2014 Toyota Highlander Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Electrical System problems and reviews: 18.

Are you driving a 2014 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Auburn, NY
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 25

Our 2014 toyota highlander Limited Was Purchased New With 18 Miles On February 25, 2014. On March 7, 2014 While Driving On City Streets Another Driver Failed To Stop At A Red Light So I Pressed The Horn To Alert The Driver While I Swerved Out Of His Path. The Horn Did Not Work So The Driver Was Not Alerted And Continued In Their Direction Of Travel. My Need To Swerve Would Have Been Avoided If The Other Driver Was Paying Attention And I Was Able To Alert Him With My Horn. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH5ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in AUBURN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Mar 07, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Eatontown, NJ
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 40

To Select An Option On The Map Mode Screen (turn List, Free-way Exit List ,inter-section Screen Or The Turn-by-turn Screen) Vehicle Has To In Motion. Driver Has To Take Eyes Off Road And Focus On The Screen And Then Find The Option He Wants And Then Select It. All This While Vehicle Is In Motion. Unsafe At Any Speed. A Software Upgrade Can Fix This So Vehicle Doesn’t Need To Be In Motion. Notified toyota Case # [xxx] 8/3/2014. Information Redacted Pursuant To The Freedom Of Information Act (foia), 5 U.s.c. 552(b)(6). *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDZN3EU4C3. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in EATONTOWN, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Aug 04, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Green Brook, NJ
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Automatic/power Liftgate Does Not Close All The Way. Starts – Then Stops Half To 90% Closed. Requires Manually Lowering To Close. Happens 75% Of The Time. toyota Dealer Reluctantly Acknowledged A Service Bulletin And Says They Will Replace Motor But It Took Some Pushing To Get Past The Service Desk And Tech Who Say, “we Couldn’t Find Anything Wrong”. I Said Not Good Enough Answer And, Lo And Behold, The Senior Csr Looked It Up Online And Confirmed The Malfunction Is Not Uncommon And Immediately Offered To Replace The Power Liftgate Motor.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH9XX. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in GREEN BROOK, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 18, 2014

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Seattle, WA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 30

Vehicle Shut Off During Driving, Causing All electrical Systems To Fail Including The Electronic Steering, Which Since Vehicle Also Turned Off, Caused The Steering Column To Lock Up. Since The Problem Occurred At Speed And Infact While Making A Turn, A Near Collision Occured. The Problem Occured Multiple Times In Succession And Was Also Intermittent With Much Time Elapsing Between Episodes. Two Other Types Of Related Occurrences During This Timeframe Were The (1) Vehicle Also Cycling Off And On And (2) Would Also Turn On Itself If The Key Was In The Vicinity Of The Vehicle. toyota Of Seattle Experienced The Issues When The Vehicle Was Brought In And Diagnosed The Issue To Be A Loose Bolted Connection Of The Negative electrical Wire From The Battery To The Frame Of The Vehicle. Though The Vehicle Has Experienced Similar Issues Since Tightening Of The Negative Wire Bolts. Ongoing Issues Include The electrical System Cycling Off And On While Driving Including The Navigation And Front Console Display. The Vehicle Was Bought In September 2014 And Had Less Than 25k Miles As Of April 2016. On Two Prior Instances electrical Issues Were Identified And Documented To toyota Of Seattle And The Vehicle Was Kept For Testing. The First electrical Issue Occured With The Adaptive Cruise Control Failing And Thereby Requiring Passenger Intervention To Avoid Collision. This Cruise Control Failure First Seemed To Occur In December 2015. toyota Of Seattle Did Not Find Any Fault And Sent Me Away. The Second Prior electrical Issue Of The Battery Prematurely Failing Occurred In March 2016. The Readings Indicated Some Odd Draws. toyota Of Seattle Replaced The Battery And Sent Me Away Without Addressing The Odd Draws. The Vehicle’s Safety Remains Suspect With Ongoing electrical Cycling Off And On While Driving.

Mileage was 24000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH0ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in SEATTLE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

May 16, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Martin, TN
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

My Navigation System Stop Working On City, And Highways While Driving. It Is Getting Worse .i Live In Martin Tn. While Driving To, And In Memphis Tn It Stop Over Ten Time ,and On The Way Back At Least Nine Times. We Was Relieving On It But Failed. When We Needed It The Most.

Mileage was 36700 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in MARTIN, TN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 01, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
North Potomac, MD
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Stationary Vehicle. Power Rear Lift Gate Will Open Or Close On Demand Only Sporadically. It May Begin To Open Or Close And Move Just Several Inches, Or Perhaps A Foot. It Thus Requires The Operator To Manually Open Or Close The Gate Which Is Very Difficult To Accomplish Especially For Smaller Or Elderly People As The Resistance Is Severe, Requiring An Enormous Amount Of Effort And Risk Of Injury. This Is An Ongoing Problem And Occurs Continuously.

Mileage was 39000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH5ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in NORTH POTOMAC, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 10, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Nine Mile Falls, WA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 60

The Entune Radio Has A Bug That Causes It To Reboot Randomly. I Have Had It Happen While Driving And Relying On The Navigation System For Directions In Heavy Traffic. It Is Annoying, Distracting And Very Unsafe. I Have Investigated The Issue And It Appears That Reloading Or New Firmware Does Not Work Which Is What toyota Recommends. Refer To This Link For Other People’s Complaints. Http://www.landerfan.com/archives/entune-navigation-freeze-crash-reboot-followup/

Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH6ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in NINE MILE FALLS, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

June 05, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Renton, WA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

I Have Three Issues With The Electronics In My 2014 highlander Starting In June 2017 (right After My Warrantee Expired): 1. The Electronic Liftgate Is Non-functional. When Opening, It Takes Multiple (5-10) Attempts To Get It To Open All The Way Up. Same With Closing The Liftgate. Vehicle Is Stationary. 2. The Electric Passenger Window Will Not Close All The Way Until You Try To Close It Multiple (5-10) Times. It Goes Up About 3/4 Of The Way, Then Opens Again. I Found That It Works Quicker, After 2-3 Times If The Engine Is Shut Off. Vehicle Can Be Stationary Or Moving. 3. The Bluetooth Connecting My Android Phone Stays Connected For About 2 Weeks And Then I Have To Initialize It Again To Make It Work. Vehicle Can Be Stationary Or Moving.

Mileage was 28000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDGKRFH2ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in RENTON, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 01, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Andover, MA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Liftgate Getting Stuck In The Open Position Making It A Hazard To Drive, Not Knowing When It Will Open Or Close Properly. Power Windows Barely Close- Reported To toyota But Claimed It Was Not An Issue.

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH4ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in ANDOVER, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 09, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Anchorage, AK
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Every Single Door Lock Actuator Has Failed In The Vehicle Causing Remote Locking And Unlocking To Not Work. Doors, After Failing, Required To Be Manually Locked Or Unlocked. The Driver Front And Rear Failed About 39 Months After Owning The Vehicle, Then 3 Months Later The Right Rear One Failed, And Now The Fourth And Final One Has Failed.

Mileage was 48000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):WITHIN ABOU. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in ANCHORAGE, AK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 23, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Pottersville, NJ
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 40

Gps/radio Often Turns Off While Driving. Screen Completely Goes Blank And Keeps Trying To Reset Itself. Voice Commands Often Don’t Work While Driving Or Stationary. Blue Tooth Often Doesn’t Connect While Driving Or Stationary. Tailgate Often Doesn’t Close And Takes Multiple Tries To Get To Working Again When Stationary. Spongy/broken Spring Sound Coming From The Rear Of The Car As I Drove Over Uneven Road. Rear Left Tail Light Always Foggy And Contains Moisture Even After Replacing It. Chirping Sound Coming From Right Side Of Car When Driving On Highway On Windy Days. Wheel And Car Shaking While Driving On Highway At Speed Over 60 Mph.

Mileage was 50000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH5ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in POTTERSVILLE, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Jan 01, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Sallisaw, OK
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

The Door Actuators Keep Going Out. The First Time It Was The Two Back And Passenger Front. I Had It Fixed And Less Than A Year Later The Two Back Doors Went Out Again. The Dealers Ship Wants Approximately 400.00 Per Door To Correct.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH3ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in SALLISAW, OK. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 02, 2018

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Bossier City, LA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 30

While Driving In Houston Tx. Using The Nav System The Screen Went Blank. In Heavy Traffic During Rush Hour About 5 Pm. I Acutally Missed My Turn And Had To Pull Into A Parking Lot. Shut The Car Off And Re Started It. Screen Blanked Out Again While Parked. I Had To Resort To My Cell Phone. I”m New To The Area. toyota Tells Me This Is A Common Problem With Its Softwear. I Feel This Should Have Been A Recall. This Could Have Caused An Accident. It Was Very Disturbing While Looking For Directions And The Screen Goes Blank.

Mileage was 40000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYKRFH3ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in BOSSIER CITY, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Aug 04, 2018

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Irving, TX
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 55

The Rear Trunk Door Of My toyota highlander Is Not Functioning As Expected. The Motors That Power The Actuators Of The Trunk Door Are Not Working And We Have To Manually Open And Close The Trunk Door. Sometimes We Do Not Realize If The Trunk Is Closed Or Not Which Creates A Significant Safety Concern. toyota Was Having Similar Problems In The 2008 To 2013 highlander Models But The Same Issue Still Persists In The 2014 Models Also. I Took The Vehicle To The Dealership At Irving, Tx And They Advised Me That The Motor Powering The Actuators Will Need To Be Replaced And toyota Covers It As Part Of Warranty. Since The Vehicle’s Factory Warranty Expired In This Year They Advised Me That I Will Have To Bear The Cost Of Repair And Parts.

Mileage was 65000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBKRFH4ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in IRVING, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Aug 01, 2018

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Morgan Hill, CA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

The Power Lift Gate Actuators Only Worked Intermittently And Caused Us To Close/open By Hand. This Occurred While Parked. This Eventually Lead To A Leak In The Driver Side Actuator. A Review Of The Nhtsa Website Showed That Of The 54 Complaints Listed 14 Concerned The Power Lift Gates. That Is About 25%. I Had To Have The Dealer Replace Both And They Said There Was Not A Recall. They Suggested I Call toyota Directly. toyota Rep Said They Could Not Reimburse Me After The Repair Was Complete. No Suggestion As To Replacing My Car While It Waited In Shop For Action From toyota. However toyota Did Pay For Half Of The Repair ($1000) And Stated That If A Recall Occurred At A Later Date We Could Revisit The Cost Of The Other Actuator. Since There Are So Many Complaints Re This Problem I Hope This Notification Might Lead To Other Documentation Of Similar Issues And Maybe A Recall. At This Time I Would Also Like To Add My Complaint Re The Radio/entune System Going Black And Then Turning Back On, This Seems To Be The Most Frequent Complaint.

Mileage was 53017 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKRFH6ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in MORGAN HILL, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 11, 2018

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Bluetooth Stopped Working. When My Phone Would Be Plugged In, The Car Will Randomly Disconnect From Itself From The Phone. Touchscreen Would Zap In And Out Until It Would Finally Shut Off. Got Suspended From Work For Two Weeks Because My Car Would Not Start (i Had No Other Transportation To Get To Work). Took Car To Dealer And They Found Nothing Wrong With Battery. It Has To Be Something With The Software.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYKRFH4ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in LAS VEGAS, NV. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 06, 2018

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Webster, NY
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed 50

toyota Entune System , Constantly Shut Down And Reboot While Driving, Losing Bluetooth Connection, Radio, Navigation

Mileage was 25000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in WEBSTER, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Nov 02, 2018

Electrical System Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Woodstock, GA
Model Highlander
System Electrical System
Speed

Door Actuators Failed In All 4 Doors 3 Years After Purchase And Just After Warranty Was Over.

Mileage was 39000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in WOODSTOCK, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 08, 2017

2014 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2014 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask