2016 Toyota Tundra Electrical System problems, defects and reviews. Updated October 14, 2017.

Toyota Tundra Electrical System problems and reviews: 9.

Are you driving a 2016 Toyota TUNDRA, or planning to buy one? Review reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Bainbridge, NY
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed

The Integrated Brake Controller Is Not Work When Applying The Brakes In Electric Brake Mode. Took My tundra Out For A Test Drive With My 24′ 3200 Lb Travel Trailer. I Set The Gain To 10 And Hit The Manual Slide And The Trailer Tires Locked Up. Stepped On The Brakes And Couldn’t Feel Any Brakes Being Applied To The Trailer. I Would Have Expected The Trailer Tires To Lockup When I Hit The Brakes With A Gain Of 10. This Could Make A Very Dangerous Situation.

Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUY5F10GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in BAINBRIDGE, NY. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 03, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Traverse City, MI
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed 55

Re: Integrated Break Controller I Wanted To Express A Serious Safety Concern I Have With An Item That Now Ships With The 2016 toyota 5.7l tundra‘s – The Built In / Integrated Break Controller For Use When Pulling Trailers/campers/etc. It Seems That Regardless Of The Power Setting, No Noticeable Power Is Supplied To The Trailer Brakes, Even At It’s Highest Setting. It Feels Like The Trailer/camper Is Pushing The Truck, Which Can Be A Serious Issue When Stopping. This Would Happen Every Time I Would Tow And I Was Always Very Worried About Causing An Accident If I Needed To Stop Quickly Or If The Road Conditions Were Not Idea. I’ve Never Felt This With Other Break Controllers. It’s My Understanding toyota Has Not Acknowledged This As Being An Issue Yet. After Talking To Many Other tundra Owners Everyone Has The Same Issue, I’ve Not Talked To Anyone That Has A Working Integrated Break Controller In Their 2016. I’ve Taken Out My Integrated Break Controller That Came In My 2016 toyota tundra And Replaced It With An After Market Brake Controller Out So I Can Property Brake With My Camper Attached. For Now My Issue Is Resolved, However, I Am However Very Worried About Others That Might Be Using The Integrated Break Controller And The Huge Potential For A Serious Accident Because Their Trailer Or Camper Brakes Are Not Working. Please Look Into This Before Any Serious Accidents Happen. Thanks!

Mileage was 4000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFDW5F19GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in TRAVERSE CITY, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 55 mph.

May 12, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Spokane Valley, WA
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2016 toyota tundra. While Towing A Trailer, The Brake Pedal Was Depressed; However, The Trailer Brake Lights Failed To Illuminate. The Vehicle Was Taken To An Independent Mechanic Where It Was Diagnosed That The Integrated Brake Controller Failed And Needed To Be Replaced. The Vehicle Was Not Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was Approximately 500. The Vin Was Not Available.

Mileage was 500 miles. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in SPOKANE VALLEY, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Sept 05, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Spokane, WA
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed 60

The Integrated Elecric Brake Controler For Towing A Trailer Does Not Work.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUY5F11GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in SPOKANE, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Sept 20, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Coppell, TX
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed 0

I Bought A 2016 tundra In May Of 2016. I Own Some Ranch Property In West Texas. I Have Taken The Truck There Twice And Both Times I Have Had Wiring Damaged By Rodents. So Far It Is Up To Over 800 Dollars. toyota Will Not Warranty It.

Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFRM5F17GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in COPPELL, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 0 mph.

Oct 02, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Round Rock, TX
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed

The Integrated Elecric Brake Controller Included In My Platinum Edition Options For Towing A Trailer Does Not Work. According To Dealer, There Is No Fix From toyota Although They Are Aware Of The Issue.

Mileage was 3000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFGW5F14GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in ROUND ROCK, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 17, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Greeley, CO
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed

I Have A Serious Safety Concern Regarding The Lack Of Daytime Vehicle Instrument Illumination On My New 2016 toyota tundra (while Driving, Stationary And On All Roads) During The Day. As An Elder Adult Who Wears Sunglasses To Protect Their Eyes (on The Recommendation Of The Medical Profession) The Dash Board (specifically The Speedometer Indicator) Is Barely Discernible. Even Without Sunglasses The Instrument Panel Is Very Dark. I Am Sure There Are Thousands Of Others Who Would Like To See The Instruments And Operate Their Vehicles In A Safe And Lawful Manner During The Daytime Or With Sunglasses On. I Am Sure The Decision, By toyota, To Not Illuminate The Dash In The Daytime Saves A Few Pennies And Adds Up For The Manufacturer When You Sell Thousands Of Vehicles? But. . . Not Being Able To See A Dark Instrument Panel Is Bound To Cause More Than A Few Accidents.

Mileage was 100 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUW5F12GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in GREELEY, CO. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Nov 01, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Yorktown, VA
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed 45

While Trailering My 6800 Pound Travel Trailer For The First Time And After I Had Manually Set The Factory Electric Brakes, A Car Pulled Out In Front Of Me And The Electric Brakes Would Not Stop My Trailer Or Even Slow It Down. The Brakes Were Set At An 8.5 On The Readout. I Came Within Inches Of An Accident At About 45 Mph. Next, The Brakes Were Adjusted All The Way Up To A Setting Of 10. This Also Did Not Help To Stop The Truck And Trailer With Braking Hard At Various Speeds. I Reported This To The Dealer After I Had Tried Several Other Times To Adjust The Brakes With No Success. At This Point, I Am Awaiting toyota To Come Up With A Fix Before Someone Is Killed Or Injured. This Issue Is Wide Spread Across tundra Forums Online.

Mileage was 5000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFDY5F17GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in YORKTOWN, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Sept 02, 2016

Electrical System Toyota 2016
Toyota
Location
Delton, MI
Model Tundra
System Electrical System
Speed

Electric Brake Controller Doesn’t Work Properly. Several People Have Already Contacted Nhtsa On This Problem.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TFUW5F12GX. TOYOTA TUNDRA 2016 problem was reported in DELTON, MI. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

June 24, 2016

2016 Toyota Tundra problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Tundra, driving a 2016 Toyota Tundra, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Electrical System problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask