2013 Toyota Camry Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Camry Engine problems and reviews: 8.

Are you driving a 2013 Toyota CAMRY, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Chickasha, OK
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 10

When Accelerating From A Stop The Vehicle Will Sometimes Move About 10 Feet And Then Hesitate For About 1 To 2 Seconds. It Will Then Accelerate Normally. One Time The Vehicle Accelerated To About 20 Mph And Then The Engine Rpm Returned To Idle. The Accelerator Was Pushed To The Floor And The Rpm Remained At Idle. The Accelerator Was Released And Pushed Down Again. The Vehicle Accelerated Normally. This Happened Only One Time. The Intermittent Hesitation Is Very Dangerous When Trying To Cross A Busy Intersection When The Cross Traffic Is Uncontrolled. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealership For The Problem. The Technician Could Not Duplicate The Condition. The U760e Torque Converter Shudder Recall Upgrade Was Performed. This Did Not Fix The Problem. The Service Advisor Said That The Technician Said That Some Transmission Hesitation Was Normal. The Service Advisor Also Said There Had Been Other Complaints About This Condition. There Are Also Complaints On The Online Automobile Forums. This Condition Is Dangerous And Not Normal. …..updated 03-03-15 *bf The Consumer Stated The Problem Was Not Fixed. Within The Last Week, He Removed His Foot From The Accelerator To Slow Down From 65 Mph To 40 Mph. When He Tried To Accelerate To Merge Into The Off Ramp Of Traffic, He Had To Push The Accelerator To The Floor. The Vehicle Did Not Accelerate. The Consumer Released The Accelerator, Pushed Down Again And Everything Went Back To Normal. The Consumer Stated The Problem Is Still Not Fixed. Updated 04/02/15

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK7DR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in CHICKASHA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Sept 01, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Riverside, CA
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 45

When Accelerating From A Stop The Vehicle Will Sometimes Move About 10 Feet And Then Hesitate For About 1 To 2 Seconds. It Will Then Accelerate Normally. One Time The Vehicle Accelerated To About 20 Mph And Then The Engine Rpm Returned To Idle. The Accelerator Was Pushed To The Floor And The Rpm Remained At Idle. The Accelerator Was Released And Pushed Down Again. The Vehicle Accelerated Normally. This Happened Only One Time. The Intermittent Hesitation Is Very Dangerous When Trying To Cross A Busy Intersection When The Cross Traffic Is Uncontrolled. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealership For The Problem. The Technician Could Not Duplicate The Condition. The U760e Torque Converter Shudder Recall Upgrade Was Performed. This Did Not Fix The Problem. The Service Advisor Said That The Technician Said That Some Transmission Hesitation Was Normal. The Service Advisor Also Said There Had Been Other Complaints About This Condition. There Are Also Complaints On The Online Automobile Forums. This Condition Is Dangerous And Not Normal. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 70000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FKXDU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in RIVERSIDE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Nov 03, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Dexter, MI
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 0

On A Cold Start, The Engine Sounds Rough For About A Second Or Two. Grinding Type Noise. Completely Different From The Normal Warm-engine Start-up Sounds. Also, The Engine Does Not Sound Right For About The First Mile Or So After A Cold Start, Sort Of A Whining Noise From The Front Right Side Of The Engine Compartment. Clearly Audible When Lightly Revving Between 1500-2000 Rpms. Although Tsb-004-13-a Has Not Yet Been Expanded To Include The 2013 camry, It Sounds A Lot Like That Exact Issue May Be Affecting The 2013s. This 2013 Was Built In The Same Plant As The 2010-12 camrys That Are Part Of The Tsb. I Have Taken It To The Dealer Twice And Was Told That ‘these Sounds Are Within The Normal Range Of Noises An Engine Can Make’. I Disagree. The Vehicle Now Has 37k Miles On It, I Am Hoping It Will Be Fixed Prior To The Expiration Of The Powertrain Warranty (60k). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in DEXTER, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Mar 10, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Santa Clara, CA
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 25

I Was Traveling Approximately 26mph Into An Intersection And My Car Started Slowing Down For No Reason. As I Entered The Intersection, I Started Pushing Down On The Accelerator To Get Out Of The Way Of The Other Ma 10/22/2015 Cars Trying To Get Through The Intersection. As I Kept Pumping On The Accelerator My Transmission Apparently Down Shifted Into A Lower Gear And The Car Took Off In A Giant Leap Forward, Almost Broad Siding The Car That Was Passing In Front Of Me. My Car Has Continually Stalled Many Times Since Then. I Reported The Problem To toyota Where I Bought The Car, They Said They Had Never Heard Of Such A Thing Before. I’m Not Sure What To Do Now?

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3508 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK2DR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in SANTA CLARA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Mar 18, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Marion, AR
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota camry. The Contact Stated That While Driving At Approximately 20 Mph, The Steering Wheel Would Shake Violently And The Vehicle Would Veer To The Side. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer, Where It Was Diagnosed That The Two Front Tires Were Defective And Needed To Be Replaced. The Tires Were Replaced. However, The Failure Recurred. In Addition, The Contact Stated That When Starting The Engine, There Was A Loud Noise Present. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 41,912. Ma 9/22

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 41912 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK3DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in MARION, AR. Vehicle was purchased on 20141224. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph. DEALER’S NAME: ROSS FORD TOYOTA . DEALER’S CITY: WYNN . DEALER’S STATE CODE: AR.

Mar 20, 2015

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Melissa, TX
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 20

The Dates Above Are Approximate As My Car Is Back At The Dealership. The Car Would Vibrate At 20, 40 And 60 Mph It Would Also Lose Power When Taking Off From A Stop. I Got The Run Around I Bought New Tires Had An Aligned Changed The Fuel Being Used. Finally They Said It Was My Tranmission. They Replaced The Tranmission And Did A Software Update. I Am Now At 100,000 And Having The Exact Same Problem. I Am Convinced This Is A Known Issue From What I See Online I Have No Idea Why toyota Hasn’t Officially Ordered A Recall! I Believe I Have A Lemon And They Should Replace My Car! My 16 Year Old Daughter Was Driving She Took Off From A Stop Sign And Was Almost Hit From The Side The Car Was Vibrating And Wouldn’t Accelerate. This Is A Very Dangerous Issue. My Car Is Currently Back At Pat Lobb toyota Waiting On Their Diagnosis Once Again!

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK7CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in MELISSA, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Aug 06, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Fresno, CA
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed 20

When Accelerating From A Stop The Vehicle Will Sometimes Move About 10 Feet And Then Hesitate For About 1 To 2 Seconds. It Will Then Accelerate Normally

Mileage was 78000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FKXDU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in FRESNO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Nov 10, 2016

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Apex, NC
Model Camry
System Engine
Speed

Unexpected Acceleration On January 30, 2017, At 7:50 Am, My Car Experienced Ua In My Office Parking Lot At 4917 Waters Edge Drive, Raleigh, Nc 27606 While Backing Into A Parking Space. My Car Increased Speed, Knocking Down A Wooden Retaining Wall And Attempting To Climb A Hill. I Then After Several Attempts Was Able To Placed The Car In Drive Only To Have It Shoot Across The Parking Lot, T-boning A Car Entering And Knocking It On The Sidewalk While I Continued Onto The Yard. I Was Finally Able To Placed Car In Drive And The Motor Continued To Rev Until After Several Attempts Was Able To Shut It Down. Of Note, None Of My Car’s Airbags Deployed. However, The Other Vehicle’s Both Side Passenger Air Bags Deployed. I Went On Line And Reported My Problem To toyota With Pictures And Police Report The Next Day. They Asked For A Written Consent To Allow Them To Get The Data Recorder. After Numerous Calls To Follow-up, On May 12 I Received A Response That When They Drove The Vehicle Everything Was Fine.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK5DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in APEX, NC. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 30, 2017

2013 Toyota Camry problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Camry, driving a 2013 Toyota Camry, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Engine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask