2013 Toyota Camry Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Camry Power Train problems and reviews: 22.

Are you driving a 2013 Toyota CAMRY, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Chickasha, OK
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 10

When Accelerating From A Stop The Vehicle Will Sometimes Move About 10 Feet And Then Hesitate For About 1 To 2 Seconds. It Will Then Accelerate Normally. One Time The Vehicle Accelerated To About 20 Mph And Then The Engine Rpm Returned To Idle. The Accelerator Was Pushed To The Floor And The Rpm Remained At Idle. The Accelerator Was Released And Pushed Down Again. The Vehicle Accelerated Normally. This Happened Only One Time. The Intermittent Hesitation Is Very Dangerous When Trying To Cross A Busy Intersection When The Cross Traffic Is Uncontrolled. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealership For The Problem. The Technician Could Not Duplicate The Condition. The U760e Torque Converter Shudder Recall Upgrade Was Performed. This Did Not Fix The Problem. The Service Advisor Said That The Technician Said That Some Transmission Hesitation Was Normal. The Service Advisor Also Said There Had Been Other Complaints About This Condition. There Are Also Complaints On The Online Automobile Forums. This Condition Is Dangerous And Not Normal. …..updated 03-03-15 *bf The Consumer Stated The Problem Was Not Fixed. Within The Last Week, He Removed His Foot From The Accelerator To Slow Down From 65 Mph To 40 Mph. When He Tried To Accelerate To Merge Into The Off Ramp Of Traffic, He Had To Push The Accelerator To The Floor. The Vehicle Did Not Accelerate. The Consumer Released The Accelerator, Pushed Down Again And Everything Went Back To Normal. The Consumer Stated The Problem Is Still Not Fixed. Updated 04/02/15

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 17000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK7DR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in CHICKASHA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 drive type:FWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Sept 01, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Riverside, CA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 45

When Accelerating From A Stop The Vehicle Will Sometimes Move About 10 Feet And Then Hesitate For About 1 To 2 Seconds. It Will Then Accelerate Normally. One Time The Vehicle Accelerated To About 20 Mph And Then The Engine Rpm Returned To Idle. The Accelerator Was Pushed To The Floor And The Rpm Remained At Idle. The Accelerator Was Released And Pushed Down Again. The Vehicle Accelerated Normally. This Happened Only One Time. The Intermittent Hesitation Is Very Dangerous When Trying To Cross A Busy Intersection When The Cross Traffic Is Uncontrolled. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealership For The Problem. The Technician Could Not Duplicate The Condition. The U760e Torque Converter Shudder Recall Upgrade Was Performed. This Did Not Fix The Problem. The Service Advisor Said That The Technician Said That Some Transmission Hesitation Was Normal. The Service Advisor Also Said There Had Been Other Complaints About This Condition. There Are Also Complaints On The Online Automobile Forums. This Condition Is Dangerous And Not Normal. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 70000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FKXDU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in RIVERSIDE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Nov 03, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Dexter, MI
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 0

On A Cold Start, The Engine Sounds Rough For About A Second Or Two. Grinding Type Noise. Completely Different From The Normal Warm-engine Start-up Sounds. Also, The Engine Does Not Sound Right For About The First Mile Or So After A Cold Start, Sort Of A Whining Noise From The Front Right Side Of The Engine Compartment. Clearly Audible When Lightly Revving Between 1500-2000 Rpms. Although Tsb-004-13-a Has Not Yet Been Expanded To Include The 2013 camry, It Sounds A Lot Like That Exact Issue May Be Affecting The 2013s. This 2013 Was Built In The Same Plant As The 2010-12 camrys That Are Part Of The Tsb. I Have Taken It To The Dealer Twice And Was Told That ‘these Sounds Are Within The Normal Range Of Noises An Engine Can Make’. I Disagree. The Vehicle Now Has 37k Miles On It, I Am Hoping It Will Be Fixed Prior To The Expiration Of The powertrain Warranty (60k). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in DEXTER, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Mar 10, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
North Hollywood, CA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 25

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota camry. While Driving 25 Mph, The Vehicle Jerked. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer. The Technician Diagnosed That The Modem Needed To Be Updated. The Vehicle Was Repaired; However, The Failure Recurred. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was Unknown.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK5DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Jan 01, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 5

Hesitation Occurs When Accelerating Across An Intersection Or Pulling Into Traffic, Usually From A Stopped Position. Car Initially Starts Then Hesitates & Feels Like It Will Shut Off. To Get Across The Intersection You Need To “floor It” Which Makes The Engine “roar” But Little Action For All The Noise. This Has Happened Numerous Times In 2 Yrs (estimated Date & Mileage For 1st Occurrence). Sometimes There Are Long Stretches Between Occurrences. It Is Dangerous & I Lack Confidence At Times To Pull Out. The Technician Didn’t Experience The Problem When Mentioned On 2 Stops At The Deal For An Oil Change. Torque Converter Software Update Made No Difference. My Previous camry Never Had This Problem.

Mileage was 800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK8DR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

June 01, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Harrisonburg, VA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 15

When Accelerating At A Stop Light Or When Slowing Down To Make A Turn, It Hesitates When Stepping On It To Go. It Will Go About 5 – 10 Feet And Hesitate, Just Enough To Make Everyone Behind You Think You Are Going And They Close Behind You Enough To Almost Hit You Because They Don’t Realize The Care Hesitates. It Has Happened More Than 4 Times. It Is An Accident Waiting To Happen.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 55000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK4DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in HARRISONBURG, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Feb 05, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Henderson, NV
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed

Clicking When In Reverse And Appling Brakes Shifting Brake Pads ? Coming To Stop Car Seems To Shift To Neutral ( Better Gas Mileage) ? Going Up Hill 70 T0 75 Mph In Cruise Control Car Will Down Shift 1 Or 2 Gears This Is The Way The Car Programed . On All Issues toyota Claims Their Is Nothing They Can Do As The Car Is Operating According To Specs . They Tell Me The Car Is Safe I Have Concerns As To How . Why Is Their A Noise In The Brakes ? Why Is The Car Down Shifting They Say Their Is A Disclaimer Not To Use Cruise In Mountains . They Seem To Have A Problems They Can`t Fix

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 337 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK7DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in HENDERSON, NV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 05, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Fairfax, VA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 5

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota camry. The Contact Stated That While Driving To Make A Left Turn At 5 Mph, The Vehicle Accelerated Independently And Crashed Into A Wall. The Contact Sustained A Concussion And Bruises On Her Chest That Required Medical Attention. A Police Report Was Filed. The Vehicle Was Destroyed. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 27,700.. Updated 09/30/15*bf

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 27700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BD1FK2DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in FAIRFAX, VA. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

July 20, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Melissa, TX
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 20

The Dates Above Are Approximate As My Car Is Back At The Dealership. The Car Would Vibrate At 20, 40 And 60 Mph It Would Also Lose power When Taking Off From A Stop. I Got The Run Around I Bought New Tires Had An Aligned Changed The Fuel Being Used. Finally They Said It Was My Tranmission. They Replaced The Tranmission And Did A Software Update. I Am Now At 100,000 And Having The Exact Same Problem. I Am Convinced This Is A Known Issue From What I See Online I Have No Idea Why toyota Hasn’t Officially Ordered A Recall! I Believe I Have A Lemon And They Should Replace My Car! My 16 Year Old Daughter Was Driving She Took Off From A Stop Sign And Was Almost Hit From The Side The Car Was Vibrating And Wouldn’t Accelerate. This Is A Very Dangerous Issue. My Car Is Currently Back At Pat Lobb toyota Waiting On Their Diagnosis Once Again!

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK7CR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in MELISSA, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Aug 06, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota camry. While Parked, The Vehicle Accelerated Without Warning When The Contact Removed The Key From The Ignition. The Contact Was Able To Stop The Vehicle By Depressing The Brake Pedal. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 9,000.

Mileage was 9000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK6DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in WICHITA FALLS, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 03, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lawrance, NY
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota camry. While Depressing The Accelerator Pedal, The Vehicle Would Not Respond Or Accelerate. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Who Was Unable To Diagnose The Cause Of The Failure. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 3,000.

Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WBAEV53453K. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in LAWRANCE, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 01, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Johnson City, TN
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed

Transmission Delays During Acceleration. Multiple Time I Have Been In Danger Due To Delayed Acceleration When Pulling Out Or Coming To Stop Then Accelerating. My Local Dealership Said It Was A Common Problem. This Is Very Dangerous And I Think Should Investigated Further. Thank You. *tr

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK5DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in JOHNSON CITY, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 drive type:FWD.

Feb 24, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Thousand Oaks, CA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 5

I Was Drove The Car For Shopping 25 Miles Away From Home At 9:00 Am. At 11:50 Am, On The Way Back, The Back Shook Slightly And Made Small Noises That Were Unfamiliar. I Checked To See If The Shift Gear Was Set Correctly And Windows Were Closed, Which They Were. There Was No Unusual Blinking Of Driver Panel Light Indicating Any Type Of Warning. When I Arrived At The Drive Way At 12:30pm, Turning Into The Front Of The House As Usual, The Car Suddenly Accelerated And My Car Ran Into The Garage Door And Side Of The House.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 37369 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK9DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in THOUSAND OAKS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Mar 09, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Elk Grove, CA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 30

The Transmission Shudders And Hesitates On Acceleration. This Happens Intermittently. I Usually Notice It When Accelerating From A Complete Stop. It Happens Just Before The Transmission Shifts To The Next Gear.

Mileage was 60000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK7DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in ELK GROVE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Mar 11, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
San Antonio, TX
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 40

While Driving The Vehicle Either On A City Street Or Highway Or Turning The Vehicle Comes To A Complete Stop. Nothing Works, Car Wont Start , Key Will Not Move, Gear Is Stuck. This Has Happen Three Times Within A Year. The Dealer Has Check It Out But Has No Answer To Why It Happens. My Air-condition Fogs Up The Window, As So Does The Heater Making The Visibility Difficult. There Was Also A Strong Odor Of Gas When You Make A Turn. All My Complaints Have Been Reported But Nothing Done. My Fear Is A Major Accident Will Be Cause Because Of This.

Mileage was 23700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK4DR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in SAN ANTONIO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Mar 07, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 5

Purchased Car In April With 14,000 Miles. Vehicle Hesitates At Random Times – This Is Especially Dangerous When Making A Left Turn At A Busy Intersection. One Time I Was The 3rd Car Back At Busy Intersection With No Left Turn Arrow. When It Was My Turn To Go The Car Would Barely Move. I Was Fortunate That All The Cars In The Other Direction Waited Until I Cleared The Intersection Before Going. When The Traffic Light Changes From Green To Red, You Are In Danger Of Being Hit By Another Car Because You’re Still In The Middle Of The Intersection. I Called The Dealer Service Depart And Was Told Because The Problem Is Random All They Could Do Was Have A Tech Go On A Ride Along And See If It Happened. I Test Drove The Car 3 Times Before Buying It. I Was Not Aware Of This Problem Or I Would Not Have Bought This Car. My Previous Car Was A 2003 camry And I Never Had One Minute Of Trouble With It. This Is A Very Dangerous Situation – Someone Could Be Killed Or Very Badly Injured – And Needs To Be Investigated Asap.

Mileage was 14460 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FKXDR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in LAS VEGAS, NV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

June 23, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Sacramento, CA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 15

My Car Would Stall And Come To A Stop Unpredictably. It Has Happened When The Car Was In Motion At Low Speeds And During Turns. The Car Would Stall And Come To A Stop. Sometimes It Can Be Started After You Shut Down The Engine, Sometimes You Have To Try A Couple Times In Order To Start Again. toyota Dealership Was Able To Test And Find Stalling History But Was Not Able To Find To Problem. They Said They Would Test Drive And Try To Duplicate The Problem. After 2 Weeks, They Said They Couldn’t Duplicate It And Couldn’t Work On It Any Further And Told Me To Take The Car Back. After Taking The Car Back, 2 Days Later It Stalled Again And It Was Brought Into Another toyota Dealership.

Mileage was 57500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK8DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in SACRAMENTO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

July 04, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Verdi, NV
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota camry. While The Vehicle Was Parked On A Hill, The Contact Attempted To Switch The Gear Into Drive, But The Shifting Gear Failed To Lock In The Drive Position. The Contact Had To Reverse The Vehicle Off The Hill In Order To Place The Vehicle In Drive. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Failure Recurred. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure. The Vin Was Unknown. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 27,000.

Mileage was 27000 miles. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in VERDI, NV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 04, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Easton, PA
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 25

This Vehicle Hesitates For 4 Seconds When Transmission Switches Gears. Car Was Taken Back To Dealer And After 2 Software Updates And A New Torque Converter They Said The Car Couldnt Be Fixed. This Car Is Dangerous And Will Most Definitely Cause An Accident Rear End Collision.

Mileage was 94000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T4BF1FK9DR. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in EASTON, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Dec 19, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Arlington, TX
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed 10

After Stopping At Intersection, Then Step On Gas To Turn Right, Car Makes The Turn Out Into The Road, But Then Engine Begins To Rev As If The Transmission Has Shifted Into Neutral. After Letting Off The Gas Pedal For A Second Or Two The Car Will Recover And Act Normally. This Is Very Dangerous When Pulling Onto A Busy Street.

Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK2DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

May 28, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Chicago Heights, IL
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed

I Have Had Problems For The Last Year With The 2013 toyota camry. The Car While Driver Starts Sputtering Electrical Will Go Out. This Occurs When The Car Gets To About 25 Mph. I Took It To The toyota Dealer Who Informed Me There Was A Recall On The Torque Converter And That Was Replaced. I Was Told There Was Nothing Wrong With The Electrical. The Car Continued To Perform In The Capacity. I Took The Car Back And Was Told There Was Another Recall And The Car Was Repaired. The Car Continued And I Took The Car To Another Mechanic. He Informed Me The Transmission Was Gone. At No Time Did Any Lights Come On The Vehicle To Make Me Aware Of The Issue. I Took The Car Back To The Dealer. The Dealer Confirmed What The Previous Mechanic Stated. I Contacted toyota Who Offered 1,000 Towards Repairs. The Repairs Are Over 6k. I Still Owe toyota 15k For This Car And They Could Not Offer An Explanation On Why A Transmission Went Out After 3 Years

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK2DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in CHICAGO HEIGHTS, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 27, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lubbock, TX
Model Camry
System Power Train
Speed

Car Hesitate Bout 1 Second And Release At About 20 Mph Before The Passing Gear Shifts In , Never Use To Do That , Started Doing This Around 5/1/2017 , Car Has Bout 80,000 Miles Current.

Mileage was 20 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):4T1BF1FK8DU. TOYOTA CAMRY 2013 problem was reported in LUBBOCK, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 01, 2017

2013 Toyota Camry problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Camry, driving a 2013 Toyota Camry, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Power Train problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask