2012 Toyota Tacoma Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tacoma Power Train problems and reviews: 17.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota TACOMA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 0

My 2012 tacoma Is Not Shifting Properly. It Is Shifting Very Hard And A Bit Erratic When Driving, And When I Am Completely Stopped At A Light, The Truck Will Sometimes Violently Surge Forward Making It Feel Like Another Vehicle Has Hit Me From Behind. It Does Not Happen All The Time, But It Seems To Happen More When It Is Cold. I Took It To The Dealership Only To Be Told They Could Not Replicate It, And This Is Normal For A toyota. The Dealership Also Said That toyota Is Aware Of This, All toyotas Do It (even The Brand New Ones), And Nothing Can Be Done. My Truck Is Still Covered By The toyota 5 Year Warranty And The Limited Lifetime Warranty Offered From The Dealer When I Purchased It. I Feel Like They Are Not Honoring Their Warranty. If This Is True And toyota Is Not Correcting These Issues, Guess I Won’t Be Buying That 2015 4-runner I Really Want! *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMJU4GN6CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JACKSONVILLE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:RWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 01, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 40

At Aproximate 40 Mph And At A Constant Speed The Vehicle Starts To Shutter Or Shake, Feels Like It Wants To Down Shift Or Up Shift Maybe Its Confused. Dealer Could Not Duplicate 2 Times

Mileage was 50000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Aug 20, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 0

Vehicle Lunges When You Come To Complete Stop, Better Hold The Brake With Some Force Any Time Stopped, toyota Service Says It Happens All The Time, Its Normal !!

Mileage was 500 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 01, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Olathe, KS
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 0

This Doesn’t Happen All The Time But Occasionally When The Truck Comes To A Stop And The Brake Pressed The Vehicle Will Accelerate With A Surge And Feel Like Someone Has Bumped You From Behind But There Will Be No One Behind You. I Have Taken The Vehicle To The Dealer And They Made Some Adjustments But I Continue To Experience The Problem. This Has Happened Since I Bought The Truck. I Purchased The Truck With 1200 Miles.

Mileage was 1400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN0DM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in OLATHE, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Oct 30, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Simi Valley, CA
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 30

As I’ve Read From Numerous Other 2012 tacoma Owners On tacomaworld.com, My Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Has Failed At 65k Miles. This Seems To Be A Recurring Issue With All 2012 Similar tacoma Models And Should Absolutely Be Recalled And Replaced For Free! Until Fixed, My Truck Is Undrivable, Meaning The Cel Light Is On And The Truck Won’t Go Faster Than 30 Mph.

Mileage was 65000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFTU4GN2CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SIMI VALLEY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

June 03, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Shueyville, IA
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 40

My 2012 tacoma With 45,000 Miles Got A Check Engine Light And “trac Off” Light When I Started It To Go Home. I Was Merging Onto The Interstate And Unable To Go Above 40 Mph. This Was Obviously Not Safe So I Exited And Took It To A Dealer. They Cited Trouble Codes P2440 And P2442 And Said They Needed To Replace Secondary Air Injection Valve (pn 25710-31022) For A Total Cost Of $940! According To Forums And The Nhtsa.gov Site, This Is A Very Common Complaint With This Year And Model. I Just Bought This Last July And I Never Expected To Have To Replace Parts Anytime Soon.

Mileage was 45100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFMU4FNXCX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SHUEYVILLE, IA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

July 19, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kansas City, MO
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 40

Secondary Air Injection Switching Valve Failure Stuck In Open Position Causing Limp Mode In The Truck. Truck Is Not Able To Get To Speed Above 40 Mph. This Happened As I Was Pulling Out Of My Neighborhood Onto A State Route With Speed Limit Of 55 Mph And Cars Going Way Faster Than That. This Could Pose A Danger If Situations Where Speed It Required To Get Out Of The Way Of Another Car. Truck Only Has 57k Miles On It. This Is A Supplemental Emissions System And Should Not Cause The Truck To Be Useless If Fail.

Mileage was 57000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN7CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KANSAS CITY, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Sept 06, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Catlettsburg, KY
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 20

tacoma Went In “limp Mode” Engine Light And Trac Off Light Illuminated; Cause The Car To Be Extremely Under power. Vehicle Extremely Under power Causing To Be Dangerous In Traffic. Code P2442 Secondary Injection System Failure; Common To Other toyota Vehicles Including Tundra’s. toyota Acted Resumable With Tundra’s With Extending Warranty Repairing But At This Time Refuses To Repair Known Failures In tacoma‘s.

Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN7CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CATLETTSBURG, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 12, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Sumter, SC
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 0

We Just Paid toyota A Little Over $2,000 To Replace The Secondary Air Injection System. The Switching Valve Was Stuck Closed According To toyota. This Is A 4 Year Old Truck. It Is Unreal To Spend This Kind Of Money This Early For This. The Tundra Has Recalls For This Same Issue.

Mileage was 105000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN8CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SUMTER, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 21, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Terre Haute, IN
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 30

Check Engine Light Came On, Trac Off Light Is On. My Truck Has No power And Is Unsafe To Drive. The Dtc Is P2442. Secondary Air Injection System Switch Valve Stuck Open Bank 2. toyota Knows They Have A Emissions Issue. My Vehicle Is At The Dealership Now.

Mileage was 73000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN7CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in TERRE HAUTE, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Nov 29, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kill Devil Hills, NC
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 20

2012 tacoma With 37,00 Miles: While Leaving A Parking Lot And Trying To Accelerate On To A Busy Highway, (60mph Speeds), Truck Would Not Accelerate And “check Engine” And “trac Off” Lights Illuminated. Vehicle Went Into “limp Mode” And Would Not Go Faster Than 35 Mph. I Had To Quickly Pull Off The Road As To Not Cause An Accident. If This Had This Occurred While Traveling At Normal Highway Speed (60 Mph+), Would Definitely Be In A Wreck Due To The Sudden Downshift And Deceleration. I Took Vehicle To Local Auto Parts Store And Received The Code P2442: Secondary Air Injection System Switching Valve Stuck Open Bank 2. From Researching, This Is A Known Problem With 2012 tacomas, And Had Previously Been An Issue With Older Tundras, Which toyota Issued A Tsb For. toyota Refuses To Repair This Under Warranty (either powertrain Or Federal Emissions) Even Though The Failed Part Is Directly Tied To The Emissions System! The System Is Used To Pump Additional Air Into The Exhaust Manifold Upon Startup To Dilute The Over-rich Conditions That Lead To Increased Pollution. (how Is That Not An Emissions Related Part?) The Failure Or Warping Of The One-way Check Valve Causes Hot Exhaust Gases To Backflow Into The Solenoid, And Melting The Gaskets. This Ends Up Blocking The Sealing Plate And Causing It To Remain In The Open Position. The Danger Is That The Hot Exhaust Is Then Fed Into A Plastic Air Pump Causing It To Potentially Melt Or Catch Fire! The Fact That This Forces The Vehicle Into “limp Mode” Is Also A Huge Safety Concern As It Will Not Allow The Vehicle To Travel Above 35 Mph And Could Lead To Serious Accidents If Traveling At High Speed On The Interstate Or Highway Due To The Unexpected, Sudden Deceleration. Failed Assembly Is toyota Part Number : 25710-31020. This Part Number Has Been Superseded By P/n: 25710-31022 And toyota Charges Between $1500-$3200 To Replace. *tr

Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN6CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 drive type:4WD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Dec 21, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Santa Rosa, CA
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 25

Code P2440 And P2442. Air Injection System Valves Are Stuck Open (related To Emissions Control Unit) Which Causes The Vehicle To Go Into ‘limp’ Mode Abrupbtly. This Renders The Vehicle Undriveable, And Can Occur In The Midst Of Driving Causing Serious Danger To The Driver And Fellow Drivers On The Road. toyota Is Unwilling To Cover Under Any powertrain Or Emissions Warranty. This Issue Is Pervasive Among 2012 tacoma Owners And toyota Redesigned The System As Early As 2013 Which Implicates Their Knowledge Of Such A Defect.

Mileage was 75000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FNOCM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SANTA ROSA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Feb 25, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Charlotte, NC
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 10

Cel Code P2442,p2445 Dealership Says The Air Switching Valve Needs To Be Replaced. I Have 75k Miles On Truck. Dealer Is Charging Me 1200$

Mileage was 75000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFJU4GN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in CHARLOTTE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Mar 09, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Littleton, CO
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 40

The Secondary Air Intake System Goes Out Fairly Quickly. My Vehicle Is At 72,500 Miles. This Causes The Car To Go Into “limp” Mode Which Makes The Car Go A Maximum Of 40mph. This Can Be Very Dangerous If It Were To Kick In While Entering The Highway. It Is An Emissions Item, But toyota Is Not Covering It Under The Emissions Warranty.

Mileage was 72500 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in LITTLETON, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

May 26, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Freehold, NJ
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 55

I Have 27,000 Miles On My Truck And The Rear Differential Is Defective. I Am Afraid It Will Lock Up At High Speeds, 55 Mph + And Cause An Accident!! toyota Won’t Fix It

Mileage was 27800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFNX4CN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in FREEHOLD, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

June 28, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Benicia, CA
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 50

Check Engine Light On, Trac Off Light On, Engine power Weak Check Engine Code- P2441. This Has Been A Common Issue With toyota Suvs, And Trucks! Car Is Put Into Limp Mode. Extended Warranty On Tundra With Same Part Problem. Not tacoma. Shameful And Dangerous For tacoma Owners.

Mileage was 61000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN8CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BENICIA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

July 27, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Bennettsville, SC
Model Tacoma
System Power Train
Speed 60

While Commuting To Work The Engine Light And Traction Control Light Came On, Causing My Truck To Slow Down, Very Slow. It Would Not Let Me Accelerate And Disabled My Progress To Around 2000 Rpms. This Could Have Been A Very Serious Or A Dangerous Situation Especially If I Was Towing A Load Or In A Major Traffic Situation. Codes – 2440 And 2442 Were The Causes Of This Scary Account.

Mileage was 105000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN2CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in BENNETTSVILLE, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

July 26, 2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tacoma, driving a 2012 Toyota Tacoma, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Power Train problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask