2017 Toyota Highlander Power Train problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Power Train problems and reviews: 10.

Are you driving a 2017 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Power Train problems and defects.

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Montreat, NC
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2017 toyota highlander. While Attempting To Accelerate From A Stop, The Vehicle Would Not Drive Forward And Rolled Backwards. The Vehicle Was Towed To The Dealer Where It Was Diagnosed That The Rear Axle Shaft Support Bearing Retaining Ring Failed And Caused The Axle To Separate From The Trans Axle. The Vehicle Was Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Failure Mileage Was 192.

Mileage was 192 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDZARFH3HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in MONTREAT, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Apr 04, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Wesley Chapel, FL
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 72

Driving Approximately 72 Mph When Vehicle Died Causing A Potentially Very Hazardous Situation – Check Engine Light Came On, Master Warning Light Came On, See Dealer For Repair Message Displayed. Was Able To Limp To Side Of Road And Had Vehicle Towed To Dealership. After 2 Days Of Diagnostic Testing The Engine Control Module (ecm) Was Replaced Under Warranty (less Than 12,000 Miles On Vehicle). The Vehicle Is Running, However, Now Notice A Decrease In Gas Mileage And Difference In Transmission Shifting Since Replacement.

Mileage was 11980 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYZRFH0HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in WESLEY CHAPEL, FL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 72 mph.

Nov 26, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Bend, OR
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 72

While Driving Up The I-5 Grapevine At 72 Mph The Car Suddenly Slowed Without Any Warning To Under 20 Mph. The Check Engine Light Turned On And The Dash Said Awd System Disengaged Or Error Or Some Similar Message And To Take To The Dealer. I Was Barely Able To Accelerate To Get Off The Road. I Pulled Off, Turned The Car Off And Back On, And It Started Running Again. I’m Lucky I Was Not Rear Ended.

Mileage was 7000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in BEND, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 72 mph.

Dec 22, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Rosemont, PA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 5

As I Was Turning Left At A Green Arrow Across A Divided Highway, The Car Stopped Moving In The Middle Of The Intersection. There Were No Warning Lights Or Alarms In Advance Of The Stop, Nor Were There Any Crunching Or Grinding Sounds At The Time The Car Stopped. I Could Tell When I Stepped On The Accelerator At The Time The Light Turned Green That Something Wasn’t Right. After The Car Stopped, I Tried To Re-start 2x In The Intersection, Then Pushed The Car Out Of The Intersection. The Lights And Electrical Came On, But When I Put It In Gear And Hit The Accelerator, The Engine Revved And The Rpms Went Up, But The Tires Did Not Engage. toyota Dealership With Calls To toyota Engineering Took 2 Days To Diagnose It As A Transmission ” Production Error” That Required A “countermanded” Replacement. They Have Had The Car In For Service For Over 30 Days. I Was Contacted Last Friday The 12th To Be Told That The Replacement Part Was In, But Have Not Been Contacted To Pick Up.

Mileage was 20000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH0HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in ROSEMONT, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Dec 11, 2017

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Bennington, NE
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 45

4 Weeks Ago There Was A Noticeable High Pitched Whine During Acceleration From 40 Mph And Up. The Whine’s Pitch Would Change Up Or Down When The Automatic Transmission Changed Gears And The Vehicle’s Speed Changed. On 2/12/2018, The Transmission Let Go (the Engine Would Rev, But No power To The Wheels) While My Wife Was Driving On A Busy 45 Mph Street. Fortunately, The Person Behind Here Didn’t Rear-end Her And My Wife Was Able To Pull The Vehicle Into A Turning Lane And Stop With Flashers On. She Turned The Vehicle Off And On. The Transmission Engaged And She Was Able To Drive The Vehicle Home. Right Before The Transmission Let Go, She Heard A Grinding Noise. When I Drove The Vehicle To The Dealership, The Whine Was Gone On Acceleration, But Now It Would Whine On Deceleration! The Mechanic At The Dealership Determined The Transmission Needed To Be Replaced Due To An Internal Clip That Becomes Unseated. The Clip Can Cause Internal Damage To The Transmission. They Were Working On Another highlander With The Exact Same Problem. There Is A Conversation Published On Edmunds.com With Other People Reporting The Same Issue I Had With My highlander‘s 8-speed Automatic Transmission. My highlander Had 13.200 Miles On It When I Took It To The Shop. It Took 9 Calendar Days To Get The Vehicle Fixed Due To Limited Availability Of The Transmission. The Dealership Told Me My Replacement Transmission Was The Only One In The Country (usa) When They Ordered It! If This Is Happening With So Many highlanders With This 8-speed Automatic Transmission, It’s Just A Matter Of Time Before A Serious Accident Results From The Transmission Failing On Someone Else.

Mileage was 13200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH2HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in BENNINGTON, NE. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

Feb 12, 2018

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Chester, NJ
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 20

At About 11,000 Miles, A High Pitch Whining Sound Appeared During Acceleration. The Dealer Identified A Problem That Requires A New Transmission. The Parts Are Back Ordered. I Was Advised To Continue To Drive The Car Until toyota Approved The Repair And The Parts Were Available. Research Indicated That This Issue Is Common And May Lead To Complete Transmission Failure Presenting A Safety Issue.

Mileage was 11000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH2HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in CHESTER, NJ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Feb 01, 2018

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Arlington, VA
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 7

Since I Leased By highlander I Have Noticed That The Car Shifts Very Hard, Sometimes Sputtering Between 5-10mph And Then Accelerating. Dealer Reflashed The Computer Based On Technical Bulletin Tsb-0194-17. They Have Now Had The Car For 3 Days And Have Replicated The Issue And I Am Awaiting Guidance. The Vehicle Has 13,000 Miles On It, There Should Not Be Major Transmission Issues. My Complaint Doesn’t Seem Isolated.

Mileage was 13000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in ARLINGTON, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 7 mph.

July 09, 2018

Power Train Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Astoria, NY
Model Highlander
System Power Train
Speed 65

Hello, There. I Want To Share My Experience About highlander Problem. My Wife And Me Went To Mystic,ct From My Home For Pleasure August 8. I Used Cruise Control With 65 Mph On Highway. After I Finished Traveling There, I Tried To Use The Same Cruise Control On The Way Home. And Then Suddenly My Car Made Problem In The Middle Of Driving On Highway. Rpm Went Up To Over 3000 And Rpm Needle On Dashboard Started Dancing. And I Watched

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask