2013 Toyota Highlander Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Power Train problems and reviews: 10.

Are you driving a 2013 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Parker, CO
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 30

I Bought A 2013 toyota highlander In October 2012 And Never Noticed Any Problem Until Early In 2014. When I Try To Accelerate On A Small Incline, The Accelerator Would Not Respond. It Acted As If I Am Not Pressing The Gas Pedal. I Am Not Talking About Going To The Mountains But Just A Small Incline When I Drive Home From Work Everyday. I Took It Into The Dealer In March 2014 And They Responded Same As Other People On This Website, No Errors On The Diagnostic Machine And No Posting From toyota. They Advised Me To Put In Premium Fuel And I Did But That Did Not Make A Difference. Very Disappointing From A toyota With A V6 Engine. The Dealer Also Tries To Say It Is Due To Cvt Transmission. However, I Have A Subaru With Cvt As Well And That Car Can Accelerate Uphill When Needed. I Have Had A toyota Celica, Tercel, And A toyota Truck In My Life And None Had This Type Of Problems. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1500 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in PARKER, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Jan 20, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Vicksburg, MS
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 10

I Purchased A New 2013 toyota highlander Limited In November 2013. A Few Days Later, Upon Accelerating From A Stop Into A Left Turn, The Engine Cut Off For A Few Seconds While Entering Traffic. This Happened A Couple More Times Before The First Checkup, At Which Time I Informed The Service Technician, Problem Was Noted On Service Sheet, But When Service Was Completed, They Said They Could Find No Problem. The Hesitation Continued, Quite Randomly, And Seemed To Happen In Left Turn, Accelerating Situations. At Next Service And Checkup (different Dealer) I Told Them About The Problem And It Was Written Up Again With Same Result, No Problem Could Be Found. This Has Been Reported To Dealer At Least Three Times, No Results, No Action Taken, No Problem Found. I Consider This A Dangerous Situation, Especially When Merging Into Traffic. Based On Information I Have Seen, It Appears That toyota Should Address This Problem Asap. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in VICKSBURG, MS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Nov 12, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Indianapolis, IN
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 30

Purchased 2013 toyota highlander 11/24/12; Transmission Has Malfunctioned Approximately 16 Times Since Date Of Purchase. When Reducing Speed To Approximately 30 To10 M.p.h. And Then Try To Accelerate, The Transmission Appears To Go Into Neutral; The Drive Stick Remains In Drive! When This Happens, I Shift Drive Stick To Neutral And Then Back To Drive And Then Transmission Continues To Work Fine. I Don’t Think You Have To Extend Your Imagination Too Far To Realize The Possibility Of Serious Injury Or Death When Making A Turn Or Trying To Pass Someone! Dealer Will Not Acknowledge There Is A Problem With Transmission. The Initial Response From Dealer Was The Transmission Has To Adjust To My Driving Habits? If You Check Carcomplaints.com Or Edmonds.com, You Will See I Am Not The Only One With This Problem. It Appears This Problem Has Existed Since 2004. It Would Be Interesting To Review Past Head On Collisions And Turn Accidents To Consider If It Was “driver Error” Vs “transmission Failure” I Would Like To Be Contacted To Have Further Discussion On This Problem. Thank You *tr Updated 02/20/2015 *js

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in INDIANAPOLIS, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Jan 24, 2013

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Hartland, WI
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. While Attempting To Accelerate From A Stop, The Accelerator Pedal Was Depressed But The Vehicle Hesitated. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer Who Was Unable To Diagnose Or Repair The Vehicle. The Failure Recurred On Numerous Occasions. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 16,000. Ma 10/25/15

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 16000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH1DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in HARTLAND, WI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 01, 2014

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Kankakee, IL
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Hesitated When Accelerating From A Stop Or A Break Without Warning. The Failure Recurred Several Times And, Each Time, The Contact Had To Pump The Accelerator Pedal Up To Three Times In Order To Accelerate. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Local Dealer Who Diagnosed That One Of The Computer Modules That Regulated Acceleration Was Faulty. The Dealer Could Not Determine Which Of The Modules Was Faulty; Therefore, The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure And Issued A Case Number To Take To The Dealer. The Failure Mileage Was 17,000.

Mileage was 17000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in KANKAKEE, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 06, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Spanaway, WA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

From Stop (at Traffic Light, Merging, Etc), Press On Gas Pedal For Acceleration And Vehicle Does Not Go, Hesitates, Then Does Accelerate. This Has Happened Multiple Times, Intermittently, And Has Been Reported To Titus Will toyota Dealership. Since They Have Not Duplicated It, Problem Continues Intermittently. Never Know When This Will Occur. It Is Very Disconcerting And Dangerous. This Vehicle Has A Lot Of “computer” Glitches With Gps Mapping, Bluetooth, Auto Lights, Etc. Maybe Related?

Mileage was 16000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SPANAWAY, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 26, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
St Michaels, MN
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 75

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While Driving At Approximately 75 Mph, There Was An Abnormal Noise Coming From The Transmission. In Addition, The Failure Occurred When Driving 40 Mph Or Higher. The Contact Mentioned That The Vehicle Was Serviced Under A Manufacturer Warranty For The Transmission In November Of 2015. The Contact Stated That The Transmission Utilized Was Rebuilt. The Dealer Diagnosed That The Transmission Utilized For The Repair Met The Manufacturer Standards. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 200.

Mileage was 200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ST MICHAELS, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 75 mph.

Nov 16, 2015

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Kernersville, NC
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. While The Vehicle Was Being Reversed, The Hatchback Open Warning Light Illuminated. The Contact Stated That The Gear Shift Lever Was Placed In Park Before Exiting The Vehicle. While Attempting To Close The Hatch, The Vehicle Started To Roll Backwards And Knocked The Contact To The Ground. The Vehicle Rolled Down An Embankment And Crashed Into A Tree. The Contact Sustained Injuries To The Hip And Arms, Which Did Not Require Medical Attention. A Police Report Was Not Filed. The Vehicle Was Not Towed From The Crash Site. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 39,000. Updated 09/01/16*lj

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. Mileage was 39000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH4DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in KERNERSVILLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 12, 2016

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Seattle, WA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 0

I Am Asking That The Nhtsa Investigate The 2013 highlander Limited For The Ability To Turn Off The Car While In “drive” After Parking. We Purchased Our Car New Form The Dealer, And Ever Since We Have Been Able To Turn The Car Off The Vehicle After Parking But In “drive” Which Has Led To The Car Unintentionally Rolling Downhill On Several Times. On Two Occasions It Has Led To The Car Not Restarting. We Have Asked Our Local Dealer And Service People, At toyota Of Seattle, About This Several Times And Have Been Told, Albeit With Inconstant Reasoning, That The Car Was Designed To Have This Capability. We Have Two Small Children And To Us This Seem Extremely Dangerous, As The Only Way To Be Alerted To The Fact That You’ve Left The Car In “drive”, Other Than The Vehicle Rolling, Is A Beep Sound. However, This Beep Is The Exact Same Sound Alert You Get When Your Lights Are On, Or A Door Is Open, Or You’re Running Out Of Gas — Making It A Common Sound That Does Not Signify A Dangerous Situation. Also, Often This Sound Does Not Register In The Brain Until You Are Out Of The Vehicle, Because The Same Sound Is Used To Alert That A Door Has Been Opened Before The Car Was Turned Off. In Which Case, The Noise Goes Away After You Get Out And Close The Door. We Have Had Several Occasions Where Our Children Have Gotten Out Of The Parked Vehicle While We’re Trying To Determine The Source Of The Beep And Then The Car Will Start Rolling. I Am A Careful Person, So Given My Innumerable Close Calls With This Issue I Encourage You To Investigate This Issue Before Someone Is Killed. Thank You Of Your Time. Sincerely, [xxx] Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH6DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SEATTLE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 26, 2018

Power Train Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Ashburn, VA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

Head Gasket Leaked Car Less Than 100k Miles And Less Than 5 Years. Google Search Showed Similar Problems With Other highlanders.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH4DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ASHBURN, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 01, 2018

2013 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2013 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Power Train problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask