2013 Toyota Highlander Air Bags problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Air Bags problems and reviews: 10.

Are you driving a 2013 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Air Bags problems and defects.

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Carmel, IN
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed 5

Pulling Into Parking Space – Brakes Applied – Car Lurched Forward (unintended Acceleration) – Brakes Did Not Engage – Car Jumped The Curb, Crossed The Sidewalk And Hit A Tree – airbag Did Not Deploy. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 24000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EHDS0. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CARMEL, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Oct 01, 2013

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Oldsmar, FL
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed 15

I Was Driving Down The Street And Came Upon A Red Light, There Were Two Cars Ahead Of Me, A Lincoln And A Chrysler. I Started To Slow Down At A Distance, When I Applied The Brake, My Vehicle Accelerated, I Looked Down To Make Sure That My Foot Was On The Brake, And It Sure Was, So I Hammered Down On The Brake And My Vehicle Did Not Slow Down And Continued To Run At The Same Speed Of Approximately 15 Mph. The Faulty Brake Caused A Without The Deployment Of airbags. I Knew That I Did Not Accidentally Step On The Gas Pedal Because If I Had Done So, The Results Would Have Been More Fatal. I Would Have Pushed The Cars In Front Of Me Onto The On Coming Traffic. After The Incident, I Tested Out The Brakes, And It Was As If Everything Was Alright. Even Though I Had Seen The Cars In Front Of Me, And The Red Traffic Light, My Vehicle Did Not React To My Brakes. The Lincoln And The Chrysler In Front Of Me Also Didn’t Have Their airbags Deployed. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12030 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in OLDSMAR, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Feb 09, 2014

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Vienna, VA
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed 10

My Wife Was Driving The Car Near The Dulles Toll Road Entrance Ramp At Approximately 10 Mph. She Suddenly Lost Control Of The Vehicle And Hit The Car Ahead Of Her. No Bodily Injury To Either Party. The Police Officer Who Came To The Scene Said That It Was Not My Wife’s Fault And Hence, He Did Not Issue A Ticket To My Wife. The Extent Of The Damage Is $10,000. The air Bag Did Not Deploy. The Loss Of Control Of The Vehicle And The air Bags Malfunction Was Told To Koons toyota. They Did Not Notify The Nhtsb, Nor The toyota Headquarters. After The Body Shop Work Was Done, Koons toyota Did Not Even Inspect The Vehicle To Check All The Necessary Repairs Have Been Done Properly. No Safety Inspection Was Done. *tt

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 13000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):STDBK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in VIENNA, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Mar 06, 2014

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
San Jose, CA
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That Numeros Attempts Were Made To Have Her Vehicle Serviced Under Nhtsa Campaign Number: 14v148000 And Nhtsa Campaign Number: 13v014000 (air Bags , Seats) However, Both Dealer And Manufacturer Have Not Return The Contact’s Phone Calls. The Vehicle Had Not Exhibited The Failure. The Vin Was Not Available.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SAN JOSE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 23, 2014

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lenexa, KS
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed 0

On September 12 2014 My Wife Was Pulling Into A Parking Space At Her Doctor’s Office. The Space Include A Stop Curb And It Faced A Four Lane Street. As She Pulled Into The Space, She Braked To Avoid Contacting The Curb And Was About To Shift Into Park When The Car Suddenly Accelerated. The Car Jumped The Parking Curb And Then Another Curb And Entered A Grassy Area (approximately 10 Ft Wide. The Car Continued To Accelerate And Jumped Another Curb And Landed In A 4 Lane Street. She Continued To Apply The Brakes While The Car Continued To Accelerate Across The Street. She Was Headed Toward Another Curb And Grassy Area And A Downhill Slope Followed By A Meineke Repair Business. Not Wanting To Go Down The Hill And Into The Building, She Turned The Car To The Right But Not In Time To Avoid Entering The Second Grassy Area. She Was Now Traveling Parallel To The Meineke Building And Side Swiped Two Small Trees, And Was Headed Toward A Very Busy Rush Hour Street. To Avoid Accelerating Into This Street, She Decided To Try Shifting The Car Into Neutral. She Looked Down To Find The Neutral Gear, And Just As She Looked Up, She Crashed Head-on Into Another Tree. The air Bags Did Not Deploy But The Seat Belts Saved Her. The Car Was Significantly Damaged To The Drivers Side Front Where She Hit The Tree And To The Side Of The Car Where She Side Swiped The Two Trees. The Meineke Employees Called 911 And A Detective Took Her To Her Doctor’s Office For Treatment. She Injured Her Ribs And Back And Continues To Receive Treatment. I’m Convinced This Is A Software Problem And I Am Attempting To Resolve This With toyota But Hold Out Little Hope. It Needs To Be Fixed Before There Are Additional Injuries Or Loss Of Life. My Wife Could Have Died If The Car Had Made It To The Very Busy Street.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12356 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LENEXA, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:AWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Sept 12, 2014

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Oceanside, NY
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed

My Vehicle T-boned Another Vehicle, Striking Directly Into The Driver’s Door Of The Other Vehicle . The Front End Of My Vehicle Sustained Approximately $8000 Worth Of Front End Damage, However The air Bags Never Deployed. (fortunately There Were No Injuries). In Light Of Current Well-publicized air Bag Issues, I Asked My Dealership If They Would Inspect My Vehicle To Ensure That The air Bags Were Not Defective. They Refused, And Referred Me To toyota Corporate. I Called toyota Corporate, Explained My Concern, And Requested That My air Bags Be Checked Out. toyota Corporate Refused, And Suggested I Send A Letter To Their Claims Department. I Sent The Claims Department A Letter On November 10, 2014, And Have Never Received A Response. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH0DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in OCEANSIDE, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:AWD.

Dec 31, 2013

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed 20

I Rear Ended A Car In Front Of Me. Damage Minimal To His Car. My highlander Sustained Over 10 Thousand Dollar Front Damage. My air Bags Did Not Deploy. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH2DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in EGG HARBOR TOWNSHIP, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Dec 01, 2014

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Royal Oak, MI
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed

This Vehicle Has Been Returned To toyota Service Department 4 Times For Message “check Srs air Bag System”. This Message Deactivates The Side airbags From Deploying. toyota Service Has Been Unable To Resolve This Issue. toyota Service Has Done The Following To Correct This Issue. 1) Rest The Message “check Srs airbag System” 2) Checked Sensor And Wiring Under Passenger Seat 3) Consulted toyota Engineers. This Problem Always Occurs Under The Same Condition. This Problem Is Intermittent. This Problem Is A Safety Issue For The Front Seat Passenger. When Front Seat Passenger Is Seated And The Car Is Started The Message “check Srs airbag System” Appears. The Message Remains Until The Car Is Returned To toyota. This Problem Is Not Related To The Weight Of The Front Seat Passenger. This Problem Occurs With Both 120 And 300 Lbs Front Passenger. Thank You! [xxx] Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH1DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ROYAL OAK, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:FWD.

July 07, 2014

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Bellefonte, PA
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed 20

Vehicle Was Proceeding Through An Intersection Under A Green Light. A Vehicle Traveling The Cross Road Proceeded Through Their Red Light And Impacted My Vehicle At Full Speed. The Result Was A “t-bone” Accident Into The Driver’s Side Door. The Force Of The Collision Was Such That My Vehicle Was Turned 90 Degrees. The Driver’s Head Impacted The Driver’s Side Window Shattering That Window. The Side Curtain air Bag Did Not Deploy. air Bags In The Other Vehicle Did Deploy. Had The air Bag Operated Properly It Would Have Protected The Driver’s Head From Impacting And Shattering The Window. Since The Side Curtain airbag Did Not Deploy In What Appears To Be An Obvious Situation, I Am Now Concerned That None Of The airbags In That Vehicle Will Deploy Upon Impact And I Am Driving An Unsafe Vehicle.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in BELLEFONTE, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Dec 23, 2014

Air Bags Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Marysville, CA
Model Highlander
System Air Bags
Speed 35

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. While Driving Approximately 35 Mph, The Contact T-boned Another Vehicle On The Front Driver’s Side. The air Bags Did Not Deploy. A Police Report Was Filed. The Contact Sustained Injuries To The Right Leg, Which Required Medical Attention. The Vehicle Was Towed To An Independent Mechanic. Furthermore, While The Vehicle Was Stationary And While Driving Various Speeds, The Anti-lock Brakes Failed On More Than One Occasion In October Of 2018. The Contact Stated That The Brakes And Wheels Seized On Three Occasions. An Independent Mechanic Was Made Aware Of All The Failures, But Could Not Determine The Sources. A Dealer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failures. The Manufacturer Was Notified. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 100,000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 100000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in MARYSVILLE, CA. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Aug 09, 2017

2013 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2013 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Air Bags problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask