2012 Toyota Tacoma Fuel, Propulsion System problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tacoma Fuel, Propulsion System problems and reviews: 30.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota TACOMA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Fuel, Propulsion System problems and defects.

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 0

Fuel System Can Be Heard Hours After The Truck Is Parked, Few Times A Week And Sometimes Daily .and Runs 2 To 15 Minutes. Contacted Dealer And Says It Normal For Fuel Evap To Do A System Check. Ongoing Started Before 3000 Miles

Mileage was 3000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 01, 2012

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Decatur, GA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 65

While On Highway Doing 65mph, Vehicle Slowed To 50, To 40, To 30, To 20 By Itself. Pulled Over, Placed Back Into Gear, Vehicle Only Went 40 Mph Downhill, 20 Mph Uphill. Drove To toyota Dealer Who Said This Was Third tacoma This Week With Faulty Second Air Fuel Injector. No Recall Yet, But 3 Weeks For Back Order Of Part. 43 Others Before My Part Request. Same Part On Recall For Tundra Model. Safety Was Compromised On Highway Because Of Automatic Deceleration

Mileage was 32000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN4CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in DECATUR, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Mar 04, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Arlington, TX
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 40

The Secondary Air Injection Systems Seems To Fail Quite Frequently On These 2012 tacomas With Little To No Help From toyota To Take Care Of This Issue As A Recall. These Are Known To Fail Right After Your Out Of Warranty And To Charge It’s Loyal Customers Over $1000 For A Part That Should Not Fail Or A Part That Should Be Covered Is Absurd. I Have Been A Loyal toyota Customer My Whole Life But The Issues Of The tacoma Are Making Me Rethink My Decisions As An Automotive Consumer

Mileage was 70650 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN2CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 31, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 5

Only 49,000 Miles On My $32,000 Truck And Like Many Other Owners Of 2012 tacomas I Have The Check Engine Light Come On With The Trac Off Light And Giving The Diagnostic Code Of P2442 Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve. This Is Clearly A Emissions And Manufacturing Problem With This Year And toyota Should Have To Foot The Bill Instead Of Charging Us $2,100 For A Fix A A Practically New Expensive Truck. The Air Injection Valve Is Part Of Emissions And Should Be Covered And A Tsb Or Recall Should Be Issued For This. When This Valve Goes Out Typically Every 50,000 It Renders Your Truck Useless And Puts It Into Safe Mode Not Allowing You To Go More Than 35-40 Mph. Needless To Say This Speed Just Doesn’t Work On The Highway To Travel To Work And Unless You Fork Over The $2,100 To Have It Fixed Then You Have To Find Another Way To Work. This Is Such A Scam On toyotas Part And I Am Outraged That After Purchasing Over 4 toyota Vehicles From Them They Don’t Stand By Their Product To Fix The Problem.

Mileage was 49100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4ENXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JACKSONVILLE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

June 13, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Columbia, MO
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 30

I Took My 2012 tacoma Into Service Today With A Trac Off And Check Engine Light On. I Was Told That The Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Needed Replaced At The Tune Of $1300. I See That Many Others Have Had This Issue And With 37k Miles, I Find It Unreal That This Isn’t Covered Under The Powertrain Warranty.

Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in COLUMBIA, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

June 28, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Arlington, TN
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 25

My 2012 toyota tacoma Prerunner 2wd Has 54,640 Miles. I Just Got A Check Engine Light And “trac Off” Light Yesterday. My Truck Would Accelerate To Just 25 Mph When Merging Onto The Interstate And Top Speed Was Around 50 Mph. This Is A Serious Safety Issue And toyota Will Not Cover This Known Problem Under The Standard 3 Year 36,000 Mile Warranty. Autozone Ran The Diagnostic Scan And Came Up With Trouble Codes P2440 And P2442. These Are Tied To The Secondary Air Injection System And Switching Valves. The toyota Dealership Said This Would Cost Me Close To $2000 To Repair. I Paid $30,000 For This Vehicle Brand New Just 4 Years Ago. This Needs To Become A Class Action Lawsuit So That A Safety Recall Is Issued For toyota To Repair This Known Defect For Free.

Mileage was 54640 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN8CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

July 16, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Shueyville, IA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 40

My 2012 tacoma With 45,000 Miles Got A Check Engine Light And “trac Off” Light When I Started It To Go Home. I Was Merging Onto The Interstate And Unable To Go Above 40 Mph. This Was Obviously Not Safe So I Exited And Took It To A Dealer. They Cited Trouble Codes P2440 And P2442 And Said They Needed To Replace Secondary Air Injection Valve (pn 25710-31022) For A Total Cost Of $940! According To Forums And The Nhtsa.gov Site, This Is A Very Common Complaint With This Year And Model. I Just Bought This Last July And I Never Expected To Have To Replace Parts Anytime Soon.

Mileage was 45100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFMU4FNXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SHUEYVILLE, IA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

July 19, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Houston, TX
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 35

The Air Injection Pump Went Out And Had To Be Replaced, And There Is Only 18,200 Miles On The Vehicle. The Check Engine Light Came On While Driving, And I Was Able To Drive The Vehicle To The Dealership Before “safe Mode” Kicked In. toyota Was Able To Replace The Defective Part. I Understand From Reading On The Internet That This Is Turning Out To Be A Common Problem For This Vehicle, And Wish To Add My Experience To The List.

Mileage was 18200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GNXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Sept 13, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Baytown, TX
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 70

Secondary Air Injection System: Started The Vehicle And Check Engine Light Came On. Obd Read P2440/p2442. While Driving Uphill On A Very Busy Highway, The Vehicle Loss Power And Would Not Go Faster Than 20mph And The Rpm’s Rammed Up. After Some Some Research Found Out This Is A Common Problem With The tacoma In Which toyota Was Aware Of.

Mileage was 89000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN8CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BAYTOWN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Oct 30, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 40

Driving On The Street To Work One Morning, The Trac Off And Check Engine Lights Both Suddenly Appeared. I Then Noticed That My Truck Was Not Able To Accelerate Past ~40 Mph. Going Uphill, My Truck Was Limited To Only ~20 Mph. My Truck Went Into This “safe Mode.” I Connected An Obd Device And The Came Up With The Following Two Codes: P2440 And P2442. The Codes Refer To “secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Stuck Open” For Banks 1 And 2, Respectively. I Did Some Further Research On The Codes, And It Turns Out This Is A Common Issue On 2012 tacomas. Apparently, The Valve For The Secondary Air Injection System Is Stuck Open Due To Moisture And/or Carb Build Up. I Believe This Is A Design/engineering Issue. Part Replacement Costs ~$480 For Each Valve Assembly. Labor Can Range Anywhere Between $200-$500. If This Is A Known Issue That Is Common To A Lot Of 2012 tacomas, Then I Believe toyota Should Be Proactive Such As Releasing An Official Recall Or Even Implement Some Type Of Reimbursement. Note That My Truck Has ~80,000 Miles On It. As An Owner, I Shouldn’t Suffer From An Engineering Design Flaw And I Shouldn’t Be Financially Responsible To Repair/fix The Issue. Any Assistance Would Be Helpful. Thank You And Happy Holidays! *tr

Mileage was 80000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4ENXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Dec 20, 2016

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Everett, WA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 30

Secondary Air Injection System Truck Would Not Accelerate And Lost Power. I’ve Noticed It Has Done This Since New. I Now Have 37,000 Miles On It And Have Received Messages Check Engine Light And Trac Off Messages. This Is Very Dangerous As You Have No Engine Power When Entering Into Traffic. The Truck Will Not Go Over 35 Miles An Hour And Takes For Ever To Gain Speed.

Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN5CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in EVERETT, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Jan 05, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Everett, WA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 15

Vehicle Stumbled And Engine Almost Died While Making A Turn In Front Of Incoming Traffic With My One Year Old Daughter In The Truck. Mil On With Code P2442 Reported, Secondary Air Injection Malfunction. This 2012 tacoma Is toyota Certified With 34,216 Miles, Spoke With Multiple toyota Representatives And All Have Stated This Is Not A Warrantied Item. This Malfunction Is Common On Other toyota Trucks Which Have Extended Warranties On The Same Emission Component In Question. This Problem Is Both A Safety Hazard And An Emissions Hazard. It Needs To Be Addressed.

Mileage was 34216 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in EVERETT, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Jan 08, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 35

Replacement Air Injection Valves And Pumps For Secondary Emissions Control System. toyota Wants 2200 For An Issue They Are Aware Of And Have Already Released Service Bulletins For On The Tundra And Sequoias. Engine Codes P2442 And P2446. When The Codes Are Thrown The Car Is Put Into Limp Mode And Decelerates To 35 Mph, Even Though This Is A Non-essential Emissions System.

Mileage was 62000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN7CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Feb 02, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kingston, MA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 70

Secondary Air Injection System Failure. If You Look In Line It Is An Epidemic With 2012 Around 50,000 Miles. 2000 $ Repair. They Don’t Cover. Lost Power At 75 On The Highway And Almost Got Killed.

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN6CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KINGSTON, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

Feb 18, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Seattle, WA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 65

Vehicle Lost Power While On The Highway, Immediately Reduced Speed To Around 40 Mph. The “trac Off” Indicator Light Came On And The Truck Went Into “limp Mode”, So I Was Able To Take The Next Exit And I Took It To The Auto Part Store For A Code Reader. P2440/ P2442 Came Up In Error, Secondary Air Injection System Stuck Open. This Was An 800$ Part From The Dealership And I Did The Work.. toyota tacoma 4×4 2012 Sr5 V6 4.0l 59,965 Miles

Mileage was 59950 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SEATTLE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Feb 15, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Gorham, ME
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 45

Check Engine And Trac Off Indicator Lights Came In, And Vehicle Went Into Fail Code Mode Also Known As”limp Mode” While Driving Down A Town Road. Vehicle Was Unable To Accelerate Above 40 Mph. Managed To Get Vehicle To Dealership, Was Told The Problem Was A “secondary Air Pump And Valve”. Vehicle Has 56,700 Miles On It. toyota Was Contacted And A Complaint Was Filed, But They Would Not Acknowledge A Fault In The Part In This Model Vehicle. toyota Tundras Have Had The Same Issue And toyota Provided A Fix For This Model. When Asked If The Replacement Part Would Fail In 50,000 Miles I Was Told That The New Part Was “updated” So It Shouldn’t Have The Same Issue. Why Did toyota Allegedly Update The Replacement Part If There Was No Faults In The Original Part?

Mileage was 56670 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in GORHAM, ME. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Feb 24, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Scarborough, ME
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 20

2012 toyota tacoma W 47k Miles 4 Yrs Old. Bought Brand New From toyota. I Was Driving The Vehicle To Work And Check Engine Light And Trac Off Both Came On. Attempted To Accelerate Up A Hill Over A Bridge And Could Not Go Beyond 20 Mph With Accelerator All The Way Down!. Vehicles Speeding Up On Me, Pulled Off Into Emergency Lane. Vehicle Towed And Brought To Dealership Where They Told Me A ‘bank 1 Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve’ Needs To Be Replaced At About $900. Not Covered Under Warranty Or A Recall. Research On Internet Shows That This Is A Common And Dangerous Problem For This Year Make And Model. toyota Cc Called With Report Filed. Something Needs To Be Done Before There Is A Serious Injury Or Mortality Due To The Vehicle Not Being Able To Accelerate In A Vulnerable Position.

Mileage was 47000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4ENCM0. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SCARBOROUGH, ME. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Mar 03, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
New Athens, IL
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 10

Secondary Air Valve Sticks Causing Loss Of Power,,emission System While Driving And Stays On.

Mileage was 58900 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN4CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in NEW ATHENS, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Apr 10, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Boise, ID
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 65

Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Open Causing Truck To Enter “limp-mode” While Commuting On Congested Freeway System. This Presented A Safety Hazard To Myself And My Family Trying To Merge Off The Freeway Through Traffic Without Any Power.

Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN1CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BOISE, ID. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 20, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Arlington, TX
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 40

The Trac Off And Check Engine Lights Came On Yesterday And I Was Unable To Accelerate Over 40mph. I Ran A Diagnotics Test On It And It Came Back P2440 And P2442 Which Is The Secondary Air Injection System Failure. One Of The Valves Is Stuck Open.

Mileage was 95000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 01, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Pleasanton, CA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 0

Emissions Air Pump Valve Went Out With 60,200 Miles On The Truck. The Truck Is Bone Stock And Has Been Very Well Maintained. After Research Its Seems That Numerous People Are Having Issues With This Same Exact Part On The 2012 tacomas. toyota Extended A Recall On The Tundra’s Because Of This Part, But Not The tacomas. The Truck Is Currently In Limp Mode And Will Not Go Past 40mph, And The Dealer Wants $1,075 To Fix It. This Occurred On My Way To Work This Morning While Getting On The Freeway, And Was Quite Scary To Not Be Able To Go Over 40mph On A Bay Area Freeway With Cars Honking And Flying Past Me.

Mileage was 60200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN1CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in PLEASANTON, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 03, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Santee, CA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 0

2012 tacoma With 24k Miles. Check Engine Light And Trc Light Came On With Truck In Limp Mode When I Started It To Go To Work. Codes P0412 P2433 P2438 P2442. toyota Wont Cover This And Its A Defect In Many Many 2012 tacomas.

Mileage was 24000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SANTEE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 08, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Toa Baja, PR
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed

Check Engine Light On, Trac Off Light On, Engine Power Weak

Mileage was 79100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in TOA BAJA, PR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 02, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
San Diego, CA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 70

While Driving On The Freeway My Vehicle Lost Partial Power To The Engine. I Took It To The Service Center And They Ran A Diagnostic Saying That I Have A “failed Engine Air System Pump And Valve.” It Was Very Dangerous Loosing Control Of The Speed Of The Vehicle On The Freeway.

Mileage was 130300 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SAN DIEGO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

May 16, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kansas City, MO
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 0

Failure Of The Secondary Air Injection Pump And Valve Emission System Prompted Engine To Run In A Reduced Power Mode, And This Occurred On A On A Relatively New Vehicle With Below Average Mileage. While Setting May Protect Engine, This Created An Unsafe Driving Environment For Vehicle Within Fast Moving Traffic. My Compliant Is Not Related To The Reduced Driving Mode That May Have Protected The Engine, But Rather The Poor Design Of The Air-pump/valve System That Prematurely Failed Causing The Reduced Power Mode.

Mileage was 47800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KANSAS CITY, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 27, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 25

Secondary Air Injection Error Codes P2440, P2441,p2442. Loss Of Power Due To Air Injector Stuck. Vehicle Will Not Accelerate Beyond 20-30 Mph. This Is An Emmsisions Requirement But Warranties On tacomas Will Not Cover Beyond 3yrs/35k Miles. Tundras Have Tundras Have Same Known Issues And toyota Incrwased Warranty To 10 Yrs/150k Miles. Sudden Loss Of Power Is Also A Safety Issue While Driving On Highways. Owners Are Paying Thousands In Repairs For Something That Should Be Covered Under Warranty.

Mileage was 69000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

July 12, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Benicia, CA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 50

Check Engine Light On, Trac Off Light On, Engine Power Weak Check Engine Code- P2441. This Has Been A Common Issue With toyota Suvs, And Trucks! Car Is Put Into Limp Mode. Extended Warranty On Tundra With Same Part Problem. Not tacoma. Shameful And Dangerous For tacoma Owners.

Mileage was 61000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN8CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BENICIA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

July 27, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Redmond, WA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 40

Secondary Air Pump Failed At 47,000 Miles, Shortly After Warranty Expired. It Failed As I Was Pulling Out Onto A Major Fast-moving Highway And Promptly Went Into “limp” Mode, Limiting Acceleration. It Took Over A Half Mile To Get The Vehicle To 40 Mph. Meanwhile, Vehicles Behind Me Were Braking Abruptly To Avoid Colliding With Me. As I Understand It The Secondary Air Pump Is Part Of The Emission Control System And I Don’t Believe That This Should Effect The Performance Of The Engine In This Manner. This Seems More Like A Software Induced Failure, Which, In This Case, Caused A Potentially Dangerous Situation. After Some Back And Forth toyota Agreed To Refund Me 1/2 Of The $2500 That I Was Charged For The Repair. Upon Searching The Internet, I Found Dozens Of Instances Of This Failure On 2012 tacoma‘s With Similar Mileage.

Mileage was 46925 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in REDMOND, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

July 18, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Savannah, GA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 55

Like Many Others, My 2012 tacoma Suddenly Lost Power On The Hiway. Refused To Go Above 40 Or So Mph. Other Cars Had To Slam On Brakes To Avoid Me. Took It To The Dealer And They Wanted Nearly $2000.00 To Replace The Same Parts That Have Been Identified In The Tundras As Being Defective. Secondary Air Injection Stuck Open. The Codes Are P2440 And P2442. This Is A Safety Hazard As The Vehicle Suddenly Loses Power. toyota Issued A Tsb And Extended The Warranty To 150k For The Tundra But Not The tacoma. Same Parts! My tacoma Was In Motion When Suddenly Lost Power. This Is A Safety Issue. Check Out Carcomplaints.com

Mileage was 68000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SAVANNAH, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

May 03, 2017

Fuel, Propulsion System Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Harleysville, PA
Model Tacoma
System Fuel, Propulsion System
Speed 50

Error Code P2442 Secondary Air Injection Valve Stuck Open. Truck Immediately Goes Into “limp’ Mode And Will Not Accelerate Over 20mph. Extremely Unsafe To Have The Vehicle Decelerate On A Highway For A Known Issue That Has Prompted Warranty Extensions On toyota Tundra’s.

Mileage was 97300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in HARLEYSVILLE, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Sept 24, 2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tacoma, driving a 2012 Toyota Tacoma, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Fuel, Propulsion System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask