2014 Toyota Prius Unknown Or Other problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 20, 2016.

Toyota Prius Unknown Or Other problems and reviews: 5.

Are you driving a 2014 Toyota PRIUS, or planning to buy one? Review reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Mount Washington, KY
Model Prius
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

Shortly After Purchasing My 2014 toyota prius In June 2014, I Started Noticing A Moldy Smell Coming From The Air Conditioner. The Hotter Outside It Got, The Worse The Smell Inside Got. I Took The Car To The Dealer To Discuss The Problem With Them. They Informed Me That toyota Says This Is An “environmental Issue” And Can Happen In New Cars And Is Therefore Not Warrantied. The Service Manager Installed A Charcoal Air Filter In The Cabin Air Filter And Said That It Would Help Eliminate The Odor. It Did Not. In Fact, The Charcoal Air Filter Reduced The Air Flow Into The Cabin Which Caused The Ac To Not Cool. I Had The Service Department Replace The Charcoal With An Original Air Filter In September After Complaining That The Ac Wasn’t Cool. The Smell In The Ac Persists. It’s Not Just A Bit When The Car Is Turned On. No Matter What Setting I Put The Ac On, It Does Not Help (fresh Air Or Recirc). When It Rains Or When It Is Really Humid Outside, The Car Smells Like A Swamp (even Before It Is Turned On). There Is Also Humidity Inside The Car When Opening The Door. I’ve Asked Multiple Times To Have The Evaporator Replaced Because I Fear That It Is Not Draining And Causing Mold And Mildew To Form. Breathing In The Mold Is A Serious Health Concern And toyota Will Not Agree To Any Kind Of Fix. I’m Also Having Other Various Hvac Problems Such As Continuously Fogging Windows And A Draft From The Drivers Side Door. The Car Does Not Hold Heat And Is Very Cold During The Winter Months.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU7E1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2014 problem was reported in MOUNT WASHINGTON, KY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 01, 2014

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Charlotte, NC
Model Prius
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 0

Musty Smell In Vehicle, Sick W/ Respiratory Symptoms, Including Distress After Using Air Conditioning Or Heating System Or Defrosters. I Brought My Car To Dealer For 5000 Mile Service And Manager Told Me The “there Is Mold Inside The Air Conditioner And Heating And All Vented Air System. This Is The Way The New Design Is, The Air System Is Closed Off And The Moisture Lays In There Growing Mold.” He Said “you Have To Open The Windows, If You Are Sensitive, Or Have It Cleaned Every Week To Keep The Smell Out.” He Said ” That Is A Charge Not Covered By Your Lease, I’ll Take The Dash Off And Put A New Filter And Flush The Air Handling System Out For You, This Time. It Usually Cost Over $250.dollars. You Can Do It Yourself By Spraying A Whole Can Of Lysol Behind The Cabin Filter Every Week”. Mold Is Known To Be Deadly And This Should Not Be An Allowed Design. I Have Sought Medical Attention For This Problem And Now Referred To A Pulmonologist For Special Test. I Definitely Would Not Have Obtained This Car If The Dealer Had Disclosed This Known Problem. Bad.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 5100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU3E0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2014 problem was reported in CHARLOTTE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Dec 06, 2014

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Seminole, FL
Model Prius
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

I Frequently Get A Musty Smell Out Of My Vents That I Have Noticed From Time Of Taking Ownership. I Was Told At That Time toyota Was Aware Of It And The Solution Was To Take The System Out Of Recirculate A Few Miles From Home Allowing Outside Fresher Air In To Remove The Apparent Moisture Buildup. I Tried To Leave The System In The Fresh Air Mode Most Of The Time, But Still Experience This Smell/odor. At My 10k Service I Brought This Up Again And Was Offered A ‘goodwill’ System Cleaning And A Charcoal Filter. The Mechanic Performed The Procedure (although I Am Not Sure If It Was For The Recommended Time Frame, Dash-cam Inside Vehicle Caught The Whole 10k Service) The Smell Is Still There And Sometimes Even Overwhelmingly Bad.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 12 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU5E1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2014 problem was reported in SEMINOLE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 25, 2014

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Concord, CA
Model Prius
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

Cars Av Smells Like Mold Av Condenser Clogged Smell Get Worse As Time Goes On Car Is Unbearable To Drive Now

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 300 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKN3DU2E0. TOYOTA PRIUS 2014 problem was reported in CONCORD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 12, 2014

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2014
Toyota
Location
Highland, CA
Model Prius
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 55

Within The Last Six Months, And About Four Times, I Had Experienced Rough/high Idling During Hot Days And After Driving Over 80 Miles; Using Air Conditioning. (i Work Over 70 Miles From Home.) I Decided To Take The Car To The toyota Of Redlands Dealership On August 4, 2015, Because The Car Was Displaying The Same Conditions. While On The Way To The Dealership, And On The Freeway, The Car Began To Idle Heavily. I Merged To Exit The Freeway And While On The Off Ramp, Stopped, The Car Completely Shut Off. The Display Read “check Hybrid Engine. Stop Park The Car Safely.” I Was Able To Restart The Vehicle To Move From Off-ramp Traffic And Park It. The Message On Display Was Still There. I Shut Off The Car And Called The Dealership. They Recommended I Have The Car Towed To Them. When Tow Truck Arrived, I Turned On The Car To Position It For The Towing Bed. The Message No Longer Displayed . The Car Stayed With Dealership All Day On August 5, 2015. According To The Dealership, The Display Showed No Message And There Is No Code To Indicate A Malfunction Occurred. They Were Not Able To Diagnose The Problem. I Am Keeping The Vehicle At The Dealership On August 6, 2015, For Further Evaluation. My Concern Is Two-fold: 1. My Safety, 2. If The System Displayed A Message, Why Does The System Not Produce A Code For The Technicians As A Non-hybrid Car Would? This Itself Presents A Serious Issue.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 53101 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTDKDTB39E1. TOYOTA PRIUS 2014 problem was reported in HIGHLAND, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Aug 04, 2015

2014 Toyota Prius problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Prius, driving a 2014 Toyota Prius, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask