2014 Toyota Highlander Structure Body problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Structure Body problems and reviews: 9.

Are you driving a 2014 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Structure Body problems and defects.

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Tarzana, CA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 65

When Driving On The Fwy, Intermittently Depending On The Wind Or How The Door Was Shut For The Rubber Seal To Make A Solid Connection, There Is Significant Wind Noise That Breaches The Seal And Makes Excessive Noise. This Is Most Noticeable In The Drivers Side And Is Where I Measured For Sound Levels. The Closer I Bring The Meter To The Window By The Side Mirror Then More Noise Is Recorded. Sometimes It Doesn’t Happen At All, Even At 70mph. Other Times, And Often It There Is A Wind Noise Coming Into The Cabin. With toyota‘s Claim For It Being Such A Quiet Cabin, This Noise Is Not Right. I Test Drove With The Tech Manager At My Dealer And He Too Noted The Problem. He Ordered A New Door Seal. There Is Nothing Wrong With The Door Seal, And I Didn’t Have It Installed. However There Was A Window Frame Black Plastic Panel That Wasn’t Properly Seated, And This Was Replaced. Not Sure If It Fixed The Problem, As Its Too Early To Tell. There Is A Large Number Of Report From Other Owners Online With This Issue. So Far I Know Of One Owner Who Returned The Car Due To This Excessive Wind Noise. *tr

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 2000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in TARZANA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

May 14, 2014

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Roseville, CA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed

Rear Door Hatch Stalls Upon Opening And Closing. Frequently Reported Problem On toyota Websites. When Door Switch Is Activated Either At The Door, Remote Fob Or Dash Switch, The Door Opens A Few Inches Then Stops. Pressing Again Moves It Back Then Stops. You Must Manually Open Or Close The Door. Not Certain The Door Locks Completely When Closing. Ongoing Issue Since July 2014

Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH0ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in ROSEVILLE, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 01, 2014

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Spokane, WA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

The Rear Power Door, First Was Sporatic, Would Open Half Way Then Stop, Then You Have To Push The Door Open Against The Motors, Then, Sometimes It Will Close, But Most Time In The Rain, You Have To Jump Up And Pull Down The Door, Again Against The Motors, They Resist Quite Alot, Now The Door, Opens 2 Inchs And Stops And I Can’t Get It To Open More, Told toyota, Well, We Have One Guy That Works On That, And It Has To Do It In Front Of Him, Shouldn’t A Complaint About A Door Not Opening Be Safety Related, Its A Door, It Won’t Open And Pushing Against Motors Is Very Unwanted For A Disabled Person, The Last 2 Weeks, Every Time I Go To Store It Won’t Work, And I Have My Hands Full With Grocery’s, I Have Had To Use Side Doors, To Get Things Out When It Won’t Open, Took It Back For The Third Time To toyota And Dealership Person Said, I Was Rude, Saying Bs The Door Wouldn’t Open, So Far, It Does Not Open And toyota Has Not Offered A Fix, And I Need To Go On A Trip, Looks Like A Car Rental, Rather Than Take A Chance My Door Won’t Open In The Rain…….its A Back Door To A Car, It Should Open At All Times, And No Motor Should Be Stoping It, And I Was Told They Know About It, But Again, The One Person In Building Has To See It……..wow, Biggest Car Company In The World And I Have To Post This, 4 Vechiles With Them And Rethinking It Now, The Horrible Jbl Stereo, Is Another Post…..but Shouldn’t A Door Open At All Times, It Does Not At The Moment Of Writing This, Last Night It Did Not Close All The Way, And The Wind Caused The Alarm To Go Off This Morning…the Very Motors, That Should Close It Did Not Work, Again, It Was 1/2 Inch, Open This Time….and It Was Raining All Night.

Mileage was 12100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH5ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in SPOKANE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Mar 09, 2016

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Carrollton, VA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

After Numerous Electric Issues With My 2014 highlander Now The Rear Electric Lift Gate Cylinders Are Bad. Took It To My Local toyota Dealer This Am And For $1550 They Will Replace Them With A Technical Service Bulletin Updated Part Number And Cylinder. As I Have Read I’m Not The Only Person Having This Problem And If They Have An Updated New Cylinder Why Don’t They The Right Thing And Replace The Bad Design….uhgg I Want My Old Chevrolet Back….

Mileage was 55000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFHXES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in CARROLLTON, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

July 03, 2017

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Concord, CA
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed

Chrome Grill Is Bubbling And Looks Like It’s Getting Ready To Peel. My Car Has Always Been Garaged And Taken Care Of Since I Bought It Brand New.. This Is A Defect That Will Definitely Lower The Value Of My Car. My Husband Noticed This Issue Just Recently When I Was Pulling Into The Garage.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH3ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in CONCORD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 01, 2017

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Rosemount, MN
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

Power Lift Gate Will Not Open Or Close And Lock When The Outdoor Temperature Is Below 32 Degrees F. Vehicle Is Stationary And Cold As Stated.

Mileage was 50200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH7ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in ROSEMOUNT, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 20, 2017

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Galesburg, MI
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

Lift Gate Will Not Open Or Close In Cold Temperatures. We Have Taken It To Our Local Dealer In Battle Creek, Michigan Several Times But The Issue Has Not Been Resolved. Each Time The Problem Has Occurred The Vehicle Was Parked. We Do Not Wish To Injure Ourselves Trying To Open Our Back Door. This Vehicle Is Used In Our Delivery Business And It Is Necessary To Frequently Use Our Back Door.

Mileage was 75770 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDCRFH7ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in GALESBURG, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Jan 04, 2018

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Hopewell Jct, NY
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 40

I Was T Boned On Passenger Side, Side Impact Air Bag Did Not Deploy. I Was Pushed Into Oncoming Traffic, Front Airbags Did Not Deploy In Head On Collision. Seat Belt Did Not Tighten- I Initially Hit Drivers Side Window, When T-boned, Then With Front Impact Hit Steering Wheel, Roof And Center Console. *tt *tr

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 47000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH8ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in HOPEWELL JCT, NY. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 drive type:AWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Apr 13, 2018

Structure Body Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Christiansted, VI
Model Highlander
System Structure Body
Speed 0

Lift Gate Get Stuck In The Open Position. I Live In The Virgin Islands, So It’s Not Due To Cold Temps. Sometime It Take 10 Tried To Close The Gate. It Has Been Happening More Time Lately, So I Try Not To Use The Gate. Putting It In A Turning Off The Switch In The Glove Compartment Does Not Help.

Mileage was 15586 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH6ES. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2014 problem was reported in CHRISTIANSTED, VI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 06, 2018

2014 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2014 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Structure Body problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask