2013 Toyota Highlander Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Engine problems and reviews: 23.

Are you driving a 2013 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
South Amboy, NJ
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 10

Vehicle Hesitates When Accelerating. Does Not Happen All The Time, When Trying To Get Vehicle Up To Highway Speed Will Depress Gas Pedal And Nothing Will Happen For 3-4 Seconds, Then All Of A Sudden Vehicle Will Speed Up. This Only Started To Happen After 1300 Miles . Took Vehicle To toyota Dealership And Of Course Vehicle Ran Fine, Tech. Checked For Any Trouble Codes And None Were Found. Also Since This Started To Happen My Gas Mileage Has Dropped From 18 Miles A Gallon To 15 Miles A Gallon. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SOUTH AMBOY, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

July 08, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Stillwater, OK
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 10

At Totally Random Times, After A Few Miles Of Driving Or 100 Miles, Vehicle Hesitates When Accelerating. Most Annoying And Dangerous Is The Way It Doesn’t Respond To The Accelerator For A Few Seconds After Stopping At A Stop Sign Or Stop Light. Took Vehicle To toyota Dealership And Of Course Vehicle Ran Fine For The 4 Miles They Drove It. Tech Checked For Any Trouble Codes And None Were Found. This Seems Like A Rear-end Accident Waiting To Happen. For Ten Days We Have Gotten Nothing But The Run-around From The National toyota “case Manager”. (at First We Thought This Hesitation Occurred Because The Vehicle Was New, But After 8,000 Miles, We Are Still Experiencing The Same Issue.) *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in STILLWATER, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 01, 2012

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Saegertown, PA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 5

The Vehicle Has A Hesitation Or Lack Of Acceleration Problem. It Occurs From A Stopped Position Or A Moving State. I Have Had It To The Local toyota Dealer 5 Times And They Have Not Been Able To Find The Problem. They Were Able To Duplicate The Problem. They Have Been In Touch With toyota But They Say No Problems Exist, Which Is What I Have Come To Expect From toyota Corporate. My Wife Was Almost In An Accident On The Interstate Yesterday, 08/28/2013. I Would Estimate That The Problem Has Occurred At Least 10 Times Since We Purchased The Vehicle In July. This Is A Safety Issue. Thank You In Advance For Your Help On This Concern. Also, The Dealership Is Going To Give Us A Loaner Today And Possibly Just Let Us Return The Vehicle. They Have Been Great, Palmierro toyota.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3H0DS2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SAEGERTOWN, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

July 03, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Auburn, AL
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 0

When Turning Left Out Of My Neighborhood I Slowed Down And Then Tried To Return To Speed But The Vehicle Hesitated Then Suddenly Jerked Up To The Desired Speed. One Other Time On An Interstate I Had To Slow Down Behind A Truck And Then When I Tried To Accelerate Back To Speed In The Passing Lane The Car Hesitated For Several Seconds And Again Accelerated Rapidly (cars In The Passing Lane Had To Brake Quickly. I Could Describe Other Times But The Same Thing (the Hesitation And Then The Extremely Rapid Acceleration) I Have Taken It Do The Dealer But They Said That They Could Not Find Anything.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1146 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH0DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in AUBURN, AL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 09, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Renton,, WA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 15

At Totally Random Times, After A Few Miles Of Driving Or From A Slow Speed, Vehicle Hesitates When Accelerating. Most Annoying And Dangerous Is The Way It Doesn’t Respond To The Accelerator For A Few Seconds After Stopping At A Stop Sign Or Stop Light Or When Going Slowly As In Entering The Freeway. Took Vehicle To toyota Dealership And Of Course Vehicle Ran Fine For The Time They Drove It. Tech Checked For Any Trouble Codes And None Were Found. This Problem Seems Like An Accident Waiting To Happen. Have Gotten Nothing But The Run-around And Denial From The National toyota “case Manager”. (at First I Thought This Hesitation Occurred Because The Vehicle Was New, But After 5,000 Miles, I Am Still Experiencing The Same Issue At Random Times.) *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 490 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in RENTON,, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Mar 04, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Peabody, MA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 0

Occasional Throttle No Response When Trying To Accelerate Moderately From A Stop, Or From A Very Low Speed (i.e.-coasting Around A 90 Degree Turn With The Engine At Idle Speed.) I Then Push Heavily On The Accelerator Pedal, And It Revs Up, Downshifts, And Races Ahead. It Is Dangerous, In Traffic. I Have Brought It To The Dealer Twice, And They Cannot Reproduce The Problem. Two So Called Factory Reps Rode Around With Me The Second Time, With A Computer Connected. Diagnostics Shows No Error Codes. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in PEABODY, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 14, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 40

I Bought A New 2013 highlander December 28, 2013 From Tom Wood toyota Dealership. When I Was Driving Home December 28-31, 2013 Click, Click, Squeaking Noise, Brakes Slipping, Dragging, Vibrating And A Tremendous Pulsating Against My Foot When I Stop. When I Tried To Stop The highlander The Vehicle Jumped Forward. January 2, 2014 A Burnt Odor Coming Through The Heater Vents, Rattling In The Right Front Door, Gush Sound Coming From The Brakes, There Is Also Another Sound Coming From The Brakes That I Can Not Identify. I Am Wondering If A Fire Is Trying To Start, Because Of The Burnt Odor. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3H8DS2. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in INDIANAPOLIS, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Dec 28, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Parker, CO
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 30

I Bought A 2013 toyota highlander In October 2012 And Never Noticed Any Problem Until Early In 2014. When I Try To Accelerate On A Small Incline, The Accelerator Would Not Respond. It Acted As If I Am Not Pressing The Gas Pedal. I Am Not Talking About Going To The Mountains But Just A Small Incline When I Drive Home From Work Everyday. I Took It Into The Dealer In March 2014 And They Responded Same As Other People On This Website, No Errors On The Diagnostic Machine And No Posting From toyota. They Advised Me To Put In Premium Fuel And I Did But That Did Not Make A Difference. Very Disappointing From A toyota With A V6 Engine. The Dealer Also Tries To Say It Is Due To Cvt Transmission. However, I Have A Subaru With Cvt As Well And That Car Can Accelerate Uphill When Needed. I Have Had A toyota Celica, Tercel, And A toyota Truck In My Life And None Had This Type Of Problems. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1500 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in PARKER, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Jan 20, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Tulsa, OK
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 0

On Thursday, April 3, 2013. I Stopped At An Intersection And When I Tried To Accelerate There Was No Response. I Thought The Engine Had Died. There Were No Lights On Instrument Panel. I Pressed Accelerator Again And It Jerked And Took Off. I Have Experienced Hesitations Several Times (10-12). I Bought The highlander 2013 In July 2013. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH6DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in TULSA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 03, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Granville, OH
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 50

The Vehicle Did Not Alert To Any Engine And/or Vehicle Problem (no Caution Light, No Engine Light, Etc.) The Driver Happened To Look Down At The Fuel Tank And Noticed That The Temperature Gauge Exceed The Measuring Mark (over The Red Zone) And Was Still Running. The Driver Immediately Went To A Safe Place. Towed To The Dealership. Dealership Informs That A “small Rock Or Road Debris” Traveled Through The Front Grill And Punctured The Radiator. After Researching Why The Radiator Is Not Covered Under The Warranty On Brand New Vehicle Under This Road Debris, I Read Over 30 Reported Cases In Not Only The toyota highlander, toyota Tundra, And toyota Corolla As Their Is No Protection To The Front Portion Of The Radiator And/or Condenser. Would Have Caused Engine Fire, Do Not Understand Why There Were No Safety Lights And Or Indicators Something Was Wrong With Vehicle. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH3DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in GRANVILLE, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Apr 08, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Memphis, TN
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That On Several Occasions, The Vehicle Exhibited Unintended Acceleration. Additionally, The Vehicle Would Vibrate Excessively When Stationary With The Engine On. The Vibrations Would Cause Ear Pain To The Contact. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified And No Solution Was Offered. The Failure Mileage Was 11,000.

1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 11000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH1DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in MEMPHIS, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 15, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Soldier Grove, WI
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 55

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While Driving 55 Mph, The Vehicle Suddenly Stalled. Also, The Contact Mentioned That The Headlights And Instrument Panel Light Intermittently Failed. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer. The Technician Was Unable To Duplicate The Failure. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Failure And Current Mileage Was 16,000.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 16000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH6DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SOLDIER GROVE, WI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Mar 26, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Vicksburg, MS
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 10

I Purchased A New 2013 toyota highlander Limited In November 2013. A Few Days Later, Upon Accelerating From A Stop Into A Left Turn, The Engine Cut Off For A Few Seconds While Entering Traffic. This Happened A Couple More Times Before The First Checkup, At Which Time I Informed The Service Technician, Problem Was Noted On Service Sheet, But When Service Was Completed, They Said They Could Find No Problem. The Hesitation Continued, Quite Randomly, And Seemed To Happen In Left Turn, Accelerating Situations. At Next Service And Checkup (different Dealer) I Told Them About The Problem And It Was Written Up Again With Same Result, No Problem Could Be Found. This Has Been Reported To Dealer At Least Three Times, No Results, No Action Taken, No Problem Found. I Consider This A Dangerous Situation, Especially When Merging Into Traffic. Based On Information I Have Seen, It Appears That toyota Should Address This Problem Asap. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in VICKSBURG, MS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Nov 12, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 20

I Rear Ended A Car In Front Of Me. Damage Minimal To His Car. My highlander Sustained Over 10 Thousand Dollar Front Damage. My Air Bags Did Not Deploy. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH2DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in EGG HARBOR TOWNSHIP, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Dec 01, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Nisswa, MN
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 0

I Purchased The 2013 highlander New From A Dealer In Vienna, Va In July 2013. The Auto Started A String Of Engine Hesitancy To Accelerate Problems At Around 5,000 Miles Which Was Reported To The Dealer At The 5,000 Mile Check-up And Again At The 7,500 Mile Checkup. The Service Department Could Not Duplicate The Problem And Gave The Engine A Clean Bill Of Health. We Moved To Mn In May 2014 And The Hesitancy Of The Car To Move (accelerate) From A Stopped Position For Several Seconds After Engaging The Gas Petal Continues And Is Increasing In Frequency. The Car Has Been Taken In To The Local toyota Dealer On Three Occasions With The Same Answer That There Is No Problem With The Car. I Have Been In Two Near Accidents While Pulling Out In Traffic On To A High Speed Divided Highway And Consider This A Very Serious Safety Issue. It Happens Randomly, (three Times This Past Week), But A Pattern Has Developed – Most Incidents Occur While Idling At Intersections For Some Time Waiting For Traffic To Clear, Traffic Lights, Etc, And Then Making A Left Hand Turn Onto The Roadway. The Car Has Exhibited This Behavior Only A Couple Times While Making A Right Hand Turn From A Idling Start. The Sensation Is That The Engine Stalled And No Matter What Is Done With The Gas Petal Nothing Happens For Anywhere Up To 4-5 Seconds. With Traffic Moving At 60 Miles An Hour And One Is Attempting To Merge Into Traffic, A Five Second Delay Brings The On-coming Traffic Almost 450 Feet Closer To One Before The Car Starts To Move Requiring More Distance In Traffic Gaps To Overcome A Potential Stall In The Roadway. I Have Come Across Another Local Owner With The Same Problem And Note At Least 15 Other Complaints On The Web Of Almost The Exact Circumstances. What Does It Take For toyota To Recognize This As A Safety Issue? Updated 12/12/2017*cn

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 7600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH0DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in NISSWA, MN. Original Owner. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:AWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 TRANSMISSION TYPE: AUTO. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph. DEALER’S NAME: KOONS TYSONS TOYOTA . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 703-790-5920 . DEALER’S CITY: VIENNA . DEALER’S STATE CODE: VA. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 22182 .

Apr 25, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Louisville, CO
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 20

While Attempting To Turn From A Side Road Onto A Main Road, I Needed To Accelerate To Blend Into The Faster Moving Traffic. While Attempting To Accelerate The Engine Acted Like The Gas Pedal Had Not Been Pressed But Maintained The Previous Slow Engine Speed Despite The Gas Pedal Being Finally Pressed To The Floor. While Maintaining The Full Gas Pedal Position The Engine Finally Revved Up And The Suv Lurched Forward. I Have Not Been Placed Yet Into A Hazardous Situation, But That Is Becoming A Reality. This Hesitation Has Recurred More Than Twenty Times Since Then. No, I Have Not Taken This To toyota Since They Appear To Have No Concern For The Many Fine Folks Reporting Similar Engine Stalling.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LOUISVILLE, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Aug 21, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lake Zurich, IL
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 65

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. While Driving Approximately 65 Mph, The Cruise Control Was Engaged And The Rpms Increased Rapidly To 5,000 For A Brief Moment And Then Resumed Normally. The Failure Occurred When Driving Up An Incline And Also Without The Cruise Control Activated. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer, Who Was Unable To Duplicate The Failure. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 8,000. The Vin Was Unavailable.

Mileage was 8000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LAKE ZURICH, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 16, 2014

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Caledonia, IL
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed

The Car Has Burned 1 Qt Of Oil Every 1500 Milles Or So Since Day1… toyota Will Do Nothing To Repair The Internal Engine Problem As They Say It Is Acceptable Per Them To Burn 1 Qt Every 1200??

Mileage was 2500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CALEDONIA, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 13, 2013

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 3

Vehicle Hesitates When Accelerating, Usually When Making A Turn From A Stop Or Moving Slowly. It Is Especially Hazardous When Trying To Make A Left Turn In Front Of Oncoming Traffic. Has Happened Multiple Times, Not Just The Date Below. The Dealer Can Not Duplicate The Problem. We Bought The Car In Early 2014 New, And Noticed This Problem Before 5,000 Miles. The Car Now Has 22,000 Miles And It Still Does This Intermittently.

Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in COLORADO SPRINGS, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 3 mph.

Aug 02, 2016

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Conroe, TX
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 0

Upon Entering Into Car After It Had Been Parked I Smelled Gasoline. Wife Said She Had Just Filled Up Before Coming Home And Perhaps Spilled Some. I Got Out Of Vehicle And Checked And Saw Small Puddle Of Gasoline Where Car Had Been Parked. Moved Car Away From House And Raised Hood To Vent Engine Compartment. I Removed Front Skid Plate/panel To Find Leak And Allow Further Air Circulation. I Power Cycled Key And Saw Fuel Leak Again. After Further Investigation Found Were Main Fuel Line Was Misting Onto Engine And Surrounding Parts. Leaks Were Coming From Middle Portion Of Hose And Not At Connections. Next Day I Had My Car Towed To The Dealer. They Suspected Rodent Damage. Upon Inspection There Was No Evidence Of “chewing” Or Other Type Of External Damage. A Replacement Line Was Ordered And Installed. I Was Charged For The Repairs. I Have Kept The Original Fuel Line For Further Investigation. Dealer Had No Explanation Of The Cause Of The Failure. I Feel Blessed That We Did Stop When We Did Otherwise It Would Of Resulted In An Gasoline Fed Engine Fire Because Of The Gas Spraying Onto The Exhaust And Other Hot Engine Parts In A Confined Area.

Mileage was 63000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CONROE, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Jan 11, 2017

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Seattle, WA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed 0

I Am Asking That The Nhtsa Investigate The 2013 highlander Limited For The Ability To Turn Off The Car While In “drive” After Parking. We Purchased Our Car New Form The Dealer, And Ever Since We Have Been Able To Turn The Car Off The Vehicle After Parking But In “drive” Which Has Led To The Car Unintentionally Rolling Downhill On Several Times. On Two Occasions It Has Led To The Car Not Restarting. We Have Asked Our Local Dealer And Service People, At toyota Of Seattle, About This Several Times And Have Been Told, Albeit With Inconstant Reasoning, That The Car Was Designed To Have This Capability. We Have Two Small Children And To Us This Seem Extremely Dangerous, As The Only Way To Be Alerted To The Fact That You’ve Left The Car In “drive”, Other Than The Vehicle Rolling, Is A Beep Sound. However, This Beep Is The Exact Same Sound Alert You Get When Your Lights Are On, Or A Door Is Open, Or You’re Running Out Of Gas — Making It A Common Sound That Does Not Signify A Dangerous Situation. Also, Often This Sound Does Not Register In The Brain Until You Are Out Of The Vehicle, Because The Same Sound Is Used To Alert That A Door Has Been Opened Before The Car Was Turned Off. In Which Case, The Noise Goes Away After You Get Out And Close The Door. We Have Had Several Occasions Where Our Children Have Gotten Out Of The Parked Vehicle While We’re Trying To Determine The Source Of The Beep And Then The Car Will Start Rolling. I Am A Careful Person, So Given My Innumerable Close Calls With This Issue I Encourage You To Investigate This Issue Before Someone Is Killed. Thank You Of Your Time. Sincerely, [xxx] Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH6DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SEATTLE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 26, 2018

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
San Bernardino, CA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed

Bought Vehicle ‘certified’ On 04/20/17 And First Oil Change 06/30/17 Corrosion On Battery Terminal Notated. New Battery Purchased. 05/25/17, Corrosion Is Again Notated. Vehicle Has Been Through 2 Separate Oil Changes And No Corrosion Notated. Now Dealer Is Stating Verbally $5800 To Fix Terminals And Cable Due To Battery Acid And Corrosion Leading To Electrical Damage. Harness Damage. Flaw Of This Vehicle Is All Components Are Interconnected. Rep Will Not Put In Writing, But Is Saying Major Hazard. toyota Will Give Only $2500 Towards Cost. Not Driving Car At This Time.

Mileage was 51125 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH2DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SAN BERNARDINO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 25, 2018

Engine Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Ashburn, VA
Model Highlander
System Engine
Speed

Head Gasket Leaked Car Less Than 100k Miles And Less Than 5 Years. Google Search Showed Similar Problems With Other highlanders.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH4DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ASHBURN, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 01, 2018

2013 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2013 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Engine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask