2012 Toyota Tacoma Service Brakes problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tacoma Service Brakes problems and reviews: 8.

Are you driving a 2012 Toyota TACOMA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Oceana, WV
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 25

Brake Failure Thinking Due To Wear And Tear– Brakes serviced — New Brake Pads On Front Back Pads Still Good — Brake Cylinder Had To Be Replaced On Front Passenger Side — Brakes Bled Off Still No Brakes Only Have Brakes If Pump Them Continuously — At The Moment Still In Shop Trying To Find A Master Cylinder To Replace The One In It To See If That Will Fix The Problem

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 55000 miles. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in OCEANA, WV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

May 29, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Kansas, OK
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 20

On September 20, 2015, The Abs And Traction Control Lights Came On And Didn’t Go Off. Upon Investigation, I Discovered That There Was In Fact A Recall On The 2012 toyota tacoma; However, It Did Not Include My Vin Number. I Contacted Both Our Local Dealership And toyota Directly And Was Told That There Were Not Any Plans At This Time To Expand The Recall To Include My Vehicle. I Can Not Tell If These Components Are Working Or Not As I Have Not Driven In Ice, Snow, Etc And Had A Need For Them To Engage. But At The Same Time, I Don’t Want To Wait Until A Time In Which I Do Need Them And They Be Inoperable.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 59000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in KANSAS, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 20, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Reno, NV
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 10

Brakes On Vehicle Lock-up And Are Overly Sensitive. On Many Occasions When Driving On Wet Pavement At Slows Speeds The Abs Engaged And Locked The Brakes With Only Very Light Pressure On The Brake Pedal. On One Occasion When Driving At 10-15 Mph In A Parking Lot In Snow, A Light Touch To The Brake Locked Up The Brakes Causing The Vehicle To Become Unstable And Crash. I Have Had Four Other toyota Trucks, Three Of Them tacomas And None Of Them Had This Braking Issue. Barely Pressing The Brakes Shouldn’t Cause Them To Lock Up Which Causes The Vehicle To Become Very Unstable. Luckily It Does It More Often At Low Speeds. It’s A Major Safety Concern As The Vehicle Becomes Undrivable.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 82000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUU4EN1CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in RENO, NV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 24, 2015

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 253

Breaking Hard, Especially On Wet Roads, The Front Wheels Lock Up Causing Lack Of Steering. Noticed This After Purchasing The Vehicle New In 2012. Has Happened Multiple Times With Normal Braking And Emergency Stopping.

Mileage was 23875 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMKU4HN0CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 253 mph.

Jan 28, 2016

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Austin, TX
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

Abs Goes Off Unexpectedly In Low Speeds/high Speeds…dry/wet Conditions…usually On Winding Roads With Grade Fluctuations Causing Vehicle To Slide Into Oncoming Traffic. This Has Been Going On Since My Purchase In 2012. Thankfully I Have Not Been In An Accident Due To This But Lots Of Close Calls. toyota Refuses To Resolve This Issue, And Denys That It Happens.

Mileage was 48000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFKU4HN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in AUSTIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Mar 15, 2016

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
South Ogden, UT
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 45

Shortly After Buying My tacoma New I Noticed That My Anti-lock Brakes Were Sensitive And Would Lock Up Without Warning And The Stopping Distance Can Vary Every Time I Apply The Brakes. I Brought This Up To My Dealer’s service Department During Routine Oil Changes And Was Told That This Is Normal. The Varied Stopping Distance Causes Problems Since The Truck Could Suddenly Stop Shorter Than Normal And Catch Traffic Behind Me Off Guard And Cause An Accident. Other Times It Feels Like The Brakes Aren’t Working Even Though I Am Pressing Firmly And Wondering If I’m Going To Stop In Time To Avoid Hitting A Car In Front Of Me. On Emergency Quick Stops My Brakes Will Lock Up And With The Varied Stopping Distances I’m Surprised I Haven’t Been In A Position Where The Stopping Distance In An Emergency Was More Than Normal Causing Me To Crash. I Would Say That My Only Complaint So Far On This Truck Is The Brakes And Much Better Than The Truck That I Traded In Because Of Several Problems With It’s Electrical, Braking (it’s Brakes Were Poor But At Least You Could Stop When You Wanted), Build Quality, And Other Issues. This Clearly Isn’t Normal And If The Dealer Says It Is, How Can Someone Get It Fixed Without Trading It In. This Is The Only Issue I Have With This Truck But It’s Big Enough To Trade It In. I Spent $30k For This Truck And Would Rather Keep It But It Has Gotten To The Point That I Don’t Feel Safe Driving It.

Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMLU4EN2CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in SOUTH OGDEN, UT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Oct 30, 2012

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Jenkinsburg, GA
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 45

Driving At High Way Speed; The Abs Light, Parking Brake Light, Traction Light, Lost Power To Windows, A/c, Radio, Power Steering, Engine Was Running Rough, Then The Check Engine Light Came On. Could Be A Safety Issue Of Control Of Vehicle For Drivers Not Paying Attention. toyota Dealer Said The Root Cause Was A Bad Cell In Battery That Caused The Ign#2 Fuse To Be Blown. These Batteries Have Known Issues To Be Bad From The Factory. Reported Earlier About 30000 Miles The Factory Battery Would Not Start Vehicle And Dealer Said They Replaced Because Of A Bad Cell. I Own A 2008 toyota tacoma Also , Same Model And Make As Being Reported And That Battery Has Been Replaced 2 Times For Same Reason.

Mileage was 85000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFLU4EN9CX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in JENKINSBURG, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

July 10, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2012
Toyota
Location
Truckee, CA
Model Tacoma
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

The Abs Actuates Prematurely During Cornering On Freeway On/off Ramps And In Corners Resulting In Suspension Dive, An Under Steer Condition, And Loss Of Vehicle Control. This Occurs When The Vehicle Is In Motion At Posted Speed Limits On Dry Pavement. I Have Contacted toyota/been To The Dealership Several Times About This Issue With No Resolution. They Claim That The Leveling Kit And At Tires Are To Blame. I Related That I Had This Issue With The Truck When It Was Brand New With No Modifications.

Mileage was 77000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMMU4FN9CM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2012 problem was reported in TRUCKEE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Aug 30, 2017

2012 Toyota Tacoma problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tacoma, driving a 2012 Toyota Tacoma, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask