2015 Toyota Highlander Steering problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Steering problems and reviews: 16.

Are you driving a 2015 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Steering problems and defects.

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Mercer Island, WA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 0

I Received A Recall Notice In The Mail On May 12 About A Possible Defective Circuit Board For The Electric Power Steering. I Took The Car To A toyota Dealer On May 13, And Was Told Later That Day That My Car Did Indeed Have One Of The Units Deemed Defective. I Was Given A Loaner Car At No Charge. Everything Seemed Ok, But Now It Is 10 Days Later, And No Replacement Part Has Arrived. Not Only That But Both The Dealer And The National Customer Service Number Are Completely Unable To Predict When Any Replacement Parts Will Be Available. Is There Any Way To Make toyota More Responsive? Is There Any Way To Get toyota To Put More Pressure On The Manufacturer Of The Circuit Board In Question? What Constitutes A “reasonable Time” For toyota To Remedy This Defect?

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 4700 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDCRFHXFS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in MERCER ISLAND, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 13, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Chula Vista, CA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

A Safety Recall On A Possible Defective Circuit Board For The Electric Power Steering, I Was Told That There Is No Parts Available To Replace The Defective Parts And They Don’t Even Know When Is The Parts Will Be Available.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKRFH5FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in CHULA VISTA, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 23, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Colorado Springs, CO
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2015 toyota highlander. The Contact Received Notification Of Nhtsa Campaign Number: 15v144000(steering) However, The Part To Do The Repair Was Unavailable. The Contact Stated That The Manufacturer Exceeded A Reasonable Amount Of Time For The Recall Repair. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Issue. The Contact Had Not Experienced A Failure.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH8FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in COLORADO SPRINGS, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 14, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Raleigh, NC
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 0

I Took My 2015 toyota highlander To Fred Anderson toyota In Raleigh For A Recall On The Ciruit Board For The Electric Power Steering. They Found That My Car Contained The Defecctive Part And Were Unable To Provide Me An Eta On The Replacement Part. The Dealershiip Provided A Camry Rental Car, Not A Comparable Vehicle. The Entire Reason I Purchased The highlander Was Becuase My Family Need A Large Suv. I Traded In A Car For An Suv And Have Received A Car Back From Them. I Have Left Messages For The Rental Car Manager And He Has Not Returned My Calls. The Service Department Indicates Thatt Several highlanders Have Been Waiting For This Part For Over A Month Now, Which Is Unacceptable. It Could Be Over A Month Before I Get My Brand New Vehicle Back (no One Can Tell Me), And I’m Stuck With A Vehicle That Does Not Meet My Families Daily Needs. I Called toyota Corporate And They Have Offered No Further Assistance.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 6000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKRFH4FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in RALEIGH, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

May 29, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Marenisco, MI
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

I Received My Recall Letter For The Eps Ecu Unit 5/13. Inspection Would Take 1.5 Hours, Replacement 2.5 Hours Or Longer Depending On The Dealer’s Work Schedule. The First Available Appt At The Dealership Was 5/20. On 5/20 I Drove To The Dealership For A Morning Appointment And It Was Confirmed That My Vehicle Had The Problem. I Was Told They Had To Order The Part, Would Keep My Vehicle And They Would Provide A Loaner. I Called The Dealership On 5/27 For An Update. Was Told The Part Did Not Arrive But It Was Expected The Next Day. They Would Call With An Update On 5/28. No Call From The Dealership On 5/28 So I Called The toyota Customer Experience Center (cec) And Was Given A Case Number. On 6/1, I Called The Dealership And Was Told The Part Still Had Not Arrived But Had Been Shipped. I Called My Cec Rep And Complained About The Delay. I Was Informed That The Repair Parts Have Been On Back Order Since Last Month And They Are Scheduled To Begin Arriving Sometime During The Month Of June. I Asked For An Explanation Of The Information Disconnect Between The Letter, toyota Corporate And The Dealership On The Part Availability For This Recall . I Also Asked What toyota‘s Definition Of A Reasonable Amount Of Time Was For Addressing This Recall And My Rep Was Unable To Provide An Answer Suggesting That The Time Varied By State. Day 13 Has Passed And Neither My Dealership Nor toyota Seem Have A Clue When This Will Be Resolved. In Addition, Both The Dealership And toyota Were Informed During Our Inital Conversations That I Have A Cross-country Relocation Scheduled For 6/8. My Rep Said She Would Call Me On June 4 To See How Things Are Progressing. We Were Led To Believe In The Recall Letter This Was Less Than A One Day Project When Indeed There Is And Has Been A Serious Supply Chain Problem. Honesty From toyota On Day One Would Have Been Nice.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH4FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in MARENISCO, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 20, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Baltimore, MD
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2015 toyota highlander. The Contact Stated That While At A Stop Light, The Steering Wheel Seized And Became Difficult To Maneuver When Making A Right Or Left Turn. The Eps Warning Light Illuminated. The Failure Recurred Numerous Times. The Vehicle Was Taken To A Dealer But Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 38,040.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 38040 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH4FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in BALTIMORE, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 29, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Vancouver, WA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 0

Received Recall Notice. Scheduled Service On Vehicle For Saturday The 22nd Of September 2015, 0930. Documentation Indicated The Recall Would Take A Total Of Approximately 4 Hours To Complete. Recall Was For Eps Ecu, Urgent Safety Recall. At About 1445, Received Call From Dealer That They Would Have To Order The Part And My Vehicle Would Not Be Ready Until The Part Was In On Tuesday The 25th And Repairs Completed. Why Did They Not Have The Part On Hand At The Dealer If This Was An Urgent Recall? Called toyota, Ref # 1508221403 And They Indicated They Only Send The Part When The Vehicle Has Been Identified As Needing The Repair. This Is Not “within A Reasonable Time” For An Urgent Safety Recall.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 9784 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH0FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in VANCOUVER, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Aug 22, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Lexington, SC
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 40

While Driving On A City Street, The Steering Became Extremely Difficult As If Power Steering Shut Down. “eps Failure, Steering Wheel Harder To Turn” Warning Appeared On The Dash Cluster. We Pulled Over, Turned Off The Vehicle, Then Turned It Back On — The Warning Disappeared And Steering Was Normal Again. Our highlander Was Manufactured In 3/15. My Vin Was Not In The Recall For Nhtsa Campaign Number: 15v144000. toyota Replaced The Steering Computer Under Warranty, At No Charge. I’m Writing To Suggest The Extent Of Condition Needs To Be Expanded To Include Additional Vehicles.

Mileage was 14638 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYKRFH3FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in LEXINGTON, SC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 40 mph.

Dec 14, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Crozet, VA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 0

Two Or Three Times Now, While Paused In Traffic, I Look At The Radio Instrument Panel And It Has Completely Shut Off And Reboots, It Then Causes All Previously Programmed Information In The System To Be Changed. In Addition At The Same Time, The Steering Feels Like It “pauses”. I Checked My Vin It Is Not In The Recall But I Will Be Taking It To The Dealer As Soon As Possible. Once The Electrical Radio/entertainment System Rebooted While Traveling On The Highway, I Only Noticed It Because The Radio Shut Off. I Did Not Notice Anything At That Time With The Steering And I Thought It Was A Fluke, But Now After Three Times, I Am Bringing To The Dealer

Mileage was 65500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH7FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in CROZET, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Oct 08, 2016

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
College Station, TX
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

When Accelerating From A Stop And Especially When Turning, Say At A Stop Sign, One Looses Control Of Steering. The Car Is Also Difficult To Steer When Going Into Passing Gear. I Fear That Losing Control Is A Major Safety Problem. My toyota Dealership Will Not Do Anything About This Problem. This Happens Repeatedly, Even Though I Drive Conservatively And Has Since I Bought The Car In December 2014.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYKRFHGF5. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in COLLEGE STATION, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Dec 29, 2014

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Houston, TX
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 60

This Vehicle Has Severe Torque Steer When Accelerating At Highway Speed. The Vehicle Pulls Hard Left And You Have To Fight The Wheel To Maintain Control. It Is Very Dangerous , Especially When Trying To Pass Another Vehicle. My Complaints To The Dealership Were Waved Aside – One Tech Told Me “all Our Front Wheel Drive Cars Do It”

Mileage was 165 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKRFH8FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Apr 20, 2015

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Baconton, GA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 50

The Contact Owned A 2015 toyota highlander. While Driving Approximately 50 Mph On A Winding Road, The Steering Wheel Locked Up And Prevented The Contact From Maintaining Control. As A Result, The Vehicle Drove Into A Ditch And Flipped Over. The Air Bags Deployed. The Vehicle Was Destroyed And Towed. A Police Report Was Filed. The Contact Received Injuries To The Face And Leg. Medical Attention Was Not Needed. The Dealer Stated That The Vehicle Was Included In And Repaired Per Nhtsa Campaign Number: 15v144000 (steering). The Contact Stated That They Were Never Informed Of The Recall Or The Repair. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 15,425.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 15425 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKRFH8FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in BACONTON, GA. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Apr 08, 2016

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Brooklyn, NY
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

It Is Hard To Turn Wheel On Low Speed. Both Directions

Mileage was 88000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDBKRFH3FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in BROOKLYN, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Feb 16, 2018

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Centerport, NY
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed 50

An Intermittent Squeaking Noise Occurs When Turning The Steering Wheel Left Or Right. I Have Noticed This When Driving On A Highway As Well As On Local Roads

Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH3FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in CENTERPORT, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

May 17, 2018

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Cornelius, NC
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2015 toyota highlander. While The Contact’s Son Was Driving At An Unknown Speed, The Steering Warning Indicator Illuminated And The Steering Wheel Seized. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Exhibited The Same Symptoms As Listed In Nhtsa Campaign Number: 15v144000 (steering). The Vehicle Was Not Taken To A Dealer To Have It Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified And Stated That The Vehicle Was Not Included In A Recall. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 43,000. The Vin Was Not Available.

Mileage was 43000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in CORNELIUS, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 09, 2018

Steering Toyota 2015
Toyota
Location
Valley View, PA
Model Highlander
System Steering
Speed

Light On Cruise Control Lever On Steering Column Flickers Off And On If Vehicle Is In Motion And Steering Column Is In Use. Alternator In Car Already Required Replacement At 73,000. Dealership Was Advised Of Issue And I Was Told There Was Nothing Wrong With The Lever.

Mileage was 1000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH0FS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2015 problem was reported in VALLEY VIEW, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 01, 2015

2015 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2015 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Steering problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask