2017 Toyota Highlander Vehicle Speed Control problems, defects and reviews. Updated December 18, 2018.

Toyota Highlander Vehicle Speed Control problems and reviews: 5.

Are you driving a 2017 Toyota HIGHLANDER, or planning to buy one? Review reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 80

2017 toyota highlander Se Awd (“vehicle“). On January 26, 2017 At Approximately 11:15 P.m., Pacific Time, I Was Driving The vehicle On The Interstate 10 Freeway Near The La Brea Avenue Exit. It Was Dark But Clear With Light To Medium Traffic. While I Was Driving Around 80 Mph And Merging Toward An Inner Lane, The vehicle Suddenly – On Its Own – Slowed To Around 30 Or 40 Mph. Concomitantly, The vehicle‘s Messaging System (between The Tachometer And Speedometer) Began Blinking And Alerting Me That The All Wheel Drive System Was Experiencing Failure And That The vehicle Needed Immediate Servicing. A Small Orange Triangular Indicator With An Embedded Exclamation Point Flashed As Well. I Engaged The Hazard Lights And Then Manipulated The Transmission Shifter Into Various Positions While Fully Depressing The Accelerator, But The vehicle Would Not Accelerate Over 30 Or 40 Mph. Faced With The Possibility Of Being Rear Ended, I Disengaged The Hazard Lights, Signaled To The Right, And Eventually Made It Off The Freeway. The Following Day, January 27, 2017, I Took My vehicle To A toyota Dealership Where I Believe It Is Still Being Diagnosed . The Longer The Diagnosis Takes, The More I Am Concerned That toyota Has Not Determined The Remedy For This Issue. Given toyota‘s History, I Am Also Concerned They May Return The vehicle To Me Without Determining Conclusively How The Problem Occurred And Without Fixing The Issue So That It Will Not Pose A Threat To My Passengers, Including My Own Family, And The Public. Accordingly, It Is My Duty To Report This To The Nhtsa And To Seek The Nhtsa’s Guidance About Steps I Can Take To Ensure That toyota Does Not Hand Me Back The vehicle, Which May Be A Deathtrap. I Don’t Use Such Inflammatory Words Lightly, But The More I Contemplate, The More I Feel That This Was A Potentially Life-threatening Event.

Mileage was 1200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFH7HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in LOS ANGELES, CA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 80 mph.

Jan 26, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Mooresville, NC
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 65

The Dynamic Radar Cruise Control Does Not Operate Correctly And Can Be Very Dangerous. When Driving On A Highway With The Feature On And A vehicle In Front Of You Exits To The Right, The highlander Will Slow And Brake Aggressively As If It’s Still Following The Slowing Exiting vehicle That Is Now In Another Lane And Leaving The Highway. The Setting Of The vehicle To vehicle Distance And Pre-collision Setting Have Little Affect On This Problem. This Problem Can Easily Be Duplicated Every Time. The Dealer Says It’s Normal Operation. I Was Nearly Rear Ended By A Large Truck When My highlander Unexpectedly And Aggressively Braked And Slowed For No Reason As It Continued Tracking The Exiting vehicle In Front Of Me. I Could Have Been Killed, Which Is Why I No Longer Use Dynamic Radar Cruise Control. Please Investigate This Matter With toyota Before Some Is Seriously Injured. Thank You.

Mileage was 4400 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH9HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in MOORESVILLE, NC. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 65 mph.

Apr 02, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
New Salem, PA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 50

While Driving vehicle Lost Power To Appx 5mph And Check Engine, Check All Wheel Drive System, Visit Dealer, Lights Appeared On Dash, vehicle Was On Highway Driving At Appx 50mph At Time Of Incident , Dealer Reprogammed Ecm, And Returned Car To Owner And Next Day While Driving Incident Happened Again

Mileage was 1200 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in NEW SALEM, PA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 50 mph.

July 08, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Bend, OR
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed 72

While Driving Up The I-5 Grapevine At 72 Mph The Car Suddenly Slowed Without Any Warning To Under 20 Mph. The Check Engine Light Turned On And The Dash Said Awd System Disengaged Or Error Or Some Similar Message And To Take To The Dealer. I Was Barely Able To Accelerate To Get Off The Road. I Pulled Off, Turned The Car Off And Back On, And It Started Running Again. I’m Lucky I Was Not Rear Ended.

Mileage was 7000 miles. Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDDZRFH6HS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in BEND, OR. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control. VEHICLE SPEED: 72 mph.

Dec 22, 2017

Vehicle Speed Control Toyota 2017
Toyota
Location
Buford, GA
Model Highlander
System Vehicle Speed Control
Speed

On Sunday Oct 21 2018, The Driver Had Just Left The Olin Rest Area In North Carolina, Heading Northbound On Rt 77. After Driving For A Little Bit The Car Suddenly Acceleration Unintentionally By Itself. And The Car Started To Zig Zag Across The Highway Lanes Without The Driver Turning The Steering Wheel. The Driver Tried To Press On The Brake But It Was Not Effective. The Car Then Grazed An Highway Guardrail And It Partially Ripped Off The Rear Left Side And Rear Bumper. The Driver Kept Pressing The Brake Without Effect While Swerving Across The Lanes. Then Suddenly The Brakes Started To Work And The Driver Was Able To Bring The Car To A Stop On The Right Shoulder. The Driver Put It Into Park But The Engine Kept Revving At High Rpm Until The Driver Turned Off The Engine. I Think The Car Had A Sudden Unintended Acceleration Incident Due To The Electronic Throttle Control. In Addition, I Think The Zig Zag Was Due To The Electronic Traction/ Stability Control, Sending Excessive Power To A Wheel On A Particular Side Of The vehicle When It Didn’t Need It.

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN):5TDJZRFHXHS. TOYOTA HIGHLANDER 2017 problem was reported in BUFORD, GA. Vehicle was not using ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. Vehicle was not using Cruise Control.

Oct 21, 2018

2017 Toyota Highlander problems and complaints, up-to-date recall information and reviews. If you are researching a used Toyota Highlander, driving a 2017 Toyota Highlander, or if you are planning to purchase one, review owner-reported Vehicle Speed Control problems and defects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Toyota Repair Questions? Ask