2017 Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Service Brakes problems and reviews: 6.

Are you driving a 2017 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Service Brakes Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Westport, MA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed

2017 toyota Higlander. Consumer Writes In Regards To Unintended Acceleration. *ld The Consumer Stated While Depressing The Break Pedal The Vehicle Continued To Move Forward. Due To The Failure The Consumer Has Ran Into A Handicap Sign, Lawn Tractor And Wheelbarrow. The Collisions Caused Damage To The Front Bumper, Number Plate And Number Plate Cover. Also, Caused Deep Scratches Tot He Left Lower Panel. The Vehicle Was Repaired. The Manufacturer Was Notified Updated 09/28/2017*js

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH7HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in WESTPORT, MA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. Vehicle had 6 CYLINDERS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 drive type:AWD. FUEL TYPE: GAS.

May 01, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Ashland, MA
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 10

We Were In A Thanksgiving Day Related Touch N Go Traffic On A Normal Street, Which Enters Into A Mall. All Of Us Are Stopped At A Red Light, Car Ahead Of Us Just Started Moving And We Followed After Allowing A Safe Distance, Then Suddenly The Car Ahead Of Us Stopped, So I Tried Stopping Quickly, But The Car’s Automatic Collision Avoidance Kicked In And Took Control Of My Brakes, But It Still Didnt Stop, I Was Trying To Stop, But The Brakes Were Not Working. Ended Up Rear-ending Car Infront Of Me. The Whole Point Of This Safety Feature Was To Prevent The Car From Rear Ending Other Cars In Day-to-day Traffic Situations. Also Our Speed Was Not More Than 20 Mph, When I Hit The Gas Pedal, Almost Instantly I Realized I Have To Stop And Took My Foot Off The Pedal, Tried Braking, But Car Kept Rolling Forward. This Is Just 4 Month Old Car With 2500 Miles On It. Waiting To See How toyota Handles My Case, In The Meantime, Insurance Thinks I Am At Fault And Started The Claim, Covering The Car Infront Of Me. My Dashboard Displayed A “brake” Message In Red Color, Which Is True, It Identified A Collision, But Didnt Stop. Imo Stopping Is More Important! There Was Some Damage To Car Infront Of Me, My Car Had Some Minor Damage To Grills And Front Bumper Area.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 2600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in ASHLAND, MA. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Nov 23, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Salem, NH
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 20

I Purchased My toyota In March. Last Nite Was Our First Storm Of The Year. I Live In Salem,nh And We Had Maybe 2-3 Inches Of Snow. I Was Driving Home And Went Off The Road Twice. I Tried Pumping Brakes And I Feel As Though I Had No Control Over This Suv I Could Not Stop. It Was Not Deep Snow. I Feel Something Is Very Wrong With This Car. I Was Not Going More Than 25 Mph And My Suv Went Off Road And I Narrowly Missed A Telephone Pole. I Have Never Had An Suv That Drove This Badly. Something Is Not Right, My Husband Even Drove After I Went Off Road And While He Was Driving The Car Slid All Over Road Too. Do You Have Any Other Complaints In This Type Of Weather. I Bought This Car For Safety Features And Now I Am In Fear Of My Life In Snow. Help Me Please.

Mileage was 14000 miles. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in SALEM, NH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 20 mph.

Dec 09, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Ellicott City, MD
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 30

I Have A Safety Concern Regarding My 2017 toyota highlander. I Am Trying To Use The highlander‘s Advertised Ability To Tow A Small Rv Trailer (under 5000lbs). toyota Agrees This Requires Installation Of A Brake Controller In The highlander And Electric Brakes On The Rv Trailer. I Installed A Brake Controller Following Standard Industry Practices. When The Manual Brake Switch Is Then Applied, My toyota highlander Displays “pre-collision System Malfunction” Warning Message Even If The Pre-collision System Is Turned-off. (note: This Issue Only Occurs In 2017 And 2018 highlanders Since Earlier Versions Did Not Come Equipped With A Collision Avoidance System). I Believe That The Burden Should Be On toyota To Provide Proper Instructions On How To Rectify This Issue. toyota Has Not Properly Addressed This Issue Despite My Repeated Letters To toyota. I Am Particularly Concerned That Because Of The Lack Of Guidance Provided By toyota On This Issue, Some Folks (as Noted On Internet Http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/333-highlander-3rd-generation-2014/1509914-7-pin-wiring-harness-2017-highlander-limited.html) Are Inserting A Diode To Prevent Their Brake Controller From Driving Power Back Onto The Brake Sense Line In Order To Prevent The “pre-collision System Malfunction” Warning Message. This Also Prevents The Brake Lights On Both The Tow Vehicle And Trailer From Being Lit When The Trailer Brakes Are Manually Applied. I Believe This To Be Unsafe. The Ability To Apply The Trailer Brakes Independently Of The Tow Vehicle Brakes (i.e. The Manual Override Capability) Is A Safety Feature For Reducing Trailer Sway Which Can Occur In Certain Circumstances. Furthermore, It Is My Understanding That The Manual Override Capability Is Required By Law In California. toyota Needs To Provide Guidance Since Only They Have The Detailed Knowledge Needed To Develop A Solution.

Mileage was 2000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH7HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in ELLICOTT CITY, MD. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 30 mph.

Dec 07, 2017

Service Brakes Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Bristol, NY
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed

The Contact Owns A 2017 toyota highlander. While The Contact Was Seated In The Front Passenger Seat, The Driver Fell Asleep Behind The Wheel. Upon Waking Up, The Driver Attempted To Depress The Brake Pedal, But The Vehicle Failed To Stop. As A Result, The Vehicle Crashed Into A Light Pole And The Air Bags Failed To Deploy. The Driver Sustained Injuries To The Stomach, Head, And Neck. The Contact Sustained Foot, Chest, Tongue, And Neck Injuries. The Four Rear Passengers Sustained Injuries To The Neck, Head, Lips, Feet, And Arms. Medical Attention Was Required. A Police Report Was Filed. The Vehicle Was Towed To A Tow Lot. The Contact Called Queensboro toyota At (718) 335-8600 (located At 62-10 Northern Blvd, Woodside, Ny 11377), But No Assistance Was Offered. The Manufacturer Was Not Notified Of The Failure. The Vehicle Was Not Diagnosed Or Repaired. The Approximate Failure Mileage Was 30,000.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 6 person(s) were injured. Mileage was 30000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH0HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in BRISTOL, NY. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

July 04, 2018

Service Brakes Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Rockville, MD
Model Highlander
System Service Brakes
Speed 35

Takata Recall. Strange Noises And Flash Green Light Appear On Display, After 1/4 Miles From Parking Lot, The Car Speed Up By Itself, The Pre-collision System (pcs) Is Not Working, Brake Assist Is Failed, The Driver Cannot Manually Brakes The Car.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH4HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in ROCKVILLE, MD. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Oct 31, 2018

2017 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2017 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Service Brakes problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask