2013 Toyota Highlander Steering problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Steering problems and reviews: 25.

Are you driving a 2013 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Steering problems and defects.

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Blacklick, OH
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 35

The 2013 highlander Was Serviced In Florida Monday 10/27 For 15000 Miles Service, Today My Sister Was Driving Since Service, The Traction Light Came On ,the Engine Light Was Flashing , The highlander Was Not Stable Driving Straight On The Road And Seemed Like It Needs A Tune Up.i Called The Dealer And It Was Taken Their ,first Response Was Gas Put In, Yes . Was Told Possible The Cap Was Not Put On Right And With Newer Cars It Could Be A Malfunction The Computer.. Turned Out That The Ignition Coil Switch Was Bad On This 2013 highlander. Which Is Why I’m Reporting This Due To Recent Issue With Another Car Manufacture Knowing The Ignition Switch Was Bad On Their Automobiles. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH2DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in BLACKLICK, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 4 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Oct 29, 2014

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Balch Springs, TX
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

I Turned On My Car, Put It On Drive When I Tried To Press The Gas And Turn The Wheel To Get Out Of The Parking Lot The Steering Wheel Locked So Hard I Could Not Turn It. I Pressed On The Brakes But The Brakes Were Not Functioning At All As I Was Pressing On The Brake Pad The Check Engine Light Came On And So Did The Brake Light On The Dash Board, On The Big Screen Where It Shows My Info And Other Fancy Gadgets Showed “brake Malfunction Park Car In Safe Zone” As The Car Drove Forward By Itself And The Brakes Were Not Working The Car Hit An Empty Parking Space To Come To A Complete Stop. I Was At A School Parking Lot With Kids Everywhere Around Me! *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 30500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH9DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in BALCH SPRINGS, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:FWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Apr 01, 2015

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Cincinnati, OH
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 45

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. While Driving At Approximately 45 Mph, The Power Steering Failed And The Instrument Panel Displayed That The Power Steering Needed Assistance. The Vehicle Was Driven To The Dealer For Diagnostic Testing. The Technician Stated That The Electronic Computer That Managed The Steering Needed To Be Replaced. The Manufacture Was Notified Of The Failure. The Vin Was Unknown. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 48,500…..updated 10-27-15 *bf *cn

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 48500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH2D5. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CINCINNATI, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Sept 01, 2015

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Virginia Beach, VA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 0

toyota 2013 highlander With 31237 Miles Had To Replace The Steering Shaft Due To Thud-thud Noise When Turning Right Or Left. I Bought Car New From Dealership. Car Still Under Warranty But Was Told It Will Probably Happen Again. Parts And Labor Estimated To Be $500+ Each Time In The Future. According To Information On Internet This Is Not A Random Issue With highlanders And Has Been Going On For Some Time. This Appears To Be A Design Flaw That Is Being Ignored With The Owner Being Required To Foot The Bill. Never Had A Steering Shaft Issue In The Cars I Have Previously Owned Some For Over 100,000 Miles, U.s. Made Or Non-u.s. Made Models. The New Part Is Guaranteed For One Year…that Is Not Acceptable For A Known Reoccurring Issue Of Which toyota Is Aware . I Called toyota National Customer Relations In Torrance, Ca And Spoke With Representative Who Was Very Polite But Offered No Recourse For This Issue. Very Disappointed.

Mileage was 31237 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in VIRGINIA BEACH, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 08, 2016

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Katy, TX
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 30

Steering Tsb By toyota: While Driving Vehicle And Turning Corners, I Felt Poping Clunking Noise In Steering Wheel. Sometimes Made Steering Wheel Vibrate. Instead Of Just A Service Bulletin, This Should Be A Recall Since toyota Has Re-designed The Failing Component. Took Vehicle Into Dealer To Have Fixed. Would Have Paid Full Repair Price But Was Able To Negotiate A Discounted Price For Vehicle With Only 52,000 Miles. Component Should Have Easily Lasted Over 125,000 Miles. May Be The Same As Your 10075792 Record.

Mileage was 52000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in KATY, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Aug 30, 2016

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Novato, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

The Steering Column Is Making A Thunking-type Of Noise When Turning, Usually At Low Speeds, Around Corners (not Slight Turns, Such As When The Road Changes On The Freeway). It’s Been Documented In My Records At Least Since 30,000 Miles, Just Out Of toyota‘s Warranty Period. The Car Dealer Reported That They Were Unable To Duplicate The Issue At The 30,000 Service, As Documented. It Wasn’t Happening As Frequently Then, But Now At 60,000 Miles, It’s Constant. It Seems To Be Related To The Steering Shaft/intermediate Steering Shaft. There Appears To Be A Service Bulletin From The Manufacturer, But No Further Investigation/research Presented. Since I Am Aware Of What Part Is Failing, I Want To Get It Fixed, As I’ve Read That This Part, If It Fails, Could Cause The Car To Fail, But Don’t Want To Pay Money For A Part That Is Considered Defective.

Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in NOVATO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 04, 2015

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Montgomery, TX
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

Our 2013 highlander Developed A Light Clunking Noise In The Steering Column After A Accident In October Of 2013. We Thought Nothing Of It Until December 2017 When The Clunking Increased In Loudness And Frequency. We Have The Problem Checked Out By Gullo toyota Of Conroe, Texas. They Found The Mid Steering Column Shaft That Was Failing And Causing The Clunking Noise And Recommended Replacing This Part For Safety Reasons. We Concurred And Had The Work Completed. I Discussed This Situation With The Service Rep At Gullo To See If They Could Determine The Cause Of This Part Failure. They Could Not Suggest Any Cause So I Suggested That The Accident The Vehicle Was Involved In In October Of 2013 Might Be The Culprit. Gullo Would Not Confirm The Possibility By Would Work With My Insurance Company, Usaa. Usaa Has Rejected This Theory And Will Not Pay For The Repair Of The Steering Column’s Mid Shaft. This Part Should Not Be Failing.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH9DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in MONTGOMERY, TX. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 14, 2016

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Johns Creek, GA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 40

Knocking Sound And Vibration Felt On Steering Wheel When Turning Right. It Only Occurs In Motion.

Mileage was 60000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in JOHNS CREEK, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Mar 12, 2017

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Johns Creek, GA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 40

Steering Makes Nocking Sound (and Steering Wheel Vibrates) When Turning Right While In Motion

Mileage was 60000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in JOHNS CREEK, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Mar 12, 2017

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Glen Allen, VA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

When Turning Right The Steering Was Making A Clicking/knocking Sound. I Only Have 30000 Miles On The Car, Which I Have Had 100000 Plus Miles On Cars And Never Had This Issue. Apparently toyota Has Diagnosed This With A Bad U-joint In The Steering Intermediate Shaft With A Hefty Price Tag To Fix. This Seems Like A Complaint From Multiple People And On Multiple Sites. I Think This Should Be Looked Into By toyota And Considered A Recall Item. Very Disappointed In My toyota Right Now.

TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in GLEN ALLEN, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Sept 15, 2017

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Milton, MA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

There Is A Clunking Noise When Turning At Low Speeds. My Mechanic Says There Is A Defect In The Design Of The Steering Shaft. He Said This Commonly Occurs With This Model highlander, Something Supported By Numerous Complaints About The Same Issue. toyota Denies Responsibility And Won’t Issue A Recall, Though It Is A Safety Risk.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in MILTON, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 12, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Spring, TX
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

The Vehicle Has Around 37k Miles And Started To Get A Bump Or Thud Sound When Turning To Right And Turning Over All Begin To Get Sluggish. I Took It To The Dealship Fred Haas In Houston And It Was Diagnosed With A Drive Shaft Problem And Required A Expensive Repair And Front End Alignment. I Questioned The Service Rep As It Seemed To Be Very Low Mileage For A Issue With The Drive Shaft. He Advised That It Was Not Covered As My 36k 3 Year Standard Warranty Had Run Out. After Researching It Seems That This Is A highlander Defect And Should Be Covered By A Recall. If This Car Had 80k Or More Miles I Might Be Of A Different Opinion But This Car Is Way Too New To Have An Issue Like This Especially On Such An Important Element Like Steering. This Is An Obvious Engineering And Manufacturing Problem And A Replacement Part That Will Only Have A 1 Year Warranty Is Not Good Enough.

Mileage was 37000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH4DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SPRING, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Feb 26, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Batesville, AR
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 3

This Vehicle Has A Knocking Or Clunking Sound When Turning The Steering Wheel. This Is A Common Complaint On toyota highlanders But toyota Is Not Offering To Fix These Vehicles When Out Of Warranty. This Is A Defect In These Vehicles And Should Be Fixed By toyota Free Of Charge.

Mileage was 70000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH9DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in BATESVILLE, AR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 3 mph.

Mar 01, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Elkridge, MD
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 45

While Turning The Steering I Feel A Klunk This Is Happens Always When Turn The Wheel. Frustrated Really Need Your Help. Regards..

Mileage was 63000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH0DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ELKRIDGE, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Jan 02, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Fair Oaks, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 65

While Travelling In High Speed Lane On I80 Near Sacramento Ca. I Attempted To Adjust Telescopic Steering Wheel And The Steering Wheel Came Off In My Hands And By Grace Of God Was Able To Slow And Get Off Road On The Hand High Speed Breakdown Lane And Somehow Remount The Steering Wheel. Vehicle Currently At Dealership For Repair And I Was Told That The Steering And Mount Would Need To Be Replaced And Will Cost In Excess Of $2000.00. I Have Contacted toyota, Started A Case File With Them And Waiting On Their Reply.

Mileage was 36000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in FAIR OAKS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 01, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lithia Springs, GA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 20

There Is A Clucking Noise In The Steering When Turning. It Seems Like The Steering Wheel Mechanism Is Falling Appart.

Mileage was 60000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH4DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LITHIA SPRINGS, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 01, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lynchburg, VA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

Vehicle Had A Knocking Noise Heard And Felt From Steering Wheel When Turning. Seemed To Be More Prominent At Lower Speeds, Occurred When Turning Right And Left. Took Vehicle To toyota Dealer And Diagnosed As A Failed Intermediate Steering Shaft. Vehicle Was Outside Warranty At 54,853 Miles. Research Indicates This Is A Common Issue With This Year highlander And toyota Has Issued A Tsb, But Has Not Issued A Recall To Date. Cost Of Repair Was $463.34.

Mileage was 54853 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH2DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LYNCHBURG, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Oct 16, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Richardson, TX
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

Knock In The Steering Wheel When Turning.

Mileage was 85000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in RICHARDSON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Jan 01, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Philadelphia, PA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 45

Started Hearing A Loud Popping Noise Underneath The Steering Wheel Or Pedals. Noise Became Louder As Time Went On Especially When I Made Turns. toyota Recent Diagnosed The Problem As An Intermediate Steering Shaft. Was Originall Told It Might Be A Rack And Pinion Problem. Hopefully That This Doesn’t Now Turn Into Something Else. This Is Not Covered Under My Powertrain Warranty. Very Upset.

Mileage was 45000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH4DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in PHILADELPHIA, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Oct 25, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Endwell, NY
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 30

I Started Hearing A Popping Noise In The Steering Column Under The Steering Wheel. The Noise Became Louder As Time Went On Especially When I Made Turns. On 11/07/18 toyota Recently Diagnosed The Problem As An Intermediate Steering Shaft And I Made An Appointment To Get It Fixed At The Dealer For $584.92. There’s 57,665 Miles On The Vehicle. I Can Visibly See There’s Slack In The Steering Shaft Where It Connects To The Rack And Pinion. Ii Am A 65 Year Old Woman Who Bought The Vehicle New And Drove It Very Gently. I Understand The New Shaft May Have An Improved Design I Hope So It Does Not Occur Again. It’s Very Concerning If I Lost Control While Driving. I Would Think There Should Be A Recall Before Someone Get’s Hurt.

Mileage was 57665 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ENDWELL, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Nov 07, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Overland Park, KS
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 30

Clunking Noise Within The Steering When I Turn, Especially At Lower Speeds. Took It To A Repair Shop And They Indicated It Was The Intermediate Steering Shaft. 48,000 Miles At The Time.

Mileage was 48000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH3DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in OVERLAND PARK, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

June 01, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Anderson, SC
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

Steering Makes A Popping/clicking Sound When Making Turns. Seems To Be Getting Worse As It Started With Just Turning Left And Now Does It Right As Well

Mileage was 72000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZA3EH2DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ANDERSON, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

July 02, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Centreville, VA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

My Complaint Is About Steering Column Noises, Play, Looseness And Feedback Through The Steering Wheel. It Is Described In A Service Bulletin: Tsb-0034-13 I Have 97,000 Miles On The Vehicle And The Play Is Becoming More Noticeable As Mileage Increases. It Is Very Disappointing That toyota Knew About This Issue And Issued The Tsb Before I Purchased It New. How Are Owners Supposed To Be Notified About These Things While Under Warranty?

Mileage was 90000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH9DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CENTREVILLE, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 01, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Greensboro, NC
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 15

Around A Year Ago, At Approximately 58000 Miles, I Began To Notice A Knocking Sound And Steering Vibration When I Turned In Either Direction At Low Speed In City Driving. I Took The Vehicle In For Evaluation At Rice toyota. The Technicians Could Not Hear Anything. I Took It Back At 61,118 In February 2018 As The Steering Had Gotten Worse, Now Loose And Sloppy Feeling At Any Speed. They Could Hear/feel It This Time And I Was Told It Was The Electric Power Steering Motor And To Just “turn The Radio Up”. I Was Ready To Trade The Vehicle In, As I Felt Unsafe Driving It Anymore, But Knew I Couldn’t In It’s Current Condition.i Did Some Research And Found That Others Were Having The Same Problems. There Was Even A Tsb (bulletin T-sb-0034-13) Issued On 4/26/17 Regarding The Steering Pinion Shaft. After I Felt That I Couldn’t Drive This Car It Anymore, I Returned To Rice toyota Once Again On 11/24/18 At 67,770 Miles And The Repaired The Vehicle. “immediate Steering Shaft Needs To Be Replaced” For A Total Of $588.23. The Vehicle Now Drives Better, However, I Have Lost Faith In It , As Well As toyota. This Is A Very Serious Safety Issue That Needs To To Be Addressed For The Safety Of Anyone Driving A 2008-2013 highlander.

Mileage was 58000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH6DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in GREENSBORO, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Nov 24, 2018

Steering Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Henderson, NV
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 10

Vehicle Started Making A Clunking Noise 3 Days Ago. Brought It Into The Dealership To Have It Repaired. Was Informed It Was Not Covered Under Warranty And It Would Cost $507 In Repairs. After Reading Many Complaints About The Same Issue It Actually Is Making Me A Little Concerned.i Have Always Owned toyota

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask