2016 Toyota 4runner Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota 4runner Electrical System problems and reviews: 5.

Are you driving a 2016 Toyota 4RUNNER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Hermosa Beach, CA
Model 4runner
System Electrical System
Speed 0

toyota Uses Engine Wiring That Has A Soy Based Coating. This Encourages Rodents To Chew On Them. We Were Camped (parked) And When We Tried To Drive The Car It Shuddered And The Check Engine Light Was On Along With Several Other Indicators. The Car Was Running On Five Cylinders. We Managed To Get It To A toyota Dealer Who Told Us Of Bite Marks And Droppings. In Researching This On Line We Found Reports Of This Happening In toyotas And Hondas. We Could Have Been Stranded In The Desert In 110 Degree Heat If The Damage Was Enough To Disable The Engine Completely.

Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEBU5JR6G5. TOYOTA 4RUNNER 2016 problem was reported in HERMOSA BEACH, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

June 25, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Model 4runner
System Electrical System
Speed

The Day After We Purchased This 4runner In October 2015 The 4 Wheel Drive Stopped Working And When We Took It Back To The Dealer They Said That Rodents Had Chewed Through The Wire Housing Connected To The Drive Train. Initially They Were Not Going To Warranty The Issue But After Further Aggressive Discussion By Me It Was Covered. Apparently toyota Uses A Soy Based Spray Or Coating On The Wiring That Attracts Rodents. The Vehicle Was Operable But The 4wd Warning Light Was Flashing And 4wd Did Not Engage. We Have Also Heard From A Neighbor With A 2015 4runner That A Similar Situation Happened To Them But It Affected Their Whole electrical System And That The Vehicle Was Not Operable And Had To Be Towed To The Dealer.

Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEBU5JR1G5. TOYOTA 4RUNNER 2016 problem was reported in LAKE ARROWHEAD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 03, 2015

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Corvallis, OR
Model 4runner
System Electrical System
Speed 0

Bought A Used 2016 4runner. Had It 3 Weeks And A Rodent Chewed The Wires On The Main Wiring Harness. toyota (that I Have 2 Warranties Through) Does Not Cover Rodent Damage Even Though The Material That They Use Attracts Rodents Apparently From My Research. I Have $3500-$5500 In Damage And My Car Has Been At The Dealership Waiting For Repair For 3 Weeks Now. The Insurance Company Is Fighting Them On The Repair And I Am Stuck Without The Vehicle. I Do Not Have That Kind Of Money To Repair It Myself. toyota Should Be Responsible For Repairing And Replacing The Wires That They Used Since It Is Encouraging The Damage! The Vehicle Was Sitting In My Carport. I Live In The Nicer Part Of A Large Town.

Mileage was 13500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEBU5JR3G5. TOYOTA 4RUNNER 2016 problem was reported in CORVALLIS, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Nov 29, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Plainfield, IL
Model 4runner
System Electrical System
Speed 0

I Started The 4runner And Noticed That A Few Of The Warning Lights Were On (abs, Brake, & A Few Others I Can’t Remember). I Decided To Drive It Anyway To Run Some Errands (short Distance), And Noticed That The Transmission Was Not Shifting Properly Either (not Going Into Eco Mode And Struggling To Reach 40 Mph). I Decided To Pull Over Into A Parking Lot And Check Under The Hood. That Is When I Noticed A Squirrel Nested By The Driver’s Side Firewall. The Squirrel Also Used The Insulation From Under The Hood And Along The Firewall To Make Its Nest. I Took The 4runner To The Dealership, And They Also Pointed Out That One Of The Electric Runs Was Chewed All The Way Through With Some Damage On The Main Harness. I Let Them Keep The 4runner Over Night To Get An Estimate On The Damage. The Initial Estimate Was For $5,716.30. I Decided To Let Them Keep The 4runner Until The Work Was Completed. I Was Informed That The Electric Harness Would Take 3 To 5 Days To Be Shipped To The Dealership. Then I Was Notified (6 Days Later) That The Electric Harness Was Not Readily Available And Would Take Another Week Before They Receive It. I Recently Received A Phone Call Saying That All The Parts Were In, But Now They Would Either Have To Remove The Engine Or Raise The Body To Install The Firewall Insulation. So An Additional $2,219.66 For That Portion Of It. Sure My Insure Picked Up The Tab Less My Deductible, But This Should Not Have Happened. I Dropped The 4runner Off March 7, 2017 And Was Informed That It Should Be Ready Around April 5th. Hopefully Nothing Else Is Found. I Purchased The 4runner Brand New On February 4, 2017 (driveway Kept). I Traded In A 2006 toyota Tacoma That I Had For 11 Years That Sat Outside For This Headache. Maybe I Should Have Kept The Tacoma. The 4 Runner Only Had Approximately 500 Miles On It When This Inconvenience Happened.

Mileage was 500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEBU5JR1G5. TOYOTA 4RUNNER 2016 problem was reported in PLAINFIELD, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Mar 07, 2017

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Mcdonough, GA
Model 4runner
System Electrical System
Speed 55

toyota Knowingly Uses A Soy Based Wire Coating That Attracts Rodents. Something Chewed Through The Wiring Harness Making My Vehicle Shake Uncontrollably And Act Very Strange. This Is A Huge Safety Concern Because What If The Damage Was Only Partial And Then Through Normal Use Like Highway Driving The Wire Fully Comes Apart Disrupting Any And All Safety Features

Mileage was 12000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):JTEZU5JRXG5. TOYOTA 4RUNNER 2016 problem was reported in MCDONOUGH, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

Jan 18, 2017

2016 Toyota 4runner problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota 4runner, driving a 2016 Toyota 4runner, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask