2016 Toyota Tacoma Engine problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tacoma Engine problems and reviews: 14.

Are you driving a 2016 Toyota TACOMA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Engine problems and defects.

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Canal Winchester, OH
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 0

After 10,000 Miles The Airbag Light Came On. Then The Next Day The Check Engine Light Came On As Well As The Traction Control. Called The Dealership And They Looked At It Saying I Just Need New Sensors. Drove It A Couple More Days And Noticed The Cruise Control Was Non Existent. I Drive A Lot For Work And Use It A Ton And All Of A Sudden It Wouldn’t Even Bring The Light On Or Work At All. The Next Day Started Driving And The Real Issues Started. Turned Truck On; Same Problems I Have Been Having; Then The Truck Would Not Shift. Kept Going And Going Till I Was Getting To 5000rpm And It Shifted With A Tremendous Amount Of Force. Once It Shifted The Whole Truck Did A Huge Jerk Then Went A Little More An Did A Double Shift Totally Bypassing The 3rd Gear. I Turned It Off And Started It Again. Kept Having The Same Problem All Day. I Called The Dealership And They Said Get It To Them When I Could And They Would Take A Look. Almost Caused Several Accidents Trying To Get The Brand New $35,000 Truck That Didn’t Work To The Dealership Almost Running Into The People In Front Of Me Who Cut Me Off Because I Can’t Go Over 40mph On The Freeway And I Have No Control Of The Violent Shifting Moving The Whole Truck. Needless To Say The Dealership Tried To Blame Me For All Of These Problems That I Could Not Have Possibly Cause If I Tried And That My Brand New Truck With 10,000miles On It Was Fine Just Needed A Couple Sensors. Obviously This Is Not Working And I Think Sensors Are The Least Of The Worries.

Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMAZ5CNXGM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in CANAL WINCHESTER, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Feb 15, 2016

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Bossier City, LA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

It’s Important To Note That I Own Two Identical 2016 tacoma Trd Off Road Automatic And Both Have Less Than 10,000 Miles. One Is Fine And The Other Has Serious Power Train (engine/transmission) Problems Resulting In Extremely Slow Acceleration And Overall Sluggish Performance, Transmission Constantly Shifting To Compensate For Lack Of Power, Transmission Slow To Engage Gears Causing Dangerous Hesitation And Surge, Occasionally Slamming Into Gear Causing Sudden Jerk And Lunge, Cruise Control In Unusable Due To Constant Gear Hunting Even On Flat Highway, Vehicle Is Very Unsafe In Stop And Go Traffic Due To Hesitation And Surging, And Merging Into Traffic And Busy High Speed Highway Travel Is A Nightmare. The Following Business Day After Taking Delivery I Brought To Dealer With The Above Complaints And Was Told That The Computer Needed To Lean My Driving Style And It Would Take Up To 5,000 Miles. At One Point Dealership Service Tech, Service Adviser, And Service Manager Acknowledged The Problems And I Was Told That toyota Was Already Aware And Working On A Flash Upgrade That They Hoped Would Fix. I Was Told That I Had No Choice But To Drive The Vehicle And Wait For The Flash. Dealership Personnel Now Deny Any Problems. I Filed A Claim With toyota And Dealer Now Refuses To Try And Fix The Problems. This Model Is Being Shipped With Very Low Transmission Fluid According To The Service Tech Which Is Certain To Diminish The Life Of The Transmission. He Also Said That Something Is Wrong With The Torque Converter. I Have Filed A Claim For Repurchase But Dealership Is Uncooperative And toyota Reports That After Reviewing My Claim That They Were Unable To Verify Any Of My Concerns. There Are Many Owners Reporting To Be Experiencing The Same Problems And To Date toyota Has Done Nothing To Resolve That I Am Aware Of.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFCZ5AN7GX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in BOSSIER CITY, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Jan 21, 2016

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Elkton, MD
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

Noticed My tacoma Being Slow To Down Shift To A Lower Gear When Trying To Accelerate Or It Would Up Shift To A Higher Gear While Accelerating/merging Resulting In An Unexpected Change In Acceleration. Also If Riding Between 20-40 Mph The Vehicle Rides At A Very Low Rpm (~1100) And Shimmies The Vehicle Like It Will Stall. Vehicle Will Also “noticeably” Down Shift While The Foot Is Off The Accelerator Resulting In An Unexpected Change In Deceleration. The Problem Seems To Be Getting Worse And Now The Shifting Is Starting To Jolt The Vehicle. While Driving At Constant Speeds The Vehicle Will Randomly Surge High In Rpms Then Come Right Back Down. The Vehicle Is Presenting Unsafe Conditions. Took The Vehicle To The Dealer Multiple Times. 1st Time They Topped Off The Transmission Fluid As It Was Low From The Factory. 2nd Time They Are Aware Of The Issue And Others Were Having It As Well And The Transmission Ecu Was Re-flashed. This Still Did Not Resolve The Problem. Brought The Vehicle Back A 3rd Time And They Didn’t See A Problem With The Vehicle. Brought It Back A 4th Time To Be Seen By A Field Specialist And The Issue Could Be Duplicated But There Is No Fix At This Time Because The Vehicle Is Operating As Designed. Vehicle Currently Has Less Than 2500 Miles On It. Not Sure Why You Would Design A Vehicle To Do This.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFCZ5AN4GX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in ELKTON, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Sept 29, 2016

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Pleasant Grove, UT
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. The Contact Stated The Vehicle Experienced Hesitation And The Engine De-powering. The Failure Occurred Without Warning. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That Once The Accelerator Pedal Was Depressed Before The Vehicle Recognized The Speed The Software Caused The Engine To De-power For Intervals Of One To Two Seconds Before The Vehicle Would Operate Normally. A Remedy Was Not Disclosed. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 10,005.

Mileage was 10005 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMCZ5AN7GM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in PLEASANT GROVE, UT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Mar 17, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Jacksonville, FL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

Chirping Noise Comes And Goes. Very Loud. Also A Constant Clicking. Anything That Makes Noise Like That Will Fail Soon. Also Had A Grinding Noise While In Four Wheel Drive On Beach And Truck Started To Lose Power.grinding Went Away But Happens Often.

Mileage was 26000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFCZ5ANXGX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in JACKSONVILLE, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 01, 2016

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Cayucos, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

Crank Position Sensor-truck Was In Motion On A City Street When It Bucked And Stalled. It Started Again And I Was Able To Make It A Block To My Mom’s House/garage, Where I Keep My Truck. As I Was Pulling Into The Garage, It Bucked And Stalled Again. I Replaced The Cps (crank Position Sensor) Because I Didn’t Want My Truck Towed To The Dealership. It Cost Me $110 Buck. I’m Really Glad I Wasn’t Out Camping Or In Traffic When This Occurred, As It Could Have Been A Much Worse Situation.

Mileage was 3400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFSZ5AN2GX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in CAYUCOS, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

Apr 26, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Massapequa Park, NY
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 55

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. The Contact Received Notification Of Nhtsa Campaign Numbers: 17v356000 (engine) And 17v285000 (power Train). The Parts For The Recall Repairs Were Unavailable. The Contact Stated That The Manufacturer Exceeded A Reasonable Amount Of Time For The Recall Repairs. While Driving Approximately 55 Mph, The Vehicle Suddenly Stalled. The Contact Coasted To The Side Lane And Was Able To Restart The Vehicle In Approximately Three Minutes. The Check Engine Indicator Also Illuminated. The Contact Took The Vehicle To The Atlantic toyota Dealer Who Replaced A Sensor For The Failure Regarding The Stalling And Replaced Both Catalytic Converters. The Dealer Stated That The Parts For The Recall Repairs Were Not Available. The Manufacturer Was Made Aware Of The Failures And Informed The Contact That The Parts Were Not Available. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 24,000. Vin Tool Confirms Parts Not Available And Parts Distribution Disconnect.

Mileage was 24000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMCZ5AN3GM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in MASSAPEQUA PARK, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

July 07, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Baton Rogue, LA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. The Contact Received Notification Of Nhtsa Campaign Numbers: 17v356000 (engine) And 17v285000 (power Train). The Dealer (all Star toyota, 9150 Airline Hwy, Baton Rouge, La 70815, (225) 490-7608) Had Been Unable To Determine When The Remedy And Parts May Be Supplied For The Repairs. The Dealer Indicated That Nhtsa Campaign Number: 17v356000 (engine) Was Completed But The Contact Had No Record Of The Repair From The Dealer. The Manufacturer Was Contacted Concerning The Two Recall Repairs. The Contact Had Not Experienced A Failure. Parts Distribution Disconnect.

0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFCZ5AN2GX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in BATON ROGUE, LA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 05, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Green Island, NY
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed 25

Brought Vehicle In To Dealership( Northway toyota) For Recall Notice, And Vehicle Stalling. They Supposedly Repaired It, But Vehicle Is Doing The Exact Same Thing, Stalling And Malfunction Indicators Are On. Contacted The Dealership But No One Will Return My Call. I Don’t Think They Did Anything To My Vehicle The First Time.

Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMCZ5AN5GM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in GREEN ISLAND, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 25 mph.

July 24, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
New Haven, CT
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. While Attempting To Accelerate On An Incline, A Cranking Noise And A Tapping Noise Were Heard From The Engine Compartment. There Were No Warning Indicators Illuminated. The Failure Recurred Several Times. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer (colonial toyota In Milford, Ct), But The Failure Could Not Be Duplicated. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Failure. The Contact Received Notification Of Nhtsa Campaign Number: 17v356000 (engine). The Failure Mileage Was Unknown. Parts Distribution Disconnect.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMCZ5AN6GM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in NEW HAVEN, CT. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Aug 04, 2016

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Sarasota, FL
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. The Contact Received A Recall Notification For Nhtsa Campaign Number: 17v356000 (engine); However, The Parts To Do The Repair Were Unavailable. The Contact Stated That The Manufacturer Exceeded A Reasonable Amount Of Time For The Recall Repair. The Dealer Sun Coast toyota Of Sarasota, Florida Was Contacted And Confirmed That The Parts Were Not Available For The Recall Remedy. The Manufacturer Was Not Made Aware Of The Issue And Was Not Able To Confirm When The Parts Were To Become Available. The Contact Had Not Experienced A Failure. Vin Tool Confirms Parts Not Available.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFAZ5CN7GX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in SARASOTA, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 12, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Cottonwood, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. The Contact Received Notification Of Nhtsa Campaign Numbers: 17v356000 (engine) And 17v285000 (power Train) However, The Parts To Do The Repair Were Unavailable. The Contact Stated That The Manufacturer Exceeded A Reasonable Amount Of Time For The Recall Repair. The Vehicle Was Taken To The Dealer Lithia toyota Of Redding Located At 250 E Cypress Ave, Redding, Ca 96002; (530) 605-2938 And Confirmed That The Parts Were Not Available For The Recall Remedy. The Manufacturer Was Not Contacted And Was Not Made Aware Of The Issue. The Contact Had Not Experienced A Failure. Parts Distribution Disconnect.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFSZ5AN9GX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in COTTONWOOD, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 01, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
El Paso, TX
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. The Contact Received Notification Of Nhtsa Campaign Number: 17v356000 (engine); However, The Parts To Do The Repair Were Unavailable. The Contact Stated That The Manufacturer Exceeded A Reasonable Amount Of Time For The Recall Repair. The Contact Called Poe toyota (915-775-2000 Located At 6330 Montana Ave, El Paso, Tx 79925) Where It Was Confirmed That The Parts Were To Be Available In Two Weeks. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Issue And Was Not Able To Confirm When The Parts Were To Become Available. The Contact Had Not Experienced A Failure. Parts Distribution Disconnect.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFCZ5AN5GX. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in EL PASO, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 26, 2017

Engine Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Fresno, CA
Model Tacoma
System Engine
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tacoma. The Contact Stated That Nhtsa Campaign Number: 17v356000 (engine) And Nhtsa Campaign Number: 17v285000 (power Train) Exceeded A Reasonable Amount Of Time For Repair. The Vehicle Was Taken To An Unknown Dealer For Over Four Months Waiting For Parts To Become Available. The Manufacturer Was Contacted And Stated That Parts For The Repair Were In Limited Supply; Therefore, The Wait Would Be Longer Than Expected. The Failure Mileage Was 10,000. Vin Tool Confirms Parts Not Available And Parts Distribution Disconnect.

Mileage was 10000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):3TMCZ5ANXGM. TOYOTA TACOMA 2016 problem was reported in FRESNO, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

May 01, 2017

2016 Toyota Tacoma problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tacoma, driving a 2016 Toyota Tacoma, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Engine problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask