2016 Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems and reviews: 9.

Are you driving a 2016 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Austin, TX
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed

Recall Vehicle Sold To Me As New Car Wihout Remedy. Manufacturer Recall Issued Nhtsa #16v775 Recall #g03 Safety (noncompliance) Recall G03 – Remedy Notice, Certain 2016 Model Year highlander, Brake Fluid Reservoir Sensor Connector

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKRFH8GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in AUSTIN, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 16, 2016

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Concord, MA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 10

My Wife Was Driving With Our Two Daughters (ages 12 And 14). It Had Just Started To Snow And My Wife Said The Road Was Slippery She Put The Car Into Low Gear And Traveled Slowly. She Was Right Around The Corner From Our House When She Could No Longer Control The Vehicle. She Hit A Tree, A Fence, And Then Two More Trees, Traveling More Than 600 Feet. Even Though She Was Traveling Downhill She Said The Brakes Did Not Engage The Abs And Then Toward The End Of The Crash, Before Hitting The Third Tree The Car Accelerated On Its Own. Upon Hitting The Third Tree All Air Bags Deployed And Fire, Police, And Ambulance Arrived At The Scene And Took Them All To The Hospital. They Had X-rays And There Were No Broken Bones. Our Younger Daughter Was Very Traumatized And Everyone Had Bruises And Small Cuts From Seat Belts But All Were Generally Okay. The Strange Thing About This Accident Is How Far The Car Traveled Despite My Wife’s Efforts To Stop The Car. She Had Already Placed The Car In Low Gear Yet The Brakes Did Not Work And She Says The Car Increased Speed (not Just Due To The Slope Downward). Our Family Has Lived In This Area For Years And Driven Through Countless Snow Storms. This Was Not Even A Storm But Just Some Light Snow. It Was Slippery According To My Wife But The Fact That She Could Not Stop The Vehicle Over Such A Long Distance Does Not Make Sense And She Feels That The Car Failed In Multiple Ways. Please See Attached Crash Report. Thank You. Updated 03/07/17*lj *cn

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 3 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 28000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH8GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in CONCORD, MA. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 drive type:AWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Jan 31, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Avon, OH
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 3

I Was In A Parking Lot Trying To Park My Car I Put My Foot On The Break To Stop The Car And Put Into Reverse And The Car Accelerated Instead Of Stopping. The Harder I Pushed The Breaks The Faster It Accelerated And Hit The Car Parked In Front Of Me.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFHXGS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in AVON, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 3 mph.

June 26, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Evansville, IN
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 20

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota highlander. While Driving Approximately 20 Mph, The Brakes Malfunctioned And The Contact’s Vehicle Rear Ended Another Vehicle. The Contact Stated That The Vehicle Failed To Stop When The Brake Pedal Was Depressed. The Contact’s Vehicle Sustained Significant Front End Damage, But The Air Bags Did Not Deploy. The Front Passenger Sustained Chest Injuries That Did Not Require Medical Attention. A Police Report Was Filed. The Vehicle Was Towed From The Scene. The Cause Of The Failure Was Not Diagnosed. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Local Dealer (kenny Kent toyota In Evansville, In) Was Notified Of The Failure. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified. The Failure Mileage Was 6,600.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 1 person(s) were injured. Mileage was 6600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH1GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in EVANSVILLE, IN. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Sept 27, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Sacramento, CA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 0

When The Car Is Fully Loaded, The Parking Brake Fails To Keep The Car From Moving When On A Hill.

Mileage was 20000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH9GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in SACRAMENTO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 01, 2018

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Champlin, MN
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 70

Driving Downhill Or At Speeds Over 70 Mph, The Brakes Were Not Effective To Stop The Vehicle Safely. The Vehicle Vibrates And Was Difficult To Maneuver With Confidence. The Vehicle Had Done Only 25,000 Miles And Under Manufacturer’s Warranty. The Dealer Simply Machined The Rotors And Put Them Back. Hoping It Will Fix The Problem And Not Due To Defective Rotors. Shouldn’t toyota Look Into This More And Perhaps Suggest Replacing The Rotors Instead Of Installing The Same Rotors?

Mileage was 25000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH6GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in CHAMPLIN, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 70 mph.

July 30, 2018

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Sarasota, FL
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 3

While Parking In A Public Parking Lot, At Idle Speed, The Brakes Did Not Stop Forward Progress. Car Struck The Curbing, Climbed Onto The Divider, Crossed The Divider And Bumped A Parked Car On The Other Side. While The Car Was In Motion, I Pumped The Brakes, And Pushed The Gear Shift Lever Into The Park Position. After Vehicle Stopped, I Reversed Carefully, When The Vehicle Came Off The Divider, I Set The Foot Brake. After Turning Off The Engine, I Opened The Hood And My Son And I Checked The Brake Fluid In The Master Cylinder. It Was Full. Restarted The Vehicle, Pressed The Brake Pedal And Had My Son Check The Distance Of The Pedal To The Floor Of The Vehicle. It Was Almost On The Floor. I Called Aaa And Had The Vehicle Towed To The Dealership. Have Contacted toyota And Filed A Claim With toyota.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 28000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKKRFH3GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in SARASOTA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 3 mph.

Sept 03, 2018

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Lorton, VA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 50

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota highlander. While Driving 50 Mph, The Brakes Malfunctioned When The Brake Pedal Was Depressed. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer (priority toyota Springfield, 7601 Loisdale Rd, Springfield, Va 22150, (703) 269-1400) To Be Diagnosed, But No Failure Was Found. The Manufacturer Was Not Contacted. The Failure Mileage Was 30,000.

Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJKRFH0GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in LORTON, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

Oct 23, 2018

Service Brakes Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Keller, TX
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed

Brakes Have A Slight Vibration When Traveling At High Speeds In The City And Someone Is Stopped On The Freeway. My Lights Have Dimmed Dramatically Since I First Purchased New. The Passenger Side Daytime Running Light Is Full Of Moisture. Most Importantly, The Temperature Sensor And/or Ac Fan/motor Is Halfway Functioning At 38k! By This, I Mean That The Ac In The Front Of The Car Kicks On And Off In The Middle Of Cooling And It Blows 50% Of What It Did When I Bought The Car. Convenient toyota?

Mileage was 35000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDKRFH8GS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2016 problem was reported in KELLER, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Sept 26, 2018

2016 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2016 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask