $2400. Again, The Vehicle Is 2012, Less Than 41k Miles! Researching The tacoma Forums Online, This Appears To Be A Common Problem With This Generation Model And More Even More So With 2012‘s. One Of The Dealer’s Service Advisors Informed Me That This Is Also A Common Problem With Tundras. Furthermore, While Driving, The Vehicle Would Go In And Out Of “limp Mode” And I Had No Warning As To When It Would Or Would Not Be In This Mode, Other Than By The Way The Vehicle Was Handling. Limp Mode Would Only Allow Transmission To Shift Into 2nd Or 3rd And No More Than 30 Mph, Less If Climbing An Incline. At Other Times, Vehicle Would Drive Normally. The Switching In And Out Of This Protective Mode Seems Particularly Dangerous. *tr

Mileage was 40964 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in TALLAHASSEE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:RWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Dec 29, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Hickory, NC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 15

Air Injection Pump And Diverter Valve Assembly Failed Causing Vehicle To Enter Limp Mode. Vehicle Was Moving At Low Speed From A Fresh Start Up. toyota Has Recognized The Issue On The Tundra Truck And Extended 150k Mile Warranty On The Part. They Have Not Extended The Same Consideration On The tacoma. Based On Research And Discussion With Dealer It Is A Known Issue On The 2012 tacoma. Cost To Repair I Was $1484.14. *tr

Mileage was 89324 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN1CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in HICKORY, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Dec 28, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 15

I Got The Engine Lights On In The Morning Starting The Truck On Nov 3, And Truck Went Into Limp Mode. Got It Home And Let It Sit For A Bit And Then It Seemed To Be Okay Accelerating But The Engine Lights Were Still On. Took It To toyota And Was Reading The Dreaded P2442 Secondary Air Injection System Code. They Cleared The Code And Drove It Around; Cleared Again They Deemed It Okay And Charged Me $60 For The Code Read. Leave To Drive To Work Again This Morning And Bam, The Lights Back On And The Thing Is Back Into Limp Mode With Barely Any Power To The Engine. Had To Drive This Truck In This Unsafe Condition Back To My House. I Read So Much Online About How Many People Are Affected With This Same Defective Part And toyota Quoted Me $2300 Cad + 13% Tax To Fix It And Replace The Secondary Air Injection Pump/valve. Not Covered Under Any Warranty Nor My Extra Care Protection Plan I Paid For.

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN1CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CARLSBAD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Nov 07, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Mahopac, NY
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 30

Secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Error Code P2440 And P2442 Truck Is Now In Limp Mode And Undriveable

Mileage was 115000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MAHOPAC, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Dec 30, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
High Point, NC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 20

I Left The Gym Yesterday And The Truck Had No Power And Would Not Accelerate, I Almost Got T-boned Pulling Into Traffic. I Looked Down And The Check Engine Light Was On As Well As The Traction Control Light. Ran By Autozone And Had Them Scan The Obd And It Showed P2442 Error Code. I Took It By The Dealer This Morning And They Say Both By-pass Valves Are Gone As Well As The Air Injection Pump. Estimate Was $1,798. This Is A 2012 Model As Seems To Be The Norm With This Failure. But With Only 35k Miles. I Told Them This Was Ridiculous For This To Happen On This Model With This Low Of A Mileage And That This Should Be Covered Under Warranty. The Service Rep Said It Wasn’t And Her Hands Were Tied. I Talked To The Service Manager As Well As The Gm. So Far toyota Has Refused To Resolve This Issue In A Fair Manner. This Is A Know Problem By toyota On The 2012 Model tacoma‘s. They Are Having The Same Issue On The Tundra Trucks And Are Covering These Parts Under A 150,000 Mile Extended Warranty. There Are Many Reports Of This Same Failure With The tacoma‘s But toyota So Far Is Refusing To Address This Issue. When This Failure Does Occur The Vehicles Go Into “limp” Mode. This Can Be Very Dangerous If Unexpectedly You Loose Power Or Speed While Merging, Pulling Into Traffic Or On The Freeway. *tr

Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN2CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in HIGH POINT, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Jan 01, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
League City, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 35

2012 tacoma With 91,000 Miles: While Leaving Work And Trying To Accelerate Onto Highway The “check Engine” And “trac Off” Lights Illuminated. Vehicle Went Into “limp Mode” And Would Not Go Faster Than 35 Mph. I Had To Quickly Pull Off The Road As To Not Cause An Accident. I Took Vehicle To Mac Haik toyota And Received The Code P2445. I Had To Replace Air Switch Valve Assembly $690, Air W/bra Pump Assembly $813, Air Tube Gaskets $132, Labor $610. Total $2063!!!! From Researching, This Is A Known Problem With 2012 tacomas, And Had Previously Been An Issue With Older Tundras, Which toyota Issued A Tsb For. toyota Refuses To Repair This Under Warranty (federal Emissions) Even Though The Failed Part Is Directly Tied To The Emissions System! “the System Is Used To Pump Additional Air Into The Exhaust Manifold Upon Startup To Dilute The Over-rich Conditions That Lead To Increased Pollution. (how Is That Not An Emissions Related Part?) The Failure Or Warping Of The One-way Check Valve Causes Hot Exhaust Gases To Backflow Into The Solenoid, And Melting The Gaskets. This Ends Up Blocking The Sealing Plate And Causing It To Remain In The Open Position. The Danger Is That The Hot Exhaust Is Then Fed Into A Plastic Air Pump Causing It To Potentially Melt Or Catch Fire!” The Fact That This Forces The Vehicle Into “limp Mode” Is Also A Huge Safety Concern As It Will Not Allow The Vehicle To Travel Above 35 Mph And Could Lead To Serious Accidents If Traveling At High Speed On The Interstate Or Highway Due To The Unexpected, Sudden Deceleration. Failed Assembly Is toyota Part Number : 25710-31020. This Part Number Has Been Superseded By P/n: 25710-31022. *tr

Mileage was 91000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GNXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LEAGUE CITY, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:RWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Dec 13, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Butler, PA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

The Check Engine Light And Trac Off Lights Came On. The Vehicle Lost Power And Nearly Did Not Make It Up A Hill. Codes Were Read At A Local Auto Parts Store Indicating P2440 & P2442. Took It To The toyota Dealer Who Confirmed The Codes And Indicated The Secondary Air Injection Valves Were Burned Out And Stuck Open, Requiring Replacement. The Parts Were Replaced At A Significant Cost To Me. An Internet Search Revealed That This Condition Is Common To The 2012 toyota tacoma. A Similar Issue Involving The toyota Tundra Was Also Discovered. *tr

Mileage was 114000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFMU4FN4CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BUTLER, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Dec 07, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Yigo, GU
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

Engine/all Power Is Lost When Engine Has Reached A Certain Rpm. Code Reader States “crankshaft Position Sensor “a” Circuit Malfunction”.

Mileage was 31000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in YIGO, GU. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Nov 28, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Gulf Breeze, FL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Secondary Air Intake System Failed During Start Up. The Vehicle Is Drivable But Dangerous Cel Is On And Computer Limits The Vehicles Power. This Is Related To Emissions. The Vehicle Was 8 Days Out Of Warranty With 39500k Miles. This System Has Been A Problem In Other toyota Vehicles Including The 2012 V6 tacoma. Cost Of Repair Estimated At $1950.00

Mileage was 39500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4ENXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in GULF BREEZE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 28, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Camas, WA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 20

Check Engine And Trac Off Light On When Starting Vehicle. Noticed It Would Not Accelerate Much At 20mph (limp Mode?), So I Pulled Over And Called Dealer Service And Took For Diagnosis. Luckily Not In Heavy Traffic Or Busy Street, Just Neighborhood. Dealer Repaired Secondary Air Injection Pump And Valves For $2,000. Indicated Not A Normal Repair. Internet Search Proved Otherwise As Its A Extensive Issue With Prior Models Of toyota Vehicles And 2012 tacoma‘s.

Mileage was 52500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN3CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CAMAS, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Jan 18, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Monticello, MS
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 55

Driving At 55 Mph, Check Engine Light Came On And Vehicle Went Into Limp Mode. Decrease In Speed And Power. Mechanic Computer Showed Fault Codes 2440 And 2442. Secondary Air Injection Pump And Valves Failure. Through Research Hundreds Of tacoma Owners Are Having Same Problem. Faulty Manufacturers Part Causing Vehicles To Go Into Limp Mode. *tr

Mileage was 89000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN8CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MONTICELLO, MS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:RWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Jan 15, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
King City, OR
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Air Injection System Failing Putting Truck Into Limp Mode (codes P2442 And P2440) An Unsafe Driving Condition. Common Low Mileage Problem That Is Not Covered By Either Federal Emissions Warranty Or Power Train Warranty. *tr

Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4ENXCM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KING CITY, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 01, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Moncks Corner, SC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

Secondary Air Injection System Failure. Failure Codes Of P2440 And 2442 Occurred During Highway Driving, Causing Vehicle To Go Into Limp Mode. The Vehicle At This Point Was Unsafe To Drive Due To Limited Throttle Control. Research Has Shown This Is A Very Common Problem With 2012 tacoma Trucks.

Mileage was 87600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFKU4HN4CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MONCKS CORNER, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Feb 02, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 35

Replacement Air Injection Valves And Pumps For Secondary Emissions Control System. toyota Wants 2200 For An Issue They Are Aware Of And Have Already Released Service Bulletins For On The Tundra And Sequoias. Engine Codes P2442 And P2446. When The Codes Are Thrown The Car Is Put Into Limp Mode And Decelerates To 35 Mph, Even Though This Is A Non-essential Emissions System.

Mileage was 62000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN7CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Feb 02, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Benicia, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Truck Normally Starts Right Up, Cranked It Over No Start. Tried It Again And It Started, But The “check Engine” And The “trac Control” Lights Stayed On. Tried Getting On The Freeway And Had Very Little Power Getting On The On-ramp. Put The Flashers On To Prevent Cars Exiting The Freeway @ 65 Mph From Crashing Into Me And My Limping tacoma. They Also Put Their Flashers On Too. Very Unsafe! Limped Towards Home On Surface Streets….1 Hour Drive Took Me 2. Scanned The Error Codes And P2440 And P2442 Came Up, Switches Stuck Open In The #1 & #2 Bank. After Spending $1470.54 For Parts I Made The Repairs. Looked @ A Co-workers 2008 tacoma And This Bad Idea Is Not On His tacoma…..hhhhhmmmm. He,s Just Lucky I Guess. Please Help.very Unsafe Design, Very Expensive Remedy

Mileage was 74000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BENICIA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Jan 18, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Escondido, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

Check Engine Code- P2442. This Has Been A Common Issue With toyota Suvs, And Trucks!

Mileage was 50100 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ESCONDIDO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 02, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Columbia, MO
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 65

The Engine Check And Trac Off Lights On When I Drive On Highway. The Secondary Air Injection System Failure The Dealer Checked, It Will Cost $2000 To Fix It, It Is Only 69k Miles And 5 Years Old Vehicle. I Could Not Accelerate The Vehicle On Highway And It Suddenly Slow Down.

Mileage was 69000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in COLUMBIA, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Jan 27, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Wadsworth, OH
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 45

Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Open Causing Limp Mode. Happened Near Very Dangerous Intersection And Lost All Power In Truck. As Others Have Stated, Truck Only Has 50k Miles And Required A $500+ Repair (part Only) For A Component Of The Emission System Which Is Only Used On Startup And Includes A Warranty Of Only 2 Years.

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in WADSWORTH, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Nov 28, 2016

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kingston, MA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 70

Secondary Air Injection System Failure. If You Look In Line It Is An Epidemic With 2012 Around 50,000 Miles. 2000 $ Repair. They Don’t Cover. Lost Power At 75 On The Highway And Almost Got Killed.

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN6CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KINGSTON, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Feb 18, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

Code P2440 And P2442. Air Injection System Valves Are Stuck Open (related To Emissions Control Unit) Which Causes The Vehicle To Go Into ‘limp’ Mode Abrupbtly. This Renders The Vehicle Undriveable, And Can Occur In The Midst Of Driving Causing Serious Danger To The Driver And Fellow Drivers On The Road. toyota Is Unwilling To Cover Under Any Powertrain Or Emissions Warranty. This Issue Is Pervasive Among 2012 tacoma Owners And toyota Redesigned The System As Early As 2013 Which Implicates Their Knowledge Of Such A Defect.

Mileage was 75000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FNOCM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SANTA ROSA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 25, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Austin, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Code P2442: Secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Stuck Open Bank 2. This Happened On A Vehicle That Does Not Tow, Drive Off Road, And Is In Warm Weather Climate, Austin, Tx. My Commute To Work Is 5 Miles, Each Way. toyota Says This Is Not Covered Under Power Train Or Emissions Warranty. This Is A $2,000 Fix For A Vehicle With Only 59,000 Miles.

Mileage was 59707 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN5CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in AUSTIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 28, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
St Simons Island, GA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

2012 With Only 24,900 Miles And My Vehicle Has The Same Issue As The toyota Tundra Issue Relating To Secondary Air Injection Pump. Dealer Says It’s Not Covered. The Are An Awful Lot Of People With The Same Problem On Their tacoma‘s. It’s No Fair!

Mileage was 24900 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFMU4FN4CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ST SIMONS ISLAND, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Mar 17, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Elgin, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 20

While Driving And Turning Onto A Highway, “check Engine”and “trac Off” Warning Lights Came On As I Pulled Into Traffic. Truck Went Into Limp Mode So I Couldn’t Accelerate. Oncoming Traffic Worked Around Me As I Turned On My Hazard Lights. Secondary Air Injection System P2440 And P2442 Are The Error Codes Associated With The Valves Stuck Open.

Mileage was 100000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN3CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ELGIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Mar 19, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Owens Cross Roads, AL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

Pulled Onto The Interstate And The Truck Would No Accelerate. Put On My Hazards And Tried To Avoid Getting Hit. Got Off On The Next Exit. Had To Go Up A Hill To Get Home And Truck Was Struggling To Maintain 20 Mph. Took It To The Dealer Who Said It Was The Air Injection Valves And That The Truck Had Gone Into Limp Mode Because Of The Emissions Problem. Codes Were P2440, 2442. Dealer Said Problem Is Not Covered By Powertrain Warranty And Emissions Warranty Expired.

Mileage was 54000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Mar 14, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kaunakakai, HI
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

I Have A 2012 toyota tacoma 4×4 Sport Double Cab Longbed With 28860 Miles. I Started The Engine And Noticed The “check Engine” And “trac Control” Lights On In The Cluster. As I Was Driving I Noticed A Lack Of Power It Was In “limped Mode”. Made It To My Mechanic Who Did A Code Check With Reader, Codes P2440 And P2442 Shown Which Is Secondary Injection Pump Valve Malfunction. The Concerning Aspect Is That With Such Low Milage This Malfunction Occurs That Makes The Truck Go Into Limp Mode Which Can Be Dangerous In Any Give Situation On The Highways. toyota Must Really Consider Investigating This Defect.

Mileage was 28860 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN5CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KAUNAKAKAI, HI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 26, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Medford, OR
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 65

Driving Home From Work On The Freeway When The Check Engine Light Came On, Then The Engine Started To Slow Down And Would Not Go Above 35 Miles/hour On The Freeway. Took To Dealer And Was Told Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Stuck Open (bank 1 & 2) Requiring Replacement.

Mileage was 49990 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MEDFORD, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Mar 14, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Smackover, AR
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

On The Way Home From A Recent Camping Trip My Check Engine Light And Trac Light Came On In My Truck. The Truck Went Into “limp” Mode Would Not Accelerate Up A Hill Above 20 Miles Per Hour. We Drove To The Nearest Auto Zone, They Pulled The Codes P2436 And P2442. I Was Able To Clear The Codes And Make It Home. I Started Researching This And Found The Secondary Air Switching Valves To Be A Common Failure On tacomas And Tundras. I Feel This Part Needs To Be Recalled And Upgraded, This Could Be A Major Safety Issue If The Vehicle Went Into “limp” Mode In Heavy Traffic Or While Crossing Across Heavy Traffic. The Replacement Part 25710-31022 Was Ordered From The Dealership Today. I Also Filed A Complaint With toyota Customer Service.

Mileage was 86000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN3CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SMACKOVER, AR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Apr 02, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Henderson, KY
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 60

Air Valves In Emission System Went Bad, Was Reduced To Driving 35mph In Heavy Traffic, Very Unsafe. Was Quoted $2500 In Repairs For Repairs Resulting From Faulty Design. Reports Rampant On The Internet Of This Part Failing. Tpyota Fixed The Issue On Later Model tacomas And Recalled Tundras With The Same Issue But Have Ignored This Make/model/year.

Mileage was 71420 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in HENDERSON, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Apr 12, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Cibolo, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 45

Ecl Code P2442, Secondary Air Handler, Epa Part But toyota Dealers Won’t Cover Under Epa Warranty.

Mileage was 38000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN2CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CIBOLO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Apr 07, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Lehi, UT
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 30

As I Read Through The Complaints On Here, It Seems Most Are For The Same Issue I Have Seen. As It Is The Biggest Complaint Item For 2012 tacoma On This Website, And The Fact That There Is A Recall On Tundra For The Same Item, And That 2013 tacoma Were Redesigned To Fix, This Is Clearly A Known Issue Of A Faulty Part/design Of The The Air Injection Pump Valve. It Is Unacceptable That Nothing Is Done About This And The Danger It Poses. Like The Others, I Got A Check Engine Light/trac Off One Evening When I Started My Truck. My Truck Started Up Fine, And I Didn’t Notice A Problem Until I Tried To Merge Onto A 60 Mph Road. I Tried To Accelerate And Merge But I Almost Caused A Pile Up As I Could Not Accelerate Beyond 35 Mph. Luckily, All I Got Was A Bunch Of Honking. This Is A Very Dangerous Situation! After Further Research, I Saw The Codes P2440 And P2442 And Understand It Is A Limp Mode Due To An Emmisions Item At Startup. Before Being Able To Fix, I Had To Work A Shift At My Second Job Of Ski Patrol In The Rocky Mountains. As My Truck Obviously Couldn’t Make It Up The Canyon, I Was Forced To Borrow Another Car, And All I Could Get Was A 2 Wheel Drive. There Was A Late Season Storm, And Because I Didn’t Have My 4×4 Truck I Got Stuck Overnight In The Mountains. I Survived, But Twice Because Of This Issue I Was Faced Into A Dangerous Situation. I Bought A New 4×4 For The Very Reason To Avoid Dangers Like These. Granted I Have 65k Miles Now, But I Don’t Expect A Vehicle To Have Major Problems Like This. It Is Even Worse To Find Out That It Is A Known Issue And No One Is Doing Anything About It. It Is A Disappointment That With A Known Issue toyota Has Not Done Something About This For The tacomas, But I Am Equally Surprised That There Are So Many Complaints And Examples Of Dangerous Situations And The Nhtsa Hasn’t Done Anything Either.

Mileage was 65000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LEHI, UT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Mar 23, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Frisco, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 20

Secondary Air Pump And Valve Failure. Second Time In 1 Year.

Mileage was 77000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in FRISCO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Apr 17, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Martinez, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

While Driving On A City Street The Check Engine Light And Trac Off Light Illuminated And Truck Would Not Go Over 25 Mph. Brought Directly To Mechanic That Found Diagnostic Trouble Code P2442 – Secondary Air Injection System Malfunction. At 61k Miles This Faulty Part Was Not Covered Under Any Warranty. The Part Cost Alone Was $1321 And Then Add Tax And Labor For A Total Of $1709! So Disgusted With toyota For Not Taking Accountability For This Faulty Product.

Mileage was 61100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MARTINEZ, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Apr 14, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Lake Forest, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 30

4.0l V6, Dcsb, At, Or Package, 4×4, 41.5k Miles, Cel On, Tcl On, Limp Mode On, Codes P2440 P2442. References A Secondary Air Pump Valve Issue. Truck Was Started In The Morning, Reversed Out Of Driveway, Cel, Tcl, And Limp Mode Activated When Put Into Drive. Unable To Reach Safe Operating Speeds Due To Limp Mode. Veh Was On City Street When Codes Triggered Limp Mode. Failure Of Poorly Designed Valves And System Causes Valves To Remain Stuck Open Allowing A Larger Than Normal Volume Of Exhaust Fumes To Recirculate To The Intake Through All Operating Ranges Instead Of Just Engine Start Up. Potential For Engine Failure And Fire.

Mileage was 41600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN3CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LAKE FOREST, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Apr 20, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Boise, ID
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 65

Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Open Causing Truck To Enter “limp-mode” While Commuting On Congested Freeway System. This Presented A Safety Hazard To Myself And My Family Trying To Merge Off The Freeway Through Traffic Without Any Power.

Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN1CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BOISE, ID. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 20, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Lumber Bridge, NC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 35

Bought Truck New In 2012 And Maintained 100% Recommended Maintenance At Dealer. At 64,500 Mileage, Check Engine Light Came On While Driving, And We Drove Truck Straight To Dealer Service Garage. Dealer Determined Secondary Air Injection Pump Had Contaminated With Water, Resulting In Rust In System (valves Also). Replaced Pump And Valve Assembly And Gasket. Service Advisor Said The Same Parts Were Used And Recalled In Response To Reports Of Air Induction Pump Assemblies And/or Air Injection Switching Valves Issues On Their 2007-2010 Tundra And 2008-2010 Sequoia Models, toyota Has Decided To Increase Its Warranty On These Parts And Is Even Offering A Reimbursement If You Already Had This Issue Fixed. tacoma‘s Need To Be Included In The Recall Reimbursement! When We Asked About How To Prevent Future Issues, Service Tech Informed Us The Part Has Been “re-designed” To Prevent The Problem From Re-occurring. Total Bill From Dealer Was $1968.29. This Vehicle Has Never Been Off Road, Never Been In Flood Conditions, And Is A Commuter Vehicle On Paved Roads.

Mileage was 64500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LUMBER BRIDGE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Apr 23, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bridgeport, WA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Cel And Trac Off Lights Came On And Truck Went Into Limp Mode. I Was Only Able To Drive 25-35mph In Limp Mode. Took 2012 toyota tacoma To Local Mechanic And The Trouble Code Was P2442, Secondary Air Injection System Bank 2 Valve Stuck Open. Contacted toyota Dealer But No Help Even Though toyota Corporate Is Aware Of The Problem On 2012 toyota tacomas As Well As Other Models.

Mileage was 57000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BRIDGEPORT, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 26, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Pleasanton, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Emissions Air Pump Valve Went Out With 60,200 Miles On The Truck. The Truck Is Bone Stock And Has Been Very Well Maintained. After Research Its Seems That Numerous People Are Having Issues With This Same Exact Part On The 2012 tacomas. toyota Extended A Recall On The Tundra’s Because Of This Part, But Not The tacomas. The Truck Is Currently In Limp Mode And Will Not Go Past 40mph, And The Dealer Wants $1,075 To Fix It. This Occurred On My Way To Work This Morning While Getting On The Freeway, And Was Quite Scary To Not Be Able To Go Over 40mph On A Bay Area Freeway With Cars Honking And Flying Past Me.

Mileage was 60200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN1CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in PLEASANTON, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 03, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bridgeport, WA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

My 2012 toyota tacoma First Started Throwing A P2442 Error Code And I Had A Mechanic Clear It Twice. Now It Is Throwing A P2440 And P2442 Error Code. This Is The Secondary Air Injection System Valve Assembly. Both Bank 1 And Bank 2 Valves Are Stuck Open. I Called toyota Corporate (1-800-331-4331) And Filed A Complaint After Seeing All Of The Other 2012‘s With The Same Problem. They Just Want Me To Get It To A toyota Dealership To Read The Code And Then Go From There. Unfortunately I Don’t Live Near A Dealership And They Want To Charge Me For A Diagnostic Test That My Local Mechanic Just Performed. The Truck Is In Limp Mode With The Check Engine And Trac Off Lights Illuminated.

Mileage was 57000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BRIDGEPORT, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 27, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Santee, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

2012 tacoma With 24k Miles. Check Engine Light And Trc Light Came On With Truck In Limp Mode When I Started It To Go To Work. Codes P0412 P2433 P2438 P2442. toyota Wont Cover This And Its A Defect In Many Many 2012 tacomas.

Mileage was 24000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SANTEE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 08, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Lebanon, TN
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

2012 toyota tacoma. The Vehicle Has Codes P2440, P2441, P2442 Relating To The Secondary Air Injection System (sais) Valves Being Stuck Open/closed. This Appears To Be A Common Problem With 2012 tacoma Vehicles And Several Years For Tundra Vehicles. For The Tundra, toyota Instituted A Customer Support Program And Extended The Warranty Coverage For The Sais. With The Vehicle Having Only 47,391 Miles, It Is Outrageous That The Sais Would Have Issues Or Failures Especially Being A toyota. Since The Truck Is In Limp Mode And Not Safe To Drive, It Will Have To Be Towed To A Dealership. Between This Issue And A Noise And Pulling Periodically From The Front Differential/drivetrain, We Are Very Disappointed In This Vehicle.

Mileage was 47391 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LEBANON, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 17, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Saint Louis, MO
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

Secondary Air Injection Valve Quit Working And Put My Truck Into A ‘limp Mode.’ During This Time My Speed Was Cut No More Than 40 M.p.h. I Was Merging Onto The Highway At The Time And It Created A Very Unsafe Condition. I Started Researching The Issue And Saw A Ton Of Other People Had The Exact Same Issue. I’m Sure toyota Knew About It As Well, Because The Mechanic At The Dealership Did. Why Didn’t They Put Out An Alert Or Recall??

Mileage was 58000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SAINT LOUIS, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 17, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

As I Went From Side Road To Main Road, Truck Would Not Accelerate To Full Speed Even With Foot On The Pedal, Indicators Trac Off And Check Engine Were Lit. Went To Mechanic And Error Codes P2440 And P2442 Indicated Malfunction In Secondary Air Injection System. Was Told New Air Pump And Diverter Valve Required At Cost Of $2k. Truck Has Less Than 30k On It,but Is 5 Years Old. Going Into Limp Mode Is Dangerous As The Main Street Is 55mph. toyota States Tundras Have Same Issue That Is Now Covered By 10 Year/150k Warranty, But Nothing For tacoma Owners. So I Am Quite Angry With That As Well. Have Read Online That Many Other Owners Are Having Same Issues. toyota Should Recall These Defective Pumps And Valves In Addition To Disabling The Limp Mode As It Is Very Dangerous.

Mileage was 29800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in GRAND RAPIDS, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

May 22, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
North Chesterfield, VA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 40

My Truck’s Check Engine Light And Trac Off Light Came On And I Took It To My Local Repair Shop. The Manager Told Me That After The Level 1 Diagnostic, A P2442 Error Code Appeared (switching Valve Stuck). The Valves, And Air Pump Are Part Of The Secondary Air Injection System Which Diverts Some Exhaust Back Into The Engine To Reduce Emissions Output. As Part Of The Truck’s Emergency System, The Truck Limited The Engine Operation Parameters To About 2000rpm, And About 40mph Maximum. Express Oil Change And Tire Engineers Quoted The Parts At Around $1500, Not Including Labor. The Day Of Diagnosis, The Truck Had 72,952 Miles And Was Purchased Nov. 2011. Currently Unable To Safely Drive My Truck In Normal Traffic. Facing A Nearly $2k Bill, I Decided To Do Some Digging Into Emissions Warranty Information And Found That Those Parts Were Not Going To Be Covered By The 8yr/80,000 Mile Federal Emission Control Warranty As Outlined In My Warranty And Maintenance Guide, Even Though These Are A Critical Part Of The System. While Online, I Read Several Posts On tacomaworld.com Where Several Others Were Having The Same Issues. What Was More Concerning Was That This Very Same Issue Was Very Common In toyota Tundra Not Long Ago And The Manufacturer Extended Their Warranties To Cover The Costs Because It Would Appear To Be A Manufacturer Defect. Now, The Very Same Thing Is Happening With tacoma But The Extended Warranty Has Not Been Extended To My Truck. The Service Lights Have Since Come Back On And The Truck Is Not Drivable, I Have Yet To Get A Hold Of toyota But Because Of The Holiday, I Will Have To Wait Until The Morning But Not Expecting Much. Who Will Pay For My Rental Car While I’m Paying This Bill? Https://www.tacomaworld.com/threads/secondary-air-injection-system-p2440-and-p2442.370792/ Http://www.tundraheadquarters.com/blog/toyota-warranties-air-injection-pump/

Mileage was 72952 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN8CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 23, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kansas City, MO
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Failure Of The Secondary Air Injection Pump And Valve Emission System Prompted Engine To Run In A Reduced Power Mode, And This Occurred On A On A Relatively New Vehicle With Below Average Mileage. While Setting May Protect Engine, This Created An Unsafe Driving Environment For Vehicle Within Fast Moving Traffic. My Compliant Is Not Related To The Reduced Driving Mode That May Have Protected The Engine, But Rather The Poor Design Of The Air-pump/valve System That Prematurely Failed Causing The Reduced Power Mode.

Mileage was 47800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KANSAS CITY, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 27, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Matawan, NJ
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 55

Vehicle Was In Motion On Rainy, Wet Highway When Check Engine Light Went On And Traction Control Was Shut Off. The Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Is Apparently Stuck Closed, Which For Some Reason Shuts Off The Traction Control. It Is My Understanding From Speaking With Other tacoma And Tundra Owners That Had The Valves Gotten Stuck Open, The Vehicle Goes Into “limp Mode” Which Automatically Decreases Speed To 20mph. Obviously, Either Of These Occurrences Are Particularly Unsafe In Rainy And Wet Conditions, And The Decrease In Speed Is Unsafe During Any Highway Traveling. This Is Apparently A Big Enough Issue On The Tundra Models For toyota To Extend The Warranty To 150,000mi, Yet They Have Done Nothing For The tacomas Which Have An Identical System And Parts.

Mileage was 99000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN2CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MATAWAN, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

May 31, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Marrero, LA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 30

Secondary Air Injection System (p2442). This Hardware Defect Has Been A Recall For Tundra But Not For tacoma. The Part Is Defective On Most 2012 tacoma And Very Expensive To Replace. There Are Safety Issue As The Vehicle Unable To Accelerate, But Only Able To Limp. There Are Many Discussions About This Issue But toyota Has Not Done Anything About This.

Mileage was 51700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MARRERO, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

June 04, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Mukilteo, WA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 35

I Was Leaving Work And Pulling Onto The Highway When I Noticed My Check Engine Light Came On, As Well As The Trac Off Light. I Went To Pull Into Traffic And Immediately Realized That Whatever Was Wrong Put My Truck Into Limp Mode And Had A 2500 Rpm Limit. This Was A 60 Mph Highway And I Couldn’t Go More Than 35 Mph. The Traffic Coming Was Immediately Upon Me And I Had To Pull Over And Put On My Hazard Lights As These Vehicles Had To Slam On Their Brakes, Honk, And Swerve Around Me. I Brought It Into The Dealership And They Read Code P2442. Which Is For A Stuck Secondary Air Injection Valve. They Found Water In The Valves And They Had To Be Replaced. Doing Some Research I Found This Is A Very Common Issue In 2nd Gen tacomas, Mostly The 2012. This A Very Well Known Issue, Especially To toyota, And They Have So Far Done Nothing About It. This Led To A Very Dangerous Near Crash Incident Which I Then Had To Pay Over 1200 Dollars To Fix. This Is Completely Unacceptable. toyota Must At Least Take Ownership Of Their Poorly Designed Parts And Cover The Replacement Of These Valves And Pumps. This Is Happening All Over The Country On A Consistent And Persistent Basis. Please Make toyota Address This, Their Customers Deserve So Much Better.

Mileage was 33000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN4CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in MUKILTEO, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

June 14, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Imler, PA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 62

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota tacoma. While Driving 62 Mph, The Check Engine Indicator Illuminated And The Vehicle Began To Lose Power. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Experienced A Limp Home Setting. The Contact Stated That He Was Aes Certified. The Contact Stated That The Tow Hitch Was In Use When The Failure Occurred. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Local Dealer (fiore toyota Volkswagen 1000 S. Logan Blvd, Holidaysburg, Pa 16648) Where It Was Diagnosed That The Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Failed And Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Repaired By The Contact. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure, But Did Not Offer Any Assistance. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 88,000.

Mileage was 88000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in IMLER, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 62 mph.

June 09, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Houston, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

The Contact Owns A 2012 toyota tacoma. After Starting The Vehicle, The Check Engine, Traction Control, And Maintinence Indicators Remained Illuminated. While Driving, The Vehicle Would Not Accelerate Past 25 Mph. The Vehicle Was Taken To Autonation toyota In Houston, Texas Where It Was Diagnosed That The Engine Air Pump And Air Valve Were Faulty And Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 45,000.

Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GNXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

July 05, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Fair Lawn, NJ
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

At Start Up “check Engine” And “trac Off” Lights Were On. Truck Had No Acceleration And Transmission Would Not Shift. I Took The Car To The Dealership And Diagnostic Codes P2440 And P2442 Were Detected. Dealer Had To Replace The Air Injection System Bank 1 And Bank 2. During Research, I Discovered Numerous Other Owners Of 2012 tacoma‘s Complaing About The Same Issue. Some Even Lost Power While Driving. Also, The Tundra Apparently Had A Similar Issue Being Reported

Mileage was 49652 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN8CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in FAIR LAWN, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 10, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Stevensville, MI
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Malfunction Related To Emissions. Code P2440 & P2442,

Mileage was 49000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN2CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in STEVENSVILLE, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 12, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bennettsville, SC
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 60

While Commuting To Work The Engine Light And Traction Control Light Came On, Causing My Truck To Slow Down, Very Slow. It Would Not Let Me Accelerate And Disabled My Progress To Around 2000 Rpms. This Could Have Been A Very Serious Or A Dangerous Situation Especially If I Was Towing A Load Or In A Major Traffic Situation. Codes – 2440 And 2442 Were The Causes Of This Scary Account.

Mileage was 105000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN2CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BENNETTSVILLE, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

July 26, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

Fault Codes P2440 And P2442, Powertrain – Auxiliary Emission Controls. Air Pump Failing At 41,000 Miles. Dealer Repair Cost Is $1,900. Vehicle Goes In To “limp Mode” When Started, That Drastically Reduces Power.

Mileage was 41000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SANTA BARBARA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Sept 09, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Harleysville, PA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 50

Error Code P2442 Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Open. Truck Immediately Goes Into “limp’ Mode And Will Not Accelerate Over 20mph. Extremely Unsafe To Have The Vehicle Decelerate On A Highway For A Known Issue That Has Prompted Warranty Extensions On toyota Tundra’s.

Mileage was 97300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in HARLEYSVILLE, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Sept 24, 2017

Engine Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Newtown Square, PA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 30

I Was Pulling Out On To The Highway And My Truck Failed To Exceed 30 Mph With Oncoming Traffic Which Nearly Caused An Accident. Upon Inspection By My toyota Dealership, They Explained That My Secondary Air Injection Valves Were Stuck Open (p2440, P2442) Which Caused The Truck To Lose All Power. I Was Then Told That Since I Am No Longer Under Warranty (my Truck Is Only 5 Years Old With 48,000 Miles On It) That toyota Would Not Cover The 2,000 Dollar Cost To Have The Part Replaced. Upon Further Research, Countless Others Were Having The Same Issue. The toyota Tundra Also Had This Issue And An Extended Warranty Was Offered For Those Vehicles. Since toyota Knows This Is An Issue It Is My Belief That They Should Stand By Their Product And Fix The Defective Part Which Is A Huge Safety Issue As I Found Out. Furthermore, There Is No Reason This Emissions Part Should Ever Shut Down The Power To The Truck While Driving. Thank You For Your Time.

Mileage was 48000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN6CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in NEWTOWN SQUARE, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Sept 26, 2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tacoma, driving a 2012 Toyota Tacoma, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Engine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask