2017 Toyota Highlander Unknown Or Other problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Unknown Or Other problems and reviews: 12.

Are you driving a 2017 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 80

2017 toyota highlander Se Awd (“vehicle”). On January 26, 2017 At Approximately 11:15 P.m., Pacific Time, I Was Driving The Vehicle On The Interstate 10 Freeway Near The La Brea Avenue Exit. It Was Dark But Clear With Light To Medium Traffic. While I Was Driving Around 80 Mph And Merging Toward An Inner Lane, The Vehicle Suddenly – On Its Own – Slowed To Around 30 Or 40 Mph. Concomitantly, The Vehicle’s Messaging System (between The Tachometer And Speedometer) Began Blinking And Alerting Me That The All Wheel Drive System Was Experiencing Failure And That The Vehicle Needed Immediate Servicing. A Small Orange Triangular Indicator With An Embedded Exclamation Point Flashed As Well. I Engaged The Hazard Lights And Then Manipulated The Transmission Shifter Into Various Positions While Fully Depressing The Accelerator, But The Vehicle Would Not Accelerate Over 30 Or 40 Mph. Faced With The Possibility Of Being Rear Ended, I Disengaged The Hazard Lights, Signaled To The Right, And Eventually Made It Off The Freeway. The Following Day, January 27, 2017, I Took My Vehicle To A toyota Dealership Where I Believe It Is Still Being Diagnosed . The Longer The Diagnosis Takes, The More I Am Concerned That toyota Has Not Determined The Remedy For This Issue. Given toyota‘s History, I Am Also Concerned They May Return The Vehicle To Me Without Determining Conclusively How The Problem Occurred And Without Fixing The Issue So That It Will Not Pose A Threat To My Passengers, Including My Own Family, And The Public. Accordingly, It Is My Duty To Report This To The Nhtsa And To Seek The Nhtsa’s Guidance About Steps I Can Take To Ensure That toyota Does Not Hand Me Back The Vehicle, Which May Be A Deathtrap. I Don’t Use Such Inflammatory Words Lightly, But The More I Contemplate, The More I Feel That This Was A Potentially Life-threatening Event.

Mileage was 1200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH7HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in LOS ANGELES, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 80 mph.

Jan 26, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Carbondale, IL
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 65

I Was Traveling East At 65 Miles Per Hour On Interstate I64 In Illinois When A Very Loud Bomb, Like A Shot Gun Sound Occurred In My Car. We Were Then Covered With The Shattered Glass From The Sunroof Shattering And Glass Was Blown Inside The Vehicle And Out. We Were Not Hit With Any Object, It Exploded From The Inside Out. The Glass Was Actually Pushed Up To The Sky. The Explosion Left A 14 Inch Hole In My Sunroof.

Mileage was 15000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKZRFH9HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in CARBONDALE, IL. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Nov 09, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Ashland, MA
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 10

We Were In A Thanksgiving Day Related Touch N Go Traffic On A Normal Street, Which Enters Into A Mall. All Of Us Are Stopped At A Red Light, Car Ahead Of Us Just Started Moving And We Followed After Allowing A Safe Distance, Then Suddenly The Car Ahead Of Us Stopped, So I Tried Stopping Quickly, But The Car’s Automatic Collision Avoidance Kicked In And Took Control Of My Brakes, But It Still Didnt Stop, I Was Trying To Stop, But The Brakes Were Not Working. Ended Up Rear-ending Car Infront Of Me. The Whole Point Of This Safety Feature Was To Prevent The Car From Rear Ending Other Cars In Day-to-day Traffic Situations. Also Our Speed Was Not More Than 20 Mph, When I Hit The Gas Pedal, Almost Instantly I Realized I Have To Stop And Took My Foot Off The Pedal, Tried Braking, But Car Kept Rolling Forward. This Is Just 4 Month Old Car With 2500 Miles On It. Waiting To See How toyota Handles My Case, In The Meantime, Insurance Thinks I Am At Fault And Started The Claim, Covering The Car Infront Of Me. My Dashboard Displayed A “brake” Message In Red Color, Which Is True, It Identified A Collision, But Didnt Stop. Imo Stopping Is More Important! There Was Some Damage To Car Infront Of Me, My Car Had Some Minor Damage To Grills And Front Bumper Area.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 2600 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in ASHLAND, MA. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 10 mph.

Nov 23, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
East Peoria, IL
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 35

Vehicle Had A Straight Frontal Collision With The End Of A Guardrail On A Highway Between 30-40 Mph. Vehicle Is Equipped With A Collision Avoidance Radar System But The System Did Not Engage. The System Did Not Automatically Brake As It Should Have.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. Mileage was 4000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFHXHS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in EAST PEORIA, IL. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Nov 23, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Copley, OH
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed

Windshield Replaced After A Crack. Windshield Company And toyota Dealer Could Not Recalibrate Front Camera. Lane Warning System And Frontal Collision Avoidance Systems Not Working. Driving With Warning Lights On Dash. Windshield Mounted Camera Safety Systems Is A Bad Idea. The Need For Windshield Replacement May Occur To Anyone. It Should Not Be This Complicated To Recalibrate The Camera. So Now I Have An Expensive Vehicle That Is Supposed To Be Keep Me Safe- Except That The Safety Systems Are Not Working.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH1HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in COPLEY, OH. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 11, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Renton, WA
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

While Driving 60 Mph On An Interstate, My Sunroof Just Exploded For No Reason.

Mileage was 12000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in RENTON, WA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

Dec 25, 2017

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Gilbert, AZ
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 60

As I Was Driving On The Freeway I Heard A Loud Bang There Were No Vehicles Around Me At The Time And Nothing Had Hit My Vehicle, I Then Heard Falling Glass Pieces And Wind And Realized My Sunroof Had Been Shattered. Upon Inspection It Was Evident That The Sunroof Had Exploded As It Was Pushed Outward And Cracked From One Side To The Other In Multiple Areas.

Mileage was 34000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYZRFH7HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in GILBERT, AZ. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 60 mph.

May 10, 2018

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 45

“takata Recall” While Driving Back Home While I Was Driving On The 5 South Freeway Heading Back To Los Angeles From Newhall Ca, The Warning, The Abs, The Cruise Control And The Tracking Control Lights Lid On My Dashboard All At The Same Time, Scare Me Since I Was Driving With My Children I Did Not Know If My Car Would All Of Sudden Turn Off , But Once I Got Home I Park And Return Back To Check It 30 Minutes Later Turn The Car On And The Lights Where Still There I Turn The Car Back Off And This Morning They Where No Longer There I Called The Dealer But They Said They Cant No Longer Do Anything But Do The 5 Point Check Since The Lights Are Not There For Them To See What Is Wrong The Car Or Why The Lights Lid In The Dashborad.

Mileage was 15 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDKZRFH1HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in LOS ANGELES, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 45 mph.

July 30, 2018

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Houston, TX
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 5

2017 highlander Limited. 11,800 Miles. Over The Last 30 Days The Vehicle Has Had 3 Similar Events Of Vehicle Hesitation Or Stumbling From A Full Stop, When Applying Full Accelerator Pedal Travel. The Vehicle Seems To Accelerate Normally For A Second Or Two, Then Just Seems To Hang At 5-10 Mph. Pumping The Accelerator Pedal Quickly Full Up, Full Down May Have Fixed The Problem, I’m Not Really Sure, But That Is What I Did.the Vehicle Operates Normally After That.in The Last And Most Frightening Episode, I Was At A Stop,on A Side Street Waiting To Turn Onto A Frontage Road Where Typical Speeds Are 60 Mph. I Pressed The Accelerator Pedal Full Down To The Floor And Turned Onto The Frontage Road. The Vehicle Seemed To Accelerate Normally For 1-2 Seconds, Then As Before, Just Stayed At 5-10 Mph With A Car Coming Upon My Rear At 60 Mph. Fortunately For Me He Was Able To Change Lanes And Avoid Running Into Me. I Pumped The Accelerator Pedal As Described. The Vehicle Than Responded Normally. I Don’t Remember If The Vehicle Was In Power Or Economy Mode. I Typically Put It Into Power Mode Before Entering The Highway (which I Was About To Do On The Far Side Of The Frontage Road) If I Remember. As You May Imagine This Last Episode Left Me Quite Disturbed. I Always Use Regular Grade Gasoline From Top Name Gas Stations. These Events Happened With Different Tanks Of Gas From Different Stations. I Took The Vehicle To The Dealership. They Were Not Able To Read Any Error Codes From The Computer, And Were Unable To Repeat The Problem In A Test Drive. They Have Escalated The Case To The toyota Engineering Team.

Mileage was 11800 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDYZRFH7HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in HOUSTON, TX. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 5 mph.

Sept 12, 2018

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
White Bear Lake, MN
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 1

This Vehicle Does Not Alarm On People Walking Behind The Vehicle When Backing Out Of A Parking Spot In A Parking Lot. It Also Doesn’t Alarm On A Vehicle Backing Towards You Directly Behind The Vehicle. The Vehicle Was In Reverse Just Moving Out Of My Parking Space, It Happened Twice Recently. It Is An Unusual Situation Which Is Why I Haven’t Reported It Earlier. The Car Was In Reverse.

Mileage was 8000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in WHITE BEAR LAKE, MN. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 1 mph.

Sept 22, 2018

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Keswick, VA
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 35

Twice In The Span Of 1 Year And 6 Months Owned Car For 2 Years 1st- Shattered Windshield- Glass Came Inside The Car Of Hylander When Rock Hit Winshield- Only 1 Year Old. Car Was In Motion On A City Road Speed Limit 35 Mph 2nd Time: Shatterd Winshield 1 Year 3 Months Later From Another Rock. The Car Was In Motion On A City Street Speed Limit 45 Mph

Mileage was 18000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH8HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in KESWICK, VA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Oct 05, 2018

Unknown Or Other Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Rockville, MD
Model Highlander
System Unknown Or Other
Speed 35

Takata Recall. Strange Noises And Flash Green Light Appear On Display, After 1/4 Miles From Parking Lot, The Car Speed Up By Itself, The Pre-collision System (pcs) Is Not Working, Brake Assist Is Failed, The Driver Cannot Manually Brakes The Car.

Vehicle was involved in a crash. 0 person(s) were injured. 0 person(s) died. Mileage was 14500 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH4HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in ROCKVILLE, MD. Accident was reported to Police. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 35 mph.

Oct 31, 2018

2017 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2017 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Unknown Or Other problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask