2013 Toyota Highlander Vehicle Speed Control problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Vehicle Speed Control problems and reviews: 29.

Are you driving a 2013 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
South Amboy, NJ
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 10

vehicle Hesitates When Accelerating. Does Not Happen All The Time, When Trying To Get vehicle Up To Highway Speed Will Depress Gas Pedal And Nothing Will Happen For 3-4 Seconds, Then All Of A Sudden vehicle Will Speed Up. This Only Started To Happen After 1300 Miles . Took vehicle To toyota Dealership And Of Course vehicle Ran Fine, Tech. Checked For Any Trouble Codes And None Were Found. Also Since This Started To Happen My Gas Mileage Has Dropped From 18 Miles A Gallon To 15 Miles A Gallon. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SOUTH AMBOY, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

July 08, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Stillwater, OK
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 10

At Totally Random Times, After A Few Miles Of Driving Or 100 Miles, vehicle Hesitates When Accelerating. Most Annoying And Dangerous Is The Way It Doesn’t Respond To The Accelerator For A Few Seconds After Stopping At A Stop Sign Or Stop Light. Took vehicle To toyota Dealership And Of Course vehicle Ran Fine For The 4 Miles They Drove It. Tech Checked For Any Trouble Codes And None Were Found. This Seems Like A Rear-end Accident Waiting To Happen. For Ten Days We Have Gotten Nothing But The Run-around From The National toyota “case Manager”. (at First We Thought This Hesitation Occurred Because The vehicle Was New, But After 8,000 Miles, We Are Still Experiencing The Same Issue.) *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in STILLWATER, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Dec 01, 2012

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Carmel, IN
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

Pulling Into Parking Space – Brakes Applied – Car Lurched Forward (unintended Acceleration) – Brakes Did Not Engage – Car Jumped The Curb, Crossed The Sidewalk And Hit A Tree – Airbag Did Not Deploy. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 24000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EHDS0. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CARMEL, IN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Oct 01, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Renton,, WA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 15

At Totally Random Times, After A Few Miles Of Driving Or From A Slow Speed, vehicle Hesitates When Accelerating. Most Annoying And Dangerous Is The Way It Doesn’t Respond To The Accelerator For A Few Seconds After Stopping At A Stop Sign Or Stop Light Or When Going Slowly As In Entering The Freeway. Took vehicle To toyota Dealership And Of Course vehicle Ran Fine For The Time They Drove It. Tech Checked For Any Trouble Codes And None Were Found. This Problem Seems Like An Accident Waiting To Happen. Have Gotten Nothing But The Run-around And Denial From The National toyota “case Manager”. (at First I Thought This Hesitation Occurred Because The vehicle Was New, But After 5,000 Miles, I Am Still Experiencing The Same Issue At Random Times.) *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 490 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in RENTON,, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 15 mph.

Mar 04, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 35

When Driving The vehicle At 35mph When You Step On The Gas Pedal There’s A Delay On Acceleration Especially When The vehicle Is Going Uphill. It Started When The vehicle Mileage Was At 1250 Miles Its On And Off. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1250 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LOS ANGELES, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Nov 27, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Was Driving 5 Mph And Attempted To Engage The Brakes When The vehicle Violently Lunged Forward And Crashed Into A Support Beam, Then Down An Embankment Before Finally Crashing Into A Tree. A Police Report Was Not Filed And No Injuries Were Reported. The vehicle Was Taken To An Independent Mechanic. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Failure And Current Mileage Was 14,000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH1DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SANTA BARBARA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Jan 08, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 60

vehicle Accelerated Slightly When Brake Was Applied, Cruise On, Speed 60mph, 1 Time. Hesitated On Acceleration After Deceleration, Speed 60 Mph, Cruise Off, 1 Time; Speed 40 Mph, Cruise Off, 2 Times; Speed 35 Mph, Cruise Off, 3 Times. Hesitated On Acceleration After Coasting, Speed 40 Mph, Cruise Off, 4 Times; Speed 43 Mph, Cruise Off, 1 Time, Speed 45 Mph, Cruise Off, 2 Times; Speed 35, Cruise Off, 3 Times. Accelerated By Itself Including Downshift One Gear, Rpm 1725 Changed To 2225 And Accelerated From 60 To 65 Then Returned To 60 Mph After A Few Seconds, Flat Level Roadway, Cruise On, 1 Time. I Have Been A Mechanic Over 45 Years And A Fleet Owner, Once I Experienced The Initial Speed Up I Have Been Keeping A Log Of All Abnormal Behavior Related To This Issue. First Issue At About 3500 Miles, Present Mileage About 6000. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Jan 02, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Orlando, FL
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 1

vehicle Failed To Accelerate From A Stop. It Just Rolled Along, Accelerator Depressed Till About Halfway, Then It Accelerated Rapidly Spinning The Tires, This Has Occured 3 Times. It Has Also Hesitated Badly While Accelerating With No Response To Pedal Position Then Sudden And Unexpected Rapid Acceleration, This Has Occured 5 Times. This Condition Has Become Dramatically Worse Since It Was Serviced For Unexpected Acceleration Problems Where The Dealer Claimed They Could Not Reproduce The Problem. Headlights Are Also Aimed Way Too High Illuminating The Trees Instead Of The Road And Blinding Oncoming Drivers. The Dealer Claims They Cannot Duplicate This Either And That There Is No Problem. The vehicle Was Serviced For These Hazards At 6006 Miles. We Have Stopped Using The Car Since We Feel It Is Unsafe.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 6395 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in ORLANDO, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 1 mph.

Mar 04, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Clinton, MD
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That The vehicle Erroneously Accelerated While The Brake Pedal Was Depressed. The vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where The Failure Could Not Be Diagnosed. The Manufacturer Was Contacted About The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 5,600. The Vin Was Unavailable.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5600 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CLINTON, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 19, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Parker, CO
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 30

I Bought A 2013 toyota highlander In October 2012 And Never Noticed Any Problem Until Early In 2014. When I Try To Accelerate On A Small Incline, The Accelerator Would Not Respond. It Acted As If I Am Not Pressing The Gas Pedal. I Am Not Talking About Going To The Mountains But Just A Small Incline When I Drive Home From Work Everyday. I Took It Into The Dealer In March 2014 And They Responded Same As Other People On This Website, No Errors On The Diagnostic Machine And No Posting From toyota. They Advised Me To Put In Premium Fuel And I Did But That Did Not Make A Difference. Very Disappointing From A toyota With A V6 Engine. The Dealer Also Tries To Say It Is Due To Cvt Transmission. However, I Have A Subaru With Cvt As Well And That Car Can Accelerate Uphill When Needed. I Have Had A toyota Celica, Tercel, And A toyota Truck In My Life And None Had This Type Of Problems. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 1500 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in PARKER, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Jan 20, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Tulsa, OK
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

On Thursday, April 3, 2013. I Stopped At An Intersection And When I Tried To Accelerate There Was No Response. I Thought The Engine Had Died. There Were No Lights On Instrument Panel. I Pressed Accelerator Again And It Jerked And Took Off. I Have Experienced Hesitations Several Times (10-12). I Bought The highlander 2013 In July 2013. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH6DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in TULSA, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Apr 03, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Temple City, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

Tl The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated While Driving 55 Mph The vehicle Suddenly Accelerated. The Contact Was Able To Engage The Brake Pedal And The vehicle Resumed Normal Function. The Contact Also Stated That The Door Hatch Motor Emitted A Loud Clicking Sound When It Was Opened And Closed. The Dealer Replaced The Motor; However, The Failure Was Not Corrected. The Failure Mileage Was 88. The Current Mileage Was 2,500. Rk

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 88 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH3DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in TEMPLE CITY, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 01, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Memphis, TN
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That On Several Occasions, The vehicle Exhibited Unintended Acceleration. Additionally, The vehicle Would Vibrate Excessively When Stationary With The Engine On. The Vibrations Would Cause Ear Pain To The Contact. The vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified And No Solution Was Offered. The Failure Mileage Was 11,000.

1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 11000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH1DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in MEMPHIS, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 15, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Midland, TX
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

As I Was Pulling Into A Parking Space (maybe 5 Miles Per Hour) And Put My Foot On The Brake To Stop, My 2013 toyota highlander Lunged Forward So Hard That It Went Over The Concrete Spacer, A Grass Median, The Curb And Into The Street Beyond The Parking Lot. I Was Able To Brake And Stop The Acceleration, But It Was So Sudden, Fast And Unexpected That I Scraped The Passenger Side On The vehicle Next To Me. A By-stander Commented “i Don’t Know What Happened! All Of A Sudden Your Car Just Raced Away!” I Have Driven For Over 45 Years Without An Accident. I Have Been A Loyal toyota Customer, Buying One For My Son And Daughter As Well As This vehicle And I Thought Whatever Problems toyota Had Were Taken Care Of But Now I Am Afraid To Drive My vehicle. *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 11432 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH4DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in MIDLAND, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

May 01, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Tacoma, WA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While Driving In Reverse Less Than 5 Mph, The vehicle Suddenly And Inadvertently Accelerated Causing Her To Lunge Backward 20 Feet And Crashing Into A Parked vehicle. The vehicle Only Came To A Complete Stop After It Crashed Into A Fence And Garden. The Contact Was Not Injured. A Police Report Was Not Filed. The vehicle Was Towed To An Auto Body Facility. The Dealer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure. The vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Failure Mileage Was 3000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in TACOMA, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

May 11, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Bradford, MA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 35

Driving Uphill,suddenly Lost Speed,had No Gas Pedal,had To Pull To Side Of Road And Then It Came Back.has Happened Dozens Of Times At Different Speeds. The Last Time It Happened I Was Driving 70 Mph In The Center Lane Of I 95 In Pa, Have Not Driven The Car Since I Got Home. toyota Has Told Me It Is Everything From Slight Hesitation To My Imagination. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 350 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):STDBK3EHXD5. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in BRADFORD, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Nov 04, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lenexa, KS
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

On September 12 2014 My Wife Was Pulling Into A Parking Space At Her Doctor’s Office. The Space Include A Stop Curb And It Faced A Four Lane Street. As She Pulled Into The Space, She Braked To Avoid Contacting The Curb And Was About To Shift Into Park When The Car Suddenly Accelerated. The Car Jumped The Parking Curb And Then Another Curb And Entered A Grassy Area (approximately 10 Ft Wide. The Car Continued To Accelerate And Jumped Another Curb And Landed In A 4 Lane Street. She Continued To Apply The Brakes While The Car Continued To Accelerate Across The Street. She Was Headed Toward Another Curb And Grassy Area And A Downhill Slope Followed By A Meineke Repair Business. Not Wanting To Go Down The Hill And Into The Building, She Turned The Car To The Right But Not In Time To Avoid Entering The Second Grassy Area. She Was Now Traveling Parallel To The Meineke Building And Side Swiped Two Small Trees, And Was Headed Toward A Very Busy Rush Hour Street. To Avoid Accelerating Into This Street, She Decided To Try Shifting The Car Into Neutral. She Looked Down To Find The Neutral Gear, And Just As She Looked Up, She Crashed Head-on Into Another Tree. The Air Bags Did Not Deploy But The Seat Belts Saved Her. The Car Was Significantly Damaged To The Drivers Side Front Where She Hit The Tree And To The Side Of The Car Where She Side Swiped The Two Trees. The Meineke Employees Called 911 And A Detective Took Her To Her Doctor’s Office For Treatment. She Injured Her Ribs And Back And Continues To Receive Treatment. I’m Convinced This Is A Software Problem And I Am Attempting To Resolve This With toyota But Hold Out Little Hope. It Needs To Be Fixed Before There Are Additional Injuries Or Loss Of Life. My Wife Could Have Died If The Car Had Made It To The Very Busy Street.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12356 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH5DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LENEXA, KS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:AWD. FUEL SYSTEM:Fuel injection. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Sept 12, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Pleasant Grove, UT
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 5

On Sunday, January 18, 2015 At Approximately 7:50am Mst, After Filling Up The Gas Tank At The Holiday Gas Station On Pleasant Grove Boulevard In Pleasant Grove, Ut, I Began To Pull Away From The Gas Pumps. Before Exiting The Gas Station, And After Moving About 20 Feet At About 5 Mph, The Engine Suddenly Revved Up To Around 4000 Rpm. I Immediately Took My Foot Entirely Off Of The Gas Pedal And Slammed My Foot Down On The Brake, Holding The Brake Down Firmly. Despite Nothing Pressing On The Gas Pedal, And Despite The Brake Pedal Being Very Firmly And Continuously Pressed, The Engine Continued To Cycle At Exactly The Same High Rpm And The vehicle Continue To Move Forward, Straining Against The Brake. I Then Switched The Gear From Drive Into Neutral. The vehicle Stopped Moving, But The Engine Continued To Rev At Exactly The Same Rpm. At This Time, The Engine Was Continuously Revving At Approximately 4000 Rpm, The Car Was Not Moving, The Gear Was Set To Neutral, Nothing Was Pressing On The Gas/accelerator Pedal, And I Was Firmly Pressing On The Brake Pedal. I Then Examined The Driver Footwell To Make Sure That Nothing Could Possibly Be Pressing On The Gas Pedal And Indeed There Were No Obstructions In The Driver Footwell. I Then Took My Foot Off Of The Brake And Pumped The Gas Pedal Several Times But The Engine Did Not Respond In Any Way To This Action ? Rather It Continued To Simply Rev At The Constant High Rpm. I Then Turned Off The Ignition, At Which Time The Engine Stopped And The vehicle Was Entirely Off. I Then Switched The Gear Into Park, And Then Started The Ignition And The vehicle Started Normally. I Proceeded To Switch The Gear Into Drive, And Pressed On The Accelerator And The vehicle Moved Forward As Expected Without Any Unexpected Acceleration. Since Then, The vehicle Has Behaved Normally. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in PLEASANT GROVE, UT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Jan 18, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Manakin Sabot, VA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 10

2013 toyota highlander Hesitates/stalls Occasionally When Driving. Primarily Occurs When Turning Left After Stopping At A Sign/light. The Hesitation Last For 5-10 Seconds. Have Asked Dealership To Look At It 5 Times Since I Purchased The Car In July 2013 But They Have Not Been Able To Duplicate The Problem During Their Test Drives. They Conclude The “vehicle Is Operating As Designed.” *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 335 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH6DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in MANAKIN SABOT, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

July 08, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Cleveland, OH
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 20

Every Time I Switch From Brake To Gas Pedal Quickly, The Car Looses Power As If To Stall. Then It Regains Power And Accelerates. It Also Happens If I Am On The Highway And Touch The Brake Pedal Before Attempting To Pass And Then I Can’t Get Power To Pass For A Couple Seconds. Very Scary And Dangerous I Think. The Dealer Explained To Me That toyota Had Made A Change To Make The Computer In Charge Of Deciding If One Could Accelerate Or Not Rather Than A Direct Link From The Gas Pedal To The Carburetor. The Condition Is Unnerving And I Believe Potentially Dangerous As I Have Almost Been In Accidents When I Try To Accelerate And The Car Won’t Respond Until It Is Ready To Allow It. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 10 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CLEVELAND, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:AWD. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 30, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Concord, MA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. While At A Stop, The Accelerator Pedal Was Depressed And The vehicle Hesitated Before Accelerating. The Failure Recurred On Numerous Occasions. The vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer, Who Was Unable To Diagnose Or Repair The vehicle. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 10,000. Updated 1/12/16 *cn

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EHXDS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in CONCORD, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 26, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Kankakee, IL
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That The vehicle Hesitated When Accelerating From A Stop Or A Break Without Warning. The Failure Recurred Several Times And, Each Time, The Contact Had To Pump The Accelerator Pedal Up To Three Times In Order To Accelerate. The vehicle Was Taken To A Local Dealer Who Diagnosed That One Of The Computer Modules That Regulated Acceleration Was Faulty. The Dealer Could Not Determine Which Of The Modules Was Faulty; Therefore, The vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure And Issued A Case Number To Take To The Dealer. The Failure Mileage Was 17,000.

Mileage was 17000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in KANKAKEE, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 06, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Lake Zurich, IL
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 65

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. While Driving Approximately 65 Mph, The Cruise Control Was Engaged And The Rpms Increased Rapidly To 5,000 For A Brief Moment And Then Resumed Normally. The Failure Occurred When Driving Up An Incline And Also Without The Cruise Control Activated. The vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer, Who Was Unable To Duplicate The Failure. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 8,000. The Vin Was Unavailable.

Mileage was 8000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in LAKE ZURICH, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

July 16, 2014

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Greenville, MS
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That The vehicle Experienced Unintended Acceleration While Starting The vehicle. The Failure Occurred Without Warning. The vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer, But Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Issue. The Failure Occurred Approximately Three Times. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 33,000. The Vin Was Not Provided.

Mileage was 33000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH2DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in GREENVILLE, MS. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 03, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Spanaway, WA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

From Stop (at Traffic Light, Merging, Etc), Press On Gas Pedal For Acceleration And vehicle Does Not Go, Hesitates, Then Does Accelerate. This Has Happened Multiple Times, Intermittently, And Has Been Reported To Titus Will toyota Dealership. Since They Have Not Duplicated It, Problem Continues Intermittently. Never Know When This Will Occur. It Is Very Disconcerting And Dangerous. This vehicle Has A Lot Of “computer” Glitches With Gps Mapping, Bluetooth, Auto Lights, Etc. Maybe Related?

Mileage was 16000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH8DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SPANAWAY, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 26, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Jefferson City, MO
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

Periodically Hesitates When Accelerating – Doesn’t Move, Doesn’t Accelerate – Nothing – Almost Like Car Not Running. Does It From Stopped Position Or While Moving. Happened Twice Yesterday, After Being Stopped At Red Light And When Turning Across Lane Of Traffic (city Street). Has Done It When Passing On Interstate – Never Know When It Will Happen. It’s Scary And By The Time It Kicks In, Traffic Is Fast Approaching. Worry That One Day It Will Not Engage And I Will Get Hit. Doesn’t Matter If Hot Or Cold, Wet Or Dry, Driving Short Time Or Long Time. Definitely An Accident (and Death) Waiting To Happen. Dealership Said They Have Not Heard Complaint Before And Can’t Fix It Unless Code Appears. Find That Hard To Believe Since Owner’s Wife Drove It. Sent Complaint To toyota With Copies Of Similar Complaints Found Posted Online. Wonder If It Is Related To Transmission Because I Can Sometimes Feel Brief Changes In Rpm (outside Of Hesitation Issue). Please Help!

Mileage was 33993 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDK3EH9DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in JEFFERSON CITY, MO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 16, 2015

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Shaver Lake, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

Letter From Constituent Regarding The Issue Of Unintended Acceleration In toyota And Lexus vehicles. *smd 2013 toyota highlander. The Consumer Stated As She Was About To Put The vehicle In Reverse To Reposition The vehicle, It Suddenly Lurched Forward With The Engine Racing . It Was If The Accelerator Was Floored. Within A Couple Of Seconds The vehicle Jumped Over The Cement Parking Block And Into A Pole. The vehicle Had Significant Damage Between $13,000 And $15,000. The Consumer Was Informed The Carpet Floor Mat Was Found To Be Unattached. *jb

Vehicle was involved in a crash. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in SHAVER LAKE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 02, 2016

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
North Myrtle Beach, SC
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2013 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While Stopped At A Traffic Light And Depressing The Accelerator Pedal, The vehicle Began To Lose Power Without Warning. The Failure Was Persistent. The vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer Where The Failure Could Not Be Determined. The vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 10…..updated 07/05/16 *bf *cn

Mileage was 10 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZK3EH7DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in NORTH MYRTLE BEACH, SC. Original Owner. Vehicle was using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was using Cruise Control.Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 drive type:FWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. DEALER’S NAME: SPARKS TOYOTA . DEALER’S TELEPHONE NUMBER: 843-236-2161 . DEALER’S CITY: MYRTLE BEACH . DEALER’S STATE CODE: SC. DEALER’S ZIPCODE: 29579 .

May 10, 2013

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2013
Toyota
Location
Palos Verdes Estates, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 0

On Multiple Occasions Since Purchasing My 2014 toyota highlander Limited The Car Lurches Forward While My Foot Is Firmly Pressed On The Brake. On Two Occasions I Could Not Stop The Lurching Of The vehicle Without Standing Up With Both Feet On The Brake Pedal Having Hit The Car In Front Of Me While My Car Continued To Push Them Again While Applying Both Feet On The Brake Pedal. I Was Not In Control Of The vehicle As If Something Was Pressing The Gas Pedal While I Was Stopped. In Both Of These Accidents Situations I Had Progressed Forward Stopping And Starting. Once In A Drive Thru And The Second Time In Line Leaving A Shopping Center. It Is As If The Car Wants To Keep Going Forward After Multiple Stops And Starts.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYK3EH0DS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2013 problem was reported in PALOS VERDES ESTATES, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 26, 2017

2013 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2013 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask